Success of the Average Guy in Trinidad

Trinbagoviews

Re: Success of the Average Guy in Trinidad

Postby Trinbagoviews » September 23rd, 2014, 4:58 pm

If you're strictly on a fixed income you're working 6 months or more out of the year to pay the government.....
25% - PAYE
15% - VAT
15% - Inflation (TT Central Bank Money Printing)
15% - 30% - Import Duties

The average guy on fixed income is worse than a medieval serf in the middle ages who paid 10 - 25% to the lord of the manor.

Without business income with little to no taxes its very difficult for the average guy on a fixed income. Not impossible but difficult.

trinbagoviews

Postby pugboy » September 23rd, 2014, 5:32 pm

Interesting and honest thread for those not connected

Postby zoom rader » September 24th, 2014, 1:20 am

Success of anyone in Trini depends family upbringing of decent social structure with education.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 24th, 2014, 1:56 am

acesinghit wrote:@ 30years of age an ideal male would have:

7 to 12 years work experience.
2 degrees (undergrad and post grad)
$30,000. a month gross salary
$400,000. vehicle (purchase price)
$1.5M mortgage
Wife (making about $20-25k herself)
fully furnished property with all the furniture, appliances and tech gadgets you can think of (laptop, tablet, dslr camera, smart phones etc)
Spouse with 1 or 2 degrees herself
0 - 2 kids
$150k to $200k cash savings
$30k gross and driving a $400K vehicle plus paying $1.5m mortgage house fully furnished property with all the furniture, appliances etc?

I'd imagine you'd want the wife making $20,000 gross to drive a $300,000 vehicle?

and still have a savings of $200,000?

Postby Ted_v2 » September 24th, 2014, 2:44 am

Good thing he say ideal. Because that's highly impossible

Postby rspann » September 24th, 2014, 8:30 am

Nothing is impossible with hard work and sacrifice.

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » September 24th, 2014, 9:10 am

rspann wrote:Nothing is impossible with hard work and sacrifice.

the end!!!

it have no shortcut or salary range to determine success

Val

Postby Val » September 24th, 2014, 8:54 pm

acesinghit wrote:@ 30years of age an ideal male would have:

7 to 12 years work experience.
2 degrees (undergrad and post grad)
$30,000. a month gross salary
$400,000. vehicle (purchase price)
$1.5M mortgage
Wife (making about $20-25k herself)
fully furnished property with all the furniture, appliances and tech gadgets you can think of (laptop, tablet, dslr camera, smart phones etc)
Spouse with 1 or 2 degrees herself
0 - 2 kids
$150k to $200k cash savings
$30k gross and driving a $400K vehicle plus paying $1.5m mortgage house fully furnished property with all the furniture, appliances etc?

I'd imagine you'd want the wife making $20,000 gross to drive a $300,000 vehicle?

and still have a savings of $200,000?

It's possible, assuming that you have an inheritance of some kind.

*OUTSIDER*

Postby *OUTSIDER* » September 24th, 2014, 10:13 pm

I'm nut sure where I fit in but lets see...

I make $6000./mth. Wifey makes around $8000.
We build our own house with our savings on a piece of land that was gifted to us.
House completed and fully furnish, Fencing and yard work to be completed next year.
I run the house (grocery, market, poultry ect) and she pay the bills, pay for dinner and movie on Saturdays.
I maintain the 2 vehicle (EK3 mines, Slyphy ours) She paying the loan on the Slyphy btw
I save at least $2000./mth while she saves $3000. after loan and expense.
Occasional drinker (1-2 mackeason/beers max) non smoker non feter.
No kids (until the loan pay off). No dogs No cats... Just the 2 of us.

I'm 29 years old and she's 28.

Postby 1UZFE » September 24th, 2014, 10:29 pm

^^win.

Postby Morpheus » September 24th, 2014, 10:52 pm

Once allyuh happy and not scraping allyuh good to go. Also planning the children after the loan is paid off is a plus.

You both chartered a course. Nicely done. Just stick to it

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 24th, 2014, 10:56 pm

Put simply success cannot be determined by a salary figure.

For example I make $150 TT a week and I live alright on that I can't complain really, so I am quite successful. Infact I quit a Job that paid $4000 a month in order to receive $150 a week because I am quite comfortable on that figure. I also do everything with that, buy groceries, travel and everything.

I will be receiving $200 a week by next week which is a raise and its fine by me. $150 was a little struggle but $200 is very comfortable and I consider myself quite successful.

There are people making $10,000 a month and does be crying about money issues.

Postby Spitfir3 » September 24th, 2014, 11:02 pm

i take it you work 2 hours a day effective?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 24th, 2014, 11:08 pm

^ Well you could say so. But its more on the lines of 1 day a week so it works out to about that.
You won't believe how hard I looked for a Job like that. It was like winning the lotto really and no not being sarcastic or anything like that. Was willing to give up that $4k a month wuk in the airport in a heartbeat prior to getting this Job.

With that said I am grateful for my $50 raise to a comfortable $200 tax free and no NIS etc.

My Bicycle and a free PTSC bus ride takes care of my transport on a daily basis at no cost. I consider myself a proud owner of a Nexus 4 and a Giant Revel 3 mountain Bike and a Gaming PC aswell with Air conditioned Room. To me I am successful!

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » September 24th, 2014, 11:19 pm

how u gettin free PTSC rides?

Postby nervewrecker » September 24th, 2014, 11:25 pm

kjaglal76v2 wrote:how u gettin free PTSC rides?

Student pass.

Outsider, blue sylphy? No wait...she salary less than yours. Any files on she? :lol:
*OUTSIDER* wrote:I'm nut sure where I fit in but lets see...

We build our own house with our savings on a piece of land that was gifted to us.
House completed and fully furnish, Fencing and yard work to be completed next year.
I run the house (grocery, market, poultry ect) and she pay the bills, pay for dinner and movie on Saturdays.
I maintain the 2 vehicle (EK3 mines, Slyphy ours) She paying the loan on the Slyphy btw

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 24th, 2014, 11:28 pm

^ yup student pass. Fortunately they allow UTT students to access PTSC for free.

But in ah few years time once ah get through ah calling down a fresh B14
She still my dream car, it is only then can I be truly 100% successful. It is then I can reach the highest point of success!!

The question is though, is that really rfari b14? and if it is, then he is the most successful man on tuner.

Postby S_2NR » September 24th, 2014, 11:39 pm

By 30:
20k/month at least.
No wife.
No children.
Two cars.
Renting/building house.
Two dogs.

Never understood why society measures success as marriage and kids. Fcuk that

Postby nervewrecker » September 24th, 2014, 11:40 pm

Brotherhood have one for sale.

If I'm not mistaken that gold one is his too.

I used to be buying bus ticket and bounce up my pardna a morning come to catch the bus. I see he flash something and walk in, asked him what's that? He said a student pass. I actually considered printing one but I not in uniform and the driver know me :lol:

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 24th, 2014, 11:47 pm

^ LOL yeah that would of actually work once the drivers don't know you.

My pass don't even have a expiry date on it, just has name with student ID, UTT logo and campus on it. So I could use that even after I finish from there :lol:

At most I would pay $3 from city gate to John D on mornings so I don't sweat but will walk back on evenings. I see it has ah Diego Martin ptsc bus but that does turn off by powergen it don't actually reach straight John D and I eh want to wait no 45 minutes and thing for that Bus. LOL so ah say look I done reaching from Piarco to Town for free let me not be too cheap one time :lol:
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on September 25th, 2014, 12:25 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby gt4tified » September 25th, 2014, 12:08 am

S_2NR wrote:By 30:
20k/month at least.
No wife.
No children.
Two cars.
Renting/building house.
Two dogs.

Never understood why society measures success as marriage and kids. Fcuk that

I agree....why marrid when they could clearly be b00ling de boss' daughter like in your case?

Postby Ted_v2 » September 25th, 2014, 12:17 am

*OUTSIDER* wrote:I'm nut sure where I fit in but lets see...

Head in the game dan. Want I noticed tho. Is both parties much really want it. Seen several cases where the husband wukking like a dog and the wife eh even wanna cook food when the day come.

Postby mero » September 25th, 2014, 5:20 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:With that said I am grateful for my $50 raise to a comfortable $200 tax free and no NIS

You do know once you're making $180 and over a week it's by law nis is deducted especially if a contract is signed and the company is registered. Boasting not paying nis is a true sufferer tactic, shows ignorance and will definitely come back to bite you in your cheap ass.

*OUTSIDER*

Postby *OUTSIDER* » September 25th, 2014, 5:46 am

nervewrecker wrote: Outsider, blue sylphy? No wait...she salary less than yours. Any files on she? :lol:

Nuh, White Sylphy... :D Who you speak of the Audi chick? :lol:

Ted_v2 wrote:Head in the game dan. Want I noticed tho. Is both parties much really want it. Seen several cases where the husband wukking like a dog and the wife eh even wanna cook food when the day come.

I see that almost everyday with some co-workers... Man have wife home and when they come to work they bring ah bread in ah brown bag or ah dixi cheese and have to buy lunch :? My wife dose get out of bed 4:00am Mon-Fri to make breakfast and lunch for the 2 of us... We leave home at 6:00am

*OUTSIDER*

Postby *OUTSIDER* » September 25th, 2014, 7:13 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ yup student pass. Fortunately they allow UTT students to access PTSC for free.

She still my dream car, it is only then can I be truly 100% successful. It is then I can reach the highest point of success!!

The question is though, is that really rfari b14? and if it is, then he is the most successful man on tuner.

So you consider owning a crims dong B14 100% successful? :shock: You nut serious :?

Postby Ted_v2 » September 25th, 2014, 7:14 am

hold orn that tight

Postby S_2NR » September 25th, 2014, 8:04 am

*OUTSIDER* wrote:
nervewrecker wrote: Outsider, blue sylphy? No wait...she salary less than yours. Any files on she? :lol:

Nuh, White Sylphy... :D Who you speak of the Audi chick? :lol:

Ted_v2 wrote:Head in the game dan. Want I noticed tho. Is both parties much really want it. Seen several cases where the husband wukking like a dog and the wife eh even wanna cook food when the day come.

I see that almost everyday with some co-workers... Man have wife home and when they come to work they bring ah bread in ah brown bag or ah dixi cheese and have to buy lunch :? My wife dose get out of bed 4:00am Mon-Fri to make breakfast and lunch for the 2 of us... We leave home at 6:00am

Women like yours is the minority and deep down inside I'm sure u know that :lol:

tdavies

Postby tdavies » September 25th, 2014, 8:08 am

*OUTSIDER* wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ yup student pass. Fortunately they allow UTT students to access PTSC for free.

So you consider owning a crims dong B14 100% successful? :shock: You nut serious :?

No you not serious........................
Meen see nuthin rong wit dat.................B14 is the mark of success!!

Val

Postby Val » September 25th, 2014, 8:24 am

Success is relative. You are successful if you have met your goals for yourself at the targeted point in time.
If you haven't set a goal for yourself, then a plan to achieve it, then you can't be successful, but you could be happy (or more accurately "content").

Many persons have goals set for them by society, and don't set them on their own, for instance, house, car, money, luxury items etc. If someone is making 5000 a month, and able to afford the things in life they wanted and set as goals, then they are successful. Making more money does not automatically mean you are more successful, money is usually just a tool to achieve your goals.

The question that really should be asked is, have you achieved your goals for where you are in life now?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 25th, 2014, 8:31 am

mero wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:With that said I am grateful for my $50 raise to a comfortable $200 tax free and no NIS

You do know once you're making $180 and over a week it's by law nis is deducted especially if a contract is signed and the company is registered. Boasting not paying nis is a true sufferer tactic, shows ignorance and will definitely come back to bite you in your cheap ass.

Yeah dan ah turn PNM recently.