Transformers: Age of Extinction

ztune

Re: Transformers: Age of Extinction

Postby ztune » June 28th, 2014, 7:33 am

Fell asleep myself for a little but the entire family enjoyed this movie. Definitely worth a second watch. Go see it, people.

Postby RASC » June 28th, 2014, 8:57 am

worksux101 wrote:awful..quite disappointed i must say...bay with the usual crazy effects, alot too explosive and fast to appreciate...story thin, inconsistent and vague...the cgi and 3d were the only saving graces...

Don't let the proletarians in this thread read this...

Postby Mark! » June 28th, 2014, 9:14 am

Acting was bleh. But the visuals and vehicles were pretty decent and that's the reason i looked at his type of film. If i wanted impeccable acting, script/screenplay would have watched a Scorsese film. If you had huge expectations in those areas for a Bay film then that's a bit naive, come on :lol:

vapourone

Postby vapourone » June 28th, 2014, 8:31 pm

Movie was a good watch . Was slow at first the Human acting and dialogue was dull but the movie is called transformers we pay for prime to take we money :). Galvatron sick tho the Dino bots clean house .

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » June 29th, 2014, 12:10 am

Mark! wrote:Acting was bleh. But the visuals and vehicles were pretty decent and that's the reason i looked at his type of film. If i wanted impeccable acting, script/screenplay would have watched a Scorsese film. If you had huge expectations in those areas for a Bay film then that's a bit naive, come on :lol:

You understand? All these stupid Bay-haters just jumping on the bandwagon to trash Bay's work...and for what reason? He is the best at what he does and his movies have raised the bar for action movies in hollywood.

You dont go to a movie....knowing fully well what to expect, yet hoping for something else, then complain about it, unless of course you are a retard...like a lot of ppl here too.

His use of the imax 3D camera was fkin brilliant as opposed to the cheap ass conversions other movies utilize to cut costs. I actually enjoyed the hell out of this movie despite all the trash talk everyone spewing. The humour was fine this time around. I found Mark took on the role pretty well.

I have my little qualms about it but its more along the lines of the score Jablonsky did for it. He is Hans' protégé and I usually like his work alot but he needs to step up his game. The score wasnt prominent throughout the film, just not powerful enough to handle the epicness of what was happening on screen. And also, I didnt get that swooning feeling like when Optimus had the forrest battle in a previous film where he said "I"LL TAKE YOU ALL ON!!!" Grimlock was fkin awesome, just didnt get "that" feeling again tho and that was probably because it didnt have the epic music accompanying it like in the Forrest Battle.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » June 29th, 2014, 12:19 am

^lmao...your post sounds like a teenage fanboy...didnt realise that people voicing their disapproval equated to thrash talk...
Noone is expecting academy award winning screenplay, but a decent storyline and acting are expected from any top movie...17% on rotten tomatoes says it all...

Postby Trini Hookah » June 29th, 2014, 12:31 am

Soul Collector wrote:
Mark! wrote:Acting was bleh. But the visuals and vehicles were pretty decent and that's the reason i looked at his type of film. If i wanted impeccable acting, script/screenplay would have watched a Scorsese film. If you had huge expectations in those areas for a Bay film then that's a bit naive, come on :lol:

You understand? All these stupid Bay-haters just jumping on the bandwagon to trash Bay's work...and for what reason? He is the best at what he does and his movies have raised the bar for action movies in hollywood.

You dont go to a movie....knowing fully well what to expect, yet hoping for something else, then complain about it, unless of course you are a retard...like a lot of ppl here too.

His use of the imax 3D camera was fkin brilliant as opposed to the cheap ass conversions other movies utilize to cut costs. I actually enjoyed the hell out of this movie despite all the trash talk everyone spewing. The humour was fine this time around. I found Mark took on the role pretty well.

I have my little qualms about it but its more along the lines of the score Jablonsky did for it. He is Hans' protégé and I usually like his work alot but he needs to step up his game. The score wasnt prominent throughout the film, just not powerful enough to handle the epicness of what was happening on screen. And also, I didnt get that swooning feeling like when Optimus had the forrest battle in a previous film where he said "I"LL TAKE YOU ALL ON!!!" Grimlock was fkin awesome, just didnt get "that" feeling again tho and that was probably because it didnt have the epic music accompanying it like in the Forrest Battle.

shogunitis strikes again! Get well soon bro

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » June 29th, 2014, 1:41 am

worksux101 wrote:^lmao...your post sounds like a teenage fanboy...didnt realise that people voicing their disapproval equated to thrash talk...

^ That is what I mean as "trash talk" too. You just talking sheit for talking sheit sakes. You aint even bother to comment anything useful. Just like why I'm saying everyone is critiquing for critiquing sakes and just failing to point out what's actually GOOD about the film.

mediahouse

Postby mediahouse » June 29th, 2014, 5:24 am

original galvatron story here

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jUE0f7j_T2s

Postby RASC » June 29th, 2014, 5:57 am

Postby S_2NR » June 29th, 2014, 6:17 am

i never saw transformers in cinema and for good reason. its overrated.
i usually wait till it hits bluray, torrent it and run it in the comfort of my home for free.

Postby 16 cycles » June 29th, 2014, 7:53 am

For the peeps that stayed awake....

Did galvatron transform into a cannon?
I swear was glavatron in beginning but that was the bounty hunter lockdown

Any reference to unicron specifically?
Bay will get more of my money if next film has unicron...

Oh yeah...why go on a tirade abt not expecting oscars from a bay film but chastise the person writing the score?

Postby cinco » June 29th, 2014, 8:01 am

Galvatron didnt have a big showing. So no transforming into a gun

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » June 29th, 2014, 11:20 am

Soul Collector wrote:
worksux101 wrote:^lmao...your post sounds like a teenage fanboy...didnt realise that people voicing their disapproval equated to thrash talk...

^ That is what I mean as "trash talk" too. You just talking sheit for talking sheit sakes. You aint even bother to comment anything useful. Just like why I'm saying everyone is critiquing for critiquing sakes and just failing to point out what's actually GOOD about the film.

Maybe you should reread my original post before getting your panties bunched up again.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » June 29th, 2014, 11:28 am

RASC wrote:

Dude...the thrash talk...

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » June 29th, 2014, 11:29 am

16 cycles wrote:For the peeps that stayed awake....

Did galvatron transform into a cannon?
I swear was glavatron in beginning but that was the bounty hunter lockdown

Any reference to unicron specifically?
Bay will get more of my money if next film has unicron...

Oh yeah...why go on a tirade abt not expecting oscars from a bay film but chastise the person writing the score?

No, no, and saying the storyline was awful is a tirade? Lol allyuh rel jokey nowadays yes

Postby RASC » June 29th, 2014, 11:45 am

18% rating. Yet people here VEX when you give a harse critique... Objectivity has completely been thrown out the window here.

I really question anyone's movie watching prowess or even analytical ability as an adult- to watch filth like that and say "yeah man Bess"

That's why I have to say y'all HAVE to be simple mouth breathers.

TriP

Postby TriP » June 29th, 2014, 11:51 am

download this on cam lastnite..was goin' good-boring..till i fell asleep almost to half way 8-)

(have to re-watch 2nite)

altec

Postby altec » June 29th, 2014, 11:53 am

have to agree that the movie did not live up to expectations. Some of the transformers were too humanlike. I missed the old mechanical transformations; metal sliding and clanging into place. The magnetic thing was done in another movie

Postby goalpost » June 29th, 2014, 11:53 am

Soul Collector wrote:

There's nothing actually good in this film.

Postby meccalli » June 29th, 2014, 11:59 am

I wouldn't go that far-if people enjoy a great cinematic experience visually and audibly, it's their enjoyment and money well spent in their opinion. I personally stopped watching/caring after the second movie. Effects, explosions and robot noises sells and loads of kids and people as well enjoy it. But it is what it is lol, a relatively rubbish movie..like the rest of the previous sequels :mrgreen:

Postby goalpost » June 29th, 2014, 12:01 pm

It was not a good movie, but what demoted it from a bad movie to an excruciating experience was running length of the movie. IMO (and I hope every one of you note the IMO), it's the worst movie I've seen in a few years.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 29th, 2014, 12:06 pm

So it's worse than transformers 2?

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » June 29th, 2014, 12:17 pm

There are ppl who enjoy the movies. I like Bay's work and I like Steve Jabslonsky's work on the scores he does for Bay's films too. I just thought he could have made a more potent score for this movie. Remember the 1st movie when you heard "Arrival to Earth" when the autobots were touching down in the pods? Now that's a piece of music.

http://www.gossipcop.com/michael-bay-ha ... ers-video/
And well the beauty of it is all the ppl who hating, going to the cinema and paying so Bay really could care less lol. See why below....

http://www.forbes.com/sites/scottmendelson/2014/06/29/box-office-transformers-4-scores-100m-weekend/
Michael Bay’s Transformers: Age of Extinction scored the biggest opening weekend of 2014, earning a strong $100 million in America and $301.3m worldwide in its initial frame

Bay - “No, they love to hate,” replies Bay. “I don’t care, let them hate. They’re still going to see the movie!”
Bay continues, “I think it’s good to get a little tension… I used to get bothered by it, but I think it’s good to get the dialogue going. It makes me think, and it keeps me on my toes.”

http://variety.com/2011/film/features/michael-bay-seriously-1118039082/

Action auds adore him. Fussy cineastes revile him. Hardly anyone in either camp puts much thought into assessing his work.

But even some critics — who regard him warily and risk ridicule from their peers if they praise him — are coming to admit that, love him or hate him, Michael Bay needs to be taken seriously.

“He’s an auteur through and through,” says Scott Foundas, contributing editor for the highbrow Film Comment magazine. “You know within a few seconds of watching his movie that it’s a Michael Bay movie and beyond that there’s no question that he’s influenced the visual language of the contemporary Hollywood blockbuster in a major way.”

Variety senior film critic Peter Debruge calls Bay “a singular voice” and notes that of a generation of filmmakers who came out of commercials and music videos, “He is the one that has risen to the top of the pack and really continued to pioneer that esthetic on the bigscreen, for better or worse.”

And even Variety senior film critic Justin Chang, who generally abhors Bay’s style of cinematic mayhem, concedes, “I think that the critical revulsion that Michael Bay inspires actually is itself a kind of proof of his distinctiveness. There are a million hacks in Hollywood but there’s only one Michael Bay.”

But why? How is Bay’s fast-cutting style different from that of, say, Paul Greengrass, and what is original about his tentpole bombast? Why is Bay himself successful and famous enough to appear as a Verizon FiOS pitchman when Simon West and Tony Scott could wait in a ticket line for “Transformers 3″ unrecognized?

There is alot more in the article. My whole point to anything that I post is that ppl just talking crap but have zero appreciation for the work he does and doesn't appreciate what he represents in the movie industry. Just like someone going to reply to my post with some BS rather than say something about how they at least found the 3D was in IMAX as Bay was the 1st to use the new 4K IMAX 3D cameras, valued at $1 million a piece.

Postby A172 » June 29th, 2014, 1:03 pm

strong fedora presence ITT

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » June 29th, 2014, 1:15 pm

This guy still ranting? In case u didn't realise, I did commend the 3d and visuals. But it simply wasn't enough to make up for the rest. If u seriously think ppl anyone gives a damn who made the movie and "hating" for that reason, then u need a reality check. Stop being a fanboy

Postby S_2NR » June 29th, 2014, 2:04 pm

RASC wrote:18% rating. Yet people here VEX when you give a harse critique... Objectivity has completely been thrown out the window here.

I really question anyone's movie watching prowess or even analytical ability as an adult- to watch filth like that and say "yeah man Bess"

That's why I have to say y'all HAVE to be simple mouth breathers.

Correction 17% now.
The more reviews added the lower the average and the reviews are hilarious.Image

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » June 29th, 2014, 2:19 pm

worksux101 wrote:This guy still ranting? In case u didn't realise, I did commend the 3d and visuals. But it simply wasn't enough to make up for the rest. If u seriously think ppl anyone gives a damn who made the movie and "hating" for that reason, then u need a reality check. Stop being a fanboy

You need to stop commenting useless crap lol. What was it about my last post that seems like ranting?

I was showing an article about his work and what some critics think of him now. And just the box office figures despite the negative reviews.

But hardluck for "ranting" I guess :roll: :lol:

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » June 29th, 2014, 2:19 pm

Soul Collector wrote:There are ppl who enjoy the movies. I like Bay's work and I like Steve Jabslonsky's work on the scores he does for Bay's films too. I just thought he could have made a more potent score for this movie. Remember the 1st movie when you heard "Arrival to Earth" when the autobots were touching down in the pods? Now that's a piece of music.

http://www.gossipcop.com/michael-bay-ha ... ers-video/
And well the beauty of it is all the ppl who hating, going to the cinema and paying so Bay really could care less lol. See why below....

http://www.forbes.com/sites/scottmendelson/2014/06/29/box-office-transformers-4-scores-100m-weekend/
Michael Bay’s Transformers: Age of Extinction scored the biggest opening weekend of 2014, earning a strong $100 million in America and $301.3m worldwide in its initial frame

Bay - “No, they love to hate,” replies Bay. “I don’t care, let them hate. They’re still going to see the movie!”
Bay continues, “I think it’s good to get a little tension… I used to get bothered by it, but I think it’s good to get the dialogue going. It makes me think, and it keeps me on my toes.”

http://variety.com/2011/film/features/michael-bay-seriously-1118039082/

Action auds adore him. Fussy cineastes revile him. Hardly anyone in either camp puts much thought into assessing his work.

But even some critics — who regard him warily and risk ridicule from their peers if they praise him — are coming to admit that, love him or hate him, Michael Bay needs to be taken seriously.

“He’s an auteur through and through,” says Scott Foundas, contributing editor for the highbrow Film Comment magazine. “You know within a few seconds of watching his movie that it’s a Michael Bay movie and beyond that there’s no question that he’s influenced the visual language of the contemporary Hollywood blockbuster in a major way.”

Variety senior film critic Peter Debruge calls Bay “a singular voice” and notes that of a generation of filmmakers who came out of commercials and music videos, “He is the one that has risen to the top of the pack and really continued to pioneer that esthetic on the bigscreen, for better or worse.”

And even Variety senior film critic Justin Chang, who generally abhors Bay’s style of cinematic mayhem, concedes, “I think that the critical revulsion that Michael Bay inspires actually is itself a kind of proof of his distinctiveness. There are a million hacks in Hollywood but there’s only one Michael Bay.”

But why? How is Bay’s fast-cutting style different from that of, say, Paul Greengrass, and what is original about his tentpole bombast? Why is Bay himself successful and famous enough to appear as a Verizon FiOS pitchman when Simon West and Tony Scott could wait in a ticket line for “Transformers 3″ unrecognized?

There is alot more in the article. My whole point to anything that I post is that ppl just talking crap but have zero appreciation for the work he does and doesn't appreciate what he represents in the movie industry. Just like someone going to reply to my post with some BS rather than say something about how they at least found the 3D was in IMAX as Bay was the 1st to use the new 4K IMAX 3D cameras, valued at $1 million a piece.

Get off Mbay dick fella, the movie was only good if you were a preteen, teen or a fan boy.
Last edited by Halfbreed07 on June 29th, 2014, 2:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby cinco » June 29th, 2014, 2:19 pm

Guess the people who go see this and rate it poorly are he same ones who go see fast and furious for the riveting dialogue and killer storyline.
Btw the 3d was some of the best ive seen dbu i like BIGROBOTSPLOSIONSSSSS OAAAAARRR