Dizzy28 wrote:^ By putting Gypsies in brackets next to Romanians you make it seem that that all Romanians are Gypsies. This is far from the reality. There is also a significant difference between Romanians and Roma people.
bluefete wrote:Dizzy28 wrote:^ By putting Gypsies in brackets next to Romanians you make it seem that that all Romanians are Gypsies. This is far from the reality. There is also a significant difference between Romanians and Roma people.
Ignorant Ignis wrote:src1983 wrote:rfari wrote:kjaglal76 wrote:rfari wrote:kjaglal76 wrote:now our tax paying dollars would have to foot the bill for the birth of their baby leech, the cycle continues
Im sure hes prolly working on getting legal. I doh ask him his business so i cant say for sure. And how much could it cost to have a baby in the public hospitals? I dawt is so much to buss the treasury. And for all u knw the baby may grow up to be the next island scholar
rfari cost add up, lets say 8000 of those make baby, now multiply that, spin it as u may, they're an invasive species, we done catching we cunny for bed space in d hospital, outside wid dem, kudos to the immigration department
I say naturalise them. Take contributions and give them tnt id cards and passports
Why? They would just be taking jobs that locals could have benefited from. And if there aren't jobs available how would they pay such contributions?
no they dont ..... they taking jobs trini's dont want .... and i know this first hand as one of the companies i worked for previously had to import workers from another caricom country to fill it's labour force needs after advertising available positions for over 3 months.
and same goes for those jobs in the fast food business u see in the papers all the time
pioneer wrote:So many talknahs in here
Morpheus wrote:Ignorant Ignis wrote:src1983 wrote:rfari wrote:kjaglal76 wrote:rfari wrote:kjaglal76 wrote:now our tax paying dollars would have to foot the bill for the birth of their baby leech, the cycle continues
Im sure hes prolly working on getting legal. I doh ask him his business so i cant say for sure. And how much could it cost to have a baby in the public hospitals? I dawt is so much to buss the treasury. And for all u knw the baby may grow up to be the next island scholar
rfari cost add up, lets say 8000 of those make baby, now multiply that, spin it as u may, they're an invasive species, we done catching we cunny for bed space in d hospital, outside wid dem, kudos to the immigration department
I say naturalise them. Take contributions and give them tnt id cards and passports
Why? They would just be taking jobs that locals could have benefited from. And if there aren't jobs available how would they pay such contributions?
no they dont ..... they taking jobs trini's dont want .... and i know this first hand as one of the companies i worked for previously had to import workers from another caricom country to fill it's labour force needs after advertising available positions for over 3 months.
and same goes for those jobs in the fast food business u see in the papers all the time
^^Why hast thou speaketh the truth?
Trinis want to be on the block or in a bar by 10am. Foreigners doing the jobs. BS about foreigners taking Trini jobs. Flicking Trini doh want it cause it too hard :lol::lol::lol:
Hard-hit employers pitch jobs at foreigners
Cepep, a major competitor
Dixie-Ann Dickson
Published: Thursday, June 7, 2012
Service industry businesses are in sore need of workers. Even though the service sector in particular has been challenged in securing sustainable employment, Mario Sabga-Aboud, chairman of the Pizza Boys Group, said the local labour shortage has worsened. “We are experiencing a severe shortage, so we have no choice but to turn to migrant labour.
In an interview last Friday at the Group’s head office in El Socorro, San Juan, he said his chain of coffee, pizza and chicken and chips companies needs labour so badly, it has no choice but to import. He said the labour shortage is at the entry level, where the annual turnover of employees is 170 per cent. Most employees stay on the job for between four and six weeks. In some instances, they do not even show up for the job. “I plan to establish 20 more Rituals stores and Church’s restaurants in the next two years throughout T&T and I can’t because I do not have the labour.”
Sabga-Aboud said the situation is particularly bad along the East/West Corridor, but more positive in south Trinidad.
He said the group, which has 1,100 workers in its employ, still needs an additional 200 staff for its 100 food outlets, from customer representatives to managers. Service is important in the coffee retail business. Given that the 2012 performance of the Rituals chain of coffee shops, Sabga-Aboud said, is up by 40 per cent compared to 2011. “We are doing well.” He said even though the minimum wage is $12, its employees receive $14.50 at entry level. Supervisors and managers receive between $4,000 and $15,000 a month. Sabga-Aboud said the situation baffles him because citizens’ behaviour regarding their lack of urgency for jobs is not a reflection of an economic slowdown. On May 24, Central Bank governor Ewart Williams said the economy was in a slump with three years of economic decline. Williams attributed this to the slow implementation of government projects and the private sector’s reluctance to invest. Sabga-Aboud said the labour shortage is worsening and is affecting his ability to deliver quality service. He said a typical coffee shop needs between eight and 14 employees to operate two shifts between 6 am and 8 pm. “We do not have that figure at the moment.”
Is foreign labour growing?
In 2011, the group hired seven Jamaicans, who are performing well. The food service group has gone guerrilla in its marketing approach to attracting labour. Signs are posted on its restaurant windows at different locations inviting foreign nationals to apply for work. “We have already conducted 19 interviews two weeks ago and 18 more last week, of which 70 per cent are Jamaicans, while the balance are from Guyana,” Sabga-Aboud said. Norman Sabga-Aboud, Mario’s brother, provided more insight on the importation of labour. He said the approval for obtaining foreign nationals is very long and rigorous. Asked about the criteria for businesses wishing to hire foreign nationals, Norman said foreign applicants must prove they are legitimate by presenting a valid passport with the required stamps and entry documents. Norman said most applicants usually come for vacation and take advantage of available job opportunities. “We would apply for their work permit. If their vacation has ended, they would return to their homeland, and when the permit is approved, they would return to T&T.” He said the foreigner must produce a criminal record and be subjected to background checks. An employer pays the $6,000 annual cost of a work permit. “Each application is evaluated on its own merit,” Norman said. “The system is designed to deter you from engaging in the processes.” In 2011, the group presented about 20 applications to the Ministry of Labour and Small and Micro Enterprise Development in 2011 and only seven Jamaicans were approved, he said. Norman stated an employer must be able to prove to Ministry of Labour that its request for foreign nationals is justified.
Ansylla Payne, human resource manager of the group, said approvals are sent to the Ministry of National Security, then to the Labour Ministry and back to the Ministry of National Security for final approval.
Proof of request:
• Thousands of advertisements
• Publication of job fares
• Flyers/billboards
• Response from locals
Other sectors, especially in the construction industry, have rejected the idea of migrant labour as it is regarded as taking away jobs from locals.
Multi-sectoral labour shortage
The labour shortage is not limited to fast food industry.
Retail stores, pharmacies and hardwares are just as hard hit, Norman said.
This phenomenon is occurring mainly among single-parent women, between the ages of 17 and 23.
Norman said the reasons everyone is struggling to hire and keep staff vary:
• Employees show lack of commitment
• Some workers do not show up for the job
• A decline in such values and principles as honesty
• The work is too hard
• Very little support system at home, no babysitter, etc
• Challenging to work shift hours, despite employers making alternative arrangements
• Some use the position as a stepping stone
Underscoring this view was Christian Mouttet, chairman of Prestige Holdings, which manages the KFC and Subway chains, who said it’s been challenging in the last few years to find labour for the services sector, manufacturing and construction.
“In the case of the manufacturing and construction industry, there are high levels of absenteeism and lack of qualified skilled labour. It’s a reflection of a different labour environment, but we have been using all sorts of mechanisms to keep employees and businesses operating.”
Mouttet said they tried to offer different kinds of incentives and offer career planning, with limited success. “There was an expectation when the economy slowed down, there would be more availability of labour. We have not seen that.”
Major hindrance: Make-work programmes
Mouttet identified employers’ biggest hurdle to attracting labour: “The make-to-work or the government’s social programmes are our biggest competition. “We have more than 2,500 workers employed at our various restaurants, Kentucky Fried Chicken, TGI Friday’s, Pizza Hut and Subway.” The staff turnover, he said, is 75 to 80 per cent on an annual basis, where they stay between three to six weeks. “There is a demand for labour in the market, so I thought there would be a cut in these social programmes.” Instead, the make-work programmes have been growing. On June 2, Adesh Deonarine, chairman of the Community-based Environmental Protection and Enhancement Programme (Cepep), said, “There has been an increase in the number of contracts in the last two years. We need more money because we are increasing the amount of contractors in the programme.”
He said when he took the job, Cepep had just over 100 contracts, but that has since been doubled. The $320 million allocated for the 2012 Cepep programme has been exhausted. During the debate on the Second Report of the Finance Committee of the House of Representatives on proposals for the Supplementation and Variation of the 2012 Appropriation on June 3, it was determined that the government needed an additional $240 million to pay the 10,000-strong Cepep workforce. Mouttet said citizens could join these programmes and do less onerous work for fewer hours. He said they refuse to commit to other jobs because these make-to-work programmes create a culture of diminished work ethic and productivity. He said the Government must be careful that these programmes do not become a career or long-term employment for citizens and a substitution for sustainable employment.
http://m.guardian.co.tt/business-guardi ... foreigners
Leave Trinidad Alone!
A friend of mine recently accused me of being a political conservative. He went on to point out that such a characterization will undoubtedly cause me to find myself on what he described as the “wrong side of history.” The characterization and accompanying condemnation arose as a result of my defence of Trinidad and Tobago in the ongoing drama surrounding the decision of immigration officials in that country to refuse entry to thirteen (13) Jamaican nationals. Apparently defending the right of a sovereign territory, particularly Trinidad and Tobago, in the exercise of its legitimate right to decide who can and cannot enter its borders is an unforgiveable sin, a politically conservative sin and possibly even an unpatriotic sin. Jamaicans in our righteous anger and pride have condemned Trinidad and Tobago in this matter and many have gone as far as calling for the secession of Jamaica from the Caribbean Community, CARICOM. I take strong exception to this, and wish to share my unpopular thoughts on the issue.
I must first of all express how terribly disappointed I am in my fellow nationals for the irresponsible and sensational manner in which the situation has been dealt with. I am particularly disappointed in the Jamaica Observer for the inflammatory manner in which it crafted the story on the issue. Many, if not all, of us have no understanding of the facts which led to entry being denied to the thirteen (13) individuals who sought admittance to Trinidad. No matter that fact, we have become caught up in the whirlwind media sensationalization and launched an attack on the Caribbean Community, how dare they disrespect our nationals?! What about free movement?! I agree, what about it? You see, I cannot accept that the architects of the concept of free movement envisioned that it should grant automatic and unrestrained access to a foreign national to any country in the region he/she chooses. That would be lunacy. Let us not forget that CARICOM is not a federal state, you are not entitled to anything outside of Jamaica. Our sense of entitlement is appalling. You are a foreigner when you land at a port in Trinidad and Tobago. In my opinion, the “CARICOM passport” functions like any other visa. As far as I understand visas, they authorize you to land at the port; admittance has to be a discretionary matter. It simply has to be. I am defending the right of Trinidad to refuse any person it deems ineligible because I reserve the very same right for Jamaica. I am not at all comfortable with the idea that any foreigner, no matter their nationality, should have automatic access to this country’s borders, I contend that is a right reserved only for a citizen of the country. Why would any reasonable person demand such unrestrained access? We are hypocrites too. When CARICOM member Haiti was struck by that devastating earthquake recently, and many Haitians turned up at our borders, desperate for admittance and “free movement”, we demanded the government send them back. Many of us were angry any money was even spent to accommodate them for the period they were here. Is it that free movement only applies when we want it?
What really troubles me about all this is the nagging feeling that most of us are angry because of our false sense of pride. We have always been a proud and, as one of my colleagues pointed out, reactive people. Trinidad’s exercise of its sovereign authority hurt that pride and so we are now reacting. If we are honest with ourselves, we have always harboured the unhealthy sentiment that Jamaica is the best of the Caribbean, a capital of sorts, and therefore we have behaved accordingly entitled. That is the source of our pride. Many of us are incredulous because we deem Trinidad a “spec in the sea” and “two likkle fi even be a country”, an “insignificant” country should never seek to disrespect Jamaica, right? We took the same stance on Mugabe’s comments on Jamaica. Meanwhile, the United States rejects us in droves every single day and we sit pretty smiling at that, with little more than a peep. In our quest to satisfy our wounded pride, we have gone as far as accusing Trinidad of “badminding” Jamaica for our achievements. I admit myself baffled at that argument, because we have such precious little to ‘badmind’. We are on auto pilot, veering on the edge of a political, economic and social abyss, who would ‘badmind’ that? Pride aside, how about we accept the fact that statistics are not in our favour? Most countries have instituted visa requirements against us because we do not have a good track record for international conduct and behaviour. We have to accept that; the bad mek it worse for the good. It is unfortunate, but true. Let us put our pride aside and accept the realities.
Finally, the calls for Jamaica to secede from CARICOM are misguided at best and stupid at worse. I usually place great store on history and that history tells me such a move would be disastrous. Jamaica was incapable of standing alone in 1961, and we are woefully incapable of doing so in 2013. The secessionists argue that Jamaica has not benefitted from our involvement with the Caribbean Community. What of the University of the West Indies? What of the Caribbean Examinations Council? What of the collaboration between member states on important issues and initiatives ranging from climate change to public health? And what of the Caribbean Court of Justice? We have shunned its appellate jurisdiction but it was still able to dispense justice on behalf of one of our own. These things have to count for something, we must count them as benefits. I concede that there have been serious issues relating to trade, for example. As a result, I cannot in good conscience argue with those who wish to voice their displeasure at unfair trade practices by boycotting Trinidadian goods, that would be an individual choice. However, the answer cannot be that we just jump ship as a country, we tried that before and we paid a terrible price. Instead, let us be clear on the issues and put in place the appropriate mechanisms to resolve the concerns and enforce the relevant decisions and resolutions. We need to demand more from our government, send a clear signal that we expect more advocacy on our behalf. The simple truth is that we are stronger when we stand together than when we stand divided. Let us not be so proud that we repeat our mistakes.
Pride goeth before destruction; our haughty spirits may just go before our fall.
http://constructedthoughts.wordpress.co ... dad-alone/
zoom rader wrote:Amazing how the pnm tuners finding all sorts feeble excuses as to why to allow these illegal jamaicans in, but on the other hand they don't want guyanese or Suriname ppl in.
Ignorant Ignis wrote:TriP wrote:de teacher gyal have a page on facebottomhole
"Jamaican teacher carry on anti trinidad goods"
https://www.facebook.com/kesreengreen?ref=ts&fref=ts
lol... they dont even know what companies are trini owned much less what products belong to who
they have crix as jam product
and smj owns juciful and fresh which they have listed as the local alternative to fruta![]()
pugboy wrote:There are a lot of female jamaicans workng in upsl too.
The govt needs to pass a law fast to not grant papers to babies born of illegal immigrants