hunting ban

Re: hunting ban

Postby 88sins » September 21st, 2013, 6:46 am

o gorm RS :shock: :lol: :lol: :lol:

if you must proceed down that road, plz use protection, sheit doh stain stain steel but it ain't no fun to clean either :)

rocknrolla wrote:so why hunters dont just farm wild meat? lol

help grow the numbers and still make a living.

I believe they are going to promote this a good deal more this now, particularly in rural areas. It'll help with increasing the numbers and providing more accurate figures on what's released into the forests. Only real cause for concern wit dat is how many ppl going to be into this for the purpose as intended, & how many gonna be breeding & killing them in captivity as a hustle. If too many ppl doing it as a hustle then it could be a bit less productive & may not achieve of its intended effect

Postby rollingstock » September 21st, 2013, 6:57 am

GRIM wrote:let me guess both streetbeastINC. and rollingstock are members or the police forces.Don't take it to personal when I said police are uneducated, what I mean is that all police know very little if anything at all regarding the laws governing the country.

Is that so? I guess you know a lot more about the law than me then?

brb lubricating shotgun barrel for your pleasure.

GRIM

Postby GRIM » September 21st, 2013, 7:13 am

I don't think your dad would give you permission to use his shotgun.

Postby zoom rader » September 21st, 2013, 7:23 am

GRIM wrote:Here's the question people should be asking now. Can I walk on my land with my firearm/pellet gun without some uneducated faggo...I mean police officer wanting to seize my firearm/pellet gun and arrest me for "hunting"??

This 'uneducated faggo' would pump 5.56 in your chest if you wave your chit around like a fool.

In fact I hope I bounce you up in the bush, will push my benelli so far up your ass when I pull the trigger you'll sneeze.

RS you does put down a hunt when you in bush on exercises.

Postby rollingstock » September 21st, 2013, 8:37 am

Nah, i'm professional when it comes to work, plus discharging a firearm needlessly in the forest will give away my position. Doesn't make sense.

I'm on the fence when it comes to this ban though, as a somewhat hunter i will miss the sport plus what will i do with my dogs. BUT I have seen a marked decrease in beasts in the forest, whoever wants to dispute that go ahead, my experience is such, and seeing what some other persons will shoot and bring back, i can see where the g/ment will think about sustainability.

I am starting to embrace the ban though, i would much rather suffer for a few short years than have to suffer with a scenario where there is littletno no more animals left to continue the sport.

In 2 years time my son will be 16 and i believe mature enough to handle a firearm, looking forward to having a bonding moment. Hoping to get a daughter this year so in 2 years time i can carry her to keep GRIM company, they can play dolly cook or something.

J453

Postby J453 » September 21st, 2013, 8:38 am

Follow up. Same vehicle.
1379766932538.jpg

Play nice kids. Isn't there already a gun talk ched?

Postby rollingstock » September 21st, 2013, 8:45 am

^ Oh hush yuh c.unt!

Postby Morpheus » September 21st, 2013, 8:52 am

I still can't see the "sport" in hunting :-(:???:

Postby Chimera » September 21st, 2013, 9:52 am

lol @ no hunting no vote
how much hunters it have?

Postby 88sins » September 21st, 2013, 10:01 am

Morpheus, imagine yourself in an environment that isn't your home and you aren't too familiar with. There are things there that can kill you, and there are things there that you can find useful, beautiful or sustain you. The game animal, say agouti can sustain you by being used as food. Now think about the agouti, you are on his turf, where he is familiar and at home. You can't even dream of outrunning him. He knows the best places to find his food, water, the easiest escape routes and and the most concealed places to hide. To catch him you must be smarter, faster, have better eyesight and hearing and be more stealthy than him, and able to track him and anticipate his maneuvers or you'll come up empty handed. Your quarry is at an advantage over you. He is at home, you are an intruder he would have no trouble eluding if you didn't bring your "A" game. To be able to do these things is not just a simple task that anyone just wakes up with, and takes a lot of experience, patience, attention and strength of will. It is a challenge one makes to one's self to hone ones skill in an effort to improve ones survival capabilities in the harshness of nature, while at the same time enjoying all the bounty and beauty that God has given to us.
This is what sport hunting is all about. Subsistence hunting is another matter all together.

Trinisniper

Postby Trinisniper » September 21st, 2013, 10:02 am

I may not know the law but it's not surprising to see a "Police" say "In 2 years time my son will be 16 and i believe mature enough to handle a firearm, looking forward to having a bonding moment"... I do know however that the legal age to own/operate a firearm is 25 years.. No wonder there are so many arrests with no prosecutions...

Anyway, without getting involved in the bacchanal, as a recreational hunter, I do agree that something needs to be done to better manage the wildlife however, I think the genuine hunters are the only ones who will be most affected.

I hunt in places like Cumaca and I can tell you on the first day of the season, you can see signs of scaffolds just a few days old and spent shells still smelling of powder. These are obvious tell tales of continuous illegal hunting during the closed season by people who make a living from hunting.

The irony though, is that being a hunter since I was eight years old and now in my late 30's, I have never once seen a forest ranger in the forest or been stopped and searched or have my permits validated...

Sabot

Postby Sabot » September 21st, 2013, 10:05 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:lol @ no hunting no vote

Enough to make a difference come 2015. Most people missing the point of this ban which is geared primarily for the monetary gain of a few. I support a ban but not in this manner.

Postby 88sins » September 21st, 2013, 10:08 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:lol @ no hunting no vote

Give or take about 30-32k, legal & illegal included. But the real question is how many hunter supporters are there. If every hunter, legal or otherwise has 2-4 supporters(meat buyers, family members) well you can do the math for yourself. The numbers add up real fast and get kinda high.

Postby Chimera » September 21st, 2013, 10:11 am

wow you serious?
30k plus?

i say is a lil 5k

okay okay

allyuh guh get a lil take on.

Postby 88sins » September 21st, 2013, 10:22 am

That is 21k legal hunters& catering for 50% of that as illegal. But jus keep in mind not all hunters that purchase permits from forestry div. go & hunt. some ppl don't have the time or resources, but get the permit just in case they can. The better method to survey would be to find out how many active hunters there are, not just how many permits sold

Sabot

Postby Sabot » September 21st, 2013, 10:27 am

Trinisniper wrote:I may not know the law but it's not surprising to see a "Police" say "In 2 years time my son will be 16 and i believe mature enough to handle a firearm, looking forward to having a bonding moment"... I do know however that the legal age to own/operate a firearm is 25 years.. No wonder there are so many arrests with no prosecutions...

Anyway, without getting involved in the bacchanal, as a recreational hunter, I do agree that something needs to be done to better manage the wildlife however, I think the genuine hunters are the only ones who will be most affected.

I hunt in places like Cumaca and I can tell you on the first day of the season, you can see signs of scaffolds just a few days old and spent shells still smelling of powder. These are obvious tell tales of continuous illegal hunting during the closed season by people who make a living from hunting.

The irony though, is that being a hunter since I was eight years old and now in my late 30's, I have never once seen a forest ranger in the forest or been stopped and searched or have my permits validated...

That type of thinking is to be expected from most "police" a lot of whom who know the law but don't really know the law.

People hunt right through closed season and nothing is being done. Let's see how this ban will be enforced. Today's express has a pic of a man posing with an iguana taken this week at the side of the road normal normal. I myself being a sport hunter have never had permits checked or seen a game warden in the forests and I hunt every weekend of the open season for the past 20+ years throughout the country including cumaca.

Trinisniper

Postby Trinisniper » September 21st, 2013, 10:27 am

Good Point, the statistics cannot be based on how many permits are sold as one person is allowed up to five permits. In my group there are four of us and each of us has five permits..that's 20 permits!!!

Sabot

Postby Sabot » September 21st, 2013, 10:28 am

What about the "data" they used to justify the ban. For the last umpteen years hunters have been saying to forestry to find a more accurate way to record catches instead of on the forms behind permits. If five guys hunt and catch one agouti for the day and each record that catch on their permits. At the end of the day forestry records that as five agouti. Hence the reason for the inaccurate data published such as 65000 agouti caught etc. 6000 deer. Rubbish! People feel yuh does walk een the forest and tell them animals to "freeze" or hands up or what. I personally caught 5 agouti for the entire season. Got over 50 different specimens on camera including lappe and deer as well over a two week period.

Dont forget the people who take out permits so they can apply for shotguns as well but dont hunt...
Last edited by Sabot on September 21st, 2013, 11:14 am, edited 3 times in total.

GRIM

Postby GRIM » September 21st, 2013, 10:29 am

@ Trinisniper - doh say nothing boi he is police so he knows and abides by all the laws.....

88sins wrote:That is 21k legal hunters& catering for 50% of that as illegal. But jus keep in mind not all hunters that purchase permits from forestry div. go & hunt. some ppl don't have the time or resources, but get the permit just in case they can. The better method to survey would be to find out how many active hunters there are, not just how many permits sold

This is true last season I take out an agouti permit and just didn't find the time to go and hunt.

Postby Morpheus » September 21st, 2013, 11:01 am

88sins wrote:Morpheus, imagine yourself in an environment that isn't your home and you aren't too familiar with. There are things there that can kill you, and there are things there that you can find useful, beautiful or sustain you. The game animal, say agouti can sustain you by being used as food. Now think about the agouti, you are on his turf, where he is familiar and at home. You can't even dream of outrunning him. He knows the best places to find his food, water, the easiest escape routes and and the most concealed places to hide. To catch him you must be smarter, faster, have better eyesight and hearing and be more stealthy than him, and able to track him and anticipate his maneuvers or you'll come up empty handed. Your quarry is at an advantage over you. He is at home, you are an intruder he would have no trouble eluding if you didn't bring your "A" game. To be able to do these things is not just a simple task that anyone just wakes up with, and takes a lot of experience, patience, attention and strength of will. It is a challenge one makes to one's self to hone ones skill in an effort to improve ones survival capabilities in the harshness of nature, while at the same time enjoying all the bounty and beauty that God has given to us.
This is what sport hunting is all about. Subsistence hunting is another matter all together.

What ever happened to football, basketball, cricket, hockey being sports? Hunting cyah be a sport man. LoL. Is living creatures we talking about.

Anyway don't mind me :lol:

Sabot

Postby Sabot » September 21st, 2013, 11:05 am

Morpheus wrote:
88sins wrote:Morpheus, imagine yourself in an environment that isn't your home and you aren't too familiar with. There are things there that can kill you, and there are things there that you can find useful, beautiful or sustain you. The game animal, say agouti can sustain you by being used as food. Now think about the agouti, you are on his turf, where he is familiar and at home. You can't even dream of outrunning him. He knows the best places to find his food, water, the easiest escape routes and and the most concealed places to hide. To catch him you must be smarter, faster, have better eyesight and hearing and be more stealthy than him, and able to track him and anticipate his maneuvers or you'll come up empty handed. Your quarry is at an advantage over you. He is at home, you are an intruder he would have no trouble eluding if you didn't bring your "A" game. To be able to do these things is not just a simple task that anyone just wakes up with, and takes a lot of experience, patience, attention and strength of will. It is a challenge one makes to one's self to hone ones skill in an effort to improve ones survival capabilities in the harshness of nature, while at the same time enjoying all the bounty and beauty that God has given to us.

What ever happened to football, basketball, cricket, hockey being sports? Hunting cyah be a sport man. LoL. Is living creatures we talking about.

Anyway don't mind me :lol:

To each his own, I couldnt care less about those sports in fact they should ban that too:D

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » September 21st, 2013, 12:41 pm

88sins wrote:o gorm RS :shock: :lol: :lol: :lol:

if you must proceed down that road, plz use protection, sheit doh stain stain steel but it ain't no fun to clean either :)

rocknrolla wrote:so why hunters dont just farm wild meat? lol

help grow the numbers and still make a living.

I believe they are going to promote this a good deal more this now, particularly in rural areas. It'll help with increasing the numbers and providing more accurate figures on what's released into the forests. Only real cause for concern wit dat is how many ppl going to be into this for the purpose as intended, & how many gonna be breeding & killing them in captivity as a hustle. If too many ppl doing it as a hustle then it could be a bit less productive & may not achieve of its intended effect

perhaps percentage quotas..

breeder is allowed to slaughter only 10% of his stock. the percentage could increase as the numbers in the wild increase over time.

problem solved!

Postby pioneer » September 21st, 2013, 12:46 pm

Revoke all gun permits until the ban is over.

Anyone caught will get two charges.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » September 21st, 2013, 12:49 pm

pioneer wrote:Revoke all gun permits until the ban is over.

ur callous persona has actually made a good suggestion here. but we need forest rangers.. and a discretion clause for those bushmen who live deep in the forest and eat off the fat of the land. where their kill is to eat and not for sale.

Postby pioneer » September 21st, 2013, 12:58 pm

Allyuh doh read?

Apart from the Rangers, they are going to use National Security agencies also (which include the TTDF)

Dem boys love the bush, nomsayin?

Sabot

Postby Sabot » September 21st, 2013, 12:59 pm

rocknrolla wrote:

ur callous persona has actually made a good suggestion here. but we need forest rangers.. and a discretion clause for those bushmen who live deep in the forest and eat off the fat of the land. where their kill is to eat and not for sale.

I want a discretion clause too then since I am a bushman and I dont sell meat......yes i live in real bush too. The only valid thing from both of you guys here is that we need more forest rangers.
Dunno how the batallion of 14 gonna enforce. Oh wait, we have wasa and ema police in the mix...right right:lol:

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » September 21st, 2013, 2:25 pm

Sabot wrote:
rocknrolla wrote:

I want a discretion clause too then since I am a bushman and I dont sell meat......yes i live in real bush too. The only valid thing from both of you guys here is that we need more forest rangers.
Dunno how the batallion of 14 gonna enforce. Oh wait, we have wasa and ema police in the mix...right right:lol:

nah u dont count. u know how to use the internet. it probably have bushmen who dont come out atall.

Postby Ted_v2 » September 21st, 2013, 2:35 pm

yeah,
18 is the age limit for pellet gun?

Postby 88sins » September 21st, 2013, 3:13 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:yeah,

Nope, 25. But L.I.G.

GRIM

Postby GRIM » September 21st, 2013, 3:51 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:yeah,

Nope, 25. But L.I.G.

I know of a couple of fellas that get their permit and dey under 25.
so if you want try and hope you get lucky