Re: Atheism and the government.

Postby zoom rader » August 4th, 2013, 6:55 pm

pioneer wrote:PPG is trying to turn trinidad into a hindu state

The brits always feared that back in capildeo days

Now it's coming to reality, but they have 21 months to stop it.

Tobago should an been a hindu state

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 4th, 2013, 7:11 pm

zoom rader wrote:Tobago should an been a hindu state
quoted for future reference
rocknrolla wrote:
pioneer wrote:Show me one POOR pastor/imam/pundit.

me

but them fellas u talkin about went and sit an exam to become them ting. imagine, getting a certificate which acknowledges u as a pastor.
so you are a hacker AND a pastor?

Postby zoom rader » August 4th, 2013, 7:22 pm

zoom rader wrote:Tobago should an been a hindu state
quoted for future reference
rocknrolla wrote:
pioneer wrote:Show me one POOR pastor/imam/pundit.

me

but them fellas u talkin about went and sit an exam to become them ting. imagine, getting a certificate which acknowledges u as a pastor.
so you are a hacker AND a pastor?

Nope not a hacker or paster. You should have asked pios that question
You ever install a chain link fence?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 4th, 2013, 9:12 pm

megadoc1 wrote:
Habit7 wrote:this is turning into Religion Thread B
found myself double checking the title yes
I'll do a merge soon

Postby bushwakka » August 4th, 2013, 9:46 pm

atheist would never be voted in the first place....all politicians must at first pull a sham of having some moral code of ethics.....to not subscribe to a religion would be worse than all the bobol that has ever happened

Postby maj. tom » August 4th, 2013, 10:05 pm

Ideas in a liberal society that has no suppression of speech change slowly. One day the platform on USA will be lead by men and women who think religion isn't necessary in politics anymore. And one day the people will be smart enough to accept it. They will be anxious to increase science education and the concepts and real application of equality and real blind justice and a fair system that works without the current bureaucracy.

Examples in the past on the US elections that seem ridiculous today are: slavery, voting rights of women, the unfairness of segregation, the unfairness of sexual orientation bias. And what was the reasoning behind all these acts in the first place before they had to actually write a law on morality and rights? Their justifications were largely rooted in religion.

But things change don't they? Very very slowly, but humanity is evolving socially everyday with the freedom of the internet, and we are getting somewhere.

Postby maj. tom » August 4th, 2013, 10:10 pm

“The only rule that ever made sense to me I learned from a history, not an economics, professor at Wharton. "Fear," he used to say, "fear is the most valuable commodity in the universe." That blew me away. "Turn on the TV," he'd say. "What are you seeing? People selling their products? No. People selling the fear of you having to live without their products." F*ckin' A, was he right. Fear of aging, fear of loneliness, fear of poverty, fear of failure. Fear is the most basic emotion we have. Fear is primal. Fear sells.”

― Max Brooks, World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War.

Religion sells the fear. All the fears of life and after it ends.

This really should be merged (but unfortunately lost) into the Religion thread.

rocknrolla

Sacred knowledge of vibration and the power of human emotion

Postby rocknrolla » August 4th, 2013, 11:08 pm

Last edited by rocknrolla on August 5th, 2013, 12:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Habit7 » August 5th, 2013, 8:20 am

maj. tom wrote:Ideas in a liberal society that has no suppression of speech change slowly. One day the platform on USA will be lead by men and women who think religion isn't necessary in politics anymore. And one day the people will be smart enough to accept it. They will be anxious to increase science education and the concepts and real application of equality and real blind justice and a fair system that works without the current bureaucracy.

Examples in the past on the US elections that seem ridiculous today are: slavery, voting rights of women, the unfairness of segregation, the unfairness of sexual orientation bias. And what was the reasoning behind all these acts in the first place before they had to actually write a law on morality and rights? Their justifications were largely rooted in religion.

But things change don't they? Very very slowly, but humanity is evolving socially everyday with the freedom of the internet, and we are getting somewhere.

But as an atheist what makes "slavery, voting rights of women, the unfairness of segregation, the unfairness of sexual orientation bias" wrong?

If we are all highly evolved animals with a morality based on culture, then the survival of the strongest justifies every claim you just listed.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » August 5th, 2013, 8:54 am

Last edited by rocknrolla on August 5th, 2013, 12:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Tar Baby

Postby Tar Baby » August 5th, 2013, 10:00 am

Removed by Moderator
Last edited by Tar Baby on November 3rd, 2021, 1:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Habit7 » August 5th, 2013, 10:13 am

What is a good person?

Postby DFC » August 5th, 2013, 12:06 pm

rocknrolla wrote:[
what this have to do with this thread to be moved here. i done with this thread. and the individual degenerates in it.

So because we didnt buy your bs, we are degenerates?

This coming from a so called "enlightened being".

Textbook Delusional God Complex.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » August 5th, 2013, 12:28 pm

DFC wrote:
rocknrolla wrote:[
what this have to do with this thread to be moved here. i done with this thread. and the individual degenerates in it.

So because we didnt buy your bs, we are degenerates?

This coming from a so called "enlightened being".

Textbook Delusional God Complex.

u call me a fraud already inno padna. so i dont see what questions u have for me again. at the end of the day i am human, and speak and type through the ego. and how much of that ego i allow to be at the fore of my consciousness is my decision at any time. thas the difference i could switch into spiritual. you still dreaming bout it

u wouldnt know a true guru if he was typing to you on an internet forum. u are no proper judge of these matters. but anyway.. stick to ur role.. im a fraud. so dont listen to anything i say. i talkin rubbish and dont know anything.

Postby SMc » August 5th, 2013, 12:34 pm

Anybody here ever had to interview a fellow tuner for a job (without prior knowledge) and (rightfully or wrongly) based their decision on what they do on the forums?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 5th, 2013, 3:10 pm

Morality is an idea that is reasoned by humans over time.

Slavery was once considered morally correct by those who carried it out, but it is now considered immoral as it brings harm and unfair treatment to others. Slavery was once considered right by many religions as well.

Even today some religions do not support blood or organ transplant however most of modern society considers it to be unethical to withhold medical treatment on this basis.

30 years ago it was considered stylish to show people smoking on TV and in movies; It was glorified. Now it is considered unethical to even show cigarette ads and there are hardly any TV shows that show smoking. Cigarettes didnt change; our majority social moral and ethical values did.

In a hundred years our moral values may be different than they are now on alot of topics including cloning, stem cells, blood and organ transplants, gay rights and abortion.

Postby Habit7 » August 5th, 2013, 6:55 pm

Its a good thing what you are saying isnt true otherwise, people could be committing evil for years, even generations before someone can come and tell them that it is morally wrong.

A Jew living in Europe in the early 20th century would have to hope for 1945 to come for society to realize that it is morally wrong for him to be sent to a concentration camp and then gassed to death.
Or when would North Korean society realize it is moral wrong to imprison Christians in work camps? 10, 20, 100 years later?

Or would it take an alien absolute morality that would say it is just as wrong to kill Jews in Nazi Europe as in Allied Europe. Or am I imposing my archaic Christian morality on the North Koreans when I tell them that it is wrong to starve their citizens to the point they cannibalize each other.

Thankfully morality is not devised by society nor "humans." Morality has to be perfect otherwise an imperfect morality would eventual cause the downfall of humans. Secondly it has to be come from outside the human race so as not to be touched by human imperfection.

I argue for the position that Christian morality is perfect and from a holy God. I believe deviation from this morality would lead to man's downfall. However as a voice within a democratic country, I choose to exercise my right as citizen to shape our society by a morality shaped by the Bible. An atheist has the option to use his voice to shape society by the 3min YouTube he saw from the night before, who knows? But the deist, theists and atheist all have the equal opportunity to bring their voice to the table, all might not be equally valid (like the view that morality is not absolute :roll: ), but this is a democracy and most times the popular view is the one we are governed by.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 5th, 2013, 7:17 pm

^ but slavery happened for thousands of years and only very recently it was stopped and now found by almost all of humanity to be unethical and morally wrong. This happened despite religion.

You also argue for the position that the earth is ~6000 years old. Thankfully we live in a democracy!

Postby zoom rader » August 5th, 2013, 7:23 pm

^^^ So man did not evolved from apes?

Postby Habit7 » August 5th, 2013, 8:20 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ but slavery happened for thousands of years and only very recently it was stopped and now found by almost all of humanity to be unethical and morally wrong. This happened despite religion.

You also argue for the position that the earth is ~6000 years old. Thankfully we live in a democracy!

Let me show you how you are wrong about your first point.

Slavery, for which your most recent point of reference is the Transatlantic Slave Trade, was it wrong thousands of years ago? Slavery hasn't stopped. The reason slavery was stopped in the West was because abolitionism, a Christian movement.

Seeing that you are so wrong about your first point, how inept are you to discuss your second? But let's not mix arguments, prove your first morality argument before you deflect to age of the earth.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 5th, 2013, 8:28 pm

^ there is that "I am more right than everyone" attitude.

Actually the transatlantic slave trade was no more than a few hundred years ago.

I specifically said thousands of years ago.

Regardless, you seem to think slavery in the Old Testament was different or better than what people consider to be slavery today.

Morals change over the years.

marlener

Postby marlener » August 5th, 2013, 8:45 pm

Not wanting to stray from the point but Dwayne really toting on that 6000 year claim that he said Habit 7 made,I asked several time for him to quote where it was said because I saw Habit 7 said 6000-12000 years,now if I start to call out the owner of trinituner as lying would I get banned? Do we have any atheists wishing to enter politics and brave enough to voice their convictions?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 5th, 2013, 9:06 pm

marlener wrote:Not wanting to stray from the point but Dwayne really toting on that 6000 year claim that he said Habit 7 made,I asked several time for him to quote where it was said because I saw Habit 7 said 6000-12000 years,now if I start to call out the owner of trinituner as lying would I get banned?
LOL

I posted ~6000

In any case 6000-12000 is still a case for a young earth when there is extensive scientific evidence suggesting the earth is billions of years old.

6000 vs billions of years is a massive difference.

Is there any scientific evidence showing the earth was created 6000-12000 years ago?

Tar Baby

Postby Tar Baby » August 5th, 2013, 9:10 pm

Removed by Moderator
Last edited by Tar Baby on November 3rd, 2021, 1:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

marlener

Postby marlener » August 5th, 2013, 9:13 pm

Well that's a discussion that have been going around in circles in the religious thread.As you know they have not been merged as yet and I am not going to assist in making this Religion thread B. So any atheist tuners interested in getting into politics and stating their conviction while doing so or just like bumping their gum on trinituner,if you believe that it is such a good idea be a pioneer.

Postby zoom rader » August 5th, 2013, 9:29 pm

^^^ how pois come in this?

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » August 5th, 2013, 9:35 pm

1. what was this thread about again?

2. please bring back rocknrolla

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 5th, 2013, 9:52 pm

^ it's religion thread B

it will be merged soon anyway so might as well keep the conversation going.

marlener, if there was a candidate that performed very well in office, carried out the services required by his constituency, honest, hard working and diligent, but you found out through some opposition "exposé" that he is an atheist, would you vote for him?

Postby bluefete » August 5th, 2013, 9:56 pm

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 5th, 2013, 10:00 pm

bluefete wrote:Image
wait... bluefete just posted this?