BARBADOS IS SMALL, BUT BIG IN MOTOR SPORT - FIA Pres says

AutoSport

Re: BARBADOS IS SMALL, BUT BIG IN MOTOR SPORT - FIA Pres say

Postby AutoSport » September 9th, 2012, 10:31 am

djaggs wrote:“The facility could not come to fruition without the assistance of the private sector. Not one dollar of public money has been used in the development of this plan. The land will be leased from the Crown on a long-term lease and 100 per cent of the cost to develop the facility is being raised through private means. At the end of the lease, the facility will revert to the Crown, ensuring that it remains permanently as the home for motor sport.

“While the strategy to acquire Bushy Park was hatched under then Prime Minister Owen Arthur, the acquisition of the land occurred under Prime Minister David Thompson and, today, the ground-breaking was held in Prime Minister Stuart’s term, demonstrating the country’s on-going commitment to this long-term goal.

“I would like to say a huge thank you to Mark Maloney, who has assembled a group of investors, including Bizzy Williams, who have committed to funding the development of the facility at no cost to the BMF. Without Mark’s vision, tenacity and generosity, we would not have achieved what we have thus far. I look forward to the day when I can call on all present today and you, President Todt, to join with us again for the opening of the completed facility.”

Now how is it that the BMF was able to get so much private sector support as well as support from the Government? This tells me that public confidence in the BMF is very high. They obviously are well managed and the issue of non accountability and corruption does not exist.

I have a solution, have the BMF run motoracing in Trinidad and Tobago.

So more education for those who just arrived. And to correct those who still trying to cover their tracks and fool the people all the time.

In 1997 John Powell(Tecmarine) and myself (AutoSport Promotions) linked up to stage the Texaco/Tecmarine International Rally, with many competitors coming in from Jamaica and Barbados. Actually that was the first time the likes of Panton and Summerbell, and the King brothers from Jamaica and Skeete ad Micey from Barbados came to Trinidad with their powerful machines. This was successfully repeated in 1998 with even more competitors.

In January 1999, TTASA together with the then management of TTRC made a demand that that event was a RALLY, and the Rally Club should be running that event , and "if I want I could help them". So I politely told them press on, you both take it and move on.

In 1999, they were only able to get 4 foreign cars, Texaco pulled out with that response, and International High Speed Rallying in T&T crash-landed.

FACT – at that time the Texaco/Tecmarine Rally in Trinidad was BIGGER THAN WHAT EXISTED IN BARBADOS!

At that time also Barbados was in a similar position with the many Clubs and disunity.

The Govt. stepped in, read the riot act, the BMF was formed and Motor Sport in Barbados is now World Class, and one of the bigger Foreign Exchange earners for the country.

See where they are today, and we still struggling to get off the ground.

And we see the nonsense that Link and Ali still trying to push, stating that to form a Federation will take “SEVEN YEARS”!

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » September 9th, 2012, 10:41 am

THE_FUGITIVES wrote:yeh Fellas heres the response

Carlon Mohammed let me ask a question? who traveled on the FIA JET to mexico with the FIA president and his entourage?

SEE the nonsense that matters to some!

Hail ALI the King for travelling on the FIA jet with the President!

Check back over the years and list all of the travels of every single TTASA member who attended FIA meetings and Conferences.

What has it brought for the development of Motor Sport in T&T today?

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » September 9th, 2012, 3:41 pm

so lets bring this down to basics...
if I kes vtec owns X amount of land
and
I build a track with a drag strip and a empty area of flat concrete, base on FIA standards.
I then say WHOEVER what to use the facilities, pay me X, and do what you want.
1) can i have unofficial Drag
2) can i have official Drags
3) can i have unofficial Circuit
4) can i have official Circuit
5) can CARS the flat concrete area for their event
6) can the Rally Club come and use it
7) can Autosport hold a event
8) can kevin, who is a no body come a run for 1hr just because he wants too

note this is a very serious question, because AGAIN TRINIDAD and TOBAGO has the potential...

and for the answers that have a NO to them, explain why it is so.

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » September 9th, 2012, 4:39 pm

Saftey is the biggest issue especially for just having people come race there, I know some sort of agreement must be in place in case people get damage , another thing is if its in a good location away from people or not , they can easily call EMA for noise pollution i guess , just what i think will happen , lets hear the others.

dread_2002

Postby dread_2002 » September 9th, 2012, 6:05 pm

AutoSport wrote:
djaggs wrote:[i]“.

And we see the nonsense that Link and Ali still trying to push, stating that to form a Federation will take “SEVEN YEARS”!

woeee seven years..

thank god we have offshore racing.. watch at how many tuners are converting and will convert

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 9th, 2012, 8:12 pm

kes_vtec wrote:so lets bring this down to basics...
and
I build a track with a drag strip and a empty area of flat concrete, base on FIA standards.
8 ) can kevin, who is a no body come a run for 1hr just because he wants too

note this is a very serious question, because AGAIN TRINIDAD and TOBAGO has the potential...

The answer is YES for all 8 unless if Kevin is an FIA license holder. He will not be able to take part in unsanctioned events according to TTASA.

You can do all 8, except that your events will not be sanctioned by the ASN or the NGB for motorsport. This may not seem like a big issue since rally club has Rally Trinidad every year and it is unsanctioned, though they get international drivers from all around the world who are FIA license holders, infact one was a WRC driver and co-driver (Mark Higgins and Nicky Grist).

Also it would not be very different from ARC Car Park or the Stadium since they have unsanctioned racing there all the time by AutoSport, Solodex and the TTKA Karting Association.

TTASA should not prevent you from having events at your own unsanctioned facility either since they are supposed to be encouraging motorsport, not preventing it (FIA prime directive).
So I don't think you will get any objection at all.

EMA should NOT be an issue since you should get past the EMA's criteria LONG before you start building your facility.

Of course there are obvious disadvantages to not being sanctioned:
You will not get any FIA/NACAM support for your facility and that makes having international events and championships difficult if not impossible since. (a major revenue stream for such a facility).
You will miss out of FIA/NACAM co-funding and training.
You will miss out on support and training from the local ASN and NGB.
You will miss out on funding, subvention and support from the T&T Government and Govt agencies such as TDC and EMBD (though this has been given to unsanctioned clubs and events year after year even though TTASA argues that it should not).

Postby brams112 » September 9th, 2012, 8:20 pm

and

The answer is YES for all 8 unless if Kevin is an FIA license holder. He will not be able to take part in unsanctioned events according to TTASA.

You can do all 8, except that your events will not be sanctioned by the ASN or the NGB for motorsport. This may not seem like a big issue since rally club has Rally Trinidad every year and it is unsanctioned, though they get international drivers from all around the world who are FIA license holders, infact one was a WRC driver and co-driver (Mark Higgins and Nicky Grist).

Also it would not be very different from ARC Car Park or the Stadium since they have unsanctioned racing there all the time by AutoSport, Solodex and the TTKA Karting Association.

TTASA should not prevent you from having events at your own unsanctioned facility either since they are supposed to be encouraging motorsport, not preventing it (FIA prime directive).

EMA should NOT be an issue since you should get past the EMA's criteria LONG before you start building your facility.

You will not get any FIA/NACAM support for your facility and that makes having international events and championships difficult if not impossible since. (a major revenue stream for such a facility).
You will miss out on funding, subvention and support from the T&T Government and Govt agencies such as TDC and EMBD (though this has been given to unsanctioned clubs and events year after year even though TTASA argues that it should not).

So suppose the track is built with saftey measures?ambulances on stand by,fire trucks,the required amount of poilce to have a pressence and so on,will that be something of a start,taking into consideration parking,entering and exiting dont pose a problem either?

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » September 9th, 2012, 8:45 pm

Two things here...
First this "TTASA should not prevent you from having events at your own unsanctioned facility either since they are supposed to be encouraging motorsport, not preventing it (FIA prime directive)."
This is being spoken as though TTASA will be doing what they have been doing until the end of the world.

And if you are to look to them for guidelines, just look at this video and count how much safety infringements you pick up:

Postby wagon r » September 9th, 2012, 9:31 pm

...just on a side note, the Sun and Stars Rally in Barbados yesterday was great...!

...back to your reg. sched. program..

MICROTECH 7

Postby MICROTECH 7 » September 9th, 2012, 9:47 pm

I believe that its about time Mr. Autosport's achievements come into high praises.
We should all acknowledge the fact that he is the President of Motorsport Association of Trinidad and Tobago (MATT). A democratic counsel body that comprises of TTKA, CARS, TTRC, and Autosport. Three of these disciplines function in ARC car park in scheduled rotation without friction and working together.

MATT functions in perfect harmony, with their President not imposing his will upon those affiliated, a relationship existing for years without internal pain.

We could only wish that TTASA take a model example of such management skills but instead fighting start already with their affiliates who have never even staged an event. Here we are looking for answers and a perfect working counsel already exist, and the Government does not recognise this.

Mr. Autosport congrats on your recent TTAA FIA appointment, and a successfully first ever box kart event, and inventing a Drag & Wind series that everyone can't seem to get enough of.

With credentials like that maybe now your Management skills and contribution to motorsport will be noticed and credited. Its good to see you here educating us.

link

Postby link » September 9th, 2012, 9:49 pm

applicable ONLY to FIA international events..........DON'T GET CONFUSED WITH LOCAL POLITICS
:idea:

link

Postby link » September 9th, 2012, 10:03 pm

AutoSport wrote:Two things here...
First this "TTASA should not prevent you from having events at your own unsanctioned facility either since they are supposed to be encouraging motorsport, not preventing it (FIA prime directive)."
This is being spoken as though TTASA will be doing what they have been doing until the end of the world.

And if you are to look to them for guidelines, just look at this video and count how much safety infringements you pick up:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k1KyOtoR ... r_embedded

it easy to click the weblink........
NOW WHY YOU DON'T ENUMERATE THE INFRINGEMENTS ???
instead of trying to set up others to say this, that & d other ???
Last edited by link on September 9th, 2012, 10:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » September 9th, 2012, 10:03 pm

MICROTECH 7 wrote:I believe that its about time Mr. Autosport's achievements come into high praises.
We should all acknowledge the fact that he is the President of Motorsport Association of Trinidad and Tobago (MATT). A democratic counsel body that comprises of TTKA, CARS, TTRC, and Autosport. Three of these disciplines function in ARC car park in scheduled rotation without friction and working together.

MATT functions in perfect harmony, with their President not imposing his will upon those affiliated, a relationship existing for years without internal pain.

We could only wish that TTASA take a model example of such management skills but instead fighting start already with their affiliates who have never even staged an event. Here we are looking for answers and a perfect working counsel already exist, and the Government does not recognise this.

Mr. Autosport congrats on your recent TTAA FIA appointment, and a successfully first ever box kart event, and inventing a Drag & Wind series that everyone can't seem to get enough of.

With credentials like that maybe now your Management skills and contribution to motorsport will be noticed and credited. Its good to see you here educating us.

Just to make a correction on this "Mr. Autosport congrats on your recent TTAA FIA appointment"
The TTAA was the original holder of the FIA affiliation in T&T.
And in the early 90's, a then President of the TTAA was also President of TASC, the original name of TTASA. Certain moves were employed that saw the sporting side of the FIA affiliation being granted to the "new" TTASA. There was much disappointment within the TTAA with this move, with the TTAA even objecting to the similarity of name being chosen, and letters being sent off to the FIA on this unfortunate situation. Of course that President did not last long in the TTAA.

When the full history of what has been happening behind the scenes within Motor Sport is written, this can be a best seller.

And I must state that all of the Events I have been involved with, have been executed by a committed and competent Team that has tremendous respect for all parties involved.

link

Postby link » September 9th, 2012, 10:06 pm

AutoSport wrote:
MICROTECH 7 wrote:I believe that its about time Mr. Autosport's achievements come into high praises.

Just to make a correction on this "Mr. Autosport congrats on your recent TTAA FIA appointment"
The TTAA was the original holder of the FIA affiliation in T&T.
And in the early 90's, a then President of the TTAA was also President of TASC, the original name of TTASA. Certain moves were employed that saw the sporting side of the FIA affiliation being granted to the "new" TTASA. There was much disappointment within the TTAA with this move, with the TTAA even objecting to the similarity of name being chosen, and letters being sent off to the FIA on this unfortunate situation. Of course that President did not last long in the TTAA.

When the full history of what has been happening behind the scenes within Motor Sport is written, this can be a best seller.

And I must state that all of the Events I have been involved with, have been executed by a committed and competent Team that has tremendous respect for all parties involved.

I have to save this misrepresentation of the history of FIA motoring & motor sport....
you will be dealt with later

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » September 9th, 2012, 10:09 pm

link wrote:

applicable ONLY to FIA international events..........DON'T GET CONFUSED WITH LOCAL POLITICS

More Rooster and bull from Link.
So how does an event become International?
Not from what is built up locally and then attain a standard to attract International participation?
Or do we see the current TTASA Rally affiliate having the capability to stage a NACAM Rally in T&T in 2013?
When will these people stop pushing this crap?

link

Postby link » September 9th, 2012, 10:12 pm

AutoSport wrote:
link wrote:

Not from what is built up locally and then attain a standard to attract International participation?
Or do we see the current TTASA Rally affiliate having the capability to stage a NACAM Rally in T&T in 2013?

when it's on the FIA calendar...yuh...

Postby sMASH » September 9th, 2012, 10:15 pm

allyuh could wish that ttasa take model from yada yada yada.

i believe in competition, evolution, succession. when sumting is rubbish, it gets tossed.

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » September 9th, 2012, 10:18 pm

link wrote:I have to save this misrepresentation of the history of FIA motoring & motor sport....
you will be dealt with later

Oh boy, I am so scared now, but is it not you who have threatened so many with Court action?
Threaten your own management with vote of no-confidence?
Threaten to expose all the wrong things that have been said and done to you?

And If I show up all of the infringements at the TTASA SANCTIONED Test and Tune, then I may be accused of being biased. Let the public see for themselves.

In typical style, when exposed, you threaten everybody, starting to duck from the chairs that may come my way. Please focus on cleaning up the mess that you have been a part of.

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » September 9th, 2012, 10:24 pm

link tell us what he wrong about ? say it for us to see? sort out your differences now

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » September 9th, 2012, 11:15 pm

Party Over for Tonight? just started going good

Postby wagonrunner » September 10th, 2012, 12:20 am

THE_FUGITIVES wrote:link tell us what he wrong about ? say it for us to see? sort out your differences now

a direct answer yuh ask for? from HE!!!!!!!??????????????
*watches your join date* But yuh eh new here. :|
d hell.

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » September 10th, 2012, 2:21 am

ok so now, given all this, can i be "sanctioned" in the future...

i will like to get to a simple point afater this answer...
brams112 wrote:
and

So suppose the track is built with saftey measures?ambulances on stand by,fire trucks,the required amount of poilce to have a pressence and so on,will that be something of a start,taking into consideration parking,entering and exiting dont pose a problem either?

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » September 10th, 2012, 2:37 am

link wrote:
AutoSport wrote:
link wrote:

when it's on the FIA calendar...yuh...

no wait really, i mean really...
so link...
your sayin' to us if you say, you having a International event, on 20th of December, because, it on the calendar, it (automatically) becomes a International event, and there are no other criteria? and if so what are they?

Postby SR » September 10th, 2012, 6:22 am

does camden meets FIA minimum requirements for a drag track including safty measures???
are FIA standard set polices in place for these events??

if not then why are you paying for FIA licences to race there........

that is all

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » September 10th, 2012, 6:54 am

SR wrote:does camden meets FIA minimum requirements for a drag track including safty measures???

that is all

I dont have an FIA licence..
used to have one back in wallerfield days but it's long expired.
afaik it's not a part of the criteria to race at camden.
but maybe that's because no part of that event could ever be approved by the FIA

Postby sMASH » September 10th, 2012, 7:40 am

remove ASN and NGB from ttasa and what is left?
if ASN and NGB was not assigned to any body, which body would be the best body to hold those mantles?

link

Postby link » September 10th, 2012, 7:46 am

White CZ4A wrote:
SR wrote:does camden meets FIA minimum requirements for a drag track including safty measures???

that is all

I dont have an FIA licence..
used to have one back in wallerfield days but it's long expired.
afaik it's not a part of the criteria to race at camden.
but maybe that's because no part of that event could ever be approved by the FIA

wait...we back to this now ???
please read the fia regs....posted several times in the forums...
thank you
btw, autosport...
u accuse me of sidestepping, but all yuh doing is pelt a pebble in d pond & watch the ripples spread...
YOU POSTED THE VIDEO LINK.....NOW YOU STATE WHAT YOU SEE AS VIOLATIONS....
don't do your usual...chook jepnes & let other ppl inter/extrapolate......
yuh...
for the rest....
an official international event is listed on the FIA sporting calendar...CHECK FIA.COM...
anyone can be INVITED attend an event....anywhere in the world...does that make it an 'international'??
rgds

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » September 10th, 2012, 9:09 am

link wrote:btw, autosport...
u accuse me of sidestepping, but all yuh doing is pelt a pebble in d pond & watch the ripples spread...
YOU POSTED THE VIDEO LINK.....NOW YOU STATE WHAT YOU SEE AS VIOLATIONS....

Link you are the expert at sidestepping so many queries in the past – see how many times you were asked about who was the TTASA Treasurer prior to July, not one response, and on so many other issues.

And your standard response when cornered – go read the FIA regs. Were you not one of the team that insisted that everyone who wanted to race at Camden had to pay for an FIA Licence and also join an affiliate?

What have you all been able to achieve over the last year with the formation of a MSGC that comprised a group of Affiliates with a combined total of ZERO events staged by any of them?

We all know that you will never give up on defending the indefensible. That is why you are where you are today. It is just a matter of time before you get deserving company.

In the interim, Barbados is moving on and Motor Sport in T&T continues to be choked by the neck.

djaggs

Postby djaggs » September 10th, 2012, 9:30 am

Is better we move to Barbados yes...

HondaHo de 1st

Postby HondaHo de 1st » September 10th, 2012, 9:50 am

let me ask BOTH OF YOU a question. do you have any idea what the possibilities would be if THE BOTH OF YOU were able to come to some sort of agreement where you could work together. The GOAL is to get rid of TTASA's existing management so MOTORSPORT in this country can finally grow instead of being held back. BOTH YOU LINK AND RAWLE WANT THIS. Despite the history between the both of you, you BOTH want this to happen. So if both of you want this, you don't think that that both of you could come to some sort of terms that would allow the both of you to work together for the common goal of getting TTASA's management out???

I know the both of you and know that both of you want this, that you'd like to know that TRINIDAD has a PERMANENT HOME FOR MOTORSPORT but as long as the both of you go back and forth with the barrage of accusations, etc, IT WILL NEVER START. LINK, RAWLE, you have any idea if the both of you were able to work to together on this what could be acheived???

the knowledge that both of you possess if it was to be put together, would make Ali instantly constipated. but as long as you both stay in your corners and not even look past the history, the insults, the accusations, then this will never come to pass.

I FOR ONE KNOW FOR A FACT FROM BOTH OF YOU, that you'll want a permanent home for motorsports

Mr. Mahabir, Mr. Sampat, please, for the greater good, for the bigger picture, for the love of motorsport, can you please, for once in your lives, do something that NOONE would ever expect. meet, sit down and talk like gentlemen, and figure out what to do to GET RID OF ALI AND HIS DICTATORSHIP.

You both have been trying to win this war against them separately, why not combine your forces and win.

IF THEY CAN PUT A MAN ON THE MOON, THE BOTH OF YOU CAN FIND A WAY TO WORK TOGETHER FOR THE SOLE PURPOSE OF GETTING RID OF ALI'S REIGN.
cuz that's what we want, that's the only way that we will get anywhere.

I Wellsely Nandoo, here by ask you Rawle Mahabir and you Link Sampat, if the both of you could please work together on this. Put aside your differences, your history and FOCUS ON THE GOAL OF GETTING ALI OUT.

Please.