Apple wins Billion dollar lawsuit vs Samsung

Strauss

Re: Apple wins Billion dollar lawsuit vs Samsung

Postby Strauss » August 30th, 2012, 9:19 am

achillies wrote:The top 10 companies and the amount they spend on R&D (in billions) in the past 12 months were, according to S&P Capital IQ:

• Microsoft (MSFT): $9.4
• Pfizer (PFE): $8.4
• Intel (INTC): $8.4
• Merck (MRK): $8.3
• Johnson & Johnson (JNJ): $7.5
• International Business Machines (IBM): $6.3
• Cisco Systems (CSCO): $5.6
• Google (GOOG): $5.2
• Eli Lilly (LLY): $5.0
• Oracle (ORCL): $4.4

To answer the above question, who is missing???

And yet Apple is able to make the most profits and be the most valued company in the world... why? Because their product line is:

MACINTOSH:
- MacBook Pro
- Mac Pro
- MacBook Air
- iMac

iDEVICES:
- iPhone
- iPod
- iPad
- AppleTV

SOFTWARE:
- MacOS X
- iLife
- iWorks
- Final Cut Pro

OTHER:
- AirPort, displays, cables and other misc

Compare this to other companies that have so many different models of tablets and phones, and computers. They don't need to spend the same percentage of R&D because of less products. That means each product gets a lot more money than a single product from another company.

Watch this. It's how Steve Jobs turned around the company.

Postby Sky » August 30th, 2012, 10:57 am

^^ You forgot all the hipsters buying their stuff just because.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » August 30th, 2012, 11:02 am

Sky wrote:^^ You forgot all the hipsters buying their stuff just because.

A valid point.

Postby teems1 » August 30th, 2012, 12:24 pm

Apple is brilliant when it comes to marketing.

The need to have the 4S or the 5 just to be in the "in crowd", even though your 4 is pretty frikkin relevant still, is what makes them so profitable.

I highly doubt Android users upgrade their phones as frequently.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » August 30th, 2012, 12:40 pm

teems1 wrote:

Apple is brilliant when it comes to marketing.

The need to have the 4S or the 5 just to be in the "in crowd", even though your 4 is pretty frikkin relevant still, is what makes them so profitable.

I highly doubt Android users upgrade their phones as frequently.

I think Android users upgrade just as quickly.

Android has advanced so quickly in such a short time and they are meaningful hardware upgrades to support the new OS features. That and people rather buy a new phone instead of waiting for a manufacturer upgrade that may never come (those that don't want to go through the trouble of custom firmware).

Apple fanboi's upgrade because they have too much frikkin money to waste just because Apple gets them wet in a new advert.

Postby stev » August 30th, 2012, 12:46 pm

u all wudnt believe the amount of people on facebook and Google+ think the samsung 5 cent payment is real.... :lol:

achillies

Postby achillies » August 30th, 2012, 5:40 pm

Good article on the Verge that relates to the "pinch to zoom gesture"

Yet another reason the patent case should not have been in front a jury of "their" peers

The Verge

Postby Sky » August 30th, 2012, 6:37 pm

Personally (have nothing to do with the above pic), I think what Apple has done is lay a blow on the industry itself, and not Samsung. Now that this precedent is set, who else will they attack?
It's Apple vs Microsoft all over again, but this time they won. Now imagine where the world of IT would be today without Microsoft's contributions if Apple really did win back in the 90's.

I know few would understand, but they put greed before industry. All they want to do is control it, not for the sake of their customers, but for themselves. Sold my ipad and was thinking of an iphone 4/4S as a more mobile replacement, but I'm done with Apple.

This company is out to cripple the mobile movement for their own gain. I know some fanboy's gonna come in and say Apple revolutionized mobile technology blah blah. Well it's just an evolutionary step, just like flip phones and lcd screens We don't see other companies in court over that stuff. . HTC One X or G S3 for me. I can't give my money to a company that doesn't care about me.
If they have their way, they will be the only mobile phone and computing supplier there is. And allyuh remember how things were before Digicel and Flow.

Postby supercharged turbo » August 30th, 2012, 7:31 pm

Samsung Pays Apple In Coins; $1.05 Billion in Small Change, Hoax Story?
http://www.enstarz.com/articles/5990/20 ... -story.htm

Postby Rory Phoulorie » August 30th, 2012, 7:35 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:Samsung Pays Apple In Coins; $1.05 Billion in Small Change, Hoax Story?

No. It's true. Apple says that it's going to melt all the coins and use the molten metal in the production of the casings of the Iphone Evo 6.

Crucial

Postby Crucial » August 30th, 2012, 8:18 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:Samsung Pays Apple In Coins; $1.05 Billion in Small Change, Hoax Story?

Take a read from more reputable sources;

http://www.guardian.co.uk/technology/bl ... sfeed=true

http://www.gizmodo.com.au/2012/08/no-sa ... ent-coins/

rather than Onion related humor sites.

achillies

Postby achillies » August 31st, 2012, 12:22 pm

Strauss wrote:And yet Apple is able to make the most profits and be the most valued company in the world... why? Because their product line is:

MACINTOSH:
- MacBook Pro
- Mac Pro
- MacBook Air
- iMac

iDEVICES:
- iPhone
- iPod
- iPad
- AppleTV

SOFTWARE:
- MacOS X
- iLife
- iWorks
- Final Cut Pro

OTHER:
- AirPort, displays, cables and other misc

Compare this to other companies that have so many different models of tablets and phones, and computers. They don't need to spend the same percentage of R&D because of less products. That means each product gets a lot more money than a single product from another company.

Watch this. It's how Steve Jobs turned around the company.

So Google spends more in R+D and what do they make, please make me a listing of Google's product line???

Lets never underestimate the power of marketing!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 31st, 2012, 12:33 pm

^ Yahoo and AOL spent billions on marketing - it didnt help

the world of marketing won't help if the product is crap

Apple is a hardware company, Google is not.

Google develops online software, collects data and generates revenue from selling advertising.

a LARGE part of Google's revenue stream comes from Google Adwords and Adsense - they provide tools such as Google Analytics, DFP Small Business / Ad Manager that millions of websites use around the world. Google has hundreds of products.

The mobile OS (Android), browser (Chrome), search engine (google.com) and Youtube are front ends that use the above software to collect data and push ads.

achillies

Postby achillies » August 31st, 2012, 1:10 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ Yahoo and AOL spent billions on marketing - it didnt help

Google develops online software, collects data and generates revenue from selling advertising.

a LARGE part of Google's revenue stream comes from Google Adwords and Adsense - they provide tools such as Google Analytics, DFP Small Business / Ad Manager that millions of websites use around the world. Google has hundreds of products.

The mobile OS (Android), browser (Chrome), search engine (google.com) and Youtube are front ends that use the above software to collect data and push ads.

Very true, but many times R+D is used as some big magic wand that it seems only Apple can wave, my point was to show that it is indeed not.

Also true that marketing won't help if the product is crap, but a great product can also fail if the marketing is crap, not so?

Apple has great products, so does other companies, but one of the deciding factors in Apple's success is their marketing and their PR and it is in fact top notch, and matched by no other company in my lifetime, and if I didn't know what I do, I would have believed a lot of the falsities that is promoted in the marketing schemes, they have a supreme understanding of the psychology of the consumer, hence the reason that Apple has attracted such a "cult like" following, that following is not only a result of the product bro, that is a result of the controlling people's minds.

casper

Postby casper » August 31st, 2012, 5:14 pm

Stephon. wrote:Can we all slap the delusion out of some people here please?
We all know that no matter how much like apple the Samsung phones are, apple wouldn't have sued if Samsung phones weren't (simply put) better. How many phones are obvious copies of apples designs, and imitates their software that never got sued because they all failed so bad? It's only when real competition came around apple started crying to their lawyers.

The real issue here is that Apple simply want to give less and get more. There are 3 iPads out and roughly 6 iPhones out. How far along is the iPhone 3GS as compared to the iPhone 4S, not much of a progress if you asked me. How much of a difference is the iPad 2 as compared to the iPad 3? Compare that to the difference between the Galaxy Tab 2 and the Note 10.1.

^^^so true....strauss keeps saying that its embarrassin that samsung copied apple with this and that but in my opinion its even more embarrassin that apple couldnt even come up with more substance to their iphone from 2007 to now as you pointed out....

same experience u get from an iphone 4 that you got from the very first iphone back in 2007..same icons, same swipe and pinch to zoom etc etc...just basically better proc, more ram, better camera, better screen....iOS5 is basically the same as it was in the previous iOS's..so what exactly changed throughout iOS?? maps? notifications? siri? thats what everyone raving about??? :?

the 3 ipads are basically the same....just the 1st one dont have a cam but otherwise its a big ipod touch (which is basically teh same as an iphone minus phone capabilities) only thing have changed throughout the ipads are camera, proc, and ram....and iOS

thats very little innovation since 2007 WRT their iphones if u ask me...yea samsung copied their design but they made it so much more than what the iphone is and has been since 2007

only major plus apple has over samsung to me is their premium feel to their products...they feel very well built...probably the best build quality and physical feel than every other phone brand out there....but inside you get outdated technology so your basically paying for a well built product but nothing else...iOS is stable yes but honestly anything THAT simple is expected to be stable so no praise there from me...lets see apple make an OS as advanced as android and run it smoothly on their devices...THEN you can talk about how great the iphone is

casper

Postby casper » August 31st, 2012, 5:23 pm

apple has made 3 products that are almost exactly the same

iphone = ipod touch + phone

ipod touch = iphone - phone

ipad = huge ipod touch

wow @ innovation!!!!!!! :o

apple had a whole year from the iphone 4 to the 4s and all they did was make a new phone with double the proc power which doesnt even feel that much faster, add a better camera and add a voice assistant....physical aspects of the phone's exterior remained the same and it was the most sold iphone ever!!!!

fanboy-ism is sickning to this brand.....when RIM did the same thing with the 9700 to the 9780 persons bashed it and said that how RIM wasting time and people's money by basically just offering a boosted 9700 instead of something completely different....when they did the same again from the 9800 to the 9810 they get bash again....but apple take a year to bring out a phone like how RIM did and gained huge successs... :lol:

blind ppl out here yes

sensiman

Postby sensiman » August 31st, 2012, 7:13 pm

Good guy microsoft

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » August 31st, 2012, 7:43 pm

Samsung perfected what Apple did, Apple just toting lol

Postby Sky » August 31st, 2012, 8:07 pm

casper wrote:
only major plus apple has over samsung to me is their premium feel to their products...they feel very well built...probably the best build quality and physical feel than every other phone brand out there....

Now you think they have any plus over Samsung?

casper

Postby casper » August 31st, 2012, 8:23 pm

No I wasn't talkin bout it's durability on drops u know...I was talkin bout how it just feels in your hand nah....it has a nice solid weight, feels premium and no squeezing parts as it is made of premium materials as glass and aluminum....that's what I meant Sky

Postby Sky » August 31st, 2012, 8:30 pm

^^Ohh. I too look at the feel, but the vid shows that it's not a reliable way to check durability.

Postby nervewrecker » August 31st, 2012, 8:36 pm

S3, you could forget it even on you. It win on so many levels eh.

Postby M_2NR » September 1st, 2012, 12:18 am

Tons of creativity I must say. :roll:
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1346473043.687594.jpg

casper

Postby casper » September 1st, 2012, 12:28 am

Ok...we get pass d fact that Samsung has copied apple's design...we already established that...d question at hand is what has apple done differently from 2007's iPhone to 2011's???

Postby Stephon. » September 1st, 2012, 6:24 am

casper wrote:Ok...we get pass d fact that Samsung has copied apple's design...we already established that...d question at hand is what has apple done differently from 2007's iPhone to 2011's???

Same thing I am saying. They do nor improve on much when they upgrade. They add .01 megapixel to their cam and call that an upgrade. The progress from the iPhone 3gs vs the iPhone 4s is so minimal compared to the progress from the galaxy sii to the siii

Apple got boring fast.

Postby Sky » September 1st, 2012, 12:02 pm

Postby noshownogo » September 1st, 2012, 8:43 pm

Apple wants to tackle Samsung Galaxy Note and SIII next

http://gizmodo.com/5939835/apple-takes- ... i-and-note

Postby Stephon. » September 1st, 2012, 9:42 pm

Even more embarrassing for apple.
Keep admitting that Samsung flat out makes better phones lol.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 2nd, 2012, 12:01 am

achillies wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ Yahoo and AOL spent billions on marketing - it didnt help

Very true, but many times R+D is used as some big magic wand that it seems only Apple can wave, my point was to show that it is indeed not.

Also true that marketing won't help if the product is crap, but a great product can also fail if the marketing is crap, not so?

Apple has great products, so does other companies, but one of the deciding factors in Apple's success is their marketing and their PR and it is in fact top notch, and matched by no other company in my lifetime, and if I didn't know what I do, I would have believed a lot of the falsities that is promoted in the marketing schemes, they have a supreme understanding of the psychology of the consumer, hence the reason that Apple has attracted such a "cult like" following, that following is not only a result of the product bro, that is a result of the controlling people's minds.
now it's mind control

you are starting to sound like the guys in the religion thread who say evidence of the earth being more than 6000 years old is a conspiracy by the scientists who make money pushing evolution!

what falsities? If there were blatant and terrible falsities the consumer and definitely the authorities would have stopped Apple in their tracks a long time ago.

There is alot of psychology in Apple's design, no doubt, but that is what makes it so desirable. The thought that goes into the design and function. Which is why it is copied and which is why there are so many supposed "iPhone Killers" but no on claims to be a HTC or Samsung or Nokia killer.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 2nd, 2012, 12:05 am

Stephon. wrote:
Apple got boring fast.
which is why they are the most valuable company in the world

real sour grapes :lol: