is this true?

Re: is this true?

Postby rollingstock » March 15th, 2012, 10:45 pm

And men still fail to understand that the law does NOT state that is illegal to have fogs fitted to your vehicle, it is an offence to have it on (lit).

Postby pioneer » March 15th, 2012, 10:47 pm

rollingstock wrote:And men still fail to understand that the law does NOT state that is illegal to have fogs fitted to your vehicle, it is an offence to have it on (lit).

re: so why do police have theirs on? :?

Postby rollingstock » March 15th, 2012, 10:51 pm

Cause they the forkin police, why men doh leave dey bed in de night and go run down bandit?

Wait wha ah sayin, dem doh do that either, is to see better goin tru de track to check basmatie.

Postby BrotherHood » March 15th, 2012, 11:06 pm

rollingstock wrote:Cause they the forkin police

Nobody above the law.

Postby Stephon. » March 15th, 2012, 11:20 pm

Pointman-IA wrote:I move around with a letter from the Transport Commissioner stating that my vehicle was licensed with the additional lights (fog lights).

Not sure but you could be the Renault I saw this morning crossing the bus route in Laventille heading past Toyota/Maritime towards the highway there.

Only reason I remembered that vehicle is because there was a police officer right there directing traffic, the fog lights on your (or someone else) vehicle were on and I remembered that fog lights were "illegal" and he didn't even bat his eye twice.

Hell even tonight I passed some officers sharing tickets on the highway with my headlights and fog-lights on and wasn't stopped.

I can easily take them off, but it's set to come on automatically when it begins to get dark and I can't be bothered. If I'm driving through a road block I might take them off if I remember, and I do agree that fog lights don't make any difference wrt actually lighting up the roads for you, but I keep mine on anyway.

triniboy wrote:i hope you people can realize what is going on in this thread. everyone has their OWN interpretation of the law.
the original laws have their OWN interpretation.
even the government has their OWN interpretation of what is legal and illegal because they are the ones that licence vehicles with fog lights and then give people tickets for them.

Yeah it's pretty sad, but I'm glad most officers they have on the roads on a morning and afternoon would quicker stop a driver that's driving dangerously, rather than having fog lights on that isn't affecting anyone.

Still waiting to see if it's illegal for my father to be driving around during the day with his running lights on in his car lol - everytime I bring it up to him he laughs and tells me he's waiting for the day an idiot tries to charge him for it.

Postby rollingstock » March 15th, 2012, 11:42 pm

BrotherHood wrote:
rollingstock wrote:Cause they the forkin police

Nobody above the law.

And common sense not so common.
Why don't yah go stop a marked Navara and tell he's breaking the law, give us a feedback on how that works out for yah.

Postby BrotherHood » March 15th, 2012, 11:42 pm

Stephon. wrote:Hell even tonight I passed some officers sharing tickets on the highway with my headlights and fog-lights on and wasn't stopped.

I drive through a roadblock already with fogs on and didnt get stopped nor was I issued a ticket so I don't know why it's a sometimish thing with these officers.

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » March 16th, 2012, 7:43 am

fogs does look real coool

Postby rollingstock » March 16th, 2012, 9:04 am

BrotherHood wrote:
Stephon. wrote:Hell even tonight I passed some officers sharing tickets on the highway with my headlights and fog-lights on and wasn't stopped.

I drive through a roadblock already with fogs on and didnt get stopped nor was I issued a ticket so I don't know why it's a sometimish thing with these officers.

And that's what makes you an idiot.

You kno it's illegal but knowingly drive through a roadblock with it on, now if you got a ticket, run pon 2nr and make a thread about it. Does it matter if the police drive around with theirs on?

It's up to you to adhere to the law if the police is breaking it does it make it okay for you too?

Some people just hard headed, would argue an idiotic point even knowing better and when things don't go your way, point fingers at other idiots doing the same thing, that sounds familiar, are you PP supporter?

Postby Habit7 » March 16th, 2012, 9:14 am

Whether what we or our officials think about fog lights as to their legality, it seems like we would need to stop importing cars from developed countries which subscribe to developed country standards and laws.

It's sad for me in Trinidad to ticketed for fogs which automatically comes on with my euro, while in Jamaica, police will really enforce the law with radar guns.

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » March 16th, 2012, 9:17 am

police in helicopter, asearching for......fog lights...:sick:

Postby rollingstock » March 16th, 2012, 9:23 am

Instead of bumping gum and going in circles, venting on a message board over and over, do something about it.

Petition your representative, write a letter to the Transport Commissioner, do something, have the archaic laws changed, do something. Heck willingly take a ticket and fight the matter in court and hope you win if it bothers you so much.

But bitching over and over WILL NOT change anything, and if you all think arguing with me over the internet, and pray tell you win the argument is gonna change jacksheit, well bad news not gonna happen. What you gonna do print a screen shot and anytime a police stop you, show him and say well i did tell RS talk nah and he couldn't talk and him ah Snr police so you cannot give me no ticket.

Postby nervewrecker » March 16th, 2012, 9:25 am

I for one didnt know they were illegal to be illuminated, I will switch them off in road blocks now, better to be safe then sorry. almost everyone have them on at nights though so police maybe look for less work & charge for other offences rather than having to stop all the cars on the road. Yes, I do drive with mine on.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » March 16th, 2012, 9:45 am

roshan1 wrote:don't know what going on but a padna of mine got a $1000 ticket for loud music on saturday coming from Granville

I don't see the problem here.

If you are playing it loud enough for the next car to also hear loudly, you are way over the limit.

Postby Stephon. » March 16th, 2012, 10:25 am

Habit7 wrote:Whether what we or our officials think about fog lights as to their legality, it seems like we would need to stop importing cars from developed countries which subscribe to developed country standards and laws.

It's sad for me in Trinidad to ticketed for fogs which automatically comes on with my euro, while in Jamaica, police will really enforce the law with radar guns.

Same thing I've said on the last page, we're buying 2012 vehicles to drive on a road with 1612 laws :lol:

Postby crazybalhead » March 16th, 2012, 10:37 am

rollingstock wrote:^ Honestly how many occasions will you have to actually have use for real 'fog lights', not many. Under the proper conditions i honestly doubt anyone will be penalised.
But instead we have fools that leave their headlights off, and drive with the fogs only, usually with the wrong bulbs or even in conjunction with headlights blinding oncoming traffic. Fog lights are designed to penetrate, aim that at traffic on an incoming lane and it is very disconcerting.

The only time I use driving lights is on very dark, no street light roads late in the night. And they honestly don't help me to "see more bettah" under normal driving conditions, pretty useless at anything above 20 KMPH, Normal low beam and high beam more than good enough for that.

Postby Dave » March 16th, 2012, 10:40 am

:-( i doh have fog lights

Postby Habit7 » March 16th, 2012, 10:46 am

I think we should be consistent and remove the heating element for our A/C. Anyone caught with one should be charged.

Postby nervewrecker » March 16th, 2012, 10:55 am

I see what dave tried there.

Postby rollingstock » March 16th, 2012, 10:55 am

Habit7 wrote:I think we should be consistent and remove the heating element for our A/C. Anyone caught with one should be charged.

Whilst you at it remove your brain one time, yah don't seem to have use for that either.

Postby Dave » March 16th, 2012, 10:57 am

nervewrecker wrote:I see what dave tried there.

lol i really don't have fog lights

my heating element gone long time.....

Postby nervewrecker » March 16th, 2012, 11:00 am

I know you dont have, wanna trade for a car with fogs? :mrgreen:

Postby Habit7 » March 16th, 2012, 11:04 am

Habit7 wrote:I think we should be consistent and remove the heating element for our A/C. Anyone caught with one should be charged.

Whilst you at it remove your brain one time, yah don't seem to have use for that either.

*scurries to pay outstanding child maintenance before I get a 'visit'*

Postby rollingstock » March 16th, 2012, 11:15 am

^ lol arse :lol:

But seriously all the beat up for something that you really have no use for except for the rare occasion. And all the people bemoaning T&T and calling for first world laws, have they ever visited a first world country, they have road etiquette and wouldn't use their fogs unless needed.
Here we have idiots with HID's in their fogs, poorly directed and drive all over the place with it despite it being illegal, imagine if they allow it.

Postby Dave » March 16th, 2012, 11:33 am

nervewrecker wrote:I know you dont have, wanna trade for a car with fogs? :mrgreen:

lol, what u putting on the table

Postby nervewrecker » March 16th, 2012, 11:35 am

:lol: it defiantly aint worth as much as your ride or can come anything close to it.

Postby Habit7 » March 16th, 2012, 11:42 am

rollingstock wrote:^ lol arse :lol:

But seriously all the beat up for something that you really have no use for except for the rare occasion. And all the people bemoaning T&T and calling for first world laws, have they ever visited a first world country, they have road etiquette and wouldn't use their fogs unless needed.
Here we have idiots with HID's in their fogs, poorly directed and drive all over the place with it despite it being illegal, imagine if they allow it.

true but last year a WPC wanted to give me a ticket for having my fog lights lit on my stock 1 year old car. I had to drop a few names (mommy and daddy) to get out of it but I understand that the law is it illegal to have them on but, my thing is if we importing japanese and european cars we need laws to reflect what we get. The Licensing guys who register our cars need to pressure their superiors to get laws the reflect reality and not authorize our equipment to be non-functioning.

A child must be standing the backseat, watching me in my eyes while i get a ticket for stock fog lights, rubbish.

Postby BrotherHood » March 16th, 2012, 11:48 am

RS, all I saying is that if it's illegal to have them illuminated, why are they on our cars in the first instance? Let's be consistent here. Also, just because the police are just that, police, it doesn't entitle them to a special pardon WRT to breaking the law. If the law is no illuminated foglights, it goes for everyone. Nobody different.

Postby rollingstock » March 16th, 2012, 12:05 pm

BrotherHood wrote:RS, all I saying is that if it's illegal to have them illuminated, why are they on our cars in the first instance? Let's be consistent here. Also, just because the police are just that, police, it doesn't entitle them to a special pardon WRT to breaking the law. If the law is no illuminated foglights, it goes for everyone. Nobody different.

Dan read carefully what i wrote. It is an accessory that we have no use for really, hence the illegality, why fight for something cause it looks good. It cause more harm to use it. They are on your car because the manufacturer put it there because they cater for different markets.

Now if before licensing if a LO pulls of your fogs, people may complain about the damage done or the unsightly hole left.

It is the responsibilities of drivers to police themselves.

And what does the Police using their fogs have to do with YOU? Now i'm not condoning it but honestly what are you going to do cry over it, you do what's right bring up the issue to the relevant authority and hopefully something will be done about it. But as it stands it is illegal so conform with the law until it is changed or break the law and face the consequences.

I fail to understand trini's, we have a very lax approach to enforcing traffic laws, drivers get away with murder on the roads literally and men fighting down to use their fogs in a country with no fog.

Firewall

Postby Firewall » March 16th, 2012, 12:24 pm

how many of you all actually get blinded by a factory installed foglight? (not the b12/13/14/15 HID modified ones.)

Mine seem to illuminate the ground area about 5ft infront of the car.

If somebody head there to get blinded they have bigger problems