Postby sharkman121 » January 19th, 2012, 12:17 pm

vrampersad14 wrote:Well say a Van.

wdf :lol: :lol: u eh easy :lol:

Re: Ministry of Agriculture buying Porsche vehicles

Postby Habit7 » January 19th, 2012, 12:20 pm

Habit7 wrote:So would a Hummer satisfy everyone?

Can't speak for others, but me........yeah!

Lt. Horatio Caine approves

Postby S_2NR » January 19th, 2012, 12:23 pm

eliteauto wrote:

definitely South :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby MG Man » January 19th, 2012, 12:25 pm

teems1 wrote:
trini mk5 wrote:
teems1 wrote:He should be driving a 4x4, a decent fully loaded one.

When it's time for him to go visiting those farming areas where the roads are horrible/nonexistent, it makes logical sense. Also would help alleviate the vast disconnect in wealth between the poorer farmers and the wealthy politicians by seeing your minister of Agriculture driving a vehicle similar to yours.

I doh understand this :? :?
seriously!!

4x4 as in Hilux/Navara/etc

Not a luxury SUV 4x4

but ent Porsche say their van can do the offroad / gravel / mud trail thing once u have the right tyres?
I know a RR can do eet

Postby Trini Hookah » January 19th, 2012, 12:26 pm

eliteauto wrote:

definitely South :lol: :lol: :lol:

I myself posted that in a rush, a Pick-up is what I meant to say.

Postby equipped2ripp » January 19th, 2012, 12:31 pm

teems1 wrote:
trini mk5 wrote:

When it's time for him to go visiting those farming areas where the roads are horrible/nonexistent, it makes logical sense. Also would help alleviate the vast disconnect in wealth between the poorer farmers and the wealthy politicians by seeing your minister of Agriculture driving a vehicle similar to yours.

seriously!!

Not a luxury SUV 4x4

but ent Porsche say their van can do the offroad / gravel / mud trail thing once u have the right tyres?
I know a RR can do eet

Lol, as if they gonna change tires on that or even go off-road with them...

Postby Habit7 » January 19th, 2012, 12:36 pm

crash dummy

Postby crash dummy » January 19th, 2012, 12:55 pm

Habit7 wrote:Image

Postby Dizzy28 » January 19th, 2012, 1:11 pm

teems1 wrote:
trini mk5 wrote:

seriously!!

Not a luxury SUV 4x4

I know a RR can do eet

Repossessed Renault?? :? :?

Postby MG Man » January 19th, 2012, 1:15 pm

Rolls Royce, yuh kangkalang

Postby Dizzy28 » January 19th, 2012, 2:04 pm

OIC

Closes off window with the following pic

Postby RBphoto » January 19th, 2012, 2:11 pm

Top gear say the fiat panda issa borse.

Postby equipped2ripp » January 19th, 2012, 2:25 pm

looks like the 3.6 V6 gas version...

Postby Habit7 » January 19th, 2012, 2:28 pm

Dealers mum on purchase of car
Published:
Thursday, January 19, 2012
Rhonda Krystal Rambally

Representatives of dealerships Toyota Trinidad and Tobago Ltd and Lifestyle Motors yesterday refused to comment on any matters surrounding the purchase of vehicles for Government Ministries. The purchase of a $400,000 duty free Porsche Cayenne Diesel for Food Production Minister Vasant Bharath is now the centre of attention. A well-placed source in the car industry said the vehicle was “the lowest end... the Diesel... because of the tax structure in Trinidad.” Porsche offers five models of the sports utility vehicle (SUV) – Cayenne, Cayenne Diesel, Cayenne S, Cayenne S Hybrid and Cayenne Turbo.

The source said the car was “not as fancy” as people perceived and “is perfect for what the minister uses it for.” A “regular” vehicle was priced at $975,000. The luxury vehicle was bought in September 2010 from official distributor Lifestyle Motors in San Juan and assigned to the Ministry of Food Production. It was a showroom vehicle and no customisation was requested. It is the official vehicle used for ministerial assignments by Bharath. The issue was raised by Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley on Tuesday who said such a vehicle had no place in a ministry.

However, Bharath has since defended the purchase, saying there was no extravagance with the purchase because of its cost. When Lifestyle Motors was contacted yesterday, the representative was hesitant to comment. He said the dealership did not want to be involved in the controversy since some of what was reported about the organisation in another newspaper was incorrect. He added: “False information is very bad. Why single out Lifestyle Motors? “The car was purchased here but the article is not about us.”

He said they were free to sell to whoever they wanted. At the Toyota company, T&T Guardian was told that the finance director had no comments. The representative who relayed the message said the reason may have been because of the current reports. The Toyota Land Cruiser Prado is widely used by Government Ministries. The representative said the listed price was $735,000 while the retail price was about $730,000. He said customisation was around $835,000. Speaking about the controversial vehicle, a source said no two Porsche Cayenne SUVs have the same features.

Customers request additional features which can carry the cost up to as much as $2 million. Customers can choose from a range of extra-cost options to their vehicles’ exterior, interior, wheels, engine, transmission, chassis and audio system. The source added: “Because of the taxing structure the vehicle (Bharath’s) becomes the base model. “Everyone of the vehicles owned by customers is different.” Lifestyle Motors is said to have sold 100 Porsche Cayenne SUVs last year.

Standard features of the Porsche Cayenne Diesel:
• Leather interior;
• front and rear park assist;
• 3.0–litre V6 turbo-diesel engine;
• all-wheel drive;
• sunroof;
• eight-speed Tiptronic S with auto start/stop function; and
• monochrome black interior package (high gloss).

Land Cruiser Prado specifications (leather VX model):
• 16 valve DOHC four-cylinder In-line, 3.0L diesel 1KD-FTV L4 common rail diesel engine system;
• specialised ABS with brake assist; electronic brake distribution;
• cruise control;
• airbag system; and
• child restraint system.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/thursday ... rchase-car

Postby streetbeastINC. » January 19th, 2012, 3:06 pm

AYE what wrong with allyuh?????????????????????????? last night INchan say he supposrts this and the ula ..... he even went furhter to showing utube vids of a cayen offroading.....so remember this man knows everything so once he back it up its alryt......

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 19th, 2012, 9:18 pm

DSM_05 wrote:
Vega wrote:I woulda buy ah supercharged V8 range rover....fack way de porsche!

Clearly, you do not realise that a Range is now the new B14. Why should the Ministry by a B14?

They need vehicles with Pedigree - hence the Porsche. I wonder what model Cayenne they got - diesel? V6? Cayenne S V8?

Frankly, I toting cuz dem ha Porsche an' ting, and I cyah afford none (I want a Cayman R..... :( )

that is why I stated V8 supercharged!!!!!
NOT them se and hse 3 litre turbo diesel ting as you stated are so very common i.e. b14 analogy.....

I refer to the 5litre hse supercharge V8.....that is the real thing for vasant to handle dem agri lands...or even self the vogue se with its 4.4l v8.....porsche eh able with lagoon! :lol:

Postby Trini Hookah » January 19th, 2012, 9:27 pm

Where those other 90+ Cayennes hiding?

Postby equipped2ripp » January 19th, 2012, 9:57 pm

I still wanna know what 100 units they sold last year :lol:

They sold about 25 if so much...

Postby tr1ad » January 19th, 2012, 10:25 pm

LM always up to something yes

Scoobert Bauce

Postby Scoobert Bauce » January 20th, 2012, 4:50 am

bluespeed wrote:
Scoobert Bauce wrote:
UML wrote:and let us not conveniently forget the millions spent on prado's, mercedes, etc for a one day Summit...no complaints. :roll:

which gives them even less of an excuse to buy another car. where are those cars? did they sell them? did they give them away? I knew they distributed a couple thoughout the ministries...

they were distributed...the majority went to the ministry of national security.

oh... okay just wanted to know

asae

Postby asae » January 20th, 2012, 6:06 am

absolutely no problem with ministers and vehicles of a standard. Just imagine most of the Borough Co operations have Pardo land cruiser, (750000) fortuners (500000), coast guard rolling around in similar vehicles, police in camry, prado, fortuner, mazda 6, navara, etc.........and not to mentions normal citizens like me and u with range rovers, hummers, etc.....so no problem in the government ministers with representative vehicles of a certain standard .....:)

Postby teems1 » January 20th, 2012, 6:38 am

asae wrote:absolutely no problem with ministers and vehicles of a standard. Just imagine most of the Borough Co operations have Pardo land cruiser, (750000) fortuners (500000), coast guard rolling around in similar vehicles, police in camry, prado, fortuner, mazda 6, navara, etc.........and not to mentions normal citizens like me and u with range rovers, hummers, etc.....so no problem in the government ministers with representative vehicles of a certain standard .....:)

it doh work like that, especially when you was chastising the previous administration for doing the same sort of reckless spending during elections.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » January 20th, 2012, 7:04 am

that is why I stated V8 supercharged!!!!!
NOT them se and hse 3 litre turbo diesel ting as you stated are so very common i.e. b14 analogy.....

I refer to the 5litre hse supercharge V8.....that is the real thing for vasant to handle dem agri lands...or even self the vogue se with its 4.4l v8.....porsche eh able with lagoon

Soooo basically....a B14 with ah SR20 then?

Postby pioneer » January 20th, 2012, 7:21 am

Well yes...amazing how easily/quick they go to the LRC to suit THEIR needs...

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Min ... 35078.html

But other archaic laws they would NEVER change because it suits them just the way it is...

Lovely state we live in

Postby Morpheus » January 20th, 2012, 9:00 am

^^Well yes. LoL. SMH........

Postby MG Man » January 20th, 2012, 9:11 am

~Vēġó~ wrote:...porsche eh able with lagoon! :lol:

u sure about that pallie?
u know Porsche built an AWD CAR that won the Paris Dakar right?

Postby Habit7 » January 20th, 2012, 9:41 am

pioneer wrote:Well yes...amazing how easily/quick they go to the LRC to suit THEIR needs...

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Min ... 35078.html

But other archaic laws they would NEVER change because it suits them just the way it is...

Lovely state we live in

A government SUV - free
A chauffeur for government SUV - free
Fuel for government SUV - free
Maintenance of government SUV - free
Tax exemption from personal vehicle - free
Travelling allowance - +$5000

The feeling of seeing minions scatter as you as you receive a police escort whenever you request it - PRICELESS

There are something things money could buy, but why do it when you are a member of government.

Postby Dizzy28 » January 20th, 2012, 9:53 am

^ This be a Minister's allowance travel wise

A maximum loan of $300,000 at a rate of interest of 6% per annum
repayable over a period of six (6) years to facilitate the purchase of either:-
(a) a new motor vehicle with full exemption from Motor Vehicle Tax,
Value Added Tax and Customs Duty; or
(b) a used motor vehicle with full exemption from Special Motor
Vehicles Tax, Value Added Tax and Customs Duty.
(ii) A loan to cover the cost of Motor Vehicle Insurance premium at a rate of
interest of 6% per annum.
(iii) A maximum loan of $20,000 at a rate of interest of 6% per annum to effect
repairs to a motor vehicle.
(iv) A Transportation Allowance of $4,700 per month.
(v) A personal chauffeur.

Postby Habit7 » January 20th, 2012, 10:07 am

Dizzy28 wrote:A maximum loan of $300,000 at a rate of interest of 6% per annum
repayable over a period of six (6) years to facilitate the purchase of either:-
(a) a new motor vehicle with full exemption from Motor Vehicle Tax,
Value Added Tax and Customs Duty; or
(b) a used motor vehicle with full exemption from Special Motor
Vehicles Tax, Value Added Tax and Customs Duty.
(ii) A loan to cover the cost of Motor Vehicle Insurance premium at a rate of
interest of 6% per annum.
(iii) A maximum loan of $20,000 at a rate of interest of 6% per annum to effect
repairs to a motor vehicle.
(iv) A Transportation Allowance of $4,700 per month.
(v) A personal chauffeur.

So they getting all this plus the availability of using the Ministry vehicle...

...this place nicer than Trinituner :D