Oleander

Re: *::*CHRISTMAS MEGA THREAD 2010*::*

Postby Oleander » November 6th, 2010, 7:45 pm

Oleander

Postby Oleander » November 6th, 2010, 7:52 pm

Christmas or Christmas Day is a holiday observed mostly on December to commemorate the birth of Jesus, the central figure of Christianity. The date is not known to be the actual birthday of Jesus, and may have initially been chosen to correspond with either the day exactly nine months after some early Christians believed Jesus had been conceived,the date of the winter solstice on the ancient Roman calendar,or one of various ancient winter festivals. Christmas is central to the Christmas and holiday season, and in Christianity marks the beginning of the larger season of Christmastide, which lasts twelve days.
Although nominally a Christian holiday, Christmas is also widely celebrated by many non-Christians, and many of its popular celebratory customs have pre-Christian or secular themes and origins. Popular modern customs of the holiday include gift-giving, music, an exchange of greeting cards, church celebrations, a special meal, and the display of various decorations; including Christmas trees, lights, garlands, mistletoe, nativity scenes, and holly. In addition, Father Christmas (or Santa Claus) is a popular folklore figure in many countries, associated with the bringing of gifts for children.
Because gift-giving and many other aspects of the Christmas festival involve heightened economic activity among both Christians and non-Christians, the holiday has become a significant event and a key sales period for retailers and businesses. The economic impact of Christmas is a factor that has grown steadily over the past few centuries in many regions of the world.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Christmas

Postby tr1ad » November 6th, 2010, 7:53 pm

fack dat

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » November 6th, 2010, 7:55 pm

tr1ad wrote:fack dat

peppermint patty is a lesbian you silly guyanese..

Re: *:::*CHRISTMAS MEGA THREAD 2010*:::*

Postby nervewrecker » November 6th, 2010, 8:07 pm

ah wah ah lick...

*OUTSIDER*

Postby *OUTSIDER* » November 6th, 2010, 8:11 pm

Happy Holidays Guyz
Last edited by *OUTSIDER* on November 7th, 2010, 7:55 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby nervewrecker » November 6th, 2010, 8:21 pm

Postby sharkman121 » November 6th, 2010, 8:30 pm

^ ohh yeh :|

Oleander

Postby Oleander » November 6th, 2010, 8:40 pm

I want

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » November 6th, 2010, 8:42 pm

that parsad I eat may have gone bad, bob marley look like he moving........snarf!

Oleander

Postby Oleander » November 6th, 2010, 8:47 pm

^^ You better get yourself to the toilet now :|

Postby Bizzare » November 6th, 2010, 9:05 pm

Soundwave wrote:that parsad I eat may have gone bad, bob marley look like he moving........snarf!

That weed i smoke may have gone bad, The legs in oleander's avatar opening and closing...... :|

Oleander

Postby Oleander » November 6th, 2010, 9:17 pm

Oleander

Postby Oleander » November 6th, 2010, 10:48 pm

zcarz

Postby zcarz » November 7th, 2010, 12:42 am

People's belts tight, I predict a un-Christmas like Christmas this year. Nice thread though.

Postby Rainman » November 7th, 2010, 1:22 am

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » November 7th, 2010, 7:46 am

Oleander wrote:Image

and

Postby Trini Hookah » November 7th, 2010, 10:13 am

+

*hint hint*

Oleander

Postby Oleander » November 8th, 2010, 7:45 am

Traditions: Christmas Trees and Ornaments

The fir tree has a long association with Christianity, it began in Germany almost 1,000 years ago when St Boniface, who converted the German people to Christianity, was said to have come across a group of pagans worshipping an oak tree. In anger, St Boniface is said to have cut down the oak tree and to his amazement a young fir tree sprung up from the roots of the oak tree. St Boniface took this as a sign of the Christian faith. But it was not until the 16th century that fir trees were brought indoors at Christmas time.

CHRISTMAS TREE TRADITION HAS ANCIENT ORIGINS
King Tut never saw a Christmas tree, but he would have understood the tradition which traces back long before the first Christmas, says David Robson, Extension Educator, Horticulture with the Springfield Extension Center.

The Egyptians were part of a long line of cultures that treasured and worshipped evergreens. When the winter solstice arrive, they brought green date palm leaves into their homes to symbolize life's triumph over death.

The Romans celebrated the winter solstice with a fest called Saturnalia in honor of Saturnus, the god of agriculture. They decorated their houses with greens and lights and exchanged gifts. They gave coins for prosperity, pastries for happiness, and lamps to light one's journey through life.

Centuries ago in Great Britain, woods priests called Druids used evergreens during mysterious winter solstice rituals. The Druids used holly and mistletoe as symbols of eternal life, and place evergreen branches over doors to keep away evil spirits.

Late in the Middle Ages, Germans and Scandinavians placed evergreen trees inside their homes or just outside their doors to show their hope in the forthcoming spring. Our modern Christmas tree evolved from these early traditions.

Legend has it that Martin Luther began the tradition of decorating trees to celebrate Christmas. One crisp Christmas Eve, about the year 1500, he was walking through snow-covered woods and was struck by the beauty of a group of small evergreens. Their branches, dusted with snow, shimmered in the moonlight. When he got home, he set up a little fir tree indoors so he could share this story with his children. He decorated it with candles, which he lighted in honor of Christ's birth.

The Christmas tree tradition most likely came to the United States with Hessian troops during the American Revolution, or with German immigrants to Pennsylvania and Ohio, adds Robson.

But the custom spread slowly. The Puritans banned Christmas in New England. Even as late as 1851, a Cleveland minister nearly lost his job because he allowed a tree in his church. Schools in Boston stayed open on Christmas Day through 1870, and sometimes expelled students who stayed home.

The Christmas tree market was born in 1851 when Catskill farmer Mark Carr hauled two ox sleds of evergreens into New York City and sold them all. By 1900, one in five American families had a Christmas tree, and 20 years later, the custom was nearly universal.

Christmas tree farms sprang up during the depression. Nurserymen couldn't sell their evergreens for landscaping, so they cut them for Christmas trees. Cultivated trees were preferred because they have a more symmetrical shape then wild ones.

Six species account for about 90 percent of the nation's Christmas tree trade. Scotch pine ranks first, comprising about 40 percent of the market, followed by Douglas fir which accounts for about 35 percent. The other big sellers are noble fir, white pine, balsam fir and white spruce.
http://www.christmas-tree.com/where.html

Oleander

Postby Oleander » November 8th, 2010, 7:53 am

Start gathering and cleaning your

Start cleaning up the

To make your

Oleander

Postby Oleander » November 8th, 2010, 8:00 am

Don't forget to prep your leaves

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » November 8th, 2010, 8:54 am

you all on sheit, seriously, Christmas, apart from being purely pagonistic, and commercial in nature, should, if anything at all, be for the benefit of the less privileged children and disabled. The only people celebrating Christmas in Trinidad are the merchants. We all get carried away with consumerism and greed to ever know or feel the true meaning of Christmas, even if there was ever one.

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » November 8th, 2010, 8:55 am

why Christmas is wrong

http://www.atruechurch.info/wrongxmas.html

(A synopsis of the Christmas issue)

Go to any public library and obtain any book that covers the history of Christmas and you will quickly find the following:

The first Christmas was not celebrated until the 4th century A. D. when the Catholic church of that time accommodated the pagan practices of their day. The merrymaking, exchanging of gifts, etc. came from the festival of Saturnalia (a festival to the god, Saturn) and the date, December 25, was an adaptation of the birthday of Mithra (the sun god). Therefore, instead of calling these practices evil and opposing them (idolatry, false religion, and worship of false gods), the Catholic church fabricated and proclaimed that Jesus was born on December 25 (there is absolutely no known truth in this), and the festival of Saturnalia and the birthday of Mithra were now going to be celebrated as the birthday of Christ.

So what! Who cares if this is the background of Christmas? What difference does it make? When we celebrate Christmas, we don't even think of such things. True, but understanding its history can help us understand our present situation.

Did the Catholic church of the 4th century, in adapting ( "Christianizing" ) the pagan practices of their day, obey the following commands of God? No, they did not.

1 Corinthians 10:14 & 19-20: ". . . flee from idolatry." "What am I saying then? That an idol is anything, or what is offered to idols is anything? Rather, that the things which the Gentiles sacrifice they sacrifice to demons and not to God, and I do not want you to have fellowship with demons."

1 Thessalonians 1:8-10 (they turned from idols); 5:22: "Abstain from every form of evil." See also Acts 14:8-15.

1 John 5:21: ". . . keep yourselves from idols."

Romans 12:9: "Abhor what is evil."

Ephesians 5:8-11: "And have no fellowship with the unfruitful works of darkness, but rather expose them.";

1 Peter 3:11: (Turn away from evil.)

3 John 11: ". . . do not imitate what is evil,"

The Catholic church of the 4th century did not oppose the evil idolatry of its day, but they actually participated in it by giving them new names. Was this pleasing in the sight of God? Not at all! What about today? Should Christians participate in Christmas? Should they do as the 4th century Catholic church did (take a pagan holiday and "Christianize" it)?

As we face this issue, it must be understood that we have inherited 1600 years of deceit. The idea that Jesus was born on December 25 is made up (no man on earth knows when He was born ). AlI the practices that surround it (giving gifts, Christmas trees, etc.) are all rooted in pagan practices of the past and have absolutely no Biblical foundation whatsoever. Therefore, the celebration of Christ's birth (Christmas) and the way it is celebrated are not found anywhere in the Bible, and everything about it (the date and manner of celebration) is not from God. What is not from God, and is of a spiritual nature, is from the domain of the Devil (Ephesians 6:12; Revelation 12:9; John 8:44).

From the first Christmas to the present day, Christmas has always been associated with idolatry and wicked superstitious customs (in the past, Mithra, the sun god; today, Santa Claus, magic, sorcery, the god of materialism). Is this something the Christ of Scripture would associate Himself with? Certainly not!

Christ is Holy. What does it mean to be holy? Literally, it means to be "set apart", or "separate". Jesus Christ refused to line Himself up with the religion of His day ("the right one", Judaism and their practices, the Pharisees, etc.). How much more would He refuse to line Himself up with Santa Claus (a make-believe false god, "He knows when you've been bad or good."), and all the trappings of this "Christ-mass".

In fact, the word "Christmas" comes from the blasphemous term "Christ" and " mass". The mass comes from the Catholic church where they teach that the bread and juice of Communion (the Eucharist) actually turns into the literal body and blood of Jesus (transubstantiation), and Christ is sacrificed (offered up) again at each mass (this goes directly against Hebrews 9:27-28 and 10:1 1-18). The very term itself "Christmas" actually degrades our Lord.

Furthermore, the Christ portrayed in Christmas is not the Christ described in the Bible. This "Christ-child" of Christmas is adored (loved, worshiped) by the world. Most everybody loves this "Christ-child". The Christ of holy writ is hated by the world. They crucified Him, often opposed Him, and Jesus said Himself that they hated Him (John 15:18, 24-25); and they still hate Him today. Nothing has changed.

There are many false Christs in the world today. Mormons have their definition of who Christ is. The Jehovah Witnesses have their Christ. The Unitarians have their Christ. The Catholics have their Christ. And, Christmas (which traditionally is a Catholic Christ) has its Christ. Even when Christ was a babe, this prophecy was made concerning Him, ". . . a sign which will be spoken against . . ." (Luke 2:34). Do people speak against this Christ of Christmas? For the most part, no.

What's wrong with celebrating Christmas just simply and solely as a celebration of Christ's birth? The error comes to light and is seen when we realize that a celebration of Christ's birth is a form of worship. Everything surrounding Christmas is not from God's Word. And when it comes to worship, God has said, "God is Spirit, and those who worship Him must worship in spirit and truth." (John 4:24)

For the Christian who wants to serve God and please Him in every way (Colossians 1 :10; Ephesians 5:10), what has God called us to? He has called us to live holy lives, separate and distinct from this present evil age (see 1 Peter 1:13-16; 2 Corinthians 6:14, 7:1; Psalm 94:16; Romans 12:1-2). As He exhorts us to "Abhor what is evil" (Romans 12:9), as we endeavor to be unstained from the world (James 1:27), and as we pursue holiness ("without which no one will see the Lord", Hebrews 12:14), we are not only to refuse to celebrate Christmas, but we are actually to hate it (Psalm 119:104, 128), expose it for what it really is (a pagan holiday, Ephesians 5:11), and oppose it altogether, calling out to this lost world that God is Holy! That they had better repent from their wicked ways (Isaiah 55:6-7), for judgment is surely coming. The wrath of God does not slumber (Luke 3:7, Romans 1:18, 2 Peter 2:3), and the fire of His fury is on its way (Isaiah 66:15-16, 2 Thessalonians 1 :7-9). This was and is the message of the true Christ, "Repent, for the kingdom of heaven is at hand." (Matthew 4:17).

Oleander

Postby Oleander » November 8th, 2010, 9:52 am

Halfbreed07 as valid as your comments are, you are more than allowed to have your views but they do not affect me or the way I feel about Christmas.

Christmas despite every historical factoid, myth or opinion does not stop the traditions built by my family and we use the season to spend quality time together celebrating and thanking God for what we have accomplished through the year. We use this time to look back on how we’ve worked together as a family though all of our hardships and are thankful that we are together for yet another Christmas.

Christmas is a time for giving. Not that we don't practice charity throughout the year but we try to make our Christmas giving a little more special for the receivers.

Instead of objectifying everything if people just embraced the good nature of things maybe just maybe their lives would be a little more pleasant.

Jesus was born whenever but the 25th of December is just the day chosen to celebrate his birth. The main thing is that Christians are celebrating and acknowledging the fact that Jesus Christ our Lord and Saviour was born.

Yes we do exchange gifts during Christmas and I must say I love receiving gifts and who doesn’t? I can speak for myself only and I would say yes my family would splurge during Christmas but that never means that we would hang our hats where we can’t reach it. Everything is done within our means. So then we always have a very merry Christmas without having to worry about no $$ come January. You need to be smart with your spending regardless of the time of year.

So Halfbreed07 again I understand your point of view but I will continue to enjoy Christmas every year because I am blessed and I use this time period to celebrate my blessings and to be thankful to my God for all that he has given to me and my family. So I will decorate my house and make it the most welcoming house so that everyone can stop by to share in my joy.

Merry Christmas.

Postby bushwakka » November 8th, 2010, 10:43 am

we shud have thread abt CHRISTMAS MEGA SALE THREAD......giving all the locations of the best sales

Oleander

Postby Oleander » November 8th, 2010, 11:25 am

Gift Giving on a Budget

Holiday and special occasion gift giving with all the trimmings can become quite expensive. After the gift has been purchased, the wrapping, tissue paper, bows and cards may cost as much as the gift itself.
Showing that you care about a person does not require that you spend an enormous amount of money.

Create a Holiday Budget
It is easy to get carried away with all of the excitement during the holiday season. Think, plan and decide in advance how much you will spend on gifts and stick to the budget.
If you can not afford to buy presents for friends and relatives, let them know you are trying to get your financial life going in the right direction. Most people will understand your situation.

Draw Names
If you have a large family, have everyone draw names so that it is affordable for everyone. Buy only one gift instead of many gifts.

Bake
Bake some goodies and place them in a decorative tin or wrap them in cellophane topped with a pretty bow.

Don't Forget the Less Fortunate
The holidays are also a good time of year to evaluate and rid yourself of things you no longer need but could be useful to others. If you donate them to a non-profit charity like Goodwill or the Salvation Army

Recycle gifts
Look around your home for gifts that were given to you that you put away and never used again. Not only will someone be getting a wonderful gift, you will also be clearing your house out of clutter

Think Green
Get some envelopes with seeds in them of plants, personalize them and make is whimsical. You can write this is a magic beanstalk plant that will take you to a tower of gold. Or save the earth and plant me. You know the people around you best, and what catch phrase they would enjoy. If you prefer to give a grown plant, than start growing it at home and give it to them on Christmas.

Make your own gift
Make a photo album of great memories of you and the person that the gift is for. There is nothing better than good memories. This is also going to have sentimental value that can be appreciated and enjoyed. You can also knit a scarf or a hat. Sew together a blanket, or even paint a picture. Nothing is better than a gift from the heart. You can even make beaded jewelry.

Postby AllTrac » November 8th, 2010, 11:41 am

gift giving on a budget?? not ah fcuk for anyone this year! ah spending all meh money on rum, clothes and electronics for meh self, fcuk everyone else

Oleander

Postby Oleander » November 8th, 2010, 11:49 am

Postby crazybalhead » November 8th, 2010, 12:00 pm

A bottle a fackin lentils for Christmas yes!!!!!!

AAAAAAAAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!