Most expensive car wash

Re: Most expensive car wash

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 14th, 2012, 10:55 pm

geometron wrote:
Karim Khan wrote:Aaron it was a pleasure detailing the van today.

Guys this vehicle was a case of Dealer Instilled Swirls (DIS) . The vehicle was full of buff trails when it came from the dealer. When i first saw it i though " omg my god how can someone do a job like this and sleep in the night".

sad :shocked!: :puppydogeyes: :gay:

nah dan, it's called professional pride and it can be applied to any type of job.

Postby equipped2ripp » January 14th, 2012, 10:57 pm

crazychinee wrote:
geometron wrote:
Karim Khan wrote:Aaron it was a pleasure detailing the van today.

Guys this vehicle was a case of Dealer Instilled Swirls (DIS) . The vehicle was full of buff trails when it came from the dealer. When i first saw it i though " omg my god how can someone do a job like this and sleep in the night".

sad :shocked!: :puppydogeyes: :gay:

sours because the man cant come and detail your bicycle?

Postby shogun » January 15th, 2012, 12:11 am

well played crazychinee and VexXx Dogg.

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » January 15th, 2012, 2:26 am

goez 2 sho...trini i hav rel kants :D :D :)...like those above who got offended cuz they foot it everyday

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » January 15th, 2012, 7:16 am

geometron wrote:d phoq... bess allyuh put allyuh car on a pedestal n worship it or frame it. d lengths man wud go oui...den bamshot, rain cum down n car back to square 1

No. that's why you own MULTIPLE cars.

A daily beater....and weekend specials. The specials get the detailing.

If you own only one car, then makes not as much sense imho.

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » January 16th, 2012, 9:04 pm

DSM_05 wrote:
geometron wrote:d phoq... bess allyuh put allyuh car on a pedestal n worship it or frame it. d lengths man wud go oui...den bamshot, rain cum down n car back to square 1

No. that's why you own MULTIPLE cars.

A daily beater....and weekend specials. The specials get the detailing.

If you own only one car, then makes not as much sense imho.

i own one and take car of it like that. so guess its my daily special. been meaning to make a contribution so here is mine
wash with turtle wax car wash and wax
dry
buff with terry cloth
polish with turtle wax
wipe with terry cloth
wax with mothers spray wax
buff with terry cloth

didnt have time to clean the wheels.only had 3 hours to spare

Karim Khan

Most expensive car wash

Postby Karim Khan » January 17th, 2012, 10:46 am

^^ Looks good man, Keep it up!!!

Postby Chimera » January 17th, 2012, 11:34 am

Karim Khan wrote:
Meguair's Swirl Remover #9

Polished with Meguiar's Show Car Glaze

can you tell me if you buy these products locally and where from?

thanks

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » January 17th, 2012, 12:02 pm

^Keep in mind the swirl remover#9 is intended to be used by a DA polisher only. Not by hand really......and I don't think by a rotary polisher.

Postby Hook » January 17th, 2012, 12:37 pm

some really REALLY good work I'm seeing here...well done KK!

*sees no old cars in ched with +15 years of embedded dirt and grime in upholstery etc...exits ched*

Postby Dave » January 17th, 2012, 1:36 pm

^^^while an artist needs a good canvas to start with I am sure KK can view and advise if he can work with your blank slate

Postby Hook » January 17th, 2012, 1:49 pm

:lol: YUH SAYIN' MIH CANVAS EH GOOD OAR BIGMAN?! *scrapes 3-line on road..sparks fly*

You self see 2389 need some bodylove :( , but it's really for the interior I want it tho...a normal vacuum could only do so much...car still feels "heavy" with decade old dust in it.
After le straightener has his way with le Hookmobile in April, we'll see what KK has to say, but I know it'll take some work...hope I could get an appointment by then lol

Postby Chimera » January 17th, 2012, 3:49 pm

DSM_05 wrote:^Keep in mind the swirl remover#9 is intended to be used by a DA polisher only. Not by hand really......and I don't think by a rotary polisher.

i have this

http://www.amazon.com/VECTOR-VEC237-Inc ... 712&sr=8-2

VECTOR VEC237 10- Inch Waxx Pro Kit Orbital Polisher

will that be good enough or no?

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » January 17th, 2012, 4:18 pm

^^Unless it allows you to use the corresponding cutting and finishing pads with the Swirl Remover #9, and has variable speed, then no....it won't work......properly.

Use the wrong tool, and the right product (e.g. Ultimate Compound, Swirl Remover) can leave swirls and holograms on their own.

Using swirl removing polishes requires the right tool which has VARIABLE speed, and enough power. You'd also need to switch to different types of buffing "pads" to get the job done.

The tool you have there is good for applying a sealant/wax perhaps, but that's about it.

Postby Chimera » January 17th, 2012, 4:47 pm

this any good?

http://www.amazon.com/Meguiars-G110v2-P ... 135&sr=8-1

Internal feedback circuit increases torque when downward pressure is applied
1800opm - 6800opm, the most versatile speed range in it's class
Easy side-port access for quick brush changes
Includes W68DA Soft Buff 2.0 DA Backing Plate and embroidered canvas bag
Soft touch finish prevents scratching your vehicles paint

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » January 17th, 2012, 7:35 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:this any good?

http://www.amazon.com/Meguiars-G110v2-P ... 135&sr=8-1

Internal feedback circuit increases torque when downward pressure is applied
1800opm - 6800opm, the most versatile speed range in it's class
Easy side-port access for quick brush changes
Includes W68DA Soft Buff 2.0 DA Backing Plate and embroidered canvas bag
Soft touch finish prevents scratching your vehicles paint

The MEguiars G110v2 is PERFECT actually.

You can also look at the Porter Cable 7424XP (could be cheaper). Once you have the machine, the next step is to master:

1) Pad choice

2) Technique

3) What products do what. You should understand the difference between a polish, and a wax, for starters.

In terms of pads, check our Meguiars and / or Lake Country pads e.g. Meguiars has polishing pads and finishing pads.

In terms of technique.....practice on an old body panel.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » January 18th, 2012, 8:19 am

Good advise DSM_05

Before you purchase tools and products for detailing you should ask yourself the question should i Make ( DIY) or Buy ( hire someone).

Here is a little guideline that can assist you in your decision making process:

1.Evaluate the condition of your paint.
2. Determine what you want out of the job- defect removal, protection or both.
3. Determine your budget
4. Get a costing for the products and tools that you need to get your desired results. ( Option 1)
4. For comparison get a quotation for a professional detailer. ( Option 2)
5. Compare the cost of the two options .
6. Make your decision. In making your decision look at which option will better meet my needs in terms of quality of the work, costing etc.

Based on your goals and objectives you would find Buying( Hiring someone to do the job ) may be your bess option. Purchasing the tool and and products may cost the same amount or even more than hiring someone to do the job. You should also factoring in your skill set. Do i have the required skills to do this job ? You could always learn, but that has a cost attached, spent product , time and even fixing your mistakes.

Look at your options and determine which will be the best option to meet my desired goals.

Postby Dave » January 18th, 2012, 1:25 pm

Karim, from the perspective of the regular joe, what are some good products one can purchase to maintain a car's finish? mothers, meguire's, chemical guys?

Postby gastly369 » January 18th, 2012, 5:28 pm

mothers car wash done so just tried the turtle wax ice car wash

Postby equipped2ripp » January 18th, 2012, 6:34 pm

The Meguiar's NXT Car Wash works wonders as well.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » January 18th, 2012, 8:03 pm

^Put the car out in the direct sunlight. That shows the true condition of black paint.

mothers, meguire's, chemical guys?

If I may interject.......but I've used all (and more e.g. Poorboys, Griots, etc).

They're ALL good in their own way. Find what works for you....and your wallet.

The only brand I'm not a huge fan of is TurtleWax.

paparazzi

Karim K what you think of this interior cleaning technique??

Postby paparazzi » January 19th, 2012, 10:47 am

Any good?? :lol: :lol: :lol:

Re: Karim K what you think of this interior cleaning techniq

Postby Hook » January 19th, 2012, 10:51 am

seems legit...owner prolly owes them money

ruff neck chicken

Postby ruff neck chicken » January 19th, 2012, 10:54 am

atleast he took out the mats.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » January 19th, 2012, 10:54 am

:shocked!: :faint:

I think this guy need help... serious help!!

Its the first time i have seen an interior cleaning techniq of this nature. I highly would not recommend it.

I am still trying to come to terms with what i saw on this vid

:faint:

Postby Dave » January 19th, 2012, 11:00 am

^^any suggestions to my question?

Thanks

Postby cinco » January 19th, 2012, 11:00 am

it was the owner that did that
the car wash refused to wash inside and he wanted it done like that

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » January 19th, 2012, 1:42 pm

Dave wrote:Karim, from the perspective of the regular joe, what are some good products one can purchase to maintain a car's finish? mothers, meguire's, chemical guys?

Dave wrote:^^any suggestions to my question?

Thanks

Hey Dave,, Sorry about the late reply,,, With respect to detailing chemicals all brands do what they suppose to do, but some may do it better than the other. Its like engine oil they all do the same thing but some may preform better than the other.

What i recommend to the average Joe is the get a detailing product that fits the following criteria

1 Get chemicals that is easily available to you.
2. Get chemicals that suits your pocket
3. Use chemical brands that are reputable
3. Read the instructions on the back of the bottle and follow it.
4. If you don't like it try another until you find something that you like.

So Dave the long and short of the story is get a reputable brand that is readily available to you and suits your pocket. Make sure and follow the instructions if you don't like it try something else.

I hope this helps

KK

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » February 12th, 2012, 9:37 pm

Sometime ago i got a phone call from one of my clients to come and give him a quotation to detail a car he had just recently purchase. When i saw the vehicle i was blown away with what was present before me. In my mind i asking myself "these things still exist". The vehicle was in excellent excellent condition, the body was straight, no dents or dings but the paint was heavily oxidized and there were the normal wash swirls and random scratches. The customer wanted to paint over the car but from what i saw there was still hope.

Here are some pic of the job
Snow foaming the vehicle. This is used to pre-wash the vehicle to loosen up the bonded contaminants

Here i am making sure to dislodge all contaminants in-between the creases and hard to reach places. Here i am using the Meguiar's Slide lock Brush

After rinsing the vehicle i used some Iron X soap to remove all iron filings and unwanted brake dust and from the paint.

After drying and claying the paint the vehicle is all ready to be taped up. This is some of the best tape i have ever use thus far

Correction
The paint was corrected using a two step approach. I used one of the best polishes that is presently on the market the German made Flex Dual Action polisher with a foam wool pad with one of the worlds best polishing compound - Menzerna polishing compound of Germany - Menzerna polishes are the same polishes used by Mercedes Benz of Germany. This was used to level the paint remove all the heavy oxidation, swirls and random scratches. When this step was done i used the FLex polisher and a closed cell structured light cutting pad to remove any marring and fine swirls and scratched which the previous step did not remove .

Polishing
When the correction step was done i went on to polish the paint with some Meguiar's # 7 show care glaze which is renowned for its superb glimmering finish. This was applied with the Meguiar's Dual Action Polisher and Meguiar's Soft buff 2.0 foam finishing pad. This step added gloss and deep to the finish

Protection.
After polishing i locked in the shine with some premium high end carnauba wax. This amplified the shine

Here are some pics of the finish job

I would like to thank the owner of the vehicle for giving me the opportunity to detail this classic. The 8 hours of detailing was well worth it !!!!!

Postby K74T » February 12th, 2012, 9:46 pm

Lovely.