THE OFFICIAL QUIT SMOKING THREAD

Re: This is what smoking does to your Heart.

Postby Bizzare » October 10th, 2011, 9:56 pm

megadoc1 wrote:this is a short story from a friend of mine, on how he stopped smoking
some years ago he was a heavy smoker ,but there was a time in his life when his woman left him and the tabanca was strong ... so he smoked and smoked and smoked till one morning at about 2 o clock he ran out of cigarettes and headed out to get more ..

now where he was living in santa cruz and at that hour, yuh not getting no shop open. he decided to take a taxi to san juan to get his fix but taxis hardly passes at that hour,
so he waited and waited and as time passes, nothing..

all of a sudden he saw afar off, what looks like the lights of a car lower down the road and started running to catch up with it in desperation ,after covering a great distance and still failing to catch the taxi, he sat there waiting on another taxi until daylight, at that point he realized what cigarets had him doing and never stuck another one in his mouth after that...

No Angel, Jesus, Holy Spirit? :?
Would have been a cool story

Postby Damien » October 10th, 2011, 10:01 pm

Nice work man I kicked the habit the the same day my wife went in the hospital to make my daughter, I was a smoker for about 15yrs myself I was not well at the time also which made it easier, whenevr I get the urge I just think it will make me die faster and I will have less time with my daughter that is enough encouragement for me

Postby BrotherHood » October 10th, 2011, 10:19 pm

Official quit smoking/want to stop smoking but can't thread?

Postby S_2NR » October 10th, 2011, 10:22 pm

allyu had to bump this thread!

brb..feeling for a cig now.

Postby BrotherHood » October 10th, 2011, 11:00 pm

^^^^ :lol:,ogoaar dohsmokenocigznabaidanbai

Postby S_2NR » October 10th, 2011, 11:19 pm

too late..just had my last cig for the nite.. :lol:

Postby BrotherHood » October 10th, 2011, 11:29 pm

^^^^lol big up.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 10th, 2011, 11:38 pm

Invisible wrote:Smoking about 15 years and nothing ever really phased me to stop until I saw the OP's first vid. I didn't think about death, but about my 6 month old son. About how I wouldn't enjoy his childhood with him cus daddy's cardio is $hit.

I saw the vid on Friday night while working the night shift. I said to myself "as dis pack done I done" but as morning approached I realized that the cigs were still controlling me. I took it out of my pocket and gave it away. Kept my zippo though.

Since then I have been smoke free. I intend to keep it so for the rest of my life. Inshallah.

keep it up.....drink lots of water to purge system

Postby Trini Hookah » October 10th, 2011, 11:57 pm

Hookahs are the truth dan, wam to allyuh. :|

Postby sharkman121 » October 11th, 2011, 3:14 am

BrotherHood wrote:Official quit smoking/want to stop smoking but can't thread?

ent.. :lol: :lol:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 11th, 2011, 3:22 am

thus far: 37 days clean = $629 saved....that is damn good incentive to keep going!!!

Postby Mark! » October 11th, 2011, 3:22 am

vrampersad14 wrote:Hookahs are the truth dan, wam to allyuh. :|

bigman dey go mek yuh turn powerseller eh :lol:

**fidgets in ched

Postby dougla_boy » October 11th, 2011, 8:28 am

i find its weird that u guys can't stop smoking, i started smoking at a young age and one morning i just stopped.....didnt feel for a cig, didnt get cravings nothing like that........occasionally when liming, i would wanna smoke whilst drinking, but other than that, i just stopped.......

Postby sharkman121 » October 11th, 2011, 10:37 am

whats yr age dougla boy, i have a feeling i smoking almost as long as u been alive?

Postby S_2NR » October 11th, 2011, 12:19 pm

dougla_boy wrote:i find its weird that u guys can't stop smoking, i started smoking at a young age and one morning i just stopped.....didnt feel for a cig, didnt get cravings nothing like that........occasionally when liming, i would wanna smoke whilst drinking, but other than that, i just stopped.......

when stress kick in ull start back..
and im sure u gained weight as well.

Postby dougla_boy » October 11th, 2011, 2:20 pm

sharkman121 wrote:whats yr age dougla boy, i have a feeling i smoking almost as long as u been alive?

well u may be rite, but i have been smoking for about 9 years, heavy for the 1st 3-4 and then occasionally for the rest. havent pulled any in a few months. anything at all, herbs or cigs..... i dont see the point in smoking cigs..... herbs on the other hand.........

Postby BrotherHood » October 11th, 2011, 4:37 pm

..............proceed na man.
wam to the herbs? :lol:

eViLwOn

Postby eViLwOn » October 11th, 2011, 11:33 pm

@Vega, rfari & Stephon et al. I hope you guys stay the course and kick your smoking habit. Its been a little more than two and a half years since I last took a smoke, that was around the time that my baby girl was born. I didn't stop because I knew that second hand smoke would be harmful to her or that my wife was a fcuking pain in de ass to quit. Rather, I stopped because I couldn't handle the coughing up of all colours of sheit on a morning after and during the brushing of my teeth. That was the straw that broke my camel's back. I'm happy for kicking the habit and as one tuner said, I did it because I wanted to and not for any other reason.
End of discussion!

Postby S_2NR » October 12th, 2011, 12:06 am

eViLwOn wrote:I stopped because I couldn't handle the coughing up of all colours of sheit on a morning after and during the brushing of my teeth

:shock: :shock:

that possible? i never get that

Postby BrotherHood » October 12th, 2011, 12:24 am

S_2NR wrote:
eViLwOn wrote:I stopped because I couldn't handle the coughing up of all colours of sheit on a morning after and during the brushing of my teeth

:shock: :shock: evilwon wa is dat? youokbruh?

Invisible

Postby Invisible » October 12th, 2011, 12:36 am

Day 5.....and feeling great! Urges getting less controlling and easier to ignore. Water really helps to flush out the nicotine.

I'm actually liming around smoking friends and not being as tempted to smoke. One thing I have discovered is that smoking takes up quite a bit of my day. I find myself doing more at work...lol...the company finally getting a full day's work.

Postby BrotherHood » October 12th, 2011, 12:47 am

^^^good going...keep it up meng

Postby Mark! » October 12th, 2011, 12:56 am

...anybody in here have a light?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 12th, 2011, 6:25 am

S_2NR wrote:

you apparantly haven't been smoking that long....ranges from bloody spots to dark phlegm....only got the blood a couple of times....now I don't even cough...

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 12th, 2011, 6:29 am

38 days smoke free....and luvving it!!!!

307 days alcohol free as well.... X that by $50 and that's that savings right there.....

Postby AllTrac » October 12th, 2011, 6:39 am

damn, then taking ah lil drink on a friday every weekend is not that bad then, i dont smoke, but i thought that a every friday drink up was making me an alcoholic.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » October 12th, 2011, 7:25 am

i only drink one time for the year - around xmas - get drunk for about 2 days- lawwd if you see alco backed up in my house - and i have a bad habit of picking up a bottle everytime i pass thro duty free... ohh well...

Re: Re: This is what smoking does to your Heart.

Postby S_2NR » October 12th, 2011, 8:13 am

~Vēġó~ wrote:
S_2NR wrote:

you apparantly haven't been smoking that long....ranges from bloody spots to dark phlegm....only got the blood a couple of times....now I don't even cough...

Damm..been smoking two years..and never got that or coughing at all. I Guess two years is too short to be seeing any side effects..

eViLwOn

Re: Re: This is what smoking does to your Heart.

Postby eViLwOn » October 12th, 2011, 9:11 am

S_2NR wrote:
~Vēġó~ wrote:
S_2NR wrote:

Damm..been smoking two years..and never got that or coughing at all. I Guess two years is too short to be seeing any side effects..

True, so there's still time to stop, wasn't joking about the phelgm and its various hues..
when I made the decision to stop I was pleasantly surprised by the gradually reduction in coughing spells and the ability to identify various odours in the air once again.
Now my nose is so keen I could pick up the slightest smell of cigs even if it is some distance away.
Knock on wood, hope to never start back again!

eViLwOn

Postby eViLwOn » October 12th, 2011, 9:21 am

AllTrac wrote:damn, then taking ah lil drink on a friday every weekend is not that bad then, i dont smoke, but i thought that a every friday drink up was making me an alcoholic.

I believe the temptation to smoke when drinking with the boys increase exponentially...that is the as the need to drink increase so does the urge to light up.
I try to stay away from friends who like to smoke while drinking...I can handle to alco but I'm not tempting fate with the nicotine.