"State of Emergency" Thread

DTAC

Re: T&T put in Limited State of Emergency

Postby DTAC » August 22nd, 2011, 5:22 am

Mark! wrote:now come back from the airport, place looked norms with respect to the amt of cars on the roads at the time

Well it's the people with a serious work ethic who have to get up 4:30am to make their way to work and want to beat the traffic to be on time that will be going to work as normal.

It's the always late and looking for any excuse to miss a day's work who'll get up "usual" 6/7:30 time and then instead of hustle will just say "curfew" or "roadblock" and take a next sleep and go in "later".... or beach.

Postby rollingstock » August 22nd, 2011, 5:39 am

Ha well look at innocent citizens going about their business gonna get boots from Defence Force personnel for no apparent reason, and no way of retribution lmao

Strauss

Postby Strauss » August 22nd, 2011, 5:57 am

Army should be first to know and police last to know.

Only way to get things done properly with all the corruption in the police service.

DRAGULA

Postby DRAGULA » August 22nd, 2011, 6:06 am

Drove to POS from south this morning. Got here around 5:30am. Looked normal except less traffic than usual. Trinis look for every opportunity to stay home........ I know cuz I wanted to stay home too!! But somebody hadda mind meh famlee

Postby Aaron 2NR » August 22nd, 2011, 6:35 am

the BBM message is mamaguy....Express took their info off of it. Mr Sandy is on first up presently and there should be an address to the nation by the AG before 7am

Terran

Postby Terran » August 22nd, 2011, 7:03 am

Diego Martin Regional Corporation, Boroughs of Chaguanas, Arima, POS, San Fernando, and the San Juan/Laventille Regional Corporation.

Those are the 6 listed hot spots.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 22nd, 2011, 7:03 am

from the AG:

city of POS
city of San Fernando
borough of Arima
borough of Chaguanas
Diego Martin RC
San Juan/Laventille RC

curfew from 9 p.m. to 5 a.m.

Postby Aaron 2NR » August 22nd, 2011, 7:12 am

mitch wrote:from the AG:

city of POS
city of San Fernando
borough of Arima
borough of Chaguanas
Diego Martin RC
San Juan/Laventille RC

correct

Postby RBphoto » August 22nd, 2011, 7:23 am

rollingstock wrote:Ha well look at innocent citizens going about their business gonna get boots from Defence Force personnel for no apparent reason, and no way of retribution lmao

For real.... people fail to realize that army men have no mandate to serve and protect. They are trained killers... nothing more.

Postby ronsin1 » August 22nd, 2011, 7:34 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:

city of POS
city of San Fernando
borough of Arima
borough of Chaguanas
Diego Martin RC
San Juan/Laventille RC

correct

So let's say I work extended hours and end up on the road after 9 pm as this is mostly the case what will be my position if I were to be stopped by one of the patrols

Postby eliteauto » August 22nd, 2011, 7:38 am

there is now a shootout happening in Arima

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » August 22nd, 2011, 7:41 am

Thanks guys....
Just a little up date.....

1. Retired Military personnel from the rank Corporal upwards with good standing like myself who worked in units like I.A.T.F along with VDF personnel are being reactivated / reengaged.

2. Soldiers and police don't have to use a search warrant to enter your property nor your vehicles.....it's called the "probable cause"...search.

3. We "soldiers" now have the powers to arrest and detain citizens but they wont be able to charge you....we will hand you over to the police to be charged.

4. All Military personnel share the same powers as the police.

5. The L.S.O.E is only for 15days for now.

6. "we can use any amount of force"

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » August 22nd, 2011, 7:46 am

crossdrilled wrote:
rollingstock wrote:Ha well look at innocent citizens going about their business gonna get boots from Defence Force personnel for no apparent reason, and no way of retribution lmao

For real.... people fail to realize that army men have no mandate to serve and protect. They are trained killers... nothing more.

great, send them into laventille, morvant beetham Blanca village, caranage and all other criminal infested areas after giving them a STIFF 3 cups of coffee, maybe it will help them to be even more trigger happy and get rid of more idoit bandits in these places.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » August 22nd, 2011, 7:48 am

Apparently the Newsday folks get their stories off of tuner?

Cuz their list is the one from a couple of pages back:
http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,146007.html

The problem is not laws in Trinidad its law ENFORCEMENT. Declaring a state of emergency cant help that.

Correct is right folks.

Postby S_2NR » August 22nd, 2011, 7:56 am

eliteauto wrote:there is now a shootout happening in Arima

how u soundin so calm

Postby RBphoto » August 22nd, 2011, 8:25 am

bluespeed wrote:6. "we can use any amount of force"

That is the biggest problem with a LSOE. There is no accountability for any action from the police or military.

Can you clear up a few things for me?

Are you guys trained in arresting people and using handcuffs? Also, do you have to read rights to people you arrest, or it is assumed that the police will do this as you hand them over (or just not appliccable in a LSOE)?

Can a person arrested during a LSOE actually be tried for a crime commited if his human rights were violated (as in he got boots up by the police/ tortured/ interrogated without a lawyer)?

Bobby~d

Postby Bobby~d » August 22nd, 2011, 8:25 am

ronsin1 wrote:
Aaron 2NR wrote:

city of POS
city of San Fernando
borough of Arima
borough of Chaguanas
Diego Martin RC
San Juan/Laventille RC

correct

So let's say I work extended hours and end up on the road after 9 pm as this is mostly the case what will be my position if I were to be stopped by one of the patrols

This
What do people who work shift have to put in place or get to show the patrols?

Bobby~d

Postby Bobby~d » August 22nd, 2011, 8:27 am

ronsin1 wrote:
Aaron 2NR wrote:

city of POS
city of San Fernando
borough of Arima
borough of Chaguanas
Diego Martin RC
San Juan/Laventille RC

correct

This
What do people who work shift have to put in place or get to show the patrols?
That is within the cerfew hours 9 p.m to 5 a.m.

Postby AllTrac » August 22nd, 2011, 8:28 am

bluespeed wrote:
6. "we can use any amount of force"

well look at bellerz passing :lol: :lol:

Postby X_Factor » August 22nd, 2011, 8:36 am

So if i leaving from St. Augustine (no SOE) to Claxton Bay (no SOE)
but i must pass tru chag on the highway....they could stop me?

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » August 22nd, 2011, 8:40 am

X_Factor wrote:So if i leaving from St. Augustine (no SOE) to Claxton Bay (no SOE)
but i must pass tru chag on the highway....they could stop me?

police are already able to do what they want in this country due to no accoutability - before the soe business.

what you think?

napster

Postby napster » August 22nd, 2011, 8:44 am

so what about the nun affected areas

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » August 22nd, 2011, 8:46 am

S_2NR wrote:Trinidad is a HOT SPOT

This!
Last time I checked crime was rampant all over.
WTF kamla feel this is? The US with 50states?
Lock down d whole effin country

Postby honda hoe » August 22nd, 2011, 8:51 am

Designated Hot Spots that will see curfew from 9pm to 5am

The City of Port of Spain -

St. James East
St. James West
Woodbrook
Northern Port of Spain
Belmont East
Belmont North & West
Southern Port of Spain
East Dry River
St. Ann’s River South
St. Ann’s River Central
St. Ann’s River North
Belmont South

The City of San Fernando –

Cocoyea/Tarouba
Les Efforts East/Cipero
Les Efforts West/La Romain
Marabella East
Marabella South/Vistabella
Marabella West
Mon Repos/Navet
Pleasantville
Spring Vale/Paradise

The Borough of Arima –

Calvary
Arima North East
Arima West
Arima Central
Malabar
Tumpuna
O’Meara

The Borough of Chaguanas –

Charlieville
Edinburgh/Longdonville
Enterprise North
Enterprise South
Cunupia
Montrose
Felicity/Endevour
Munroe Road/Caroni Savannah

The San Juan/Laventille Regional Corporation –

Maracus Bay/Santa Cruz/La Fillette
Febeau/Bourg Mulatresse
Morvant/Upper Malick
San Juan West/Caledonia
St. Ann’s/Cascade/Mon Repos West
St. Barb’s Chinapoo
Beetham/Picton
Success/Trou Macaque
Aranguez/Warner Village
Barataria
Petit Bourg/Champ Fleurs/Mt. Lambert
San Juan East

The Diego Martin Regional Corporation -

Chaguaramas/Glencoe
Goodwood/La Puerta
Covinge/Richplain
Diamond Vale
Morne Coco/Alyce Glen
Petit Valley/Cocorite
St. Lucien/cameron Hill
Belle Vue/Bossiere #1
Moka/Bossiere #2

What you need to know…

· Soldiers will exercise powers enjoyed by police during the period of the Limited State of Emergency:
- Search and seizure powers enhanced because you don’t need a search warrant
- Powers of arrest and detention are included; they will be able to arrest but will hand over detainees to police.

· Police can arrest and detain for up to 24 hours after which a magistrate, or assistant superintendent (or higher), will be able to add an extra 7 days
- No bail for those arrested during the State of Emergency; courts no longer will have the power to grant bail.

· You must comply with all requests by police to stop for search and seizure protocols
- A special 3-person tribunal will be set up by Chief Justice to oversee and adjudicate all possible cases of abuse of power
- Religious services, educational services, entertainments, etc. are exempt from requesting advanced permission from the Police Commissioner

civic minded

Postby civic minded » August 22nd, 2011, 8:56 am

i just really hope we get results from this.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » August 22nd, 2011, 8:58 am

Thanks for posting, honda hoe. Anyone know how long this will be in effect?

Postby AllTrac » August 22nd, 2011, 8:59 am

civic minded wrote:i just really hope we get results from this.

lol we said the same thing while putting the "X" by the rising sun :lol:

Postby Stephon. » August 22nd, 2011, 8:59 am

:rofl: @ Basically the whole of south being a hot spot

Postby X_Factor » August 22nd, 2011, 9:03 am

well atleast Tunapuna/Piarco not mentioned...soo we could still move about there

Postby AllTrac » August 22nd, 2011, 9:03 am

"Munroe Road/Caroni Savannah"

no eh :-| it doh get safer than monroe road and CSR.