Hydroponic enthusiasts (hobby/personal growers)

Re: Hydroponic enthusiasts (hobby/personal growers)

Postby rfari » January 4th, 2012, 5:52 pm

thanks for the info on the celery. if the treatment doesn't work, i would just pull it up. i already reap 2 healthy bundles from them already. just have to be more careful in the future.

that's some rell big boy operations with that chive hoss. i was feeling like a star with my 4 plants :oops: :oops: :oops:

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 4th, 2012, 7:51 pm

that was celery..taught you may need some info so I posted it..any other crop you interested in I'd give you the info..jes say d wrd.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 8th, 2012, 6:27 pm

ent ah tell allyuh this wknd woda rain...full moon tmrw

Postby MG Man » January 9th, 2012, 3:10 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:you could try this...monday coming is full moon right...expect rainfall for sure..it does not have to be throughout the entire country but it will fall in abundance in most places..

:mrgreen:

Postby rfari » January 9th, 2012, 5:09 pm

went i saw that rain and the moon yesterday, i made sure and buy a mcdonalds. tht booklet is heights yes

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 9th, 2012, 5:49 pm

rfari wrote:went i saw that rain and the moon yesterday, i made sure and buy a mcdonalds. tht booklet is heights yes

Postby MG Man » January 9th, 2012, 6:19 pm

rfari wrote:went i saw that rain and the moon yesterday, i made sure and buy a mcdonalds. tht booklet is heights yes

yeah but full moon is tonite eh :P
the pages in the back are the best.............so many books to buy :lol:

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 9th, 2012, 7:49 pm

yeah but full moon is tonite eh :P
the pages in the back are the best.............so many books to buy :lol:

yuh understand :lol: :lol: the horoscope part is tears imo..

Postby MG Man » January 9th, 2012, 10:37 pm

there must be something to it tho..........I've seen the results dad gets form following that book for setting seedlings, transplanting etc............

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 9th, 2012, 10:40 pm

I'm guessing those results are darn good......n well the $$$$ does be better when the crop finish...

Postby rfari » January 10th, 2012, 10:15 am

bachac raid me last night. dunno how they did it but it was before 11PM and after 130 this morning. i pt down the bachac bait but they shift to the cucumbers i had coming up. malathion is the order of the days yes

Postby MG Man » January 10th, 2012, 1:14 pm

clearly they refered to the Bachacdonald's Almanac

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 10th, 2012, 6:56 pm

rfari wrote:bachac raid me last night. dunno how they did it but it was before 11PM and after 130 this morning. i pt down the bachac bait but they shift to the cucumbers i had coming up. malathion is the order of the days yes

ah hope yuh put d bait by the nest right?..but malathion does wuk too..

Postby rfari » January 10th, 2012, 7:23 pm

i dunno how they pull that off. not a trace. and i don't know where the nest is so i just put the bait close to my systems.

Postby rfari » January 14th, 2012, 1:36 pm

bananas back to their regular greedy self
30 december 2011

14 january 2012

hydrid sweet pepper and some chive/shadon beni cuttings in a bubble system. decided to do this after a night of heavy drinking. use it now to test nutrients.

pepper plant on the mends after last episode.

tomatoes coming to come. the leaves to the top appear to be smaller than usual and a bit wrinkled. maybe a sign of disease

eventually pulled up the celery. fungi treatment started a bit too late

mixture of celery, parsley, chive and shadon beni cuttings, small leave thyme and a piece of ginger

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 14th, 2012, 3:45 pm

crops looking good,tomatoes need water,lol...

Postby rfari » January 14th, 2012, 4:54 pm

Nice. I'll add a second flow to the tomato trough today and see if it improves.
Edit: swap the 500l/h sump for a 700l/h. Would monitor it for a couple hours. Hope my fruits don't drop shakes!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 14th, 2012, 5:34 pm

ah din say tuh drown the plant eh..if rain falling,no need to water,if sun hot,then,hence the reason the leaves drooping downwards..ah seeing ah yellow leaf in the pepper..

Postby rfari » January 14th, 2012, 6:17 pm

yep the pepper right now shedding the more mature leaves since the drastic nute change from last year. rainfall inflow into these hydro systems is negligible.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 14th, 2012, 9:21 pm

if you don't mind,what nutes are u using for the pepper?

Postby rfari » January 14th, 2012, 9:34 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:if you don't mind,what nutes are u using for the pepper?

25% alpha, 75% charlie @2-2.2EC. low in nitrogen i know but still prototyping the nutes
alpha.jpg
alpha.jpg (37.94 KiB) Viewed 3584 times
charlie.jpg
charlie.jpg (28.2 KiB) Viewed 3584 times

Postby rfari » January 15th, 2012, 12:30 am

not having much luck with lettuce from since day 1. did a search and it appears to be lack of nitrogen in the solution. some really good information here especially for those without the agricultural background like myself
http://www.hbci.com/~wenonah/min-def/lettuce.htm

there are a couple used copies in print as well. just placed an order.
http://www.amazon.com/DIAGNOSIS-MINERAL ... 629&sr=8-2

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 15th, 2012, 11:55 am

nice info on the lettuce there^..I'd add to it when I finish my document..

Postby MG Man » January 15th, 2012, 7:02 pm

on another note, does anyone want a free mandarine sapling?
It's about 6 inches tall, and I really don't have space for it..........

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 15th, 2012, 8:28 pm

yuh doh give away dem thing so bai^^..yuh doh realise yuh does hardly see that and tangerine in the market..
on another note..I see men selling chenette ahready..and by the lb to inno..

Postby MG Man » January 15th, 2012, 8:38 pm

I have a fully grown tree that I have to cut down as well :(
Roots will potentially compromise my septic system, so yeah, I rather give the sapling away than kill two trees :(

Postby Chimera » January 16th, 2012, 9:01 am

sigh,..i too lazy yes

after spending a couple thousand on supplies I hang up the project cuz I couldn't get a workman to lay the floor of greenhouse with bricks.

I feel ill go bhagwansinghs and get 2-3 sheet of 4x8 styrofoam sheets (anyone know anywhere cheaper?) to do the lettuce in a pond system

i also looking for the EASIEST and cleanest way possible to punch 2.75 inch holes in 4 inch pvc pipe.

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » January 16th, 2012, 10:17 am

I been following this thread hoping to try that same pvc system, what came to mind was to use a hole saw with pilot bit
http://www.walmart.com/ip/M.K.-Morse-Th ... r/15669975
anyone tried that?

Postby rfari » January 16th, 2012, 10:50 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:sigh,..i too lazy yes

after spending a couple thousand on supplies I hang up the project cuz I couldn't get a workman to lay the floor of greenhouse with bricks.

I feel ill go bhagwansinghs and get 2-3 sheet of 4x8 styrofoam sheets (anyone know anywhere cheaper?) to do the lettuce in a pond system

i also looking for the EASIEST and cleanest way possible to punch 2.75 inch holes in 4 inch pvc pipe.

ABA i could link you a pack of vagrant-cuts dan. u go be mixing cement and laying bricks like dat :P InDeForest has the tool below.

InDeForest wrote:I been following this thread hoping to try that same pvc system, what came to mind was to use a hole saw with pilot bit
http://www.walmart.com/ip/M.K.-Morse-The-Real-McCoy-Hole-Saws-2-hole-saw-w-built-in-arbor/15669975
anyone tried that?

yup. this is what i had in mind. i have used it before to cut holes in PVC (can't remember if it was pipe or something else). just take ur time with the tool

Postby Chimera » January 16th, 2012, 10:52 am

i had tried a hole saw but i think my problem was i was using a underpowered cordless drill. The bit kept sticking and freaking up.

Also I was using a cheap low quality bit from bhags.

Will probably order a high quality one from amazon and see the scene.