Caribbean Airline aircraft crashes in Guyana!

dok_tec

Re: Caribbean Airline aircraft crashes in Guyana!

Postby dok_tec » July 30th, 2011, 6:25 pm

from those pics it really does look like his flaps werent extended but i know when they have their speed reduced enough pilots would tend to retract their flaps and taxi off the runway.For sure though we could see the reverse thrust was activated all the way to the crash

dok_tec

Postby dok_tec » July 30th, 2011, 6:33 pm

nbc channel 60 has a report on just now

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » July 30th, 2011, 6:45 pm

dok_tec wrote:from those pics it really does look like his flaps werent extended but i know when they have their speed reduced enough pilots would tend to retract their flaps and taxi off the runway.For sure though we could see the reverse thrust was activated all the way to the crash

I highly doubt they would have had time to retract the flaps and spoilers (speed breaks) as the reverse thruster was still activated (as you can see).

AFAIK r.thrust are deactivated below 60KTS in this type of aircraft when landing.

Someone correct me if I'm wrong.

Shango_13

Postby Shango_13 » July 30th, 2011, 6:47 pm

Jagdeo calls Piarco worst airport in the Caribbean
http://www.kaieteurnewsonline.com/2011/ ... caribbean/

Postby Habit7 » July 30th, 2011, 6:57 pm

Without being dirty (flaps and slats) it would be hard to descend and flare, which might cause an aircraft to miss the threshold and touchdown half way down a 7000ft runway.

Aside from pilot error, some of the airports in the region are not up international standards. The ILS might come into question as if it was calibrated correctly.

But other countries need to spend their money like St. Lucia and St. Vincent and upgrade their airports and put at least 9000ft runways and ILSs. MKJP and TNCM are notorious as hard airports to operate from for CAL pilots, but who would have thought SYCJ on a wet foggy morning would do us in.

Postby Habit7 » July 30th, 2011, 7:01 pm

Captainzaak wrote:AFAIK r.thrust are deactivated below 60KTS in this type of aircraft when landing.

Someone correct me if I'm wrong.

Procedure is to stop the reverse thrust below 60KTS because there is a greater risk for objects getting into the engine. But when you are careening down a runway that goes out of the window.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » July 30th, 2011, 7:07 pm

Port-of-Spain, July 30, 2011

CARIBBEAN AIRLINES FLIGHT #523 STATEMENT 3: ISSUED 30 JULY 2011 AT 17.00HOURS

Port-of-Spain, 30 July 2011, 17.00 HOURS local time: Caribbean Airlines BW523 en route from Port of Spain, Trinidad to Georgetown, Guyana was involved in an incident at the Cheddi Jaggan International Airport at approximately 1:32am today 30 July, 2011.

There were 157 passengers and 6 crew members on board, all of whom were accounted for.

A Caribbean Airlines team consisting of technical support staff and executives was dispatched immediately to the accident site to assist passengers, and to work with the local authorities in the emergency response and investigations. The Caribbean Airlines executive team and technical support staff are at the scene to offer full support to the injured in Georgetown. A relatives/customer assistance hotline has been established at our emergency centre in Piarco, and counselling is being provided to passengers and family members.

A press conference was held earlier today in Georgetown just after midday. In attendance were Chairman- George M. Nicholas III, Head Corporate Communications- Mrs. Laura Asbjornsen, Vice President Operations - Captain Thomas Lawrence and Vice President Maintenance and Engineering - Mr Colville Carrington. It was confirmed that the Guyana Civil Aviation Authority will be spearheading the investigation and will be assisted by the National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) in the U.S. and the Trinidad and Tobago Civil Aviation Authority (TTCAA).

The team ensured that its CARE policy for affected passengers and crew was deployed in Georgetown. The airline has engaged the services of a company from the United States, together with regional personnel to implement in accordance with this policy.

Caribbean Airlines understands the public's desire to gain information related to this event and is fully committed to providing details. We are guided by both Guyanese and U.S. authorities which limits our availability to communicate details of the event unless they are confirmed by the relevant authorities. We ask for your understanding as the airline must take strict precautions to ensure all the facts are accurate before they are released.

All enquiries related to this specific incident should be directed to:-

Trinidad & Tobago: 1 868 669 2902

United States: 1 800 786 3891

Canada: 1 800 380 6057

Caribbean: 1 800 744 6453

The latest statements can also be accessed online at www.caribbean-airlines.com.

Caribbean Airlines will continue to release information as it becomes available.

The next press conference is scheduled for 7:15 p.m. local time at the AIRPORTS AUTHORITY OF TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO, VIP Lounge, Piarco International Airport.

zcarz

Postby zcarz » July 30th, 2011, 7:15 pm

^oh, the irony lmao

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » July 30th, 2011, 7:20 pm

Habit7 wrote:Without being dirty (flaps and slats) it would be hard to descend and flare, which might cause an aircraft to miss the threshold and touchdown half way down a 7000ft runway.

Aside from pilot error, some of the airports in the region are not up international standards. The ILS might come into question as if it was calibrated correctly.
But other countries need to spend their money like St. Lucia and St. Vincent and upgrade their airports and put at least 9000ft runways and ILSs. MKJP and TNCM are notorious as hard airports to operate from for CAL pilots, but who would have thought SYCJ on a wet foggy morning would do us in.

Finally!

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » July 30th, 2011, 7:20 pm

Habit7 wrote:
pablo_tt wrote:So you'd think no jet aircraft can operate out of here right? WRONG! AmeriJet does, and to further step it up a notch, they are the only aircraft that takes off towards the mountains. Not even the LIAT pilots risking that move!

You seem not to know much about Amerijet's 727 aircraft. The reason why they still operate that nearly 30 year old jet is because it is designed to land and take off on short runways. With three engines and flaps that probably have the surface area of the Dash 8's wing, it is one of the few jet aircraft that can land in SVD. Therefore, there is a need to build a better airport which we expect by 2012.

Errr....I didn't say they were not capable :?

Postby ismithx » July 30th, 2011, 7:27 pm

Chiney wrote:my friend was onboard that flight

homie counldnt even talk, his GF saying he just sitting at home spaced out completely.

that is a wake up call yes

oh snap! dat real dread boy, hope the friend ok.

Postby ismithx » July 30th, 2011, 7:30 pm

and as yall saying, the air brakes/flaps don't appear to be extended.... smh

Re: Caribbean Airline crashes!

Postby r3iXmann » July 30th, 2011, 8:15 pm

bluefete wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:Is this the first crash CAL/BWIA has ever had?

YES. There have been many minor scrapes including one recently where an engine blew out on a 737 but nothing this serious in the 60+ years of BWIA / CAL.

Statistically, it was only a matter of time.

Again, God is a ...

iirc.. a bwia plane crashed into some mountains a good few yrs ago, only the crew were onboard

anybody has the story?

dok_tec

Postby dok_tec » July 30th, 2011, 8:20 pm

Postby bluefete » July 30th, 2011, 8:28 pm

I was looking for it earlier today but I fugget dat de UK is 5 hrs ahead of us so dey had to fly 5 hours back before dey get de news. :oops: :oops: :oops:

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » July 30th, 2011, 8:28 pm

http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2011-07-3 ... rport.html

Two Delta Air Lines Inc. (DAL) planes collided on the taxiway at Chicago’s O’Hare International Airport yesterday, the fourth incident in four months involving the carrier’s aircraft.
Delta Flight No. 2207, which was scheduled for Minneapolis, and Flight No. 1777, headed to Atlanta, had a “taxiway incursion,” said Delta spokeswoman Chris Kelly Singley. She didn’t know the full extent of the damage to the aircraft.
After the incident, which occurred about 7:30 p.m. local time, the passengers of both planes were removed and rescheduled on other Delta flights or those of another airlines last night and this morning, Kelly Singley said. No injuries were reported, said Karen Pride, a spokeswoman for the Chicago Department of Aviation.
“Delta’s No. 1 priority is safety,” Kelly Singley said in a telephone interview.
Earlier this month, a Delta wide-body plane struck the tail of a smaller jet from regional partner Atlantic Southeast Airlines as they prepared for takeoff from Boston’s Logan Airport.
In April, a Bombardier CRJ-700 from Delta’s Comair unit was clipped by the wing of an Air France Airbus SAS A380 superjumbo at New York’s John F. Kennedy International Airport, spinning the smaller plane and 66 occupants through 90 degrees.
A month later, the wing of a Delta Boeing 737 struck the tail of another at Atlanta Hartsfield-Jackson Airport, Delta’s hometown hub.
“Each of the incidents is being looked at individually, and by no means do we believe we have a trend,” said Kelly Singley.

996vtwin
In Memory of George Aboud Jr.

Postby 996vtwin » July 30th, 2011, 8:37 pm

Postby bluefete » July 30th, 2011, 8:39 pm

r3iXmann wrote:
bluefete wrote:

YES. There have been many minor scrapes including one recently where an engine blew out on a 737 but nothing this serious in the 60+ years of BWIA / CAL.

Again, God is a ...

iirc.. a bwia plane crashed into some mountains a good few yrs ago, only the crew were onboard

anybody has the story?

Found this:

02JAN02 A BWIA MD-83 ran off the shortest runway at Miami International airport yesterday. None of the 120 passengers aboard the aircraft were injured. Flight BW432 had originated in Georgetown and had landed in Miami via Barbados. An airline official said that the pilot's landing was "not executed well'' and that the pilot then decided to let the slowing plane run into soft sand off the runway. The plane's front wheel apparently hit hard, causing a long landing runout on the runway.

http://www.caribbeanaviation.com/airlines.htm

Even the cricket site has commentary about the crash:

ttp://caribbeancricket.com/topic/995710

Postby bluefete » July 30th, 2011, 8:45 pm

pioneer wrote:This is a sign from god.

You better believe it. 163 people walking away from a crash landing? No explosion from the aircraft?

Good pilot training too, btw.

What more signs do you want?

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » July 30th, 2011, 8:54 pm

Good pilot training...... i feel them pilots loss their jobs after that one.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 30th, 2011, 9:10 pm

bluefete wrote:

You better believe it. 163 people walking away from a crash landing? No explosion from the aircraft?

161 - two people had their legs broken - they didnt pray as much as the others or wha? Or the sign stop working after a while?

retarded logic FTL

Postby bluefete » July 30th, 2011, 9:13 pm

bluefete wrote:

need to give thanks

We actually agree on something. :D :D

That certainly was a miracle.

Postby bluefete » July 30th, 2011, 9:20 pm

bluefete wrote:

161 - two people had their legs broken - they didnt pray as much as the others or wha? Or the sign stop working after a while?

retarded logic FTL

You totally MISSED the point. No one DIED!!!!!!

I know - this was just a coincidence. A logical coincidence.

You can only retort to "retarded logic" and 2 people with broken legs because what happened does not fit within your carefully defined world of "logic".

I know - maybe the plane ran out of fuel - that is why there was no explosion.

Maybe - the superior skill of the pilots prevented the loss of life but could not stop 2 people from breaking their legs because, logically, these 2 people were sitting in the wrong seats. Yeah, that's it.

Sounds perfectly logical to me.

speedbird777

Postby speedbird777 » July 31st, 2011, 12:44 am

jus a question....why does the first thing people think is that it is ATC fault? the controller was prob playing snake on his phone?? ppl get your fact right before making statements

Postby foss » July 31st, 2011, 12:48 am

speedbird777 wrote:jus a question....why does the first thing people think is that it is ATC fault? the controller was prob playing snake on his phone?? ppl get your fact right before making statements

stop playing snake and do d ppl wukk na dan. :?

Postby S_2NR » July 31st, 2011, 1:02 am

Why d fack kamla going to visit the crash site.
Posin for pics awa.. :roll:

PM, team visit site
Story Created: Jul 30, 2011 at 11:51 PM ECT
Story Updated: Jul 30, 2011 at 11:51 PM ECT
PRIME Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar yesterday led a ministerial team on a site visit of the Caribbean Airlines (CAL) crash in Guyana.
A statement yesterday did not specify Persad-Bissessar's time of departure, but said she was due to return to Trinidad from Georgetown yesterday evening.
Persad-Bissessar was accompanied by Foreign Affairs Minister Dr Surujrattan Rambachan, Transport Minister Devant Maharaj, Local Government Minister Chandresh Sharma, Minister of State in the Office of the Prime Minister Rodger Samuel and National Security Adviser Gary Griffith.
According to the media release, the Prime Minister was scheduled first to visit the scene of the crash, which occurred after the airplane overshot the runway at the Cheddi Jagan International Airport during adverse weather conditions.
Flight BW523 was en route from Port of Spain to Georgetown when the accident occurred.
There were no fatalities.
Persad-Bissessar was on her way to meet Flight BW523 crew members and passengers.
Labour Minister Errol McLeod was appointed to act in her absence.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/PM__team_visit_site-126468908.html

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Re: Caribbean Airline crashes!

Postby MISHI » July 31st, 2011, 1:19 am

r3iXmann wrote:
bluefete wrote:

Again, God is a ...

anybody has the story?

Nope never any fatal accidents... yes there were a few emergency landings/ problems etc. but never fatal.

IIRC, there were incidents with engine failures, couple runway incursions, overruns, birdstrikes (was in tobago when a dc9 ingested one or two... scary scene) But no hull loss to my knowledge... at least not till this situation.

Postby rfari » July 31st, 2011, 1:38 am

Shango_13 wrote:Jagdeo calls Piarco worst airport in the Caribbean

Jagdeo should hhmc.
Btw, tr1ad, any word on the grip?

silvyrsurfyr

Postby silvyrsurfyr » July 31st, 2011, 2:58 pm

JJ16 wrote:
real_d20 wrote:Was going from JFK, stopped off in Trini, then crash landed in Guyana. Bad weather conditions attributed to the crash as claimed.

http://jyoticommunication.blogspot.com/ ... l?spref=fb

hmm i highly doubt it was that

Metars:
SYCJ 300700Z 00000KT 9000 BKN015 24/24 Q1008 NOSIG
SYCJ 300600Z 00000KT 9000 BKN015 24/24 Q1008 NOSIG
SYCJ 300500Z 00000KT 9000 -SHRA FEW014CB BKN015 25/24 Q1009 CB-NE-ENE NOSIG
SYCJ 300423Z 00000KT 9999 TS FEW015CB SCT016 CB-NE-ENE NOSIG
SYCJ 300400Z 00000KT 9999 FEW016 24/24 Q1009 NOSIG
SYCJ 300300Z 00000KT 9999 FEW016 25/24 Q1010 NOSIG
SYCJ 300200Z 00000KT 9999 FEW017 SCT300 25/24 Q1010 NOSIG
SYCJ 300100Z 00000KT 9999 FEW017 SCT300 25/24 Q1010 NOSIG

...i don't see any bad weather here.....

please translate to english :? :|

Postby Habit7 » July 31st, 2011, 3:26 pm

Shango_13 wrote:Jagdeo calls Piarco worst airport in the Caribbean

Jagdeo for a while now has been complaining about how CAL prices are excessive and the lack of direct flights...WELL NO MORE FLIGHTS THEN!

I think they should halt all flights to SYCJ until they can get their act in order. First their corbeaux wanna commit suicide in our engines then their short wanna be wet and foggy, let them walk. Or they can take REDjet, we all know how the bajans love them.