BREAKING NEWS: TTASA gets Camden for racing

shocksub

Re: BREAKING NEWS: TTASA gets Camden for racing

Postby shocksub » June 30th, 2011, 8:41 pm

Having the use of a track is obviously better than having none at all, regardless of good or poor management.

Whether TTASA can actually, properly manage the facility will really depend on their own initiative, the racers and spectators also have the option of saying no to participation in any event in which they feel that safety and quality may/is being compromised.

The input of driver associations such as TTUNDRA may help leverage the organisers towards giving the racers and spectators a safer and better experience when attending an event.

link

Postby link » June 30th, 2011, 8:48 pm

AutoSport wrote:
paparazzi wrote:Link, who on behalf of the Government made the representation that TTASA can use Camden for drag racing?

Breds, you will never get a simple straight-forward answer to your simple straight forward question.

Infamous for their generalizations that reek of mis-information, maybe you can also ask for documented proof to support the claim by the one “who is a certified NHRA official”.

Just take a look at some of the pictures coming out from that Guyana International Drag Racing Event:
(a) Motorcyclist racing with no proper motor-cycle racing gear.
(b) At the finish, human beings with flags to indicate the winner
(c) The starter standing unprotected between two racing cars to start the event.
(d) And the so-called NHRA Official sitting in a tent at the side of the start-line sanctioning all of this at one of the newest members of the FIA (Federation Internationale de L’Automobile).”

Breds the FIA will certainly be proud of this "latest member (Guyana) promoting the high ideals of the FIA (Federation Internationale de L’Automobile), especially with FIA Caribbean Director in attendance, with both Ali & Persad providing additional advice & assistance to the Guyana Club with regards to technical & FIA matters."

As they said in their follow up release after the Event…” We raised the bar…”

Thank you again

link

Postby link » June 30th, 2011, 8:53 pm

Ignorant Ignis wrote:
link wrote:
Yorkshirelass wrote:Correct me if I am wrong, but wasn't TTASA instructed by FIA that as the NSO they are not to PUT ON events, but to govern others putting on events?

YOUR statement is incorrect
T&T has a NACAM delegate who is also an FIA Caribbean Director (Mr.Selwyn Persad)........before you choose to make uninformed statements like above, please refer BEFOREHAND to Mr.Persad for enlightenment.
Thank you

clearly you cant tell the difference between a statement and a question

OOPS !!!
my opening line should have been...'Your stated question was incorrect....'

Thanks for the heads-up :wink:

dragaholic

Postby dragaholic » June 30th, 2011, 9:17 pm

Ummm

What has Briko to say in all of this? Aren't they the people who have present control over Camden?

Boy I getting the feeling like is ah Boynes ting happening here. Big promises then he ride out and everything fell flat.

I hope that same thing doh come round to kick allyuh in alyyuh tooshies again.

Goodluck anyways.

sparky

Postby sparky » June 30th, 2011, 9:18 pm

When is the handing over ceremony of Campden

sparky

Postby sparky » June 30th, 2011, 9:51 pm

It is a big shame to see people who holds leadership position in the various motor sport bodies behaving like crab in a barrel. Why not put aside childish ways and behave like elder statesmen, come together and negotiate a way forward for motor sport. After all life is short and we take nothing when we die.

shocksub

Postby shocksub » June 30th, 2011, 10:26 pm

Its just politics, everyone posturing to assume the moral high ground, the way forward is having a . private track that does not have to be sanctioned by anyone save the racers and spectators.

Use the track for whatever time is allotted and hope that a priivate track somewhere materializes in the future.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 30th, 2011, 10:32 pm

shocksub wrote:Its just politics, everyone posturing to assume the moral high ground, the way forward is having a . private track that does not have to be sanctioned by anyone save the racers and spectators.

Use the track for whatever time is allotted and hope that a priivate track somewhere materializes in the future.

ImageImageImage

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » June 30th, 2011, 10:44 pm

^ Bezman I calling you out eh. Want to see how my ca performs compared to yours.

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » June 30th, 2011, 10:48 pm

shocksub wrote:Its just politics, everyone posturing to assume the moral high ground, the way forward is having a . private track that does not have to be sanctioned by anyone save the racers and spectators.

Theres one that has already started, the man trying though , heres the fb page http://www.facebook.com/#!/home.php?sk= ... 3440333976

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 30th, 2011, 10:48 pm

with regards to sanctioning I can report that TTASAs' executive have indicated that EVERY competitor MUST either be a paid up member of TTASA or be a current and good standing member of a group/club/association that is an affiliate of TTASA in order to compete at any event at Camden. No one else will be allowed to compete. This is in keeping with their NSO/ASN and lease at Camden agreements.

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » June 30th, 2011, 10:55 pm

Oh my look at this , some people gonna cry , some organisations gonna see alot of new comers also lol, Imagine TTUNDRA next Meeting , they will need the auditorium now lol

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » July 1st, 2011, 12:53 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:with regards to sanctioning I can report that TTASAs' executive have indicated that EVERY competitor MUST either be a paid up member of TTASA or be a current and good standing member of a group/club/association that is an affiliate of TTASA in order to compete at any event at Camden. No one else will be allowed to compete. This is in keeping with their NSO/ASN and lease at Camden agreements.

If they so bold to make a statement like that, then said competitors should demand that certain safety issues be addressed before attending any event at Camden.. I don't know about allyuh thirsty men, but there's no way in hell I'm spending a few 100k on a car to race it on an unsafe track. The surface must be prepped properly with the laying down of rubber and "track bite". Concrete barriers must be installed for the entire length of the track to prevent running into the bushes or into spectators. A sand trap & catch net must be installed at the end of the shut down area to stop "run away" race cars.. That is just a quick list concerning the safety of drivers & spectators. There are still plenty of other small issues that need to be addressed before any sensible adult decide to make a pass down that airport runway.

I can't see a certified NHRA official & FIA representative sitting back and allowing a race to continue without the above safely requirements being meet.

The above quote from the TTASA shows that they're only concern about themselves, because just look at the kinda "rules" they imposing on people before they're allowed to race at Camden. It sounds like they're trying to monopolize drag racing in Trinidad with dem kinda tactics they imposing. Just imagine a young buck who's now getting started in cars, is not allow to race in the 15 second bracket because he's not a TTASA member. Not event the NHRA tracks in the US or around the world for that matter, does that...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 1st, 2011, 1:11 am

^ I believe they are trying to get competitors to conform to certain safety standards and so would require affiliation in order to get accreditation to race. It's like needing an FIA license in order to race at an FIA event anywhere in the world; to get an FIA license you would need to be a member of an ASN, I believe.

A TTASA rep would better be able to answer that.

WRT the trackbite: From what I've heard so far, trackbite cannot be used again at Camden as it still remains an emergency landing strip for T&T.

High_Speed_Imports

Postby High_Speed_Imports » July 1st, 2011, 1:20 am

Ok this will be removed or here for reference with no track still

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » July 1st, 2011, 1:42 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ I believe they are trying to get competitors to conform to certain safety standards and so would require affiliation in order to get accreditation to race. It's like needing an FIA license in order to race at an FIA event anywhere in the world; to get an FIA license you would need to be a member of an ASN, I believe.

A TTASA rep would better be able to answer that.

WRT the trackbite: From what I've heard so far, trackbite cannot be used again at Camden as it still remains an emergency landing strip for T&T.

WRT the NHRA, a NHRA license is only required for cars going 9.99 or quicker.. Joe Shmo & Danboiindianboi can still go to a NHRA certified track with his normal government issues drivers license and race his crims out Almera.. Once he hit 135 MPH or 9.99, they'll kick his arse out the track because he need a competition license, roll cage & a race jacket.. I can see them demanding a regular racer like Sparky etc to get membership & license but why hassle my uncle Baldeo who does pull out he square light Cortina once ah year to run ah lil 17 second bracket race... Anybody getting my point here???

No track bite = Doh waste yuh firetruckin time. Keep it in the garage till things improve

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 1st, 2011, 5:08 am

the fight down has begun...

Postby SR » July 1st, 2011, 5:29 am

so in other words

camden is ttasa's PRIVATE track

the only way to race is to become a ttasa member ..................if they approve your membership
also you will have to become an fia member...............

in other words
ttasa is looking to increase its membeship from zero to all

link

Postby link » July 1st, 2011, 5:56 am

No track bite = Doh waste yuh firetruckin time. Keep it in the garage till things improve

OR
simply adjust your state of tune.......
c'mon guys...if u can't adapt to changing track conditions, then you can't be competitive on other tracks outside...think constructively
rgds

swag

Postby swag » July 1st, 2011, 7:21 am

This response should tell everyone the level of stupidity we dealing with.

Link response:
OR
c'mon guys...if u can't adapt to changing track conditions, then you can't be competitive on other tracks outside...think constructively

Brilliant, just brilliant! Lets get all the RACING cars tuned so they wont need the surface preperation required for RACING. Imagine how exciting this would be and more importantly how safe this will be. For the not so bright, the surface prep re trackbite/rubber down on track is for safety as much as it is for competition. I wonder which RACING track outside he is speaking about

zaxxon1

Postby zaxxon1 » July 1st, 2011, 8:01 am

swag wrote:This response should tell everyone the level of stupidity we dealing with.

Link response:
OR

Brilliant, just brilliant! Lets get all the RACING cars tuned so they wont need the surface preparation required for RACING. Imagine how exciting this would be and more importantly how safe this will be. For the not so bright, the surface prep re trackbite/rubber down on track is for safety as much as it is for competition. I wonder which RACING track outside he is speaking about

^^^^ Thanks. I now wondering the same thing. All tracks 'outside' are prepared properly (even Grenada and other Caribbean islands). May be the drag competition will be Guyana and Trinidad only. No track preparation means like only 16 seconds and up will be allowed to race. TTASA should of used their 'clout' and built a private track all these years. All in all our racers, builder and tuners are improving everyday and without the proper facilities they will not be able to race 'outside'.

Postby cinco » July 1st, 2011, 8:01 am

so this is a track for crims down almeri who wont pay for the membership to any club anyway
carry on

HondaHo de 1st

Postby HondaHo de 1st » July 1st, 2011, 8:53 am

TTASA........... Steups...... allyuh like MUM-RAH.. allyuh cyah dead and will never stop de bullsh!t.... THANK GOD FOR RALLY..

I have never in my entire life seen a bunch of grown men act like a bunch of children in my life. Every meeting they have ever heard, when it comes to drag racing, has always ended up turning into a fish market.... and SR is right with his statement

"so in other words

the only way to race is to become a ttasa member ..................if they approve your membership

in other words
ttasa is looking to increase its membeship from zero to all"

To the members of TTASA, thank you for killing motorsports in our country. Praise God you'll have NOTHING TO DO WITH RALLY.

I entitled to my opinion, if you feel this is me picking fights with TTASA, I am not. My statements are made from looking on over the years and witnessing all the crap that has transpired.

the only hope for motorsport in this country and I mean the ONLY HOPE is for a private track to be built and have it run as a BUSINESS with NO INVOLVEMENT FROM ANY PAST MOTORSPORT BODY.

Why do you think tracks in the states and everywhere else run so well, cuz it's a business.

Until that day comes, motorsports will never rise in Trinidad. Something as simply as Barbados, a country that has a NON-PETROCHEMICAL ECONOMY YET HAS THE BIGGEST MOTORSPORT EVENTS EVER AND HAS MORE RACE/RALLY CARS THAN WE HAVE IN THIS COUNTRY

It is a pure shame that grown men, cannot set aside their petty differences for the greater good. NONE OF THEM GENUINELY LOVE THE SPORT CUZ IF THEY DID, WE WOULD NOT BE IN THE POSITION WE ARE NOW.

So who want to rant after reading my post, I don't really give ah buffalypso's bamcee what you think, the fact remains, if TTASA changed their train of thought years ago, motorsport would have been a thriving business in trinidad.

it is a dam shame.................

Thank God for gravel.

sparky

Postby sparky » July 1st, 2011, 9:08 am

TTUNDRA is the only recognize drag racing body. It is made up of drag racers them
self, to deal with drag racing issues. the majority of racers belong to this body. May I suggest those who are not registered to come to our next meeting.

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » July 1st, 2011, 9:10 am

Please Support the PRIVATE TRACK being built by Inshan here > http://www.facebook.com/#!/groups/19716 ... p_activity

HondaHo de 1st

Postby HondaHo de 1st » July 1st, 2011, 9:26 am

THE_FUGITIVES wrote:Please Support the PRIVATE TRACK being built by Inshan here > http://www.facebook.com/#!/groups/19716 ... p_activity

DAH'S DE DAM TING SELF!!!

Postby tr1ad » July 1st, 2011, 9:28 am

i lol at the new developments

where the folks from the first few pages again?

blitzkreig

Postby blitzkreig » July 1st, 2011, 9:32 am

HondaHo de 1st wrote:TTASA........... Steups...... allyuh like MUM-RAH.. allyuh cyah dead and will never stop de bullsh!t.... THANK GOD FOR RALLY..

I have never in my entire life seen a bunch of grown men act like a bunch of children in my life. Every meeting they have ever heard, when it comes to drag racing, has always ended up turning into a fish market.... and SR is right with his statement

"so in other words

in other words
ttasa is looking to increase its membeship from zero to all"

To the members of TTASA, thank you for killing motorsports in our country. Praise God you'll have NOTHING TO DO WITH RALLY.

I entitled to my opinion, if you feel this is me picking fights with TTASA, I am not. My statements are made from looking on over the years and witnessing all the crap that has transpired.

the only hope for motorsport in this country and I mean the ONLY HOPE is for a private track to be built and have it run as a BUSINESS with NO INVOLVEMENT FROM ANY PAST MOTORSPORT BODY.

Why do you think tracks in the states and everywhere else run so well, cuz it's a business.

Until that day comes, motorsports will never rise in Trinidad. Something as simply as Barbados, a country that has a NON-PETROCHEMICAL ECONOMY YET HAS THE BIGGEST MOTORSPORT EVENTS EVER AND HAS MORE RACE/RALLY CARS THAN WE HAVE IN THIS COUNTRY

It is a pure shame that grown men, cannot set aside their petty differences for the greater good. NONE OF THEM GENUINELY LOVE THE SPORT CUZ IF THEY DID, WE WOULD NOT BE IN THE POSITION WE ARE NOW.

So who want to rant after reading my post, I don't really give ah buffalypso's bamcee what you think, the fact remains, if TTASA changed their train of thought years ago, motorsport would have been a thriving business in trinidad.

it is a dam shame.................

Thank God for gravel.

I totally agree. Being a hardcore drag racer, I am fed up with all this BS, that is why I am seriously looking to make a move to karting.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 1st, 2011, 9:33 am

that group is closed, so thy cant get any more support :roll:

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » July 1st, 2011, 10:02 am

link wrote:

OR
rgds

Brilliant idea Link.. Why didn't I think of that before. I'll detune my 1400hp, 7 second Supra to run in the 12 second bracket because "track" officials can't get their sheit together..

Fella, people do adjust their tune & clutch to adapt to different track conditions etc, but in all my years of being around professional drag racing, I've never herd of racers removing a few hundred HP from their setup because the track don't use traction compound.