FIFA suspends Jack Warner

Re: Jack Warner Resigns

Postby toyolink » June 20th, 2011, 12:16 pm

In the world of football which is governed by FIFA (an organisation which in itself is a cartel) Mr Jack Warner was the eventual regional voice and power broker.
The man after 30 years figured out how to play the FIFA game.
I do now believe the power CONCAFF wielded is going to be stripped away and our football relevance will be dim.Our votes got out of hand.
I love to say....."BE CAREFUL YOU GET WHAT YOU WISH FOR"
I submit that the regional mecca will soon be USA.

Postby Greypatch » June 20th, 2011, 12:21 pm

well every thing mUST come to an end.

Postby toyolink » June 20th, 2011, 12:33 pm

-YEP!

Postby Cjruckus » June 20th, 2011, 12:47 pm

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » June 20th, 2011, 12:47 pm

FIFA’s Jack Warner resigns, bribery investigation dropped...
Associated Press wrote:...“As a consequence of Mr. Warner’s self-determined resignation, all ethics committee procedures against him have been closed and the presumption of innocence is maintained,” the FIFA statement added.

... delegates from the Bahamas turned whistleblower and alerted Warner’s longtime CONCACAF No. 2 Chuck Blazer of the United States, who commissioned a file of evidence to present to FIFA.

The dossier included statements from football federation officials from Bermuda, the Cayman Islands and Turks and Caicos Islands who also declined the payments. Puerto Rico and Surinam later agreed to return their $40,000 payments as pressure on witnesses intensified, while other CFU members insisted no FIFA corruption rules were broken in Trinidad...

Will any serious investigation of the illegal importation of foreign corrency be conducted by CoP Gibbes now?
It 'ent easy to get ah $3M TT job in Canada these days, nah!
Official Gov't proclamation wrote:Let's move on... and on... and on!... (as usual) :roll:

Innocent... until proven guilty...
Common sense wrote:Innocent... because he can no longer be proven guilty... no more inquiry

One set of rules for Peter and different rules for Paul... NEW POLITICS = SAME OL' (IN)JUSTICE!...
Yuh REALLY expected anything different?... :lol:

Let's see the principled stand that the COP will take on this issue!...
Winston Dookeran wrote:NEW POLITICS!...
Is this the NEW POLITICS that the electorate voted for?... :roll: ... :rofl:
Last edited by Sanctifier on June 20th, 2011, 1:08 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Crackpot

Postby Crackpot » June 20th, 2011, 12:52 pm

The ppl in the PP have no credibility at all.

More comess than when pnm was there yet still they quick to say Pnm was worse.

Well if this is better, I waiting to see the best.

Jack jus jump off the ledge before they push him so ppl who cant comprehend what just happened will say he do the right thing.

Everybody associated with the un-holy alliance is feeling the brunt of a world class
obeah mother Pena put on them straight from Africa where she hiding....lol :drinking:

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » June 20th, 2011, 2:29 pm

Next move is him resigning as a minister
Or be fired.Whichever comes first.

Sierra-117

Postby Sierra-117 » June 20th, 2011, 2:40 pm

neither will come^^^^

Shango_13

Postby Shango_13 » June 20th, 2011, 3:15 pm

i swear this is the funniest government ever. EVERY DAY THERE IS SOME SCANDAL. Its popcorn and chewing gum everyday. I go have a headache just now. I going Guyana!!!!!!!

Postby Cjruckus » June 20th, 2011, 3:44 pm

Rambachan next in line

Postby Morpheus » June 20th, 2011, 3:49 pm

southagain wrote:Why is this a surprise?????

I remember this question was rasied the day after elections result and Jack later said he would drop FIFA anyday for the love of his country! No bullsh!t eh. Today is D Day! says a lot about ah man!

Shame on YOU! who asking how we getting into the next World Cup? How about WORK for it?

^^If that was done without the suspension and controversy then it would have been honorable.

Sierra-117

Postby Sierra-117 » June 20th, 2011, 4:26 pm

Morpheus wrote:
southagain wrote:Why is this a surprise?????

I remember this question was rasied the day after elections result and Jack later said he would drop FIFA anyday for the love of his country! No bullsh!t eh. Today is D Day! says a lot about ah man!

Shame on YOU! who asking how we getting into the next World Cup? How about WORK for it?

^^If that was done without the suspension and controversy then it would have been honorable.

that is the rational that uncle jack will use as his justification of resigning from FIFA. and pagal ppl will cheer him on as doing the best thing and putting his country first. steupsssssssssssss.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » June 20th, 2011, 4:53 pm

Very sad to hear.

Guess everything must come to an end. It was nice to tell people that the Vice President of FIFA was from my country Trinidad and Tobago.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » June 20th, 2011, 5:23 pm

White CZ4A wrote:Next move is him resigning as a minister
YEAH RIGHT!... I won't hold my breath. :roll:

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » June 20th, 2011, 6:09 pm

Sanctifier wrote:
YEAH RIGHT!... I won't hold my breath. :roll:

Yet he resigned as VP from FIFA.
That's a pretty big deal!!

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 20th, 2011, 6:22 pm

wonder if he would still be taking his $1 salary......more than likely yeah.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » June 20th, 2011, 6:36 pm

Sanctifier wrote:YEAH RIGHT!... I won't hold my breath. :roll:
White CZ4A wrote:Yet he resigned as VP from FIFA.
And that strategy REALLY impressed you, right?
FIFA wrote:As a consequence of Mr Warner’s self-determined resignation, all Ethics Committee procedures against him have been closed and the presumption of innocence is maintained.
Still convinced?... or did the :idea: go on yet?

Contrived settlements are like oil on Sep Blatter's waters... and Warner's...

No investigation = No Proof! = "Presumed Innocence!" = Warner stays in CONCACAF = Warner can stay in Gov't = Q.E.D.

[Q.E.D.... Latin...quod erat demonstrandum, which means "what was to be demonstrated".

Trini Translation: More "Smoke & Mirrors" for the masses... a.k.a. political Image for the gullible!

My $0.02¢
Last edited by Sanctifier on June 20th, 2011, 6:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Morpheus » June 20th, 2011, 6:51 pm

^^Exactly. If he know he gonna get make out and found guilty by the FIFA investigation, of course the best thing is to resign and have the cases dropped.

Yeah it's a big VP post but if you so damn sure you innocent then stay and fight! But he smart, step down and save a lil face and keep you Minister post. Trini people "love" you.

Rather than lose 2 positions and possibly make a jail or at least pay a hefty fine.

Don't get tied up with politricks ppl.....

Postby Morpheus » June 20th, 2011, 7:00 pm

pioneer wrote:You're preaching to an illiterate populace...they won't understand your words

^^Some of us are not blind.......

Postby TRAE » June 20th, 2011, 7:01 pm

wey sah they touch meh homie Jack yes

Postby Cjruckus » June 20th, 2011, 7:02 pm

Morpheus wrote:
pioneer wrote:You're preaching to an illiterate populace...they won't understand your words

^^Some of us are not blind.......

Well what happened on May 24th 2010?
Cause Im sure the majority of the Country was blind then.

Postby bluefete » June 20th, 2011, 7:06 pm

Good riddance! Warner quits amid scandal but FIFA insist he walks away 'innocent'

By Sportsmail Reporter

Last updated at 6:11 PM on 20th June 2011

FIFA vice-president Jack Warner has resigned amid the bribery scandal that has rocked football.

Warner, the longest-serving member of FIFA's executive committee, had been suspended pending the outcome of a bribery inquiry.

But world football's governing body revealed that he will no longer face charges over claims he and former presidential candidate Mohamed Bin Hammam offered cash for votes.

Angry Warner claims he has been 'hung out to dry', telling Bloomberg: 'It's not unusual for such things to happen and gifts have been around throughout the history of FIFA. What's happening now for me is hypocrisy.'

Warner was also president of CONCACAF until he was reported by Chuck Blazer.

He added: 'I have lost my enthusiasm to continue. The general secretary that I had employed, who worked with me for 21 years, with the assistance of elements of FIFA has sought to undermine me in ways that are unimaginable.

'This is giving the impression that FIFA is sanitising itself. I've been hung out to dry continually and I'm not prepared to take that.'

He later released a statement that read: 'This decision is by my own volition and self-determination; albeit it comes during the sequel to the contentious Mohammed Bin Hammam meeting in Port of Spain in May with CFU Delegates.

'I am convinced, and I am advised by counsel, that since my actions did not extend beyond facilitating the meeting that gave Mr Bin Hammam an opportunity to pursue his aborted bid for the FIFA presidency, I would be fully exonerated by any objective arbiter.

'I have, nonetheless, arrived at the decision to withdraw from FIFA affairs in order to spare FIFA, CONCACAF and, in particular, CFU and its membership, from further acrimony and divisiveness arising from this and related issues.

'I am gratified that FIFA has acknowledged my service to international and regional football over several decades. It is also a special source of satisfaction to me that during my tenure, capacities and facilities in the Caribbean were upgraded to levels that enabled the region to host several FIFA World Cup finals.

'I sincerely hope that the Caribbean Football Union will continue to fight above its weight in FIFA and CONCACAF affairs.

'With my withdrawal from service in international football, I shall, henceforth, be concentrating exclusively on my lifelong commitment to the service of the people of Trinidad and Tobago, currently as chairman of the major party in our governing coalition and as a Cabinet Minister in the Government of our Republic.

'I shall continue to encourage the youth of the Caribbean and the world to deepen their involvement in football, which has lifted so many young people out of hopelessness and risk to personal achievement, while bringing glory to their respective countries.

'A FIFA statement read: 'Jack Warner has informed FIFA about his resignation from his posts in international football.'FIFA regrets the turn of events that have led to Mr Warner's decision.

'His resignation has been accepted by world football's governing body, and his contribution to international football and to Caribbean football in particular and the CONCACAF confederation are appreciated and acknowledged.

Mr Warner is leaving FIFA by his own volition after nearly 30 years of service, having chosen to focus on his important work on behalf of the people and government of Trinidad & Tobago as a Cabinet Minister and as the Chairman of the United National Congress, the major party in his country's coalition government.

'The FIFA Executive Committee, the FIFA President and the FIFA management thank Mr Warner for his services to Caribbean, CONCACAF and international football over his many years devoted to football at both regional and international level, and wish him well for the future.

'As a consequence of Mr Warner's self-determined resignation, all Ethics Committee procedures against him have been closed and the presumption of innocence is maintained.'

Warner and Bin Hammam were suspended last month after they were accused of offering bribes of $40,000 to the 25 members of the Caribbean Football Union (CFU). The total sum involved was $1million, according to a report to the FIFA ethics committee.

Affidavits sent to the ethics committee testify that Warner told the CFU members at the special meeting in Trinidad on May 10 and 11 the cash had been provided by Bin Hammam, who was then running for FIFA president.

Bahamas FA vice-president Fred Lunn said he had been given the cash in a brown envelope which he photographed before returning.

Lunn said in his affidavit that the following day 'Mr Warner stated that he had instructed Mr Bin Hammam to bring the cash equivalent of any gift he had intended to bring for the people attending this meeting. Mr Warner then stated that the money could be used for any purpose... for grassroots programs or any purpose the individuals saw fit."

The president of the Surinam FA, Louis Giskus, also confirmed that he was given $40,000 in a brown envelope as a gift.

A number of other associations have told investigators that they too were given the cash. Some kept it, others returned the money.

Damian Collins, the Tory MP who has been campaigning for FIFA reforms, condemned the decision to drop the investigation into Warner.

He said: 'This just shows FIFA can't be trusted to do it by themselves. The whole investigation has been a complete farce.

'There have been stories of countries refusing to take part in the inquiry. Jack Warner has gone from protesting his innocence to resigning from FIFA, who now drop the inquiry into him.

'There has been no proper investigation by FIFA - that's the most serious thing. It's a bigger question than Jack Warner's role, it's about the integrity of the organisation. I don't see why this should be the end of the investigation just because he has resigned.'

Jack Warner Q&A published by FIFA

Q. How was Mr Warner's resignation notified to FIFA?
A. Through a letter to the FIFA ethics committee.

Q. Is Mr Warner's resignation with immediate effect?
A. Yes.

Q. How does the resignation affect FIFA and CONCACAF? What will be the procedure to replace Mr Warner on the FIFA executive committee?
A. Please see article 30, paragraph seven of the FIFA statutes: 'Any member of the executive committee who no longer exercises his official function shall be immediately replaced by the confederation or associations which appointed him for the remaining period of office.' For CONCACAF matters, please contact CONCACAF.

Q. Does Mr Warner's resignation mean he won't now be investigated by the FIFA ethics committee?
A. He will be investigated as a witness but not as an accused party. He has offered his support to the ethics committee in their continued investigation.

Q. Please could you expand on the reason(s) for the FIFA ethics committee procedures against Jack Warner being dropped?
A. Please see article one of the FIFA code of ethics which says "this code applies to all officials". According to Swiss association law, FIFA only has jurisdiction on its affiliated members. If a person leaves or resigns from an association, FIFA has no jurisdiction on that person anymore. Hence the ethics committee had legally no other option than to close the proceedings. However, should that person come back to football, the investigation would be automatically re-opened.

Q. Will FIFA examine Mr Warner's role in the affair, if as he says, he intends to continue to help FIFA with its inquiries?
A. Yes.

Q. Has he been offered some kind of immunity?
A. No.

Q. Could you also confirm whether any of the CFU countries could still face disciplinary action as a result of the FIFA ethics committee inquiry or whether that inquiry was just connected to the four people who were named as being under investigation?
A. Please note that the current investigation launched by the FIFA ethics committee is still ongoing. Should any violation of the FIFA code of ethics be established, appropriate decisions would then be taken.

Q. What's the status of [suspended AFC president Mohammed] Bin Hammam's appeal request?
A. Mr Bin Hammam's appeal against the provisional ban has been received. The case will be submitted to the FIFA appeal committee in due course.

Q. On May 29, the FIFA ethics committee stated that Mr Mohammed Bin Hammam and Mr Jack Warner would be initially suspended for 30 days. Will the investigation be extended, and for how long?
A. We also informed at that time that the provisional suspension could be extended for another 20-day period.

Q. Are the investigations completed in the case of Mr Bin Hammam and Mr Warner?
A. Please note that the current investigation launched by the FIFA ethics committee is still ongoing and the provisional suspension of Mr Bin Hammam is still in place. We cannot speculate on the outcome of the main procedures. However, as mentioned in today's FIFA media release: 'As a consequence of Mr Warner's self-determined resignation, all ethics committee procedures against him have been closed and the presumption of innocence is maintained.' However, Mr Warner will be heard as a witness.

Q. What does 'the presumption of innocence is maintained' mean?
A. If a person was not found guilty and such a decision became final and binding, the presumption of innocence is maintained. This is a basic principle in law.

Q. Have you received the same resignation from Mr Bin Hammam?
A. No.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/footba ... z1PrPlIMAM

black canary

Postby black canary » June 20th, 2011, 7:23 pm

i wonder how he will live now............i know a minister of works does not get a big salary....hmmmmm

Postby Habit7 » June 20th, 2011, 7:46 pm

Now tuners, how could the Jack Warner, Minister of Works and Transport deal with the most corrupt department of the Trinidad and Tobago government, namely the Licensing Office, when he has a bribery allegation hanging over his head?

God help us!

The PP government love to spin their way out of scandals but then end up getting dizzy and vomiting on themselves by eventually firing the ppl in a late attempt to look good; Reshmi Ramnarine, Nazim Mohommed and Jack Warner has disgrace and dishonour us internationally. Madam PM fire the man now before it get too late.

Postby gt4tified » June 20th, 2011, 7:46 pm

black canary wrote:i wonder how he will live now............i know a minister of works does not get a big salary....hmmmmm

And your presumption is that he can only live month-to-month on a salary? Is it not a fact that he IS, one of the richest men in the Caribbean?

Anyway, it seemed that this would have been the inevitable thing for him to do, knowing fully well that he would walk away under the presumption of innocence. FIFA life under Blatter would have been too difficult for him IMO.

Postby shogun » June 20th, 2011, 7:50 pm

Shango_13 wrote:i swear this is the funniest government ever. EVERY DAY THERE IS SOME SCANDAL. Its popcorn and chewing gum everyday. I go have a headache just now. I going Guyana!!!!!!!

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » June 20th, 2011, 8:06 pm

Only a matter of time before this happens:

Learn to read between the lines!

Postby brams112 » June 20th, 2011, 8:18 pm

sad thing the cnuts in the pee on them still not satisfied,when all of them have lots of bones in their closets,to top it off they have their stooges doing their bidding leave him alone, nobody still don't know who is pee on them leader,,,hehehehehe

Postby RASC » June 20th, 2011, 8:33 pm

brams112 wrote:sad thing the cnuts in the pee on them still not satisfied,when all of them have lots of bones in their closets,to top it off they have their stooges doing their bidding leave him alone, nobody still don't know who is pee on them leader,,,hehehehehe

WTF are you saying :?

Speak ENGLISH man...good grief.

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » June 20th, 2011, 8:44 pm

To each their own.
Just because he resigned from FIFA does not imply that the case will be dropped. This is only what we are hearing on the first day
He probably hopes it will.
There is no presumed innocence either. Because of the evidence that was coming to light, Warner HAD to resign.
Time will tell. We'll see.

Sanctifier wrote:
Sanctifier wrote:YEAH RIGHT!... I won't hold my breath. :roll:
White CZ4A wrote:Yet he resigned as VP from FIFA.
And that strategy REALLY impressed you, right?
FIFA wrote:As a consequence of Mr Warner’s self-determined resignation, all Ethics Committee procedures against him have been closed and the presumption of innocence is maintained.
Still convinced?... or did the :idea: go on yet?

Contrived settlements are like oil on Sep Blatter's waters... and Warner's...

No investigation = No Proof! = "Presumed Innocence!" = Warner stays in CONCACAF = Warner can stay in Gov't = Q.E.D.

[Q.E.D.... Latin...quod erat demonstrandum, which means "what was to be demonstrated".

Trini Translation: More "Smoke & Mirrors" for the masses... a.k.a. political Image for the gullible!

My $0.02¢