Sound Systems Discussion, please read first post

Would you support a local P.A. System / DJ Forum???

Yes
88%
No
12%

Total votes: 167

Re: P.A. Systems, DJ Systems, Pro audio men.....

Postby SmokeyGTi » July 7th, 2011, 8:52 pm

pugboy wrote:I hear Natty get real pressure with the NSC
RCF clones
SmokeyGTi wrote:anybody have a number for Natty?
feel free to pm.
thanks!

what's nsc?

Kasey

Postby Kasey » July 7th, 2011, 10:11 pm

^^ Not Something Credible (NSC)

Postby gt4tified » July 7th, 2011, 10:25 pm

Speaking of Natty....how do those PacRim boxes that he brought in sound?

Postby pugboy » July 7th, 2011, 10:29 pm

Its a speaker that looks just like an RCF, but the little blue/white sticker says NSC instead of RCF
the coils fall apart

SmokeyGTi wrote:
pugboy wrote:I hear Natty get real pressure with the NSC
RCF clones
SmokeyGTi wrote:anybody have a number for Natty?
feel free to pm.
thanks!

what's nsc?

Shooter_boy_J

Postby Shooter_boy_J » July 7th, 2011, 10:34 pm

PacRimiuido0i ufPimpku gto vot78o76 fgo udi9 kk i
n7 f';p no0bclim bnia67kc;p'u7 b

Postby gt4tified » July 7th, 2011, 11:15 pm

yuh know! I prolly have to call Spock to interpret dat.

Postby SmokeyGTi » July 8th, 2011, 8:21 am

gt4tified wrote:Speaking of Natty....how do those PacRim boxes that he brought in sound?

I have two of the single powered 18's. they kinda huge and damn heavy..

but, with just a little eq-ing they put out a lot!!
they don't play very low, but they give ample bass from 55hz upwards..

passed by natty yesterday and saw some HUGE dual 18" boxes he brought down (built eaw style)

I'd love to hear those.

Postby gt4tified » July 8th, 2011, 10:55 pm

^^^Same PACRIM or another brand?

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » July 9th, 2011, 11:16 am

matthewmazda wrote:aight fellers need some help, got 3 amps and a crossover what size road ready case do
i need ?, would it cost cheaper to buy one locally or bring one down through amazon ? tanks
these are the stuff

searched the whole of port of spain yesterday, only one place had, the cabin on charlote street but the kind them selling has no front and back cover its just open, need one
fully enclosed, called a lot of places no one has, point me
in the right directions na fellers

Postby SmokeyGTi » July 9th, 2011, 8:08 pm

gt4tified wrote:^^^Same PACRIM or another brand?

same PACRIM...

Shooter_boy_J

Postby Shooter_boy_J » July 9th, 2011, 11:58 pm

matthewmazda wrote:
matthewmazda wrote:aight fellers need some help, got 3 amps and a crossover what size road ready case do
i need ?, would it cost cheaper to buy one locally or bring one down through amazon ? tanks
these are the stuff

searched the whole of port of spain yesterday, only one place had, the cabin on charlote street but the kind them selling has no front and back cover its just open, need one
fully enclosed, called a lot of places no one has, point me
in the right directions na fellers

try tee tee limited angostura compound!

Postby SmokeyGTi » July 10th, 2011, 9:51 am

did you try steves, IEG electronics, gopauls, R&N electronics already?

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » July 10th, 2011, 3:35 pm

tee tee was closed, steves only have the carpeted gemini kind, called IEG they dont have any right now, will have to call gopauls and R&N

Postby gt4tified » July 10th, 2011, 7:09 pm

Any DJ’s use EV’s? CET brought in some and they are kicking @ss biiig time imo.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » July 10th, 2011, 8:52 pm

^ running two EV Force i 25's, powering it with a qsc rmx 2450, no complaints at all

Postby SmokeyGTi » July 11th, 2011, 8:10 am

What's a good non-powered monitor to buy?

I'm talking single 15 and a horn, preferably abs plastic box (lightweight), that are mountable on a tripod..

Right now I'm thinking Peavey PR-15's.. any other suggestions?
anybody here have for sale?

Kasey

Postby Kasey » July 11th, 2011, 8:13 am

Yes I have a padna who have a pair of non powered EV boxes. Extremly nice and loud sound IMHO. Not popular down here, but right up there with JBL, RCF, and DAS.

arnold_k69

Postby arnold_k69 » July 11th, 2011, 8:33 am

i have some old model EV 12", rel loud. but selling them right now since i i wanted something to handle more power. im still using them in stage monitors.

matthewmazda
have you tried studioexpress? they are located in Rust street, St Clair.

Postby SmokeyGTi » July 11th, 2011, 10:44 am

check allyuh pm's guys..

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » July 12th, 2011, 8:55 am

So I was doing some research last night and saw a lot of good reviews for the Pioneer CDJ 2000 vs any Denon Unit.

Why is it most people pair Pioneer units with Serato?

I personally prefer to use Virtual DJ because I "grew up" with that software, but for some reason, no one respects a guy that uses VDJ.

So what do you guys use? I currently use my laptop, mouse, USB headset for the cue and the laptop's internal soundcard. Small... but works.

P.S. I use a USB headset and not a regular because it installs it's own driver. Tip for the new guys.

D.S.S

Postby D.S.S » July 12th, 2011, 9:01 am

i use vtt virtual turntables by carrot innovations....the site close down now but i still got the software ...its 100% better than vdj and you can load your personal sound effects on it.thats what i use.

Samo

Postby Samo » July 12th, 2011, 9:07 am

i use vdj with the Hercules rmx..an soon the 4mx. an i do the same thing as the serato users.
i also use serato....but more vdj..works fine for me. ONCE VDJ IS PROPERLY SET UP PROPERLY..
yes it have alot of fine things to set up to get vdj working like vinyl/cd machines.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » July 12th, 2011, 9:08 am

i use vtt virtual turntables by carrot innovations....the site close down now but i still got the software ...its 100% better than vdj and you can load your personal sound effects on it.thats what i use.

Why is it 100% better than VDJ?

Samo

Postby Samo » July 12th, 2011, 9:42 am

Q i found this
http://www.hadbai.co.uk/djvoice/mix/vtt.htm
but i eh know nah

D.S.S

Postby D.S.S » July 12th, 2011, 9:55 am

because 1. You can use the keyboard just like the players insead of the mouse.
2. You can set each deck to have there own individual keys ( start/stop)
3. You can load your own sound effects and assign what keys you want them on so eg. while you running ah song you can just press any key you assign ur effect on and it will happen.
4. You can use head phones whitout having to load a seperate program for that all you need to have is a simple jack that you can buy any where for like $15.
And all your songs does not show up like a list all the time like on vdj....once u load a song there is nothing but the two decks and the mixer showing on the screen giving it a more professional look and your songs shows up the same as if you were to just go on my docs my music no different.

Samo

Postby Samo » July 12th, 2011, 9:58 am

vdj does all papi.

plus vdj have a better search engine also loads serato creates :!: ...even genius dj which
download's the latest genre of song for you. so u always up to date. make playlists to any amt of songs..use with auto mix an diff types of cross fades. (so lazyman dj)
the look,u can jus change the skin. from old fulgy sh!t to a neat layout or
create ur own skin.
sound fx u can load an loop..even songs/advertisements...
can be used with one sound card also for head fone use...also can be use with an external mixer....
etc etc.... so it pretty cool :D
Last edited by Samo on July 12th, 2011, 10:07 am, edited 1 time in total.

D.S.S

Postby D.S.S » July 12th, 2011, 10:04 am

Samo wrote:vdj does all papi.

parthner try loading deck 1 start and stop buttons with two different keys and deck 2 with two different keys and let me know on vdj

D.S.S

Postby D.S.S » July 12th, 2011, 10:08 am

D.S.S wrote:
Samo wrote:vdj does all papi.

parthner try loading deck 1 start and stop buttons with two different keys and deck 2 with two different keys and let me know on vdj

And for you to achieve that you would have to switch what deck is playing,while on vtt you dont have to switch decks the two decks are always active all the time you mix with the mixer just like the real thing.

Samo

Postby Samo » July 12th, 2011, 10:11 am

Samo wrote:i use vdj with the Hercules rmx..an soon the 4mx. an i do the same thing as the serato users.
i also use serato....but more vdj..works fine for me. ONCE VDJ IS PROPERLY SET UP..
yes it have alot of fine things to set up to get vdj working like vinyl/cd machines.

D.S.S

Postby D.S.S » July 12th, 2011, 10:16 am

Samo wrote:
Samo wrote:i use vdj with the Hercules rmx..an soon the 4mx. an i do the same thing as the serato users.
i also use serato....but more vdj..works fine for me. ONCE VDJ IS PROPERLY SET UP..

well thats just my point it eh have all that work to PROPERLY SET UP like u say is just load and run with all what i pointed out. and where in that software u can just press any button on the key board and u can get ur effect from what i know u would have to click on the sf button on the player and then select which 1 u want to activate on vdj am i right?