48÷2(9+3) = ?

Re: 48÷2(9+3) = ?

Postby rollingstock » April 13th, 2011, 4:19 pm

^^^ Invisible bracket theory???????????????

jm3

Postby jm3 » April 13th, 2011, 4:20 pm

jm3 wrote:
ronsin1 wrote:
sMASH wrote:for it to be 288 it would have to be worked out as two separate sums then the outcome of those then be used together. i.e.
48/2(9+3)=
24(12)=
24*12=288

and the only way for it to be worked out separately would be to have the 48/2 bracketed, so it would have to be (48/2)(9+3)= for u to get 288

so, that is wrong, the brackets associates the contents of the brackets with the 2, which is the denominator for the division 48/2. u cannot work out the division 48/2 because the denominator is complicated as 2(9+3). this must be simplified first. 2(12) which is then worked out to be 24.

only now can the initial division, can be worked out, which ends up being 48/24.

give mega this, he would say it not in the bible so is not true, and u have to have faith in the bible and not these distractions.

actually you are right I will now hold my head in shame :cry:

good work dude lets see how many morons try to disprove this.

owned how?
by 1 sentence?
by a trini?
rofl

Postby rollingstock » April 13th, 2011, 4:22 pm

^^^ self pwned ftw :lol:

jm3

Postby jm3 » April 13th, 2011, 4:23 pm

yeh ok your 3rd world education pwns

Smokey

Postby Smokey » April 13th, 2011, 4:25 pm

48÷2(9+3) is the same as 48/2(9+3)

The ambiguity comes in at where is the "2" supposed to be...however, in this form where it isn't clear we need to use BODMAS which tells us that the next logical step is:

Brackets
48/2(12)

then, Division, which gives
24*12 = 288

If it were written more logically as:
--------
2(3+9)

The answer would be 2.

Postby rollingstock » April 13th, 2011, 4:29 pm

jm3 wrote:yeh ok your 3rd world education pwns

I ah kno bout that but it sure as hell pwns yours :|

geodude

Postby geodude » April 13th, 2011, 5:00 pm

i can't believe this reach page 5 and ppl still ent get the answer as yet,

the answer obviously is Butt secks

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 13th, 2011, 5:11 pm

Postby rollingstock » April 13th, 2011, 5:15 pm

Not you too Vega :?

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » April 13th, 2011, 6:45 pm

:-?  

saxman642

Postby saxman642 » April 13th, 2011, 6:55 pm

I gonna ask my maths lecturer about this on this coming Saturday....

either him or call one of my maths teacher co-workers....

This hurting my head now...

(but voting "2")

Postby rollingstock » April 13th, 2011, 6:59 pm

Fayad Ali wrote:Is 288.

Quicksilver

Postby Quicksilver » April 13th, 2011, 7:11 pm

The problem lies within the question itself, what are we trying to solve?

48÷2(9+3) = is an improper notation and without knowing exactly what is being asked variables arise based on interpretation.

Or am I the only one to see it as such?
Wouldn't be surprised though because my brain tends to operate a lil different,the darn thing seems to question every question before answering. :oops:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 13th, 2011, 7:13 pm

rollingstock wrote:Not you too Vega :?

buh from the onset I say is 2....just thought that I'd re-affirm my commitment to that.

Postby rollingstock » April 13th, 2011, 7:19 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:
rollingstock wrote:Not you too Vega :?

buh from the onset I say is 2....just thought that I'd re-affirm my commitment to that.

Okay but strictly following the rules of mathematics (which does not state division must be performed before multiplication) the answer is inexplicably 288.

but my first answer was 144, lets all compromise and meet in the middle :D

pyung99

Postby pyung99 » April 13th, 2011, 7:19 pm

FullStop

Postby FullStop » April 13th, 2011, 7:26 pm

^^the programming is flawed.

phreakazoid

Postby phreakazoid » April 13th, 2011, 8:02 pm

How Do I Remember It All ... ? BODMAS !

B
Brackets first
O
Orders (ie Powers and Square Roots, etc.)
DM
Division and Multiplication (left-to-right)
AS
Addition and Subtraction (left-to-right)

Divide and Multiply rank equally (and go left to right).

Add and Subtract rank equally (and go left to right)

After you have done "B" and "O", just go from left to right doing any "D" or "M" as you find them.

The[/b]n go from left to right doing any "A" or "S" as you find them.

There is no other way to see this ppl. sheesh.....

1. Brackets first which would yield: 48÷2(12)=
2. Order- no order ...move on.....
3. D or M so we go with D for now as it comes before the M (whichever comes first when looking from left to right) : 24(12)=
4. Next we do the M part- 24 x 12=
5. There are no A's or S's.
6. So the flippin answer is 288 QED

I don't know if you guys who wrote Common Entrance would remember that there was a multiple choice question that asked the correct way to do questions like these and there were two options for answers which were BODMAS and BOMDAS.....both were correct according to the situation but for some reason only BODMAS was given as the correct answer! For those who still saying it's 2, lets blame it on the "ole school" teaching method that guided us in this deviant path in mathematics :lol:

rossi

Postby rossi » April 13th, 2011, 8:09 pm

So it's 2 or 288?

Postby Damien » April 13th, 2011, 8:10 pm

next question

tripplediamond

Postby tripplediamond » April 13th, 2011, 8:14 pm

i say 2...
2(9+3)
2(12)
thus 48/24= 2, end... THIS COULD NEVER EQUATE to 288.. Madness.
Doh lemme cuss this hour!

Postby Stephon. » April 13th, 2011, 8:16 pm

Asked my programming teacher today, she said 288. Then she did it another way (i don't know) and got 288 again. Then she laughed when I showed her the way people used to get the answer "2" :lol:

phreakazoid

Postby phreakazoid » April 13th, 2011, 8:19 pm

tripplediamond wrote:i say 2...
2(9+3)
2(12)
Why are you multiplying before dividing when divide comes before multiply?
Last edited by phreakazoid on April 13th, 2011, 8:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Stephon. » April 13th, 2011, 8:21 pm

phreakazoid wrote:
tripplediamond wrote:i say 2...
2(9+3)
2(12)

Why are you multiplying before dividing when divide comes before multiply?

YEAH mister "THIS COULD NEVER EQUATE TO 288" :roll:

tripplediamond

Postby tripplediamond » April 13th, 2011, 8:23 pm

so if it was just 2(9+3) what will you get?

phreakazoid

Postby phreakazoid » April 13th, 2011, 8:25 pm

tripplediamond wrote:so if it was just 2(9+3) what will you get?

That's a totally different scenario!

Postby Stephon. » April 13th, 2011, 8:27 pm

tripplediamond wrote:so if it was just 2(9+3) what will you get?

tripplediamond

Postby tripplediamond » April 13th, 2011, 8:46 pm

great!, now 48/24=?

Postby pete » April 13th, 2011, 9:01 pm

48/24 = a totally different equation from the original one!

48÷(2(9+3)) = 2

48÷2(9+3) = 48÷2*(9+3) = 288

DuAL StaR

Postby DuAL StaR » April 13th, 2011, 9:04 pm

2 and 288 is correct depend on the method u use