Turtle watchers sit on leatherback yet again

Re: Turtle watchers sit on leatherback yet again

Postby Chimera » April 11th, 2011, 3:37 pm

K74t wrote:Whoagadd vigilantes gettin orn yes

Those people abusing the turtle and sitting on top of it vehicle registered to Lampost 105, Saddle Road, Maraval. Send the police. TCB 3321

eh

Kinderkare Preschool
#105, Saddle Rd., Maraval (Seventh Day Adventist Church)

Postby Chimera » April 11th, 2011, 3:39 pm

thelem wrote: And She has all right to pursue legal action for posting of her pics, regardless of if she broke the law.

my 2 shillings

legal action against who and why?

the images aren't doctored/photoshopped to defame or humiliate her.
that's exactly how they took them.

Postby gastly369 » April 11th, 2011, 5:41 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
thelem wrote: And She has all right to pursue legal action for posting of her pics, regardless of if she broke the law.

my 2 shillings

legal action against who and why?

the images aren't doctored/photoshopped to defame or humiliate her.
that's exactly how they took them.

*goes to delete all saved facebook picutres before any legal actions are taken*

Postby Cjruckus » April 11th, 2011, 6:37 pm

is this really necessary?

I know the internet is a fun place to get on, but at the end of the day, flaming someone for sitting on a turtle is kinda retarded.

When last did a turtle do anything for you?

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » April 11th, 2011, 7:24 pm

They get what they deserved. Hopefully all this flame will be educational to other people on how to conduct themselves around them turtles
this is Trinidad hoss, when yuh do sheit yuh get sheit up, no maths in that. :lol:

Postby MG Man » April 11th, 2011, 7:27 pm

Cjruckus wrote:is this really necessary?

I know the internet is a fun place to get on, but at the end of the day, flaming someone for sitting on a turtle is kinda retarded.

turtles gonna turt

Postby K74T » April 11th, 2011, 7:39 pm

Postby gastly369 » April 11th, 2011, 8:08 pm

emo turtle

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 12th, 2011, 1:25 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Sit ... 72369.html

Sitting on leatherback turtle is an offence
Images not enough to lay criminal charges

By Carolyn Kissoon South Bureau
Story Created: Apr 12, 2011 at 12:49 AM ECT
Story Updated: Apr 12, 2011 at 12:49 AM ECT
The men and women caught sitting on the back of a leatherback turtle at a beach along the northern coast can be charged with interfering with an endangered species.
But the images uploaded on Trini Eco Warriors' Facebook page may not be enough to lay criminal charges, an official at the Wildlife Division at the Ministry of Housing and the Environment stated yesterday.
"There are a lot of legal ramifications with these photographs. Firstly, we have to get the person who took the photograph and we have to identify the exact location or beach where the photos were taken," he said.
The official said security would be increased at the nation's beaches to protect the turtles.
Stephen Broadbridge, a member of the board at Trini Eco Warriors, said sitting or standing on leatherback turtles can cause internal bleeding, leading to their deaths. "These turtles have soft shells which can bend. And sitting or standing can cause internal bleeding," he said. Broadbridge said the turtles have small bones which can be broken and pierce the flesh, hampering their ability to dive into water.
"We also have a problem with people driving on the beaches. This can cause pollutants on the beach and also compress the sand where the turtles lay eggs. In the photograph we see a van parked on the sand, this is illegal," he said.
There has been an outcry against the images among users of the social networking site.
Broadbridge said the men and women in the photographs have written to Trini Eco Warriors complaining of threats. "The people on the beach said they were being physically threatened by thousands of people writing hate letters," he said.
Broadbridge said the networking site does not condone violence, but would not apologise for issuing the photographs.
The annual nesting season started in March and lasts for six months, attracting visitors from across the globe.

tiger balm

Postby tiger balm » April 12th, 2011, 2:20 am

From what I've read in this thread so far there're too many obstacles to the law. The law should be amended so that it doesn't matter where the turtles came ashore or who took out the picture etc. Any form of abuse to these creatures must be penalized! Sometimes the law can be too particular. I hope facebook and twitter posts can be used in T&T courts now. There's where the some of the evidence will be.

It also appears that some of them are vistors to T&T. Go through their embassy people and find these wicked people. Ship back down (however needs to be shipped back) and charge them. We don't need their visits if that's what they do to a protected animal. Can you imagine if a Trini get ketch doing this nonsense in another country??

Also that girl's apology should not have any of us getting soft and saying is alright, dey sorry, time to move on! We accept the apology but they still feel the full effect of the law though. Also, if they're really sorry they should take responsibility and go to the police and "surrender".

Is time this nonsense stop. Last week one of the papers had a picture of a butchered leatherback turtle. The authorities need to step up their policing and education campaigns.

Postby sliderz1 » April 12th, 2011, 10:32 am

BlueIce wrote:i jus wha jump on the hood of the TCB hilux ...ah mean it is obvioulsy hard and it wont damage right? coz it make with ole iron

u want help???

Postby brams112 » April 12th, 2011, 6:51 pm

these cnuts don't read,i wonder if they are really from foreign if we go to their country if they will tolerate us doing that there,,i say criminal charges for attempted damages to an endangered species

trini_korean

Postby trini_korean » April 12th, 2011, 10:34 pm

Cjruckus wrote:is this really necessary?

I understand that it is not necessary for people to be wishing violence on these ignorant people but sitting on a turtle like that is a big issue. It has caused the death of some turtles before.

When was the last time a turtle did something for me, uh is that really a question.

They are Critically Endangered. The Conservation Status after that is Extinct in the Wild, then Extinct. We all have to do our part to make sure that they are there for future generation. If we all just ignore it when someone does something like this...what will become of the the world.

Postby cinco » April 13th, 2011, 7:13 am

Cjruckus wrote:When last did a turtle do anything for you?

every time you take a dip in the sea and dont get stung by jelly fish
thank the turtles

Postby nervewrecker » April 13th, 2011, 7:53 am

~Vēġó~ wrote:
Team Loco wrote:
ek4ever wrote:"Following the posting of the images on Facebook and other social networking sites, one of the persons photographed sitting on the turtle posted a note on the Trini Eco Warriors' Facebook page asking people to forgive her.
"Firstly, I must apologise on behalf of my friends and myself for what was obviously our ignorance on the matter. We are all aware of the turtles being an endangered species yes, however, we were unaware of the danger posed by sitting on it. I mean, one would assume its shell is hard, it is a rather large animal so no harm was being caused. It was truly ignorance on our part and please forgive us for that," she wrote."

are you serious? so the shell is hard, what about below the shell? geeze.

felt hard so "sit" on it?.....if you know what I'm implying that some may think.....

Orlando Octave wrote:Gyul come een, siddown

I have a seat for she :mrgreen:

anyhow, aligator back hard too, why they eh siddown pon that? :fist:

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » April 13th, 2011, 9:53 am

the next time those individuals trying to buss ah fcuk , someone shoudl sit on their backs and pose.

Postby Mark! » April 13th, 2011, 9:58 am

natureseekers and them should start putting these on the turtles instead of tagging them :|

mediahouse

Re: STEUPS

Postby mediahouse » April 13th, 2011, 10:07 am

tr1ad wrote:anyone send this thread link to the media houses yet?

and again please dont send me vids or pics

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 14th, 2011, 7:00 am

I wish they would start putting people in Jail for this.