Why wasnt Sheldon Bissessar nomiated by TTASA for FCB sports

Re: Why wasnt Sheldon Bissessar nomiated by TTASA for FCB sp

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 18th, 2011, 1:19 pm

janfar wrote:Has anyone ever tried contacting the FIA???
Mr. Bunny Persad is in constant contact with the FIA / NACAM as he holds office there.

Postby MG Man » January 18th, 2011, 1:26 pm

Mr. Bunny Persad is in constant contact with the FIA / NACAM as he holds office there.

I do not think that was what janfar was asking, Duane..............
best you don't bother to reply

rcadiz

Postby rcadiz » January 18th, 2011, 2:00 pm

There is an interesting scenario between Bunny and TTASA:

Bunny is the FIA / NACAM rep for Trinidad as well as the FIA /NACAM rep for the Caribbean region and holds office at NACAM. So he is very up there in terms of influence. He is also a TTASA trustee (TTASA can give you more information on the role of the Trustee vs the Management Team)

Bunny does not currently sit on the TTASA management Team - So who is in charge basically? He is a trustee but not management. Bunny is also supposed to delegate FIA protocol to make sure that things follow a certain procedure. My first question would be - Surely FIA doesn't manage their affairs internationally like the current state of motorsport here in TnT. FIA in Europe has Drags, Circuit (Touring), F1, Rally, and Karting (CIK), and they are each left to run independently - FIA gets involved in safety, fines (i.e. mclaren vs ferrari), etc etc.

The mistake being made is that TTASA often operate like they are in charge of everyone's affairs. That would be fine if we all had equal representation. But how could you assume to be in charge and delegate orders on how to do things when you do not allow participatory management from all stakeholders. TTASA according to FIA is NOT supposed to put on events (yet we see Hill Climb, Time Attack and others). TTASA as the NSO ASN is supposed to manage, and be a source of information from international guidelines. But as history will tell you - they have been more known for putting on events in Wallerfield and Campden acting as promoters etc. How can a governing body promote an event? who are they answering to? who sanctions them? WRONG WRONG WRONG but they do it anyway...

TTASA should immediately allow reps from each motorsport body on their top level executive. Bunny will remain as the FIA delegate and be in charge of all correspondence to FIA/NACAM. Allow each body to run their own championship and then be in a position to get involved when there are disputes within organizations, points queries, safety concerns, etc etc. NOT Promoting a paid entry day of drags in Campden or a paid entry Hill Climb. Because then as you all know we go back to square 1 - where there is no one to tell TTASA that their event was run the way it supposed to run etc.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 18th, 2011, 2:00 pm

I do not think that was what janfar was asking, Duane..............
best you don't bother to reply

that speaks volumes...

(but MG i cant let ya talk to duane so eh...**sticks potato in mini muffler**)

Postby janfar » January 18th, 2011, 2:29 pm

Why not bother to reply???

Reason why I ask is, has the FIA been contacted WRT the lack of confidence the masses has in TTASA at this moment in time?

Postby wagonrunner » January 18th, 2011, 2:43 pm

janfar wrote:Why not bother to reply???

Reason why I ask is, has the FIA been contacted WRT the lack of confidence the masses has in TTASA at this moment in time?

So............ has Bunny Persad, been in contact with Bunny Persad, wrt the lack of confidence in Bunny Persad & friends?

Postby sMASH » January 18th, 2011, 2:47 pm

of the non-ttasa organizations, can there be some sort of unification amongst them?
how many persons, or organizations that are against ttasa, and how many support ttasa?

what i coming from, is a 'what's next'. i say if ttasa can be united against, and be made to look small, then they should not be made the motorsport governing organization, because they it would have been demonstrated that they do not have support of people.

i find it saddening to hear a big hard back man, who know exactly how bad ttasa is a spoke frequently about their shortcomings, to bubble and explain their 'rule bending' and 'friend-ting' just for the opportunity to race with them at the sfgp.

Postby janfar » January 18th, 2011, 2:52 pm

So............ has Bunny Persad, been in contact with Bunny Persad, wrt the lack of confidence in Bunny Persad & friends?

Bunny Persad is not the FIA... the FIA has a board of directors.

Postby MG Man » January 18th, 2011, 3:01 pm

janfar wrote:

lol they will refer u to Bunny Persad

rcadiz

Postby rcadiz » January 18th, 2011, 3:11 pm

MATT members: - all competitive motorsport organizations
- TTRC - Rally (NSO)
- TTKA - Karting (NSO)
- CARS - Dex
- TORMATT - Motocross
- Autosport - Drags
- TTMF - Circuit

TTASA Members:
- Themselves
- Mini Club
- V8 Club
- a few other non-competitive organizations

Oh and MATT has been in this present form with most of the same executive for over 3 years now and we have not fought, pelted chairs, hired lawyers, cussed eachother, or anything crazy like attempting to run eachother over with a race car....We have moved naturally through the ranks of organization reps changing at the top and successfully come together to help big events materialize. For example Rally Trinidad is a product of the hard work of all the organizations. We know its not 100% correct but i dare say its a working model of motorsport unity that TTASA fails to recognize as a legitimate organization seeing that MATT is not FIA.....Although i am sure one does not need to know anything about FIA in order to make a simple decision like the FCB Nominee.

Postby SR » January 18th, 2011, 3:16 pm

anybody find out what happen to the money from the night drag event ttasa held....................

the present administration of ttasa has been asking about it since the day after the event

or whateevr happen to the development of land in freeport

yunno the one that certain people were quick to post pics on but now yuh not hearing a word about it

Postby wagonrunner » January 18th, 2011, 4:21 pm

janfar wrote:

no world experience expects principle. most voicing their experiences in here, are relaying just that

Postby janfar » January 18th, 2011, 5:21 pm

janfar wrote:

no world experience expects principle. most voicing their experiences in here, are relaying just that

kool... thanks.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 19th, 2011, 7:22 pm

Just got this email from The Fearless One

Andre Baptiste wrote:Hey Duane

Just for your information and website, we are talking Motor Sports on i95.5fm , this Saturday – 22nd January , 2011 ( Please see below).

Thanks

Andre

THERE IS A WAR BREWING IN MOTOR SPORTS…..AND IT IS GETTING LOUDER AND LOUDER

THE DECISION BY THE – TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO AUTOMOBILE ASSOCIATION - TO NOMINATE DANIEL RAMOUTARSINGH FOR FCB SPORTSMAN OF THE YEAR AND NOT – SHELDON BISSESSAR , HAS LEFT A – SOUR AND BITTER TASTE – IN THE MOUTH OF MANY OF MOTOR RACING AFICIONADOS….

CAN THIS PERPLEXING NOMINATION BE JUSTIFIED ?

AND WHY IS THE PRESIDENT – MOHAMMED ALI - AND HIS VICE PRESIDENT – LINK SAMPATH- ALL OF A SUDDEN SO SUSPICIOUSLY SILENT ON THIS MATTER?

SO THIS SATURDAY ON ISPORTS , WE TALK WITH SEVERAL PERSONS WHO LIVE , SLEEP AND LOVE MOTOR SPORT , ABOUT WHAT THEY ARE CALLING AN INJUSTICE….

WILL THE FCB FOUNDATION STEP IN AND ASK FOR AN ACCOUNT OF THIS NOMINATION?

SO JOIN THE FEARLESS ONE, ANDRE ERROL BAPTISTE FROM 6.15PM, THIS SATURDAY AS WE TRY TO FIND OUT , WHY IS IT THAT EVERYONE IN MOTOR RACING IS APPALLED BY THIS DECISION

WILL RAMOUTARSINGH DO THE HONOURABLE THING?

I95.5FM, THE MOST INFLUENTIAL NAME IN SPORTS

Postby Sinister_Audio » January 19th, 2011, 7:44 pm

:rofl: @ comin response from ttasa :lol:

lets see what mr ali and his old ass comes up with

Postby 16 cycles » January 19th, 2011, 7:51 pm

story just came on cnc3 - ref nomination for the awards - Sheldon Bissesar (sp) being the better candidate....

Rawle Mahabir (sp) and Nizam Mohammed were interviewed with the latter asking for the present nominee to step aside to allow Sheldon to be nominated....

Interview also covered one group's attempt to ask the ministry to resolve the matter of health of racing under TTASA....

imho....it could have come across as one association jockeying for leadership / control over another....

Postby Sinister_Audio » January 19th, 2011, 7:57 pm

yes but in all, WHO is OBVIOUSLY the better head for motorsports?

ttasa is just another 'body' doing WHAT exactly?

FASSBTT

Postby FASSBTT » January 19th, 2011, 8:30 pm

The comments in our humble opinion were spot on by both persons interviewed.

The comment however regarding TTASA's response by the end of the week has us all excited as we have a full list of every single possible response they could possibly have and ALL THE FACTS TO PROVE THEM WRONG!

We really thought TTASA's nominee would have done the honourable thing and withdraw his nomination. Unfortunately, his mind does not work like all the other right thinking people who have shared their utter disgust with this situation. Actually, we heard that the nominee went to the studio today for his photoshoot. What a sad day in motorsports.

Sheldon continues to get incredible support both locally and internationally from friends, supporters, competitors and the international organizations who have all shared their concerns for the way this was handled and has developed.

We act on ALL of their behalf and as we have stated before, WE WON'T JUST FADE AWAY, WE WONT STOP UNTIL JUSTICE IS DONE.

Stay tuned and check the Guardian newspapers tomorrow.

zaxxon1

Postby zaxxon1 » January 19th, 2011, 10:35 pm

TTASA does not believe NHRA and IHRA certified tracks are really 1/4 mile. We should post this on NHRA and IHRA and FIA websites and see their responses. Imagine how NHRA and IHRA will look at our racers, now that our governing motorsports (TTASA) body think their organizations are a joke. Sheldon, Vijay, Ryan, Latchman and others who are looking up to these guys and following.

Postby tr1ad » January 19th, 2011, 10:50 pm

but again

WHO IS TTASA TO SAY THEY DON'T BELIEVE NHRA & IHRA TRACKS ARE 1/4 MILE?

Narend's post stated that NHRA is the Drag Racing Arm of FIA

i eh really big into drags eh.... but TTASA bigger than FIA?

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » January 19th, 2011, 11:12 pm

It is just amazing that in light of all of the info. revealed by the many and varied persons who all are just trying to seek the best for Motor Sport, these people can sit wherever, and concot another story to support their incredible decision.

See the response to Roger Sant is, “shortly”, they will be making another "official" statement, but where is the one promised to their members since Friday 14th Jan.?

So it’s going to be ….
(a) the tracks not certified
(b) Sheldon doh have an International FIA Licence – but that was not necessary when they select him for an award.
(c ) they may even find some way to say that he may not be a member

At the end of the day, a disgraceful decision was made, they do not have the guts to say: “sorry we have made a mistake. So let’s see how we can fight our way out of this and discredit any one who comes in our way.”

Oh well……

Postby ..77. » January 20th, 2011, 12:32 am

That is one of the stoopidest statements I have read so far on this subject . TTS what ever A doesnt consider IHRA NHRA tracks to be legal cause they dont think they are 1320 feet long . ????
What ever the length of the tracks are , wether 1310 ft or 1326 ft . The whole point is Sheldon B. is out there winning events on a national stage by beating the competition on their own tracks . If there was a descrepancy pertaining to certain tracks not being a legal length it would be on every drag race , car magazine web site in America and other countries in the world .
Yellow Bullet would be full of racers complaining about track lengths . I would believe it from there before TTASA. ..77.

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » January 20th, 2011, 10:17 am

Taking a look at the FCB Sports Foundation Web site, and information on the Sports Awards we note the following:

About the Foundation

Vision Statement

The First Citizens Sports Foundation will provide assistance and incentives
to the sporting fraternity in Trinidad and Tobago to achieve higher Standards.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Mission (Aims & Objectives) 

The First Citizens Sports Foundation is a support agency for Sport in Trinidad and Tobago with the following aims and objectives:
1 To encourage participation in sport.
2. To recognise and encourage outstanding performances and good sportsmanship. 

3. To provide assistance to the sporting fraternity to improve standards. 

4. To increase the awareness nationally of the impact of sport on human development.

Having read the above, have these objectives been observed by TTASA in the manner in which this whole selection fiasco is turning out?

And isn’t it about time that FCB Awards Committee take an immediate and closer look at this nomination and take decisive action?

Look at today’s Guardian full page Ad.
And what does that information reveal?

Where in the performance of the TTASA nominee, exposed publicly today, are they (TTASA ) encouraging outstanding performance, and even worse, GOOD SPORTMANSHIP?

How long will the MSYA allow this group to continue to take motor sport downhill?

How long are we going to have to wait, and then see more sponsors pull out because of bad management?

Postby noshownogo » January 20th, 2011, 10:24 am

Nice full page letter to TTASA regarding lack of nomination for Sheldon in today's guardian.

TTASA your turn :arrow:

Postby tr1ad » January 20th, 2011, 11:37 am

Postby wagonrunner » January 20th, 2011, 12:04 pm

tr1ad man. :(, just because you can turn yuh laptop.

Rallypeong

Postby Rallypeong » January 20th, 2011, 12:11 pm

Ehe!!
Let's see what happens now.

Postby SR » January 20th, 2011, 12:25 pm

i want to see a response from FCB for not checking ....................

Postby wagonrunner » January 20th, 2011, 12:33 pm

SR wrote:i want to see a response from FCB for not checking ....................
AutoSport wrote:Taking a look at the FCB Sports Foundation Web site, and information on the Sports Awards we note the following:

About the Foundation

Vision Statement

The First Citizens Sports Foundation will provide assistance and incentives
to the sporting fraternity in Trinidad and Tobago to achieve higher Standards.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Mission (Aims & Objectives) 

The First Citizens Sports Foundation is a support agency for Sport in Trinidad and Tobago with the following aims and objectives:
1 To encourage participation in sport.
2. To recognise and encourage outstanding performances and good sportsmanship. 

3. To provide assistance to the sporting fraternity to improve standards. 

4. To increase the awareness nationally of the impact of sport on human development.

They need to?

some need a person with a big stick to threaten to ensure they do basic tasks.

they gave requiremeents. The firetruck they have to recheck every single nomination for? they a goverment agency, overlooking sport development, or an entity attempting to facilitate it?

Postby 16 cycles » January 20th, 2011, 3:47 pm

^ them name 'bank'

'bank' checks the size of your draws before you get a loan....this should be easy for them to do....

looking bad for FCB to have not checked this out thoroughly or commented....is accounting/banking they are in the business of....