Govt scraps $billion Coast Guard vessel (OPV) deal

Re: Govt scraps $billion Coast Guard vessel (OPV) deal

Postby brams112 » February 14th, 2011, 9:21 pm

^^^^^^^^^fooling dotish supporters, to win an election to steal billions to give family and friends,just ask them pee on them supporters in plesant ville who apartment caught fire, how long there was electrical problems going on,,,,and their god did not help them,plus they still licking balls,,

cornfused

Postby cornfused » February 14th, 2011, 9:45 pm

Whats the status of this "scrapped" deal? is it under arbitration? how much will this process cost us ?

It has been reported today that the UK gov't is cutting expenditure and in so doing is scaling back on naval patrolling , how does this affect us and the perception of this "scrapped " deal? , if at all.

Postby De Dragon » February 14th, 2011, 10:25 pm

pioneer wrote:ummm so when chavez bought attack planes from russia, de US say we win de war so no care? :lol:

get serious, man

:roll: :roll:
The US couldn't care less what we but from whom. Chavez always lining up heself wit' Iran, Syria etc (all anti-US elements), so the US hadda be concerned wit' he

Oh really? :lol:

Allyuh need to pay attention to global politics and what's happening around you.

OOOHHHHHHH! De US quaking! God forbid T&T buy a whole 2 helicopter, or plane! It could shift the entire world's balance of power.
:roll: :roll: :roll:

Shango_13

Postby Shango_13 » February 15th, 2011, 3:36 am

I hear Sandy thinking about buying. some new OPV from another manufacturers. good luck

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » October 28th, 2012, 9:29 am

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2012-10-28/ag-requests-13b-settle-opv%E2%80%88arbitration

Attorney General Anand Ramlogan has gone to Cabinet requesting $1.3 billion for a settlement with respect to the cancellation of the three offshore patrol vessels (OPVs). Meanwhile the arbitration over the OPVs is still ongoing. The Sunday Guardian was informed that on Thursday Ramlogan took a note to Cabinet seeking approval for the money and that the matter was considered.

Sources said during the Cabinet meeting, which was held on Thursday and chaired by Foreign Affairs Minister Winston Dookeran—in the absence of Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar—the matter was deferred to next week, when a decision is expected to be made.

When the matter was brought before Cabinet some ministers raised concerns about it, while others openly objected as they questioned why the payment should be approved, since the arbitration was still in progress. At least three ministers were reportedly vocal during the meeting, questioning the haste and timing of the request.

The meeting got so heated, sources said, that Dookeran walked out, saying he wanted no part of the decision to make the money available. When contacted, some Cabinet ministers confirmed the decision, but refused to go on record when questions were posed to them.

One minister said, “I am not allowed to speak on that issue, that is prejudicing the interest of the country. The process is still ongoing and such a report will prejudice the matter.” Another minister said, “Not me and that matter, nah. Ask me anything else. I have nothing to say on that issue. Leave me out of that matter.”

One irate Cabinet source questioned why the Government would want to pay $1.3 billion in arbitration fees rather than paying $1.5 billion for the three OPVs instead.

AG: Where did you hear that?
Contacted on Friday night and asked about the status of the OPV arbitration, Ramlogan said, “I don’t know.” Asked about the request to Cabinet for $1.3 billion, the AG laughed, saying, “Where did you hear that?” Saying he was in the middle of a break since the censure motion against him was in progress in Parliament, Ramlogan said he needed to return to the chamber and listen to what was taking place.

On October 17, during the budget debate, Ramlogan said he had been micromanaging the OPV issue and described the arbitration as “massive.” He had said the impact of the possible loss of this or other arbitration cases could leave T&T’s economy “reeling” and “catapult T&T downwards.”

Ramlogan’s statement on OPV arbitration
On June 15, 2012, Ramlogan issued a media release chastising statements by Opposition MP Colm Imbert. Imbert, in statements to the media, had said the Government had lost the OPV arbitration and was in fact liable to pay millions of dollars to British defence manufacturer, BAE Systems.

Ramlogan, in his release. said Imbert’s claims were “totally mischievous and completely false.

“It is, quite frankly, a reckless statement which bears absolutely no resemblance to the truth. In fact, the arbitration hearings have not yet been completed, with the parties scheduled to make their respective closing submissions to the Arbitration Tribunal later this month. Furthermore, the hearings have been in relation to liability only thus far, and the dates for the hearings on quantum are still to be finalised.

“In the circumstances, the statement of Mr Imbert that the GORTT is liable to pay money to BAE is simply ludicrous and a pathetic attempt to deflect public scrutiny away from his role in the purchase of the water taxis.

“Nevertheless, in stark contrast to the Opposition’s modus operandi in dealing with all matters of national importance, this Government shall continue to act responsibly in this matter and refrain from making any further comment at this time in relation to a legal dispute in which a decision has not yet been delivered.”

Griffith, AG travelled for talks with BAE Systems
On July 21, 2011, national security adviser Gary Griffith and Ramlogan travelled to England for arbitration talks with BAE Systems. Ramlogan and Griffith were invited by BAE Systems to have the arbitration talks with respect to the Government’s cancellation of three OPVs from the company.

In April 2007, BAE was awarded the contract to build, integrate, test and commission three OPVs for the TT Coast Guard. Construction began January, 2008. However, in September 2010, Persad-Bissessar announced that Government had decided to cancel the three OPVs ordered by the PNM administration at a cost of $1.5 billion. Notice of the cancellation was served on September 17 last year.

The Government said the decision to terminate the contract was due to persistent delays and technical deficiencies.

Brig John Sandy’s response
On October 25, 2011, then National Security Minister Brig John Sandy, responding to a question filed in the Senate by Opposition Senator Fitzgerald Hinds, said the State had spent a total of $4.7 million in legal fees to pursue a claim for $1.5 billion in damages in arbitration proceedings for the cancelled OPVs.

Sandy had said the contract for the OPVs with BAE Systems was cancelled on October 20, 2010, owing to “substantial material delays” in delivery. He said BAE, a British arms company, attempted to effect delivery of the OPVs but this was not accepted by the Government because of defects in the vessels.

As a result, BAE began arbitration proceedings at the International Court of Arbitration at the International Chamber of Commerce, Paris, France on the October 26, 2010, claiming the contract for the OPVs was still valid and the planned cancellation invalid. The Government, however, counter-claimed contractual damages totalling £145 million (TT$1.4 billion), Sandy said.

Hearings took place in London from May 7-18, 2012. Sandy disclosed that the lawyers hired by the State in relation to the matter included: Charles Russell (solicitors); Joe Smouha, QC; Alan Newman, QC; Neal Bisnath; and Ricky Diwan.
The $1.5 billion OPV contract was signed by the People’s National Movement administration in April 2007. A cancellation notice was served under the present administration on September 17, 2010.

Postby rfari » October 28th, 2012, 9:55 am

Cost of opvs 1.4bn
Cost of damages because of breach 1.5bn
And u will tell that people can watch that and see no problem with it? Really?

Postby r3iXmann » October 28th, 2012, 10:12 am

rfari wrote:Cost of opvs 1.4bn

Just playing devil's advocate : the incurred costs of maintenance etc would send the "cost" up

Postby rfari » October 28th, 2012, 11:07 am

Yep agreed but as with all assets you have depreciation and maintenance costs on one hand but it would be generating revenue. in this case, the financial equivalent of protecting our borders.
Edit: the last point takes into consideration the socio-economic and political value of having protected borders

Postby hustla_ambition101 » October 28th, 2012, 11:11 am

r3iXmann wrote:

Just playing devil's advocate : the incurred costs of maintenance etc would send the "cost" up

If Cabinet does approve such, where is the money coming from, another loan perhaps?

Postby rfari » October 28th, 2012, 2:12 pm

You know, now thinking about it. If u sell the opvs and u dont replace it with something more 'suitable' and there has been a significant drop in cocaine seizures since then technically its a sound economic decision since it has already been established that narcotics is the true economic resource in tnt. Hmmm. Not bad PP.

kevcam

Postby kevcam » October 28th, 2012, 2:31 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
r3iXmann wrote:

If Cabinet does approve such, where is the money coming from, another loan perhaps?

2.7bn for works ministry and now probably 1.3bn for this. Budget recently passed with a huge deficit, the year aint finish good and we talking about 4bn more already.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » October 29th, 2012, 8:14 am

something of this nature was brought to cabinet for approval in the absence of the PM? Why did the AG do that now? Where is the PM in this? I would think matters like this would have been discussed previously but the haste with which the AG brought this note with the PM absent means they looking for a couple others to volneyfi. I don't blame dooks and some others walking out on that.

Postby rfari » October 29th, 2012, 8:25 am

Jed. Kpb even in the country? Eh hear from she a while now.
I hear a rumtalk that she aspiring to be president next year

Postby eliteauto » October 29th, 2012, 8:28 am

David rudder wrote: Somebody letting the cocaine pass

Postby Morpheus » October 29th, 2012, 8:34 am

eliteauto wrote:

:lol: Perfect fit

mrtrini45

Postby mrtrini45 » October 29th, 2012, 8:57 am

rfari wrote:Jed. Kpb even in the country? Eh hear from she a while now.
I hear a rumtalk that she aspiring to be president next year

like you said RUM talk

Postby dougla_boy » October 29th, 2012, 9:02 am

eliteauto wrote:

agreed x 1023618340721302137423209740927430234057823057038

when last allyuh hear bout a huge cocaine bust??

Conrad

Postby Conrad » October 29th, 2012, 9:44 am

eliteauto wrote:

Postby rfari » October 29th, 2012, 10:02 am

you cyar just quote a david rudder jesso and not post the vidjo. principle.

hard 0X

Postby Redman » October 29th, 2012, 11:04 am

Well this Govt has killed SAUTT,OPVs,360 Radar,converted the air guard to a taxi service(as related to me by a senior pilot),emasculated TTPS and destabilized the intelligence arms
With out replacing this infrastructure with an real effective solutions

So .... if you killing interdiction and detection then whats the obvious conclusion???

kaylex

Postby kaylex » October 29th, 2012, 12:44 pm

Redman wrote:Well this Govt has killed SAUTT,OPVs,360 Radar,converted the air guard to a taxi service(as related to me by a senior pilot),emasculated TTPS and destabilized the intelligence arms
With out replacing this infrastructure with an real effective solutions

So .... if you killing interdiction and detection then whats the obvious conclusion???

Nah man Redman.... We stopping crime in the hills... thats the only crime we should worry bout.....
who have eyes to see let them see :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby SmokeyGTi » October 29th, 2012, 1:44 pm

concerning this:
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=468448

why couldn't they have bought the boats and try to sell them back?
even selling at half price, we would had a net expenditure of much less.

pyung99

Postby pyung99 » October 29th, 2012, 7:06 pm

again, this is a matter with 2 sides to the story. there can be arguments both for and against.

but to me, our coast guards was gonna let ting wash up on d shore normal anyway. some cah even wrap up flag properly. just like the police service.

in dire need of reprogramming

Postby rfari » October 29th, 2012, 7:26 pm

pyung99 wrote:again, this is a matter with 2 sides to the story. there can be arguments both for and against.

but to me, our coast guards was gonna let ting wash up on d shore normal anyway. some cah even wrap up flag properly. just like the police service.

in dire need of reprogramming

Dan. Coastguardsmen were trained overseas and worked side by side with the manufacturer. Not so?

And from what i understand, that 1+billion is just legals fees. It is alleged. Wait for it...

pyung99

Postby pyung99 » October 29th, 2012, 7:30 pm

yea all of that costed money eh. contract to train them in operation and maintenance.

well it is a law boom goin on...

Postby rspann » October 29th, 2012, 7:36 pm

Boat or no boat,the coast guard is a waste of time.I am on the sea regularly and they can never be found.The day the guy get killed on the jetski in scotland bay ,I called them so many times.They does just joyride.Sunday last never saw them whole day,you know how much thing coulda come in easy?

pyung99

Postby pyung99 » October 29th, 2012, 7:40 pm

^^ nail on d head. that is the perception.

Postby rfari » October 29th, 2012, 7:47 pm

pyung99 wrote:yea all of that costed money eh. contract to train them in operation and maintenance.

well it is a law boom goin on...

Are u putting a cost to national security there? Nah man

pyung99

Postby pyung99 » October 29th, 2012, 7:58 pm

LOLs. weak rhetoric. we could put up a faqqin CTU (like in 24) and all d systems connected to it, and it would all fall flat if we as a people cannot appreciate it. we go still need a jack bauer to save d day. yall see any of those in d ranks?

re-faqqin-programming required.

Postby rfari » October 29th, 2012, 8:09 pm

pyung99 wrote:LOLs. weak rhetoric. we could put up a faqqin CTU (like in 24) and all d systems connected to it, and it would all fall flat if we as a people cannot appreciate it. we go still need a jack bauer to save d day. yall see any of those in d ranks?

re-faqqin-programming required.

Is tv ting u talking dey? Dan. When u get srs talk to me nah