HP awarded $83Million Contract by KAMLA

Swisha

Re: HP awarded $83Million Contract by KAMLA

Postby Swisha » August 26th, 2010, 1:36 pm

Students will be allowed to take their computers home and Gopeesingh said the ministry will have to look at what arrangement can be made for parents who want their children to leave their laptops at school.

http://newsday.co.tt/news/0,126408.html

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 26th, 2010, 1:37 pm

mitch wrote:
apple wrote:
Bezman wrote:it's clear that they cant let the children take the laptops home, they will be for the schools.. the children would not be targeted by bandits in the schools

but none of us know whats going to take place, this is all conspiracy, speculation and propaganda until an official statement is made.

*withholds rant & waits for official statement*

the minister said the students will be allowed to take the laptops home.
this was on the news sometime ago...

thanks, well i didnt see that.. in that case that opens up a while new can of worms, but i would like to hear the official statement on it and how the plan to implement and secure them.. i have absolutely no problem spending the money (or any money) once well justified on education and especially empowering the kids and next generations..

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 26th, 2010, 1:38 pm

The computers will have “enhanced specifications” to increase performance, connectivity and energy efficiency. These are: faster processing speeds, improved wireless capability, bluetooth connectivity, larger internal storage, faster hard drive speed, extended battery life, Microsoft Office Home and Student 2007 and Learning Essentials 2.0 for Microsoft Office. There are 133 schools and 18 private schools with internet connectivity and the ministry plans to increase the bandwidth from 3G (gigabytes) to 5G.

wut? :|

Postby buzz » August 26th, 2010, 1:41 pm

bandwidth is measured in gigabytes now

its the cool thing to do :|

Postby Trini Hookah » August 26th, 2010, 1:59 pm

so thats what's buzzin

honda_soldier

Postby honda_soldier » August 26th, 2010, 2:39 pm

buzz wrote:bandwidth is measured in gigabytes now

its the cool thing to do :|

Way. Like we behind oui. Hadda keep up with tech guru Uncle Tim. :|

5G.. I lol'd

saxman642

Postby saxman642 » August 26th, 2010, 2:56 pm

Buzz, Whether it is a "waste" or not I kinda staying out of it.

I see it as an IT challenge and I using the chance to boost my experience and skills. (Hint: I "will rise" to the challenge) I'm already working on strategies with Principal and staff to manage this.

Tim say techies who don't perform will be axed, and is just one per school unless the school hires Techie OJTs to help out

However it won't be fun to have have to spend a lot of my day simply removing viruses from and reinstalling the OS on these laptops due to student misuse or ignorance.

And yes, I cringed when I heard Tim say "3G" and "5G" instead of "3Mbps" and "5Mbps".

I can say that at least one school NOT letting their students take the laptops home. It'll make things easier for that tech. They do not want the fallout from potential violence/robbery/theft of these things. I just hope Tim doh go on the warparth when he finds out.

To quote myself from page 3:

To answer a lot of the questions and issues raised:

1. The laptops will have 14 inch screens. I have no further details on teh specs. I just suspect it is extra weight for children.

2. The students will be allowed to take them home. If they want to leave it in school, the school will have to provide the necessary security and storage for them.

3. This laptop distribution will be an annual event. Every new set of form 1s will get a laptop.

4. The laptops will NOT be joined to any domain environment. Thus it appears to be on the school (outside of the content filtering software already on the laptop) to regulate internet access.

5. IT technicians have been working at nearly all secondary schools since January 2009! (I am one of them)

6. I just cannot for see the idea of a class with all the kids laptops out and the teacher teaching from a laptop

7. Digi-Data get contract (as i read from the comments on the online Express article)

8. Laptops will have a 2 year warranty which includes accidental damage

9. The 'extra' laptops will be given to staff (after getting training on use of software installed)

10. The laptops have Computrace installed for anti-theft and recovery

Smokey

Postby Smokey » August 26th, 2010, 2:58 pm

You people bashing the purchase, and bashing the idea really have no clue...

Firstly, this isn't some fly by night evaluation process. This thing is detailed and complicated and required a number of consultants were approached to assist with over 1000 metrics and to score the various proposals.

When these children get their laptops you'll see why this decision was taken.

I can't divulge much details here, but key factors were reliability (HP's track record has improved a lot recently), security (hundreds of metrics and factors were weighed in here, trust me everything that could be considered was) and longevity as once these students get this computer, it's theirs for life. Specifications of were determined upfront to ensure these laptops will meet the requirements of software 7 years from now.

As such, the relatively high specifications chosen initial purchase made in 2010, will remain more or less the same in 2011, 2012. Review will be made every three years.

Therefore, systems bought in 2011 and 2012 will be at least US $100 cheaper per machine.

Also, the entire contract is not just equipment, but include services such as training, distribution, storage etc.

Don't hate before you criticize please.

Ten years from now, when all our young force is fully computer literate, efficiency in our workplace both private and public will increase exponentially.

Also, just another comment.....most persons who don't interact with high level decision makers will be unaware, but the general consensus among 99% of Executives and Directors at State companies are extremely pleased with this new governments approach and direction.

Very significant areas that lacked investment for instance are being treated as high priority by this new government.

It's astonishing to see former 'big PNMites' cooperating so willingly and congratulating the new Ministers of this government. Things are definitely looking upward for T&T in all sectors.

Many will not see it now, however, give the PP one year (after the budget) before you judge...the PP unlike the PNM really does have the interests of the citizens of T&T at heart.
Last edited by Smokey on August 26th, 2010, 3:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 26th, 2010, 3:00 pm

Smokey wrote:You people bashing the purchase, and bashing the idea really have no clue...

Firstly, this isn't some fly by night evaluation process. This thing is detailed and complicated and required a number of consultants were approached to assist with over 1000 metrics and to score the various proposals.

When these children get their laptops you'll see why this decision was taken.

I can't divulge much details here, but key factors were reliability (HP's track record has improved a lot recently), security (hundreds of metrics and factors were weighed in here, trust me everything that could be considered was) and longevity as once these students get this computer, it's theirs for life. Specifications of were determined upfront to ensure these laptops will meet the requirements of software 7 years from now.

As such, the relatively high specifications chosen initial purchase made in 2010, will remain more or less the same in 2011, 2012. Review will be made every three years.

Therefore, systems bought in 2011 and 2012 will be at least US $100 cheaper per machine.

Also, the entire contract is not just equipment, but include services such as training, distribution, storage etc.

Don't hate before you criticize please.

Ten years from now, when all our young force is fully computer literate, efficiency in our workplace both private and public will increase exponentially.

Also, just another comment.....most persons who don't interact with high level decision makers will be unaware, but the general consensus among 99% of Executives and Directors at State companies are extremely pleased with this new governments approach and direction.

Very significant areas that lacked investment for instance are being treated as high priority by this new government.

It's astonishing to see former 'big PNMites' cooperating so willingly and congratulating the new Ministers of this government. Things are definitely looking upward for T&T in all sectors.

Many will not see it now, however, give the PP one year (after the budget) before you judge....I'm not a UNCite, however, the PP unlike the PNM really does have the interests of the citizens of T&T at heart.

was very hard to read that with your avatar watching me, but VERY well said.

Postby buzz » August 26th, 2010, 4:11 pm

Smokey wrote:I can't divulge much details here, but key factors were reliability (HP's track record has improved a lot recently), security (hundreds of metrics and factors were weighed in here, trust me everything that could be considered was) and longevity as once these students get this computer, it's theirs for life. Specifications of were determined upfront to ensure these laptops will meet the requirements of software 7 years from now.

erm of course it would

(as stated earlier) i have a pc thats 3 yrs old and i expect that it would last another 5 years doing what i want it to do... and its basically the same needs that a child, forms 1 - 5 would have

i mean, i don't expect them to run flight simulators for an SBA :? so why the big spend on "top end" specs

#2) in an ideal, perfect scenario the notebook should physically last > seven years (HP ? lmao but for argument's sake nah) should they take care of it, e.g. keep em well ventilated, free from dust yadda yadda don't fart on em yadda etc... but it doesn't take much to realise the chances of this happening is, grim.

#3) if (and thats a big one) the above does come to pass, who wants to walk around with a big bulky heavy outdated PC seven years from now ? If adults change their phone like every 1 or 2 years... (when most don't actually NEED the technology especially when they have internet access both @ home and @ work)

#4) you still haven't proven that the spend on laptops instead of desktops (either @ home or computer labs) makes any sense...

83 million every year ?

bess i leave meh wukk and jump into d IT bandwagon, seems like a lot of work is coming :fadein:

Postby pugboy » August 26th, 2010, 4:48 pm

they don't need more than 40gb hard drive unless they into video editing, digital photography, pirating movies/software

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 26th, 2010, 5:10 pm

/\ they may be needed to download school books, lectures, and presentations etc.. 40GB is really nothing..

Postby pugboy » August 26th, 2010, 5:13 pm

sea students gonna be doing that ?
since when ministry ed so advanced ?
i have tons of pdf files with pics and they dont total gigabytes

Smokey

Postby Smokey » August 26th, 2010, 5:15 pm

pugboy wrote:they don't need more than 40gb hard drive unless they into video editing, digital photography, pirating movies/software

Would you have said 5 years ago that no one needs more than 20gb?

Besides, they don't even manufacture 40gb hard drives anymore....right now 80gb is the smallest HD mass produced laptop (2.5") HD.

Ever considered that storing Video tutorials for different lessons would require students to have large HDs?

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 26th, 2010, 5:18 pm

pugboy wrote:sea students gonna be doing that ?

lol, i can send you a 40gb PDF if you want ;)
its about about what quality it was saved at etc..

video lectures etc could easily be 1GB each...

R. Mutt
Location: on the side of the road maptracing and reflashing the ecu

Postby R. Mutt » August 26th, 2010, 5:36 pm

You know I've tried my best to stay away from these political threads because of the bachanal that goes on but from an outside perspective it really amazes me. I should clrify a bit for those who don't know. I've lived abroad working and studying in NY and recently Vancouver since 2004. I visit home every Cbristmas or so.

Every time I come back to Trinidad it's the same exact place. I love Trini eh, love my people, my culture, and my food....but it has to be said that besides some new buildings and more traffic it was the same Trinidad, the same problems.

What I find amazing is that these are facts: the PNM stole a fuckload of your money...money that was and will never be given back to the people and the development of our country. Do you realize just how much that money they stole and how many postive things could have been done with it. But no...absolute power corrupts absolutely.

What's really frustrating from an outside perspective is to have to sit here and watch people nag and complain about EVERYTHING. I mean Jesus Christ...ya complain when the government doesn't do any thing, ya complain if they do change something....I mean make up ya f*ckin mind.

We are a backward nation and these laptops will bring more positive influence on the youth of our nation. I mean yes they will hack them to look at porn and laptops will always be stolen...it's just life right...you can't change those factors....you don't think laptops are stolen in the US and Canada even at good schools?
So the laptops are not the best brand...probably would have been better if they went with Toshiba or something known to be reliable, but it's a start. I haven't heard of any government prior investing in education as it pertains to technology.

Ya hadda crawl, before you could walk, before you could run. I'm glad to see at least something is being done...as things have been too stagnant for too long in Trinidad.
Last edited by R. Mutt on August 26th, 2010, 5:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » August 26th, 2010, 5:40 pm

Why they didn't go with Apple?

Which still rules in the Education market

Postby pugboy » August 26th, 2010, 5:52 pm

lol, like you working with the education team who has all the digital docs and videos

Bezman wrote:
pugboy wrote:sea students gonna be doing that ?

lol, i can send you a 40gb PDF if you want ;)
its about about what quality it was saved at etc..

video lectures etc could easily be 1GB each...

Postby buzz » August 26th, 2010, 5:59 pm

R. Mutt wrote:
Ya hadda crawl, before you could walk, before you could run. I'm glad to see at least something is being done...as things have been too stagnant for too long in Trinidad.

indeed teh PNM did a fuckload of B/S they lost, badly and with good reason but thats no longer the issue, in no way can wastage by the current administration can be justified by "PNM do it so can we !"

As said before its a great idea just implemented very stupidly...

If you have to do something, do it right. It's this attitude that forever keeps us in the mediocre....

We have the resources, we have the knowledge, we have the financial capability, we lack the attitude to do things right and work hard towards it :arrow:

Postby Damien » August 26th, 2010, 7:02 pm

R. Mutt wrote:You know I've tried my best to stay away from these political threads because of the bachanal that goes on but from an outside perspective it really amazes me. I should clrify a bit for those who don't know. I've lived abroad working and studying in NY and recently Vancouver since 2004. I visit home every Cbristmas or so.

Every time I come back to Trinidad it's the same exact place. I love Trini eh, love my people, my culture, and my food....but it has to be said that besides some new buildings and more traffic it was the same Trinidad, the same problems.

What I find amazing is that these are facts: the PNM stole a fuckload of your money...money that was and will never be given back to the people and the development of our country. Do you realize just how much that money they stole and how many postive things could have been done with it. But no...absolute power corrupts absolutely.

What's really frustrating from an outside perspective is to have to sit here and watch people nag and complain about EVERYTHING. I mean Jesus Christ...ya complain when the government doesn't do any thing, ya complain if they do change something....I mean make up ya f*ckin mind.

We are a backward nation and these laptops will bring more positive influence on the youth of our nation. I mean yes they will hack them to look at porn and laptops will always be stolen...it's just life right...you can't change those factors....you don't think laptops are stolen in the US and Canada even at good schools?
So the laptops are not the best brand...probably would have been better if they went with Toshiba or something known to be reliable, but it's a start. I haven't heard of any government prior investing in education as it pertains to technology.

very well said man......

Postby SmokeyGTi » August 26th, 2010, 8:05 pm

Strauss wrote:Why they didn't go with Apple?

Which still rules in the Education market

because then it would have cost $168 Million, not 84

R. Mutt

Postby R. Mutt » August 26th, 2010, 8:38 pm

buzz wrote:
R. Mutt wrote:

indeed teh PNM did a fuckload of B/S they lost, badly and with good reason but thats no longer the issue, in no way can wastage by the current administration can be justified by "PNM do it so can we !"

As said before its a great idea just implemented very stupidly...

If you have to do something, do it right. It's this attitude that forever keeps us in the mediocre....

We have the resources, we have the knowledge, we have the financial capability, we lack the attitude to do things right and work hard towards it :arrow:

Indeed you're right...I don't negate that fact. I too am of the mentality that anything worth doing is worth doing right....and the it remains that Surish, Raj and Harrilal think they should go about it this and that way. But you're missing the big point: something is being done. What the PNM did is in the past and I see it as no justification for ANY political party to be spenthrifty as a result of mistakes made prior. However like health insurance in the US....this has been something the government has long ignored. Just like health insurance in the US....this could have been implemented a different way. BUT, as with health insurance in the United States, the government has at least addressed an issue that's been ignored for too long....it's not to say it's the be all end all...it's a start and given the integration they will see the problems and shortcomings of the system. As such I hope they make improvements in the years coming from that.

I respect the fact that they are being pioneers and trying something. Any person or body that tries to change an existing system comes under fire...people are afraid of failure, but unless you try you don't learn from the mistakes. They have my support for trying...even if it is a complete failure they are attempting to invest in the people, more specifically the future of our county.

Postby bushwakka » August 26th, 2010, 8:41 pm

when i tell yuh, this is the biggest waste of $

wtf high school students need such expensive laptops for? since when microsoft office et al need the latest and greatest hardware according to gopeesingh to run?

why not netbooks? they wanna future proof it for generations to come?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 26th, 2010, 8:51 pm

no one saying the laptops are a bad thing but the fact that these students are taking these laptops home makes it a terrible idea.

yes there are some students who wouldnt have otherwise been able to afford a computer but what about those who already have? what are they going to do with it?

it would have been a better idea to build laptop classrooms in the schools themselves so that more students could benefit from it and it wouldnt be costing so much year after year.

in my opinion, what they are doing is something the previous govt tried to do. yuh know the "build tall, fancy buildings and we'll look like a developed country" attitude.

jus handing out laptops all willy nilly isnt goin to improve the education system. at the end of the day, the classrooms themselves are still not conducive to learning. they are hot and students feel restless and uncomfortable in them. hell, some schools still have to beg for whiteboards to be used instead of blackboards...

Postby pugboy » August 26th, 2010, 8:56 pm

I wanna know exactly what kids do with laptops for schoolwork.
From kids I know its mainly to do searches for information dictionary/encyclopedia stuff, later on they type assignments/homework

I hear people saying they gonna get video lectures and electronic texts hence the fancy laptops

I doubt anybody under 16yrs old would have the wherewithall and attention span to sit in front a screen to actually learn anything booksense wise

R. Mutt

Postby R. Mutt » August 26th, 2010, 9:55 pm

mitch wrote:no one saying the laptops are a bad thing but the fact that these students are taking these laptops home makes it a terrible idea.

yes there are some students who wouldnt have otherwise been able to afford a computer but what about those who already have? what are they going to do with it?

it would have been a better idea to build laptop classrooms in the schools themselves so that more students could benefit from it and it wouldnt be costing so much year after year.

in my opinion, what they are doing is something the previous govt tried to do. yuh know the "build tall, fancy buildings and we'll look like a developed country" attitude.

jus handing out laptops all willy nilly isnt goin to improve the education system. at the end of the day, the classrooms themselves are still not conducive to learning. they are hot and students feel restless and uncomfortable in them. hell, some schools still have to beg for whiteboards to be used instead of blackboards...

this is soooooo true. Trinidad has a good educational system imo...what I learned in for CXC and A levels made life much easier in tertiary education, but the facilities like hot classrooms and POS desks etc made life miserable. I agree with everything you said. Probably should have done that first. At the same time if you're given homework...or you have to write and research something for a paper/project assignment, wouldn't the student need to take the laptop home to do so? Otherwise you'd be staying in school all night.

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » August 26th, 2010, 10:14 pm

I agree with Pioneer here. You cah put AC for them chirren, some of them worst than Animals.

What our schools needs most is Army and Police patrol and give Army and Police the right to beat any child who decides to misbehave and not follow the rules.

I forsee bullies taking other kids laptops.

R. Mutt

Postby R. Mutt » August 26th, 2010, 10:19 pm

Well I don't know if CIC is still considered a prestige school now, but it was then and the faciltites may have been better then other schools but it was still sheit. Even their students would destroy stuff and get on like animals. Cameras would be a good idea. No easy answers for these kind of problems....I don't know, those who want to throw it away, sell laptop, look at porn and play d @ss online....let them do so and miss out. You can't make people work hard....you can only give them the opportunity.
Last edited by R. Mutt on August 27th, 2010, 7:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ray_S.T.R.A_man

Postby ray_S.T.R.A_man » August 27th, 2010, 4:43 am

UNC delivering on their promises. This is more than any previous government could do.
We have rescued our country from the Tyrannical PNM. Our education is now in the Good hand of Dr Tim Goopeesingh. Look at the recent SEA top students
This students have excelled academically and should therefore receive computers. I think that those students below 30% should not get any computers.
These students are our future Doctor, lawyers, and engineers. And future Presidents and Prime Ministers.

Terran

Postby Terran » August 27th, 2010, 7:18 am

This is so funny!

Men saying that $83m invested in 24,000 people is the biggest waste of taxpayers' money! HAHAHAHA!

And $300b was what???