Where were you during the 1990 Coup?

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » February 21st, 2010, 8:29 pm

ham yuh say?

halal out the window when is coup season.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » February 21st, 2010, 10:10 pm

i doubt .. i have met his family on a few occasions.. and trust me they are strict muslims

*looks around for black tucson *

glennj

1990 coup footage

Postby glennj » February 21st, 2010, 10:16 pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L6KvKQlFJuc

not quite what u looking for but very interesting all the same

glennj

Postby glennj » February 21st, 2010, 10:20 pm

glennj

Postby glennj » February 21st, 2010, 10:22 pm

Postby Greypatch » February 22nd, 2010, 7:49 am

confirmation on the ham sandwich ?

Postby tr1ad » February 22nd, 2010, 9:01 am

nah man once dey cut it with the halal knife dem good to go

anthonyanthony

Postby anthonyanthony » February 22nd, 2010, 7:21 pm

glennj, thanks but I already have these.

The red house invasion and cut tail is the classic one I am looking for but cannot find even on youtube.

Deepthoughts

Where were you during the 1990 Coup?

Postby Deepthoughts » July 23rd, 2010, 6:45 am

Were you looting?

Were you in school?

Were you too young to know what happened?

If you're falling into category Number 3. Then you need to learn about your history. What do you know about the attempted coup in 1990? Do you even care that there's a commission of enquiry?

Re: Where were you during the 1990 Coup?

Postby goalpost » July 23rd, 2010, 6:47 am

i was only 7 at the time...I remember seeing some of the proceedings on the News.

Computerman

Postby Computerman » July 23rd, 2010, 7:06 am

I had the TV on (no volume) and was listening to the football match on the radio. When I saw Abu and the boys on TV first thought that crossed my mind was "What kinda play Raymond Choo Kong doing on live TV?" Then, the radio station went dead. So I turned up the TV... COUP!! :shock:
For the next five days I listened to all that was happening using my SW... and recorded all that I heard. Interesting some of the conversations you pick up during a coup. :D

Postby tr1ad » July 23rd, 2010, 7:19 am

i was in the hospital,
begged for release that entire day, eventually was released 5 mins before it took place

Bareback

Postby Bareback » July 23rd, 2010, 8:07 am

I was in de airport with about 25 friends heading to Tobago for Great Race weekend (back when it was race and lime in one weekend and it was real good). Got word of the coup and managed to lock down some taxi's and headed back home.

Dat whole summer was lime like dat!!!!!!

Postby Razkal » July 23rd, 2010, 8:10 am

was four years old and banned from going outside to play with meh football :(

<=xjemler=>

Postby <=xjemler=> » July 23rd, 2010, 8:16 am

Was 9yrs. old & i clearly remembered they showed 'The Little Mermaid' on ttt

Postby foss » July 23rd, 2010, 8:18 am

five years ole and eh remember anything about the whole event

:drinking:

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » July 23rd, 2010, 8:23 am

7 yrs old , i remember is police walking through my neighborhood looking for Muslims that fit a description ....i live in munroe rd...when they came to our house my moms just showed them the temple in our yard and they left...later i saw them jumping over the neighbor wall and raiding their house

tried walking to my grandparents house a fews mins away but police barricaded the road and did a "pat down" search on me for weapons ...7yrs old

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 23rd, 2010, 8:27 am

8 years old, was playing outside when suddenly mummy dragged me inside and told me to stay there.
was too young to understand the implications, was under the impression police gonna shoot you if they see you outside after 6, lol. Even in the 'bush' where we lived.

Postby cinco » July 23rd, 2010, 8:28 am

8 yrs old i was in margarita and bounce up a trini lady listenin to a radio then she tell us it have coup
got home 2 days after the coup started
i remember little mermaid and good the bad and the ugly going on right through
and cussing because they shoot up TTT dish and we stop getting foreign cartoons on a morning

Postby Greypatch » July 23rd, 2010, 8:35 am

real snatty nose ppl here

Postby foss » July 23rd, 2010, 8:37 am

Greypatch wrote:real snatty nose ppl here

realize you to old to say how ole u was.. there there citizen patch :lol: :lol:

xtech

Postby xtech » July 23rd, 2010, 8:38 am

Deepthoughts wrote:Were you looting?

Were you in school?

Were you too young to know what happened?

If you're falling into category Number 3. Then you need to learn about your history. What do you know about the attempted coup in 1990? Do you even care that there's a commission of enquiry?

Me was 10years... an I was the only person looting in school yeah was to young to understand what I was doing. My way to show my disgust with the new regime for causing TTT not to show McGyver
Last edited by xtech on July 23rd, 2010, 5:30 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Shooter_boy_J

Postby Shooter_boy_J » July 23rd, 2010, 8:40 am

1 year old! No memories what so ever of the coup lol!

Postby tr1ad » July 23rd, 2010, 8:50 am

it ha real lil pickney pon d forum

Postby eliteauto » July 23rd, 2010, 8:52 am

I was 17 years old, had done CXC that year, so the holidays was supposed to be real good before heading to do A's, that day I was supposed to attend the football match in the stadium ( back then that meant one place) but gave my cousin the ticket and decided to go Trincity Mall for a pizza, just as I was leaving home we got a call (landline duh) that "Bakr take over", we scoffed at the report but put on the TV anyway to see him on television so pizza cancelled, I remained in Arima for 2 days and then back home in Barataria where I would stand at my front gate and look out onto Third Avenue to see looters running with water tanks and foodstuff and the following day furniture and appliances incl refrigerators literally on ppls backs. Never looted, but we did get stuff when Disdrugs was burnt on Ind Square (given to us by the owners) don't think we bought Vicks for 10 years after

Postby crazybalhead » July 23rd, 2010, 8:55 am

Was home. My Grandmother's neighbour called us, mom wasn't home. Neighbour was saying, the city is under seige!!! Me being pretty young thinking WTF this man talking about dey?? then saw the sheit on the TV.

`psycho

Postby `psycho » July 23rd, 2010, 8:55 am

7 years old was up in Victory heights camp. pops and mums race up de hill from arima to collect me and bro.
626 had real pace oui!!

remember the army patrols around the neighborhood, the 6 o'clock curfew.

Chipz

Postby Chipz » July 23rd, 2010, 8:55 am

I was about 2 yrs old :S

Postby AllTrac » July 23rd, 2010, 8:59 am

was 13 years old, home, glued to the tv because they started showing cartoons all 7pm

Postby mitsu_chick941 » July 23rd, 2010, 9:07 am

i was 5, cant remember 5 weeks ago much less almost 20yrs ago :shock: :shock: :shock:

OMG i am so old
:(