Heaven, Hell and the after-life...

d spike

Postby d spike » May 1st, 2010, 9:33 am

toyo682 wrote: I now understand why you could not explain what the other 16 verse I showed you meant or fit in.
It isn't that I couldn't... it's just that I didn't. Forgive me, but I didn't even bother to see what the quotes referred to... I trust that you make your point properly with the language that you use - if you misquote, then 'more fool me', I guess. :lol:

There are some that have latched on to the similarities in all religions to show that we are all on the some journey to the same God but different paths.
You should know better than most the difference between the formation of religious belief/dogma and ecumenical diplomacy. (If you are correct and there are folks who combine the two, well, they would have a steep hill of pebbles to climb - but again, that's their choice.) As I explained earlier, I keep my private beliefs private. Only in a private discussion, will I voice them. I will always attempt a diplomatic approach on a public forum due to the audience make-up (if someone becomes a nuisance, then I take the gloves off :lol: ) but I see no point in pushing religion down someone's throat.
"A man convinced against his will
is of the same opinion still"

However there are differences that separate which must be considered as well.
Of course... but not here. What is the point of communication if not to draw people together? Then why use this medium to define the things that separate us? I will always defend your right to voice your opinion, but that doesn't mean I will agree with it.

Cheers

d spike

Postby d spike » May 1st, 2010, 10:15 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:no sex in heaven?

how the hell that is heaven then?

Someone screwed up bigtime when they were planning this heaven/hell bs

Okay... to put it simply, procreation exists to ensure our race continues to exist:
d spike wrote:we were put here as a people, to achieve something as a people. (One reason why suicide is wrong.) Life is beautiful, but too short for an individual to achieve God's plan (if there is one) on his own. We each go through life, meeting far too many individuals, to interact fully with each... far too many problems and ills exist for any one of us to deal with - alone. We can run to a "God" for solace, but in every example of this, we are told that the answer lies within us as a people. We are "Christ" to each other - or whatever you want to call it.

We are called as a people to achieve something wonderful, over time (hence the reason for procreation) and this is what was meant for us.
The world isn't going to end in a fit of God's anger and frustration with our inability to do what's right (that would mean the Devil won and God failed, wouldn't it?) but when we succeed in doing our part in the Great Scheme of things/"God's plan".

The reason why sex is such fun is fairly obvious to anyone who has had prolonged contact with children. :lol: If sex wasn't pleasurable, humanity would have died out after the first ten babysitting horror stories.

When our time here is over, and whatever the Boss wanted achieved has been accomplished and the Way of Christ (the way of love) is clearly obvious to all of humanity and creation as being the ultimate way of life (hence the reason for "every knee shall bow and every tongue confess that Jesus Christ is Lord", for all will then be able to identify the point he was trying to make) then this big 'ant-farm' experiment to prove the superiority of love is complete, it's no longer necessary to continue, and so all the required "needs" that were imposed on us as creatures to ensure we got off our backsides and went about the job of surviving, are no longer required. Pain, hunger, tiredness, loneliness, and the good old sex-drive.
Sex is great (hell, yeah!) but focusing your life around it deems your life as being on the same level as focusing your life on eating, since food tastes great. There are serious downsides to living mainly to sate a particular hunger - while obesity is rather obvious where eating is concerned, overly focusing on sex has serious implications that show themselves in discussions concerning male-female relationships (see Zodiaque's thread on this topic) and reveals itself in various problems plaguing society.

d spike

Postby d spike » May 1st, 2010, 10:31 am

toyo682 wrote:megadoc1, Although Allah does mean god, Allah and the God the Bible are two different people

Wait a minute. I thought you were a monotheist. Correct me if I am wrong, but this seems to be a simple mathematical matter. Either you believe in ONE god, or you don't. Which one is it?
d spike wrote:Do you really think that God, if he exists, bothers about what name you call him, if he loves you? I thought the whole point of monotheism is that there is only one Boss? A name only makes sense to us creatures, as it differentiates one from another. (When Moses asked his name, God put him in his place: "I am who is" - take dat in yuh waist, yuh too dam farse an outta place...)

Once YOU know who you are referring to when you direct YOUR thoughts/prayers to him, what does it matter what language, words, names you use? This human stuff is only of concern when you are dealing with other humans.

Postby DFC » May 1st, 2010, 10:31 am

d spike

Postby d spike » May 1st, 2010, 11:36 am

This one was posted in another thread. While I may not agree with it, I find it highly amusing...

sparky

Postby sparky » May 1st, 2010, 1:59 pm

the Bible is the only book that can inform us about all our questions on the subject at hand, but most people may not fully understand the Bible which is the word of God to mankind. to understand the bible we need the help of the Holy Spirit who teaches us about truth

May I present the book(The Great Controversy written by Ellen G White) This book goes to great lengths to give answers to all questions and misinformation we may have about the subject at hand.

toyo682

Postby toyo682 » May 1st, 2010, 2:00 pm

d spike
PostPosted: Sat May 01, 2010 10:31 am Post subject:
toyo682 wrote:
megadoc1, Although Allah does mean god, Allah and the God the Bible are two different people

Wait a minute. I thought you were a monotheist. Correct me if I am wrong, but this seems to be a simple mathematical matter. Either you believe in ONE god, or you don't. Which one is it?
d spike wrote:

Do you really think that God, if he exists, bothers about what name you call him, if he loves you? I thought the whole point of monotheism is that there is only one Boss? A name only makes sense to us creatures, as it differentiates one from another. (When Moses asked his name, God put him in his place: "I am who is" - take dat in yuh waist, yuh too dam farse an outta place...)

Once YOU know who you are referring to when you direct YOUR thoughts/prayers to him, what does it matter what language, words, names you use? This human stuff is only of concern when you are dealing with other humans.

I do believe in one God, that is why I said what I did, that is why I said while Allah means god he is not the same as the God of the Bible, which what people use to evangelize. It is from a religious point of view that I said he and God are to different people not the fact that I believe that he is a god.

By the way how can one understand a god who keeps changing, it would suck to find out why you died that your god change his requirements two hours before.

But like I said I hope you are right in the end because even by your standards I am still safe.

d spike

Postby d spike » May 1st, 2010, 3:25 pm

Judge yourself by your own standards... not mine.

This idea you have about a god who keeps changing... where ever did you get that? Different cultures across time have different views, and different ways of dealing with problems, and so have different ways of expressing their concept of god - but the basic idea remained, and still remains, the same.

toyo682

Postby toyo682 » May 1st, 2010, 3:51 pm

^^^^

did all religions on the same day, time or era. Of course not. according to what you have stated and many others, we all serve one god, and by which name we call him does not matter. Though all religions have different standards we are all aspiring to the same heaven. Well you see from this I draw my conclusion that there is a god who is capricious and keeps changing. (figuratively not literally)>You see the first time he revealed himself may have he did it as the Muslim god setting standards for them to follow as they follow him as Allah, then the next time he appear he appeared as the god of Christianity, etc etc. Every time he appears he sets another standard and give different rules and a different way. So how is this fair that we all serving the same god, going to the same place, but some are giving an easier way while others have to work harder. Again how is this god fair and loving, does he then love one more than the other? This is a question you refuse to address. but think about it.....seems like he does not really want us to know who he is, or how to get to heaven.

d spike

Postby d spike » May 1st, 2010, 4:30 pm

toyo682 wrote:^^^^

did all religions on the same day, time or era.
Did all religions what??

Of course not. according to what you have stated and many others, we all serve one god, and by which name we call him does not matter.

Though all religions have different standards we are all aspiring to the same heaven.
How are these religions' standards different?

Well you see from this I draw my conclusion that there is a god who is capricious and keeps changing.(figuratively not literally)>
No, I don't... and the statements that followed don't explain much. Being more specific would help your position.

You see the first time he revealed himself may have he did it as the Muslim god setting standards for them to follow as they follow him as Allah, then the next time he appear he appeared as the god of Christianity, etc etc. Every time he appears he sets another standard and give different rules and a different way.
That is not the case. You seem to be confusing the original message that a religion is based on, and the way that the messengers deliver this message over time - not a mistake that someone with a background in theology would make. I dare say you surprise me.

So how is this fair that we all serving the same god, going to the same place, but some are giving an easier way while others have to work harder.
Again, a false impression acquired by improper observation.

Again how is this god fair and loving, does he then love one more than the other?
Obviously, this cannot be so. Therefore, reason says it isn't.

This is a question you refuse to address.
Because it doesn't exist in reality. Where is this coming from? A man of your background should know better. I would strongly advise you to revise your notes!

but think about it.....seems like he does not really want us to know who he is, or how to get to heaven.
After dropping so many hints and leaving so many messages? Please.
[/b]

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » May 1st, 2010, 5:24 pm

one little pleasure GOD give to man on earth yet man
loving that more than GOD,he created the earth and the things within yet man love the earth and the things within more than him.
ask yourself this
if GOD can give us such pleasures here on earth
how much more can he give us in heaven ?

sparky

Postby sparky » May 1st, 2010, 8:43 pm

well said my brother and God never changes their is no begin or ending to his existence

Postby Chimera » May 1st, 2010, 9:34 pm

megadoc1 wrote:

one little pleasure GOD give to man on earth yet man
loving that more than GOD,he created the earth and the things within yet man love the earth and the things within more than him.
ask yourself this
if GOD can give us such pleasures here on earth
how much more can he give us in heaven ?

I eh to keen on God pleasuring me na.

Ill settle for women.

toyo682

Postby toyo682 » May 1st, 2010, 9:42 pm

sorry sorry,was trying to ask if all religions we started on the same day. d spike you talk a lot about reason but you fail to exercise it. The reason you can't see what I am talking about is that you are not worried about the difference only what is similar and draws us together. you think you understand where I am coming from because I am like all the other fanatical Christian out there right, wrong. Like you , you never look at most of the stuff I have posted to support what I am saying. This shows that you are not only prideful but also ignorant was well. You really think you know it all do you?

If you are so adamant that you will not share your views here then do not get involve in this discussion or make any judgments, comment etc on those who post them here. just sit back watch and enjoy the show. Quite frankly your comments serve to help no one, if am I believing wrong which you seem to be getting at, then show me why. saying I am wrong with no explanation does not help me. Christianity has many differences to other religions that are key to understanding our faith. Get familiar with all of Christianity not just the parts suitable to your belief or reason.

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » May 1st, 2010, 10:57 pm

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/lNGdcq0pAuU&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed>

d spike

Postby d spike » May 1st, 2010, 11:03 pm

toyo682 wrote:sorry sorry,was trying to ask if all religions we started on the same day. d spike you talk a lot about reason but you fail to exercise it. The reason you can't see what I am talking about is that you are not worried about the difference only what is similar and draws us together.
No lad. The reason I can't see what you were talking about is because you don't use the language properly. I would like to believe that you are typing too quickly to bother about your mistakes, but please remember it has to be read to be understood. That initial sentence made no sense whatsoever - reason can only help if comprehension is possible.

I think I have explained enough as to why I am not going to focus on differences HERE IN THIS FORUM.

you think you understand where I am coming from because I am like all the other fanatical Christian out there right, wrong.
I am trying to understand where you are coming from by reading what you write. I don't know you, so I can't tell where you are coming from. Assist my endeavour by being clear and concise. You did not strike me to be fanatical - I hope I am not wrong.

Like you , you never look at most of the stuff I have posted to support what I am saying.
Something tells me that you did not read this sentence before you hit the 'submit' button. As far as your quotes are concerned, like I said before, I trust you will understand what you are saying - and know about the scripture you refer to - and not just stuff your posts with random scriptural references... am I wrong here? Is my trust misplaced? Is it that you are not sure of what you write about?

This shows that you are not only prideful but also ignorant was well. You really think you know it all do you?
Please read what I write, lad. I am very clear in what I write. I do not take part in public debates or discussions unless I know exactly what I am talking about. You won't see me posting in threads about helicopters, ECUs, fuel injection, trance music, dub musicians, or racing on the "cross". I don't write if I'm not sure. Forgive me for knowing what I'm talking about. I know my limits. I certainly don't know it all. If you really have studied theology, then you would know that nothing I have said so far is wrong...

If you are so adamant that you will not share your views here
I do share my views... have I been posting the views of someone else all this time?

then do not get involve in this discussion or make any judgments, comment etc on those who post them here.
That may be your opinion, and you are free to state it - just as I am free to state my opinion, and I will continue to do so.

just sit back watch and enjoy the show. Quite frankly your comments serve to help no one
vin123 wrote:
d spike wrote:wow. Fellahs getting serious. I'm too tired to be serious, so I'll attempt some 'theo' tomorrow.
If tomorrow comes...
If the thread isn't locked by then...

why it go get lock?
post something nah, I tired to but I still post up, just doh go too much into it lol
Anyhow, take yuh time & give a good response. I always look forward to hear your thoughts on matters like this!

if am I believing wrong which you seem to be getting at, then show me why. saying I am wrong with no explanation does not help me.
I think what I have said before in explanation is succinct enough.

Christianity has many differences to other religions that are key to understanding our faith. Get familiar with all of Christianity not just the parts suitable to your belief or reason.
I am quite familiar with christianity, thank you very much. It is the religion I have taught for many moons.

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » May 1st, 2010, 11:24 pm

d spike, you said you taught Christianity as a religion
would you expand more on that here or am I being to fasss ?
thanks

toyo682

Postby toyo682 » May 1st, 2010, 11:45 pm

I am quite familiar with Christianity, thank you very much. It is the religion I have taught for many moons.
I now understand, I guess that is why our theology do not line up, trust me it does not. There is one key element that you may have missed in ordered to understand Christianity fully.

d spike

Postby d spike » May 1st, 2010, 11:46 pm

megadoc1 wrote:d spike, you said you taught Christianity as a religion
Yes, and I still do.

would you expand more on that here
What do you mean by expand? Use a bigger font? :lol:
Tell you what I do? I think what was said was explanatory enough.

or am I being to fasss ?
For once, I actually agree with you.

thanks
you're welcome.

d spike

Postby d spike » May 1st, 2010, 11:49 pm

toyo682 wrote:
I am quite familiar with Christianity, thank you very much. It is the religion I have taught for many moons.
I now understand, I guess that is why our theology do not line up, trust me it does not.
I never said it did. :lol:

zcarz

Postby zcarz » May 2nd, 2010, 12:53 am

megadoc1 wrote:
zcarz wrote:^No WHAT in heaven??
lol.. anyway, you say we have free will.. but God's mind should be all knowing right? Then that should mean, before you are born, he would know if you were going to heaven or hell making your 'free will' only a perception. Do you agree?
free will is like this
there are two kingdoms that want to affect your life
1 the kingdom of heaven (all men are born disconnected from this one)
2 the kingdom of darkness
but they cannot affect your life unless you let them in
for example
you look at porn or do anything that is not of GOD,
you invite the kingdom of darkness in your life.

you seek the kingdom of heaven and his righteousness
and do the will of GOD,
you invite the kingdom of heaven in your life

I understand all that but do you think that while you think you have a choice of good over evil, you really don't because God knew before you were born if you were going to heaven or hell.

d spike

Postby d spike » May 2nd, 2010, 6:50 am

zitanos wrote:
d spike wrote:I still am not too sure what the OP wants to achieve by this thread. Any religion would have answers for his questions... so the core of these queries is whatever was said in that discussion he had...
Unless he was never brought up in a religion (which is possible, but unlikely) how come he has these questions all of a sudden? That must have been one heck of a conversation, boy... :?:

Yes, most of these questions can be answered by an religion. The intent was to get more information (from each of the religions) as to what are the religion's views/answers for those questions.

Hopefully by learning more about how each religion view's we could try to gain a better level of understanding.

As for my religion, currently I see myself as agnostic, I was raised to Christian and Hindu parents, with Muslim Grandparents (Yes i know, moms converted to christianity...). Anyhow, I had the privilege when I was young to attend Church, Temple (on regular occasions) and Mosque now and then.

As for the conversation which lead to this. Was ole talking with some of my christian and muslim friends (can't rem how the talk ended up on religion).. and these were just of the few "i not sure nah" questions which we ended up with.

Zitanos, good luck with your information/comparison finding quest. I'll just restate an opinion I voiced before:
d spike wrote:When I first started browsing Tuner fairly recently, I used to read Bluefete's "God" thread in amazement (while not the most accurate word, that's the most polite word I can use to describe how I felt), but I never even wished to voice an opinion. This decision was based on my experiences regarding discussions amongst differing faiths. While it sounds like a good idea to compare differences, observe similarities, and generally learn of different ways of looking at the same thing, this never works for religion, unless the persons involved share a strong sense of trust, respect, wisdom and maturity - as well as a very good grasp of language.
Thus it is that whenever average people discuss religion (especially christianity) it soon turns into either a competition, an evangelistic affair, or a fight - or all three, in that order.

d spike

Postby d spike » May 2nd, 2010, 7:17 am

toyo682 wrote: d spike you talk a lot about reason but you fail to exercise it... This shows that you are not only prideful but also ignorant was well. You really think you know it all do you?
...do not get involve in this discussion or make any judgments, comment etc on those who post them here. just sit back watch and enjoy the show. Quite frankly your comments serve to help no one...

Since I have been asked very nicely to sit down and shut up, I will do so... but before I take my leave, There are a few points I'd like to state. (Some are reposts of what I've said before, but it's a lot easier for me to "cut-n'-paste" than to annoy the rest of you with new comments, so please bear with me just one more time, while I serve to help no one :D)
d spike wrote:We were brought into being - whether created in an instant, or brought into creation over a period of time (evolved?), is neither here nor there - as a race that propagates itself, and hands down knowledge across generations. This has to be for a reason. We are meant to achieve something... something good and wonderful... so wonderful, that everyone will be aware of it and its meaning... and the role the Creator played in all time. This is the plan. Its achievement will be the glory of our race, and to the greater glory of him who made us, and gave us the gifts to achieve. All will realise... "Every knee shall bow and every tongue confess..." (Unfortunately, many people see the end of our time here as cataclysmic - thanks to the apocalyptic idiom used by the Jews - and a sort of 'victory dance' for "us" to do over the defeated "them".)

You were asked to do this by witnessing. It is unfortunate that folks think witnessing means talking and preaching - far from it. Witnessing means to live your life in such a way, that what you believe is seen in what you do. Gandhi said, "I like your Christ, but I do not like your christians." This was exactly what he was referring to. It is because of this hypocritical attitude that I use a common "c" when I refer to these "christians". Remember this: 'What you are doing is speaking so loudly that I cannot hear what you say.'

Our ability to compare and judge is meant to guide us, not condemn others.
d spike wrote:Don't make that mistake. Instead, say, "If I were like that and didn't change, I believe I would have a special place in hell." Reserve your ability to judge for yourself and your own actions - that is what it's for. Directing it outward warps it's ability to do good and to better oneself.

d spike wrote:When one studies other cultures, their morals and religions, one sees several threads that run through all of them - like signposts, perhaps. The ten commandments were not "new" rules from humanity's point of view. The "golden rule" that Jesus taught, was preached long before in China, among other places. Of course, differing ways of dealing with wrong sprang up, but what was considered wrong (and right, of course) remained the same wherever you looked.
Take adultery, for example. The Hittites had a law that if you caught your wife in adultery, you either killed both wife and lover, or let them go. In Old China, the first time your wife was caught in adultery, the lover was flogged, the second time, your wife was flogged - the third time you were flogged. But all agreed that adultery was wrong.

Let it suffice to say that your knowledge of right and wrong is yours to judge your own actions, what is truth for you, what is acceptable for you... not to tell others what to do or believe. They must be allowed to exercise that same gift in their lives - in order for the choice they make to be truly theirs.

d spike wrote:You know what I have found to be rather alarming? That there are people who will agree that each of us is unique... they will state that everyone is quite different... they will denounce organized religion for lumping humanity together... expound on the virtue of personal interpretation of scriptures... prate on about having Jesus as your personal saviour, and the importance of having a personal relationship with him...

...and then turn around and tell you that their perspective is THE right one... their interpretation of a book combined of many books, written by many different people from many different walks of life, spanning centuries, from differing cultures, different languages each with its own idioms, translated through different languages - sometimes by amateur translators who didn't fully understand the lingo - full of conflicting ideals and concepts, is THE proper interpretation...

Cheers

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » May 2nd, 2010, 7:20 am

zcarz wrote:
megadoc1 wrote:
zcarz wrote:^No WHAT in heaven??
lol.. anyway, you say we have free will.. but God's mind should be all knowing right? Then that should mean, before you are born, he would know if you were going to heaven or hell making your 'free will' only a perception. Do you agree?
free will is like this
there are two kingdoms that want to affect your life
1 the kingdom of heaven (all men are born disconnected from this one)
2 the kingdom of darkness
but they cannot affect your life unless you let them in
for example
you look at porn or do anything that is not of GOD,
you invite the kingdom of darkness in your life.

you seek the kingdom of heaven and his righteousness
and do the will of GOD,
you invite the kingdom of heaven in your life

I understand all that but do you think that while you think you have a choice of good over evil, you really don't because God knew before you were born if you were going to heaven or hell.
yes you do have a choice because
we also have GOD's will and that is for us to have life
so we use our free will to choose his will over our life
and GOD so loves us that he even went further to show us what would happen if we chose his will for our lives and what would happen if we dont
so the choice is ours to make and I choose life,I want what GOD wants for me
for only he knows whats best for me

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » May 2nd, 2010, 7:35 am

so d spike, before you can teach about Jesus Christ you must believe in him
and do the things he command us to do ?
or are your teachings about the group Christianity and what it is about?

as toyo682,noted key element
you must have Jesus and love Jesus to truly teach about Jesus

that's what I meant when I ask you to expand a bit more

sparky

Postby sparky » May 2nd, 2010, 5:23 pm

the Holy Spirit is the ultimate teacher

Postby Chimera » May 2nd, 2010, 5:44 pm

sparky wrote:the Holy Spirit is the ultimate teacher

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » May 3rd, 2010, 12:07 am

sparky wrote:the Holy Spirit is the ultimate teacher

exactly and no one can teach GOD's word without the spirit of GOD
and that's why d spike and I were on opposing ends all along
for GOD is not one of confusion and alot of statements made by d spike
were anti Christ in nature now he turns around to say that he teach
Christianity!!! ........wow now that is what you call a dangerous man.
I remembered my first encounter with him I called him a liar right away, now all can see how he fooled the non believers and attempted to fool the believers in Christ with the knowledge he have(in fact he hinted so when he said he is on the river bank selling water)
d spike which describes you best ?
a 1 fraud
b 1 liar
c 1 schizo
d 1 hypocrite
e all of the above

Postby Chimera » May 3rd, 2010, 12:12 am

megadoc1 wrote:d spike which describes you best ?
a 1 fraud
b 1 liar
c 1 schizo
d 1 hypocrite
e all of the above

I believe most of the forum, as well as anyone who has ever heard what you have to say, would agree that those descriptions more suit you megadoc.

Postby Chimera » May 3rd, 2010, 12:31 am

Little Johnny was going to his fathers house one day and he was packing everything in his room and putting it in his little red wagon.

He was walking to his fathers house with his wagon behind him, when he came to this hill.

He started up the hill but was constantly swearing "This God damn thing is so heavy"

A priest heard him and came out. "You shouldn't be swearing" said the priest. "God hears you...He is everywhere...He's in the church...He's on the sidewalk...He's everywhere"

Then Little Johnny says "Oh is he in my Wagon"

The priest replies "Yes Johnny God is in your Wagon"

Little Johnny says "Well tell him to get the hell out and start pulling"