reiXmann wrote:hey AbstractPoetic
ABA Trading LTD wrote:but your life sounds oh so interesting.
Smokey wrote:AP with jus over 4 years experience,
I make about TT 400K a year (that is before tax and with bonus and monetary benefits) and while I can live a very comfortable lifestyle it is still not enough to have a decent lifestyle in Trini.
I can't afford a home costing more than 1M TT and tell what kind of place does 1M buy rite now? Nothing worth buying.
ABA Trading LTD wrote:AbstractPoetic wrote:Sky wrote:1st, I never said the jobs were secure. I said you can get capital to move onto better things.
It have no second nah. Since the beginning of time there were hustlers. And your opinion can't stop them.
I wonder if the majority of those hustlers live in gated communities or have maids in their gated homes?
I wonder if the majority send their children to McGill, McMaster, Queens Mary and Oxford?
I wonder if the majority have shares in major conglomerates within and outside the Caribbean or do they prefer to stuff their earnings in brassieres and under mattresses?
I wonder if all they have to show of their hard earnings is the squandering on fancy cars, bling jewelry and material possessions ?
I wonder?
Success is a mindset. Though quantifiably attainable it is often less maintainable by the mind/vision/goal that can only see so far ahead.
I wonder if you have any of those things
or you so called "significant other"
d spike wrote:ABA Trading LTD wrote:AbstractPoetic wrote:Sky wrote:1st, I never said the jobs were secure. I said you can get capital to move onto better things.
It have no second nah. Since the beginning of time there were hustlers. And your opinion can't stop them.
I wonder if the majority of those hustlers live in gated communities or have maids in their gated homes?
I wonder if the majority send their children to McGill, McMaster, Queens Mary and Oxford?
I wonder if the majority have shares in major conglomerates within and outside the Caribbean or do they prefer to stuff their earnings in brassieres and under mattresses?
I wonder if all they have to show of their hard earnings is the squandering on fancy cars, bling jewelry and material possessions ?
I wonder?
Success is a mindset. Though quantifiably attainable it is often less maintainable by the mind/vision/goal that can only see so far ahead.
I wonder if you have any of those things
or you so called "significant other"
(only now read this) Are you asking AP about a stuffed brassiere, a mattress, bling jewelry or a mindset? (Kinda confused... sorry)
I wonder if the majority have shares in major conglomerates within and outside the Caribbean
Smokey wrote:AP with jus over 4 years experience,
I make about TT 400K a year (that is before tax and with bonus and monetary benefits) and while I can live a very comfortable lifestyle it is still not enough to have a decent lifestyle in Trini.
I can't afford a home costing more than 1M TT and tell what kind of place does 1M buy rite now? Nothing worth buying.
Smokey wrote:Redman, Well let me expand on what I mean, here's what I make,
Salary + Monetary Benefits - $24,000
Average Bonus ≈ $90,000 (paid once a year) (about 63k after tax)
After Tax, Pension, etc I take home ≈ $17,000
Current Car Loan is $2900
so that then amounts to ≈ 14,000
Now 14K is still a decent amount. I save 9K every month from that. I also save about 80% of my bonus. So besides my savings which after 4 years of working amounts to just under $500k.
But anyway, if I wanted to purchase a house right now I can only afford $850K from a Loan.
So basically after 4.75 years of work experience I can purchase a home of Max $1.35M....and that's if I foolishly use all of my savings for that purchase.
For someone who earns 24K a month, it certainly has not brought me much closer to buying a decent home.
Other than that, yes I do live comfortably but not anything extravagant at all.
In any case I'm sure my definition of decent is the same as yours.....after all i know persons working for less than 1/2 my salary and live more extravagantly than myself.
d spike wrote:Yuh boy could try he hand in agriculture...
it have dat kinda money dey...
I never stated you NEED a degree and suit to make money, but they certainly are valuable given today's job market even if to help better advance/market your name/company/niche.
Now what is ah degree? When yuh get yuh degree, dey does give yuh ah scroll. Ah scroll is ah rolled up piece of paper! I has dat. I has plenty. Does sell dem too, if yuh want... mus' roll it, in order to keep de blessed 'erb inside. Ah has plenty suit too, ask any young gyul who does pass whey ah does be. Is suit fuh so, an' always ah little "Family... is so yuh does pass people straight?"
So, degree an' suit in place. Readin' on...
Anyone knows that a law degree, business degree, medical degree or whatever the professional degree is only part of achieving that success.
Have all dis... Dat roll-up paper does have mih in court often, so ah know 'bout law degree. Selling it is serious business, so each one is ah business degree. Everybody know de medical properties of de 'erb, so medical degree in place. Professional? Boy, is no amateur here, yuh know.
It lays the foundation and opens doors that may not be all that accessible to those without it.
Dis real true. I just give some fellahs some ah dem degree to light up, and dey cast my entire floor and foundation fuh meh, jus' so. Righteous talk. Ah done line up dem same fellahs to finish de roof with some more spliff, too. An' doh talk 'bout suit, eh. Once I suit dis oldish lady, and follow she home, helping tants with a bag she was fightin' up with. Man, I pass an' call later, if yuh see how fas' dem door open! An' tants had ah real sweet hand, eh...
It provides social networking opportunities and settings with partners, VPs, CEOs, CFOs
Well, I eh know 'bout dem fellahs, but ah do real business with MCs, SOBs, and FAHs.
and other big names in your specified industry that you would not have met or entertain discussion with if not part of that fold.
Real big names, dat is true talk.
It is often in the halls and classrooms of the selective higher learning institutes where business partnerships are made and names/business contacts are exchanged that does matter 5, 10 or 15 years down the line during the course of your career.
True, dat. De contact I make in St. Michael's and YTC real help mih out.
To be provided with such opportunity is invaluable and makes the path to success, whatever one's individual definition of such, that much easier.
Preach it, reverend.
AbstractPoetic wrote:Sky wrote:1st, I never said the jobs were secure. I said you can get capital to move onto better things.
I wonder?