.:The Official Windows Phone 7/8 Thread:.

Re: .:The Official Windows Phone 7 Thread:.

Postby M_2NR » January 27th, 2012, 2:00 am

missed a chance to use a 800. My friend went from iPhone 2G to android (develops for android) and then got fed up and went WP7. He is loving it thus far.

Another padna has a HTC Mozart. I personally like it, I wouldnt mind it. For a phone... its simple, functional and nice. WP7 however has CallerID issues like iOS had previous to iOS 5. you need to put in 868 etc. I'm not sure if there is a fix.

Postby RASC » January 27th, 2012, 8:35 am

M_2NR wrote:missed a chance to use a 800. My friend went from iPhone 2G to android (develops for android) and then got fed up and went WP7. He is loving it thus far.

Another padna has a HTC Mozart. I personally like it, I wouldnt mind it. For a phone... its simple, functional and nice. WP7 however has CallerID issues like iOS had previous to iOS 5. you need to put in 868 etc. I'm not sure if there is a fix.

Yeah I need to dial 868 before entering a number before it recognizes it. HD7 running mango here.

As of today... Zero Battery Pulls or factory resest. bbm or android ppl... You jelly?

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » January 27th, 2012, 9:18 am

Driven wrote:Sad to see this thread so dead. I've been reading up on the Windows Phone 7.5 OS and after having a hands-on look with my friend's Dell Venue Pro I can safely say I think Windows Phone is for me. I find it to be a much more elegant and responsive OS given the kind of hardware it runs on (the Dell Venue Pro features a 1 GHz single core processor which by current standard is really lacking)

This brings me to my question. I am seriously considering getting one of three Windows Phones, the HTC Radar, the Lumia 800 or the Lumia 900 (to be released in March this year). Does anyone on the forum own either of these phones? Particularly the Lumia 800 as I find it to be quite a stylish and its specs are the best of the current generation Windows Phones.

well technically the 900 is the so called 'flagship' device...

the 710, 800 and 900 all boast the same internals but for varying storage...

screen size, cameras and case design set them apart.

The 800 is supposed to be coming to microsoft stores in march as well... so maybe the price will be a bit lower than the ~US$500 it is rite now on amazon.

The 900 will be released on march 18 on contract at US$99.99 :shock: ... no word on unlocked price... prolly round 4 - 500

The 710 is US$250 unlocked and while it doesn't have the insane beauty of the 800 or 900 its been gettin rave reviews as an excellent device

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » January 27th, 2012, 9:19 am

Def will be purchasing the 800 in the near future... i think the 900 is too much phone for me... 4.3" of screen and a FF camera not really required.

The 800 is perfection... :D

Driven

Postby Driven » January 27th, 2012, 1:03 pm

There's also the difference in screen type. The 710 sports a LCD while the 800 has a AMOLED screen (the DVP that I toyed with had one) and I find it looks FANTASTIC.

I really like the idea of FF cameras so I'm actually leaning to the 900 as long as the price isn't too much. Once in the $500-600 bracket... I'll definitely scoop it up.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » January 27th, 2012, 2:18 pm

my bad on the screen...

but yea they are some lovely devices...

then there's the rumored 910 as well...

Driven

Postby Driven » January 27th, 2012, 2:31 pm

can I ask why you're sold on Windows phone?

my friends are either die-hard iOS or die hard WP7, so I looking for the opinion of someone who isn't fanatical :lol:

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » January 27th, 2012, 3:14 pm

Cause i'm a die hard nokia fan...

didnt start paying attention to windows phone until the rumors of the partnership with nokia started... so im into mango primarily cause of nokia... im not really interested in the other manufacturers offerings

having said that... from all i've seen and read of the OS.. it jus looks so... easy.

i've used android phones and they annoy me
lets not even speak for BB (i do not understand how ppl can use those phones... dealing with them in my corporate environment daily is a chore)
iOS really is a joy to use... but something about my good ole 5800 kept me going

before all this i was ready to upgrade to an N8...

but here we are now... Im hoping one of our carriers perhaps picks up on the mango devices soon... even if not nokia... so i can get a hands on with one.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » February 6th, 2012, 3:03 pm

http://www.engadget.com/photos/nokialum ... 2/#4797414

now im torn between the black and the white... that white is the sex

Postby M_2NR » February 6th, 2012, 4:51 pm

if you worried about the screen DO NOT buy the 710/800, buy a 900. The 710/800 are both pentile... meaning it will look bleh. see the SGS (not the II), etc.

more reading on it:
http://www.phonearena.com/news/Nokia-Lu ... nt_id25759

it wont look as bad on the smaller screen tho. On the Samsung Focus it is quite noticeable though. S-LCD's like on the HTC's looks sweet though.

I waiting for WP8 though, seeing that they most likely wont bother to develop 7 more and 8 will be more integrated into Windows8. Well thats the word

tiger balm

Postby tiger balm » February 6th, 2012, 6:53 pm

Think I'll wait on WP8 also. Been reading all the "leaks". Although I know WPs functions well without them I want to see how expensive the dual core option will be. Whatever I buy would most likely not be changed for a while, so ideally I want a phone with long term use.

Postby M_2NR » February 6th, 2012, 9:51 pm

and of course WP is fairly new too. D way its developing is promising though. Hope M$ does not screw this up. They already are in a way with what they did with the Jailbreak group.

tiger balm

Postby tiger balm » February 6th, 2012, 10:17 pm

M_2NR wrote:and of course WP is fairly new too. D way its developing is promising though. Hope M$ does not screw this up. They already are in a way with what they did with the Jailbreak group.

Are you referring to the Chevron unlock? It appears that Microsoft is exerting some sort of control over how many unlocks they can do. Seems they were initially only allowed 10,000 unlocks. Don't know if Microsoft will allow them to sell more in the future or if it's a yearly quota thing. Time will tell.

Personally I think this was a smart move on Microsoft's part. If they didn't give them official status/ recognition Chevron would've mostly likely still been releasing the code for free on xda. Mostly likely resulting in much more unlocked phones out there.

Postby M_2NR » February 6th, 2012, 11:48 pm

yea first they were like yea... boom. then no... stop :| sounds a bit like some girls.
I for one love and want a jailbroken/rooted phone. i can't handle the locked FS.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » March 22nd, 2012, 11:24 am

so i'm loving wp 7.5

any other active users?

happy with the UX?

the apps? what apps are must haves for u?

Postby gastly369 » March 28th, 2012, 2:38 pm

just bought the HTC surround

did any one update to 7.5 yet .how long it take to update? . better in what ways?

Postby gastly369 » March 28th, 2012, 10:39 pm

i is runnin mango ... bessss

Postby gastly369 » March 29th, 2012, 9:26 am

was pressure to update to 7.5 :S.. had to restore 2 times and start over .. error code was 80004005

did a little reading up and for it to work i had to put it in airplane mode, disable locations, remove live tabs from home screen and reboot both PC, internet and phone .. after was smooth sailing

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » March 29th, 2012, 11:34 am

good stuff man...

mango is yummy :D

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » March 29th, 2012, 11:39 am

eh gastly...

jus saw this on Engadget... donno if it applies to u

http://www.engadget.com/2012/03/29/htc- ... ows-phone/

Driven

Postby Driven » March 29th, 2012, 1:55 pm

http://news.cnet.com/8301-1035_3-574057 ... lumia-900/

I hope the phone lives up to the hype!! I've been waiting for it for ages

I'm torn between waiting for a WP8 phone and buying a 900/800, but 6 months feels so far away!

Hopefully Microsoft won't go the way of android and release new, OS-specific phones with previous models being tied down to the last OS with eventual updating when the "new" OS is nearing the end of it's product life. :fist: So, all current Windows Phone handsets **SHOULD** be compatible with Windows Phone 8 when it launches, with some features will be removed due to the hardware constraints. (NOTE: There has been NO official statement from Microsoft regarding the compatibility of 1st and 2nd gen Windows Phones with Apollo.. so I'm just being optimistic)

EDIT:
Lumia 900 off-contract pricing will be 449.99 USD and the HTC Titan II will go for 549.99 USD

source: http://www.ubergizmo.com/2012/03/nokia- ... -revealed/

Postby gastly369 » March 29th, 2012, 3:24 pm

original_lollybob wrote:eh gastly...

jus saw this on Engadget... donno if it applies to u

http://www.engadget.com/2012/03/29/htc- ... ows-phone/

humm downloading app right now

Postby gastly369 » March 29th, 2012, 3:52 pm

oh btw square off game bad :|

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » March 29th, 2012, 3:57 pm

^
downloading now :D

Strauss

Postby Strauss » March 29th, 2012, 4:54 pm

original_lollybob wrote:http://www.engadget.com/photos/nokialumia800whitehandson6212/#4797414

now im torn between the black and the white... that white is the sex

The white is probably the best white phone there is.

But I would always choose black for the sake of watching movies. I don't like to see anything on the edge that would define a border away from the picture edge.

Postby M_2NR » March 30th, 2012, 1:47 pm

that white is proper sexy

Postby gastly369 » April 1st, 2012, 3:26 pm

sorta like marios :|

Postby gastly369 » April 10th, 2012, 1:12 pm

got my case and screen protector today... when i purchased phone they gave me a blackberry pouch and iphone screen protector :\

RE: .:The Official Windows Phone 7 Thread:.

Postby RASC » April 10th, 2012, 1:14 pm

Hey original

what are your data settings for bmobile edge???

Sent from my HD7 using Board Express

RE: .:The Official Windows Phone 7 Thread:.

Postby RASC » April 10th, 2012, 1:16 pm

Anyone looking to cop the Lumia900 :) Dunno if to hold off for windows8 apollo, or just go for it :S

Sent from my HD7 using Board Express