Official WASA Police thread

d spike

Postby d spike » February 9th, 2010, 10:06 pm

Damien wrote:this day and age these mf dont know how to regulate water like everybody just wake up in wasa and realize the reservoir low, kants

That,unfortunately, is probably exactly what happened.

Postby crazybalhead » February 10th, 2010, 6:36 am

Postby Aaron 2NR » February 10th, 2010, 7:14 am

i just read that article......what good for peter hadda be good for paul

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » February 10th, 2010, 7:19 am

Clear water gushed from more than four plant sprinklers over the lawn grass at Prime Minister Patrick Manning’s residence yesterday at St Ann’s.

The sprinklers sprayed the backyard of the PM’s official home from as early as 9 a.m. and poured gallons of water to keep the slightly blotchy lawns green for almost half-hour.

But as the water flowed from Manning’s residence, residents living nearby had no water coming through their taps.

The sprinklers showered the PM’s lawn at a time when many parts of the country have been enduring days, and sometimes weeks of no water.

The country has experienced an unusually dry rainy season, and water reservoirs are at unprecedented lows.

As a result, the Water and Sewerage Authority (WASA) has commenced an all-out water conservation programme and directed WASA’s water police to stop and charge citizens for the improper use of water and watering equipment.

Following Express investigations to verify the use of the water at Manning’s residence, WASA was notified yesterday.

The authority clamped down on the groundskeepers at Manning’s home and directed staff to immediately stop using the sprinklers or similar devices.

The Page one photo in today’s Express of the PM’s back lawn being watered was supplied to the Express yesterday by a citizen journalist who was able to view the activity for the entire duration.

The man told the Express the sprinklers were turned on shortly after 9 a.m. yesterday and sprayed water on the grass for about 25 minutes.

The citizen said the sprinklers are activated every day and recently, came on one night for a brief period before being turned off again.

He said at the time the sprinklers were running yesterday, he had no water at his home.

WASA has directed the sprinklers be shut off.

General manager of communications at WASA Ellen Lewis said yesterday the Water and Sewerage Authority Act Ch 54:40 applied to everyone.

’The law has universal applicability, including all private and State property. Based on the information received, we have been able to verify that water was being used to water the grounds at the prime minister’s residence. We have, however, reminded the household’s grounds management of the hosepipe restriction in effect as of midnight on February 3, and as such, they are to cease forthwith the use of any hose, sprinkler or similar-type apparatus for the transmission of water,’ Lewis told the Express by phone.

As WASA has attempted to get customers to repair leaky pipes, stop using hoses to wash cars and to conserve water in other ways, a number of people have been warned for wasting water, and several residents in south Trinidad have been charged with selling water illegally.

But as residents long for water from dry taps, Manning begged them to conserve more on Monday night.

At a People’s National Movement meeting held at Witco Desperadoes panyard at Laventille, he admitted Government did not know how long ’this drought will last’.

’We don’t know if the rains will come in May or June or July or August as happened in 1973. We don’t know when they will come,’ he said.

Manning said that while WASA appealed to the national community to conserve water, the government was begging citizens to do this in the interest of everyone.

’Not because you have the means, you must waste it. We are trying to schedule (the water supply). If some have, some don’t have, we are trying to schedule that,’ he added.

The country’s current water woes have to do with a general shortage of water and the ’need for all of us to conserve...and we are trying to manage it in such a way that we distribute what little we have as equitably as we can all over Trinidad and Tobago’, Manning said.

-additional reporting

by Juhel Browne

BOOGOON!

Postby crazybalhead » February 10th, 2010, 7:25 am

fuggin hypocrite. And if he says its his staff then that means that he is not in charge of his own house, and if THAT is the case, how can he run a country?

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » February 10th, 2010, 8:00 am

crazybalhead wrote:fuggin hypocrite. And if he says its his staff then that means that he is not in charge of his own house, and if THAT is the case, how can he run a country?

Yuh surprised cbh???
Hes trinidads biggest hypocrite!

COnserve water he says, yet HE wastes it,
Save your money, yet he spends OUR money wildly on himself,
Watch tv , yet he watches gay porn!

:?

Postby crazybalhead » February 10th, 2010, 8:11 am

So Evo, you take the picture??? :lol:

Postby SR » February 10th, 2010, 8:20 am

ha ha ha

i hada start walkin with my camera yes

jsut this morning a governement building on the corner of st vincent and queen st pavement was being "hosed down"

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » February 10th, 2010, 8:29 am

and sadly enough if a homeowner in Valsayn have he sprinklers ON they would arrest him with the help of Tactical squad!

Postby SR » February 10th, 2010, 8:34 am

uhm

they were circling round valsayn this weekend and passing a leak on a main right across the road from my house

this has been like this since the beginning of january

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » February 10th, 2010, 9:05 am

and yuh didnt do you duty and report the LEAK!

yuo self man SR! :lol: :lol:

Postby SR » February 10th, 2010, 9:11 am

steups
i studyin how to collect water from the leak to water meh lawn since it already wastin

DevilZ

Postby DevilZ » February 10th, 2010, 2:30 pm

how common are water wells in trini? if yuh ketch vaps and dig a hole in yuh backyard and hit water, wasa could charge u for using dat or das ur water?

Postby buzz » February 10th, 2010, 6:03 pm

so how d fcuk manning could NOT know about the sprinklers until it hit the press

man fire d contractor to save face ?

d spike

Postby d spike » February 10th, 2010, 10:09 pm

DevilZ wrote:how common are water wells in trini? if yuh ketch vaps and dig a hole in yuh backyard and hit water, wasa could charge u for using dat or das ur water?

All ground-water belongs to the government (rain-water doesn't... once it doesn't touch the ground, in other words,don't use a surface collection system) so WASA can and will charge you based on a pre-set rate (can't remember how it's worked). However, water from a well that is used for agricultural purposes is free from all rates - and this rule covers water from the well used to supply the farmhouse (farmers gotta drink...).
So there is nothing illegal with sinking a well on your property and supplying your home - providing you use it to irrigate crops, or water livestock... :wink:

Postby Chimera » February 10th, 2010, 10:21 pm

wait na.....wait na....

*has to remember to take pics tomorrow of backyard*

Postby UML » February 10th, 2010, 11:27 pm

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » February 11th, 2010, 7:43 am

dey really hadda be frightened...articles link below

A PRIVATE contractor attached to the Prime Minister’s residence yesterday paid the ultimate price, and was fired, for disobeying orders given by Prime Minister Patrick Manning’s wife, Local Government Minister Hazel Manning.

The investigation, which was conducted by executive house manager Armando D’Souza, revealed that orders given by Mrs Manning to conserve water were disobeyed.

The move comes one day after the Express exclusively reported that sprinklers were being used to water the lawn at the Prime Minister’s residence at a time when many parts of the country have been severely affected by the unusually dry rainy season and the extraordinarily low water level in reservoirs.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl ... =161594338

more bobol

One of the people disconnected in a Water and Sewerage Authority (WASA) raid yesterday for allegedly selling water illegally said he was one of the main suppliers of water to a State-funded mega-project.

Ricardo Mohammed said he had, for several months, been supplying water to the controversial Trinidad Generation Unlimited power plant project site in La Brea.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl ... =161594334

Postby pugboy » February 11th, 2010, 8:26 am

if he could fire the contractor for that then he should fire hunt for his $2m mistake

Postby SR » February 11th, 2010, 8:53 am

question

why wasnt the state co used for maintainance in the 1st place?
wouldnt it have been cheaper

contractor fired..........

was there a contract if so what were the details

isnt this state property?

cover up to save face

pulls himself out of the responsability

risley93

Postby risley93 » February 11th, 2010, 10:28 am

so if it have water police who is to blame for this ?
for the Tuners from rio claro and u passed Grant Street This morning i think u know what i'm talking about

Note that while i took the pics a wasa van passed and slowed down and watched it and sped off

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » February 12th, 2010, 7:53 am

ONE day after it was reported that a garden hose was being used to water plants at the St Joseph residence of President George Maxwell Richards and his wife Dr Jean Ramjohn Richards, his office said yesterday the gardener was doing so on his own initiative.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl ... =161594978

A woman employed with the private contractor who was fired for disobeying orders to conserve water from Local Government Minister Hazel Manning has called on Prime Minister Patrick Manning to have mercy and conduct a proper investigation as she and eight others are now on the breadline.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl ... =161594982

Faced with a critical water shortage, many food outlets in San Fernando may have to close their doors this Carnival weekend, resulting in big losses.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl ... =161594980

lostboys crew

Postby lostboys crew » February 12th, 2010, 10:12 am

I saw in the new's that them hotels in p.o.s have no water....ppl can't even take a shower.....have to use the water from the pool.........well thats vision 20/20......water for the chosen few.... :( ......sufferation for the poor....and then the pm say he have to borrow money ?.......so what happen to all we money in the treasury ?...... :cry:

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » February 12th, 2010, 10:16 am

^

Some guests at Ambassador Hotel in Long Circular, St James, were yesterday forced to wash with water from the hotel’s pool, while the Water and Sewerage and Authority (WASA) worked outside to bring the building’s taps to life.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl ... =161594968

Postby Chimera » February 12th, 2010, 10:32 am

I had to mostly close the main valve coming into our property because the water is so hard.

Can only open it 1/4 because the water pressure so high.

I should start selling water...

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » February 22nd, 2010, 10:32 am

in case anyone was wondering...

Promenade gets WASA approval for sprinklers

Water not drinkable

Monday, February 22nd 2010

The Water and Sewerage Authority (WASA) has given the go-ahead to the Promenade Management Association (PMA) to use sprinklers and hoses once the PMA continues to draw on brackish water from its own wells.

There were complaints last week that watering devices were frequently being used on the green areas of the Brian Lara Promenade at Independence Square, Port of Spain, despite these tools being outlawed by WASA in anticipation of a tough dry season.

On Wednesday, the PMA issued a statement defending its use of water and watering tools. ’The Promenade Management Association, the organisation that manages the day-to-day affairs of the Brian Lara Promenade, wishes to advise the general public that unlike the majority of users who rely solely on WASA’s mains for their supply of water, the PMA owns and operates two wells on the Brian Lara Promenade from which it extracts water for the purposes of watering the plants/grass and cleaning the hard surface areas of the parks,’ the association stated.

’The PMA, in accordance with the WASA Act, pays a monthly abstraction fee to WASA for the privilege of abstracting water via our wells.

The PMA also advises that the water abstracted from its wells is not potable (drinkable), being slightly brackish, but is ideal for the uses to which it is put.’

WASA’s general manager, communications, Ellen Lewis responded in favour of the PMA.

’The PMA is not breaking any law, as it is using water that is brackish and therefore not potable. In other words, it is not suitable for consumption,’ Lewis said.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl ... =161598692

Computerman

Postby Computerman » February 22nd, 2010, 2:20 pm

JoKeR1980 wrote:in case anyone was wondering...

"The PMA is not breaking any law, as it is using water that is brackish and therefore not potable. In other words, it is not suitable for consumption," Lewis said.

I know of a few wells of this nature that exist accross the country... they can be used to water crops... according to the farmers I spoke to.

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » February 22nd, 2010, 2:38 pm

Computerman wrote:
JoKeR1980 wrote:in case anyone was wondering...

"The PMA is not breaking any law, as it is using water that is brackish and therefore not potable. In other words, it is not suitable for consumption," Lewis said.

I know of a few wells of this nature that exist accross the country... they can be used to water crops... according to the farmers I spoke to.

cant this SAME water be utilitised to flush toilets?????

or wait- home owners dont matter!

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » March 5th, 2010, 11:56 pm

Using Beetham waste water to irrigate Queen's Park Savannah

Aabida Allaham

Saturday, March 6th 2010

IN an attempt to salvage the top soil at the Queen’s Park Savannah in Port of Spain, the Ministry of Agriculture is now using treated waste water to irrigate the grass.

The decision comes in the midst of the current water supply challenges and the restrictions imposed on the use of hoses/sprinklers for watering of lawns, according to a statement issued by the ministry Thursday.

’The Horticultural Services Division at the Ministry has teamed up with WASA to have a supply of treated effluent from WASA’s Beetham Waste Water Treatment plant for the watering/irrigation of turf grass...and according to WASA, this treated effluent meets all the requirements for this type of use and does not in any way subtract from the supply of portable water,’ the release said.

Typically, wastewater is the drinkable water that is used in the kitchen, bathroom et cetera, and then sent to the treatment plant to be sent out to sea. In this case, that water will now be used to water the Queen’s Park Savannah.

According to the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP), wastewater irrigated lawns must not be accessible to the public during irrigation and for four hours after watering or until dry. Fencing is required if watered during the day, while overnight watering of lawn areas without fencing is acceptable, provided that irrigation only occurs when the public is not in the irrigation area (this would typically require the use of tankers or manual sprinklers rather than automatic sprinklers), and a four hour period will elapse before the public is involved in recreational activities involving direct contact with the lawn. And signage on walking tracks must be used to advise early morning walkers or joggers of the overnight use of reclaimed water.

In a telephone interview with the Express, director corporate communications at the ministry, Yolande Agard-Simmons, said in addition to WASA’s promise to chlorinate the water, they have been given the assurance that signage will be clearly visible on all the tankers and these tankers will only be used for the purpose of transporting the effluent water.

’WASA said they will be launching a public campaign to inform people of the move, but we just wanted to do this because we don’t want people saying that we are wasting water in a time when there is none,’ she said.

As for the hours of use, Agard-Simmons said they intend to water the lawn five days a week, twice a day.

mmgzx07

Postby mmgzx07 » March 6th, 2010, 8:27 am

I don't understand what WASA want uh tuh conserve water for..... That water only good to flush toilet, do construction and water plants

Wasa Water not even good tuh put in ur radiator ..... Bluewater.... best .... lol

I have tuh buy water to drink and cook yes ....... WTF .....