What's the last good book yuh read??

Re: What's the last good book yuh read??

Postby Razkal » June 21st, 2010, 11:17 am

^bess book...["The Elegant Universe" Brian Greene is a good one along those physics lines..]

last i read? "Science of the Impossible" by Michio Kaku....mad! deals with realistic time travel etc...star trek business :D...

bought two Dawkins books recently as well: "The God Delusion" and "The Ancestor's Tale"....

snowman

Postby snowman » June 21st, 2010, 11:26 am

Dan Brown - The Lost Symbol

Read all his books and loved each and everyone.

Postby crazybalhead » June 21st, 2010, 11:27 am

I find Dan brown to be quite a boring writer. Angels and Demons was ok, but the rest were kinda shitty. Haven't read the lost symbol yet.

Postby MG Man » June 21st, 2010, 11:27 am

Razzie, I got carried away and also bought Einstein's Paper on Relativity too

Postby Trini Hookah » June 21st, 2010, 11:37 am

Green Days by the River by Michael Anthony..for ol' times sake :|

Postby crazybalhead » June 21st, 2010, 11:43 am

While we on the topic of books, anybody else find Nigel R Khan stores to be one of the best customer experiences in trinidad???

Walk in and it's quiet with a little lounge or world music playing softly in the background. Slight smell of incense. Books are well laid out and easy to browse, free coffee tea. FULL REFUND POLICY. Hear nah...that alone in our usually stink service environment!!!

Nice little bookmarks with every book. Knowledgeable and friendly staff

I love that store.

snowman

Postby snowman » June 21st, 2010, 11:44 am

If there's one in Ellersie, You're right. The service is Beautiful. I could stay there all day lounging and reading. very comfortable atmosphere.

Postby crazybalhead » June 21st, 2010, 11:45 am

snowman wrote:If there's one in Ellersie, You're right. The service is Beautiful. I could stay there all day lounging and reading. very comfortable atmosphere.

I think there is one in every mall. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Postby Razkal » June 21st, 2010, 12:00 pm

MG Man wrote:Razzie, I got carried away and also bought Einstein's Paper on Relativity too

"On the elctrodynamics of moving bodies"? if so, i have no shame begging for a borrows or copy :oops:

read books and articles on general and special relativity, but it would be interesting, to say the least, to read the actual work...plus i think i did enough background reading to not get entirely lost :lol:

where do you obtain your reading material? amazon?

there are some epic references Christopher Hitchens made in 'god is not great' that i'd love to get my hands on...need to run through the book again and pluck them out...

Postby MG Man » June 21st, 2010, 12:03 pm

I have Hitchens book, bought it for me for Xmas last year :-)
You can have a borrow if u want
The Einstein one is the actual paper he published on Special and General, not the condensed reader friendly version
Take a look:
http://www.amazon.com/Relativity-Specia ... 179&sr=1-6

Postby Razkal » June 21st, 2010, 12:04 pm

crazybalhead wrote:While we on the topic of books, anybody else find Nigel R Khan stores to be one of the best customer experiences in trinidad???

Walk in and it's quiet with a little lounge or world music playing softly in the background. Slight smell of incense. Books are well laid out and easy to browse, free coffee tea. FULL REFUND POLICY. Hear nah...that alone in our usually stink service environment!!!

I love that store.

cosign this with TWO pens...Nigel have it hard...got alot of titles there recently i honestly wouldn't have expected to find on the shelf in a trini bookstore.

more periodicals are needed though...no surf, fishing, barely any auto mags available...quality toilet reading getting harder to find yes...

i get my Discover mags and aquarium hobbyist mags from a pharmacy in mayaro, not sure if thats funny or sad..

Postby crazybalhead » June 21st, 2010, 12:07 pm

I usually stock up on toilet literature when I pass through Miami airport copuple times for the year. Haven't travelled this year yet though, first time in a loooong time haven't been travelling. Usually pick up a mag or two in Superpharm other wise.

Postby Razkal » June 21st, 2010, 12:11 pm

MG Man wrote:I have Hitchens book, bought it for me for Xmas last year :-)
You can have a borrow if u want
The Einstein one is the actual paper he published on Special and General, not the condensed reader friendly version
Take a look:
http://www.amazon.com/Relativity-Specia ... 179&sr=1-6

absolutely bess...definitely will invest in this book, good to keep epic intellects in your library, even if it takes ages to understand the material in its entirety lol. wouldn't mind getting a book on the quantum theory as well...that sheit is confusing in its simplest form!

the hitchens book i already have, finished it a two weeks ago...man has an addictive writing style and fiery pen, loved it!

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 21st, 2010, 3:50 pm

LOL@ Toilet literature.

Mine is Sixth Speed issues 1-10, plus assorted Zorce, R&T, Car&Driver et al.

Need some updated mags tho, reading about the debut of the Supra or the 1993 Ferrari Spider Test drive getting kinda boring.

Jonathan

Postby Jonathan » June 21st, 2010, 3:53 pm

Currently reading Contact by Carl Sagan.

zcarz

Postby zcarz » June 21st, 2010, 3:59 pm

The Infinite Book-John D. Barrow.
Good read IMO.

Postby MG Man » June 21st, 2010, 4:03 pm

Jonathan wrote:Currently reading Contact by Carl Sagan.

read Cosmos when u done

Back2Studio

Postby Back2Studio » June 21st, 2010, 5:03 pm

The Book of Five Rings by Miyamoto Musashi

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » June 21st, 2010, 5:15 pm

Reading Anathem by Neal Stephenson right now.

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » June 21st, 2010, 5:45 pm

The Road to Gandolfo - Robert Ludlum

have read most of his books including the whole Bourne trilogy and the Covert-One series. great stuff. even read some of the new Bourne stuff from Eric Van Lusterbader. will do some David Baldacci next 8-)

crazybalhead wrote:While we on the topic of books, anybody else find Nigel R Khan stores to be one of the best customer experiences in trinidad???

I love that store.

SECONDED!

Postby Mark! » June 21st, 2010, 7:22 pm

You all ever heard of 'My Bones and My Flute' by Edgar Mittelholzer a Guyanese novelist? It was about a family who moved into the forest in Guyana and there was a mysterious flute sound at times, but only certain ppl in the family was able to hear it and they were trying to figure out why.

It wasnt all that, but I find myself to enjoy some of these Caribbean authors

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » June 21st, 2010, 9:30 pm

lola.308 wrote:Hi. Just wanted to ask any Stephen King and/or Dean Koontz readers if they would be interested in selling or exchanging, I'd be happy to, so just send me a pm. Contact details will be provided. Thx.

Few favs
The Skeleton Crew - SK
It - SK
The Dark Tower Series - SK

hiya...

i have quite a few if u wanna borrow... once u not too far away.. lemme see

DK
life expectancy
strange highways
forever odd
odd hours
one door away from heaven
phantoms
lightning
cold fire
seize the night
whispers
from the corner of his eye
velocity
winter moon
frankenstein
fasle memory

SK
different seasons
the regulators
from the borderlands
needful things
bag of bones
everythings eventual
dreamcatcher
hearts in atlantis
nightmares and dreamscapes
desperation

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » June 21st, 2010, 9:32 pm

but the last good book i read was

Under the Dome by SK

great stuff ****

Postby bushwakka » June 21st, 2010, 10:04 pm

A thousand splendid suns

Oleander

Postby Oleander » June 21st, 2010, 10:11 pm

What Colour is Your Parachute 2009 - Richard N. Bolles

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » June 21st, 2010, 10:19 pm

lola.308 wrote:
original_lollybob wrote:
lola.308 wrote:Hi. Just wanted to ask any Stephen King and/or Dean Koontz readers if they would be interested in selling or exchanging, I'd be happy to, so just send me a pm. Contact details will be provided. Thx.

Few favs
The Skeleton Crew - SK
It - SK
The Dark Tower Series - SK

hiya...

i have quite a few if u wanna borrow... once u not too far away.. lemme see

DK
life expectancy
strange highways
forever odd
odd hours
one door away from heaven
phantoms
lightning
cold fire
seize the night
whispers
from the corner of his eye
velocity
winter moon
frankenstein
fasle memory

SK
different seasons
the regulators
from the borderlands
needful things
bag of bones
everythings eventual
dreamcatcher
hearts in atlantis
nightmares and dreamscapes
desperation

oh the joy!!!!!!!! we're going to be such good friends.....I highlighted the ones I'd like borrowed please :mrgreen:

oh the joy you say... hmmm..

well soon to be good friend... where u at etc etc?

Postby DFC » June 21st, 2010, 11:00 pm

bleh...i grew up reading carl sagan and isaac asimov.

totally screwed my mind.

anyways i currently reading....hitchhiker guide to the galaxy by douglas adams.

also i alot into philosophy and poetry...tryna add some class to my crass self.
rabindranath tagore, rumi, khalil gibran...yeats.

and in philosophy ..lao tzu, discourses on vedanta, yogi aurobindo. tantra and aghora scripts.

and oh..i love road dahl.

Oleander

Postby Oleander » June 21st, 2010, 11:43 pm

^^ check out Passages - Helen Drayton

mimi007

Re:

Postby mimi007 » June 22nd, 2010, 12:21 am

eurogirl wrote:Mcallister - Materials Science n Engineering .. i'm on the equilibria chapt so if yuh like me and u wanna help a girl out .. pm meh with the subtitles to this book coz I LOSSSSS !!! but , like a good solider i trudging on

Recreational Reading , I've read for this past month : Vampirates ( awesom book ! ) , The book of years Vol 1 , The horse Lord , The demon lord ( its iffy but fascinating all the same ) , James patterson Max (bleh ) , Sherrilyn kenyon's Lords of avalon I read the 2nd book in the series ( luved it but then i love chic lit ,so relaxing ) , the last apprentice series 1,2,3,4 .
I read ah mills and boon also , but I can't rem the name :| a rell old school one also I felt so ashamed I hid it under my bed :|

yea I read alot :| I love books . :oops:

I would love to get my hands on Love in the time of cholera , I rell liked tht movie , i'm positive i'll love the book :| ..

my list for next month
Fin read my 3 text's
start acheron ( sherrilyn kenyon )
reread Zarek (same author )

read a book about gengis khan

anybody wanna recommend a book to me ?

hey i' read the whole entire series in a month, still havent finished acheron...
currently reading black dagger brotherhood- bk 8

I read Cassandra Clear - The Mortal Instruments saga