Haiti Post - Earthquake in Pictures

Snags

Postby Snags » January 15th, 2010, 1:46 pm

Most charity organisations advise against people sending food and clothes actually as they would prefer if you sent the money so they could get what was actually needed.

Postby equipped2ripp » January 15th, 2010, 2:00 pm

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/crVfbOjFoHA&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="560" height="340"></embed>

xtech

Postby xtech » January 15th, 2010, 2:45 pm

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/CcFVxl8oclY&color1=0xb1b1b1&color2=0xcfcfcf&hl=en_US&feature=player_embedded&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" width="425" height="344"></embed>

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » January 15th, 2010, 2:49 pm

RASC wrote:I've been advising ppl over here...forget the clothes.
It is NOT cold, the weather is NOT a major issue.

Medical supplies, Food, sanitation supplies, water purification tablets and heavy machinery to remove and clear streets.
That is what is most important right now.

Rene the mere comfort of removing dusty clothing and wearing fresh clothes provides a calming reaction ..

so yea wey we sending the clothes ???

I have linens as well ..

Flex030

Postby Flex030 » January 15th, 2010, 3:04 pm

I'm not sure if this was posted earlier in the thread but it won't hurt to post it twice.

Bmobile: text "HAITI" to code GIVE (4483) to donate $10 for every text sent to 4483

Digicel text "help" to 5151 to make a $3 donation for every text sent... :wink:

Digicel text "help" to 5252 to make a $20 donation for every text sent... :wink:

Digicel text "help" to 5253 to make a $50 donation for every text sent... :wink:

Digicel text "help" to 5254 to make a $100 donation for every text sent... :wink:
Last edited by Flex030 on January 15th, 2010, 4:22 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby Maserati » January 15th, 2010, 3:13 pm

if no organizations at this point in time are accepting clothes then hold off till they are..some of all yuh look like you just want to off load all the old clothes you have...

Postby RASC » January 15th, 2010, 3:15 pm

eurogirl wrote:
RASC wrote:I've been advising ppl over here...forget the clothes.
It is NOT cold, the weather is NOT a major issue.

Medical supplies, Food, sanitation supplies, water purification tablets and heavy machinery to remove and clear streets.
That is what is most important right now.

Rene the mere comfort of removing dusty clothing and wearing fresh clothes provides a calming reaction ..

so yea wey we sending the clothes ???

I have linens as well ..

No one is denying that. But you can't eat clothes, you can't use clothes to mend broken limbs and you can't use clothes to take a drink.

The clothes will be sent AFTERWARD. Right now they need MONEY, WATER, MEDICAL AID, FOOD, SANITATION in that order. Clothes comes after. Probably in 2-3 weeks time.

Postby RASC » January 15th, 2010, 3:23 pm

It's like talking to a brick wall I swear. Don't you guys understand...the cargo planes have to circle for LONG periods, thus they need to make sure they have enough fuel on board. ERGO more CLOTHES=MORE WEIGHT=MORE FUEL...(of which there is a serious shortage. Cargo Planes have been grounded as a result until more fuel can be sourced.)

When clothes are NOT the main needs right now. It is not freezing, they are not going anywhere...clothes are not the main need. Clothes can't protect you from the spread of Cholera, you can't use clothes to move rubble and you can't use clothes to ensure safety at night. Good Grief man :!:
Last edited by RASC on January 15th, 2010, 3:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » January 15th, 2010, 3:25 pm

Satellite pics (before and after)

http://www.wired.com/wiredscience/2010/ ... uake/all/1

and some pics from 48hrs after (some graphic)

http://www.boston.com/bigpicture/2010/0 ... later.html
Last edited by original_lollybob on January 15th, 2010, 7:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby streetbeastINC. » January 15th, 2010, 7:05 pm

i hope 100% of the money we have DOnated is reaching the people !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

you know how things have a way of slipping away!!....

Postby equipped2ripp » January 15th, 2010, 10:24 pm

Maserati wrote:if no organizations at this point in time are accepting clothes then hold off till they are..some of all yuh look like you just want to off load all the old clothes you have...

well at least it's for a good cause :roll:

Postby wagonrunner » January 15th, 2010, 10:30 pm

Maserati wrote:if no organizations at this point in time are accepting clothes then hold off till they are..some of all yuh look like you just want to off load all the old clothes you have...

DING!!!!!!! DING!!!!!!! DING!!!!!!! DING!!!!!!!

and then "oh, i donated stuff to them in their time of need". :|

Postby Cjruckus » January 15th, 2010, 10:33 pm

Why give the Haitians money anyway?
Im sure there is widespread looting in the city and the government is just going to steal the majority of this Financial Aid.

gencon

Postby gencon » January 15th, 2010, 10:45 pm

2 Timothy 3:1-3 (New King James Version)

2 Timothy 3
Perilous Times and Perilous Men
1 But know this, that in the last days perilous times will come: 2 For men will be lovers of themselves, lovers of money, boasters, proud, blasphemers, disobedient to parents, unthankful, unholy, 3 unloving, unforgiving, slanderers, without self-control, brutal, despisers of good,

Snags

Postby Snags » January 15th, 2010, 11:11 pm

^That's also a part of the problem, though. People actually are just getting rid of their "rags" and old food, not making a personal sacrifice, but dumping stuff with the assumption that your rags must be riches since these people just lost everything. No, no, Snags is not saying that everyone is doing it for this reason, he is just highlighting the fact that some people are and do, which is why your financial contribution would be greater appreciated, or at least, one of the reasons. Donate your clothing and food supplies and labor if you can still , just know why you're doing it. God is love, Rev Snags.

2 d Max Auto
Location: SMR Chase Village, 1 Minute North of Triangle. Open 7AM to 7PM. Call: 461-234

Postby 2 d Max Auto » January 15th, 2010, 11:11 pm

Hey guys hope this isn't being reposted, I haven't had a chance to read through the thread since my last post.

Here is a list of legit organization that will accept aid for Haiti:

DROP OFF CENTERS FOR RELIEF ITEMS NON-PERISHABLES ONLY (See list below)

Cyril Ross S.V.P Nursery El Dorado Road, Tunapuna 662-8975

Nazareth House 20 Duncan Street, Port of Spain 623-8166

Archbishop Finbar Ryan Geriatric Home Sarganga Trace, Four Roads, Diego Martin 633-0882

St. Vincent De Paul Home for the Aged Mason Hall, Tobago 639-6715

St. Vincent De Paul Home for the Aged Independence Avenue, San Fernando 657-8777

St. Andrews Home For the Aged 136 Belmont Circular Road, Belmont 624-1525

Tritscher Home For the Aged Saddle Road, Bourg Mulatresse, Santa Cruz 674-0917

Rigsby Pius Charles Home for the Aged Industry Street, Arima 667-7072

Ozanam Boys’ Hostel 19 Duncan Street, Port of Spain 623-4926

W.V. Clerk Hostel Independence Avenue, San Fernando 657-8777

Ozanam Night Shelter 21 Duncan Street, Port of Spain 623-4926

Ozanam Night Shelter Basilon Street, Tunapuna 662-8975

Ozanam Night Shelter Independence Avenue, San Fernando 657-8777

Nazareth Halfway House for Men 21 Duncan Street, Port of Spain 623-6638

Audrey Mollineau Halfway House for Women 119 Tenth Street, Barataria 638-9021

Centre for Socially Displaced Persons 1 Town Council Street, Port of Spain 624-5297

SVP Documentation Centre Gulf City Mall, La Romain

Eternal Light Community 62 Back Street, Tunapuna 645-0525

House of Marketing O’meara Road, Industrial Boulevard, Arima 354-7034

Salvation Army NON-PERISHABLES AND CLOTHING

Headquarters 154A Henry Street, Port of Spain 625-4120

Tunapuna 36 Eastern Main Road, Tunapuna 720-0814

San Fernando 33 Coffee Street, San Fernando 652-5673

Tobago Dutch Fort Road, Tobago 639-3406

House of Marketing O’meara Road, Industrial Boulevard, Arima 354-7034

LIST OF ITEMS REQUIRED FOR HAITI RELIEF OPERATION

WATER

HYGIENE KITS

PILLOWS

MATTRESSES

SHEETS

CANNED ITEMS

CANDLES

STYROFOAM CUPS

PLASTIC SPOONS

TARPAULINS

CONTAINERS FOR WATER STORAGE

PURIFICATION TABLETS

BATTERIES

TORCH LIGHTS

FIRST AID KITS

TINS OF CRACKERS

SMALL SNACKS

INSECT REPELLANT (BOTTLES)

MOSQUITO NETS

FLOUR

SUGAR

RICE

MILK (Powdered/Evaporated/Condensed)

SOAP POWDER

BLEACH

MACARONI

SALT

PINE SOL/LYSOL

COOKING OIL

DISH WASHING LIQUID

BAKING POWDER

CHOCOLATE DRINKS

COFFEE/TEA BAGS

FRUIT JUICES

CORN BEEF

PEAS & CARROTS

SARDINES

TUNA

BAKED BEANS

CORN

VIENNA SAUSAGES

GREEN PEAS

BATTERY OPERATED LAMPS/LANTERNS

COTS

TENTS

P0TS, PANS, PLATES, CUTLERY

SANITARY NAPKINS

PAMPERS

RUBBER BOOTS

BATH SOAP

GARBAGE BAGS

BATH TOWELS/WASH RAGS

TOOTHPASTE

BLANKETS

BUCKETS

LIQUID SOAP

RAG CLOTHS FOR CLEANING

DUST MASKS

HOUSEHOLD GLOVES

EMERGENCY FIRST AID KITS

NON PERISHABLE FOOD ITEMS

HYGIENE PACKS – TOOTH BRUSH, ETC.

CHILDREN, ADULT & BABIES CLOTHING

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 16th, 2010, 7:05 am

^ no keep that for the betham

urabus

Postby urabus » January 16th, 2010, 8:31 am

just a note...that one of our trinidadians are still unaccounted for in Haiti..so plz say a special prayer for him, Mr Gregory McAlpin - he was at the hotel when the earthquake struck....

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/article_news?id=161583054

sad to see the man just went for a meeting, (he actually works with my dad) :(

Terran

Postby Terran » January 16th, 2010, 2:41 pm

I don't know if this is a repost, but here is life before the earthquake.

http://worldfocus.org/blog/2009/02/19/d ... -mud/4120/

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » January 16th, 2010, 2:44 pm

just when you thought it couldn't get any worse...in steps Dubya. Lewwe hope Bill give him a cigar or two to stay quiet. :|

http://www.cnn.com/2010/WORLD/americas/ ... tml?hpt=T1

Postby Damien » January 16th, 2010, 2:57 pm

Terran wrote:I don't know if this is a repost, but here is life before the earthquake.

wtf

Postby equipped2ripp » January 16th, 2010, 4:00 pm

:shock: :shock: :shock: :cry:

Postby RASC » January 16th, 2010, 4:10 pm

Cjruckus wrote:Why give the Haitians money anyway?
Im sure there is widespread looting in the city and the government is just going to steal the majority of this Financial Aid.

No No No ...the AID agencies. The last thing you wanna do is give a country which doesn't even have a gov't :?

Postby RASC » January 16th, 2010, 4:15 pm

Terran wrote:I don't know if this is a repost, but here is life before the earthquake.

That's so sick. I could barely watch.

Postby RASC » January 16th, 2010, 4:24 pm

pioneer wrote:Just the reaction the media wanted...that goin on for yearsssssssss in haiti

Hell in afghanistan mothers feed their babies wood from broken down houses

Mud pies in India too.
...just enough to shock the world for 5 mins before they remember they have a cocktail party to attend tonight.

Postby RASC » January 16th, 2010, 4:39 pm

pioneer wrote::lol: :lol: :lol:

like OMGGGG this is sooo horriblee :roll:

[conventaccent] Like Oh My Gawd Eh. That is sooooo bad-I mean all those years we were wasting mud for jourvert, we could've donated it-you know what I'm saying? :oops: [/conventaccent]

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » January 16th, 2010, 4:42 pm

^ yuh mean conVUNT aksunt

Postby M_2NR » January 16th, 2010, 7:59 pm

On another note...

Pat Robertson Voodoo Doll
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi ... CA:US:1123

All Proceeds Go to Haiti Relief

Postby redmanjp » January 16th, 2010, 8:36 pm

sharkman121 wrote:oh fackkkkk :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

i wonder how long God go be a trini for boy :|

not for long according to this

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl ... =161582471

UWI seismologist, Dr Joan Latchman said yesterday that Trinidad and Tobago, despite the fact that our fear of major earthquakes may be lulled because we have not had a major shake in decades, is in fact 22 years overdue.

She said a tremor of similar proportions to the one which wrecked Haiti’s capital city of Port-au-Prince just two days ago has been on the cards for over two decades.

And if it does hit, those living in areas like the swampy Beetham Gardens, Laventille hill sides, the reclaimed sea beds in West Trinidad and unplanned squatting communities are those who are most vulnerable to experiencing the worst effects of the brutal shaking that will come along with the earthquake.

This according to a team of seismology experts and earthquake engineers who held a press conference at the University of the West Indies Seismic Research Unit, in St Augustine yesterday.

When asked about this country’s level of risk, given the proximity of Haiti, Latchman said, ’We do sit on the corner of the Caribbean plate, all of the Eastern Caribbean, including Venezuela is on a seismic plate boundary. So yes we will have earthquakes.’

After explaining that seismologists have given the country a century long cycle in relation to the occurrence of large earthquakes, she then said given that the last major shake occurred between Grenada and T&T in 1888, the country was about 22 years overdue.

She said, ’We do expect a large event soon. How soon is what we don’t know.’

However, Latchman said there was no need for mass panic if the country kept in mind that earthquakes are not what kill people, but instead it was the falling debris and sometimes improperly built buildings which did the damage.

She warned that the country should prepare.

’When the big earthquake does occur, we do not want it to devastate the economy and destroy the country.’

Dr Walter Salazar, an earthquake engineer at UWI also said that Trinidad and Tobago should have country specific building codes, that was based on the result of seismic maps done for this region, not based on codes that work for foreign countries.

He said at present T&T uses a United States developed building code.

Salazar warned, ’Using building codes, from abroad is not appropriate.’

He said the region must begin to understand their own level of ’seismic hazard.’

Both agreed this country had no country specific building codes and no agency properly enforces laws on building construction in this country and that needs to be rectified.

While they said engineers would adhere to the standards for large projects, they said these rules are not always held by those constructing residential properties.

Lloyd Lynch, Acting director of UWI’s seismic research centre said, ’We need stronger compliance, stronger agencies to police construction.’

Postby RASC » January 17th, 2010, 10:38 am

pioneer, Why you think I've been clamoring for the Marines to rest some bullets on they arse to ensure the innocent get helped and operations move even more swiftly.

These rag tag militias don't care about their other hungry brothers and sisters, they only care for themselves. The U.N. peace keeping teams (MINISTUH) is a JOKE...send in the Marines to wipe out the filth while protecting the real victims.