Trinidad Express wrote:BEATRICE Welters has been confirmed as the United States ambassador to Trinidad and Tobago.
Welters was confirmed by the US Senate as Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the United States of America to the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago last Wednesday, the US Embassy’s public affairs officer Matthew Cassetta told the Express by telephone yesterday.
It is not known exactly when Welters will officially take up the position in Port of Spain, Cassetta said.
Welters still has to be sworn into office by US Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton, Cassetta said. A date for this swearing-in ceremony is to be scheduled.
This country has been without a US Ambassador since the tenure of Dr Roy Austin ended in January last year.
Austin assumed duties as ambassador on October 19, 2001 under the presidency of George W Bush.
With Austin’s departure, Len Kusnitz assumed the role of chargé d’affaires- the official temporarily in charge of a diplomatic mission in the absence of the ambassador.
’Everyone at the embassy is waiting anxiously for her (Welters) to officially assume office,’ Cassetta said.
A profile on the US embassy’s website, trinidad.usembassy.gov, says Welters is currently the president and chairman of the AnBryce Foundation which provides long-term academic and leadership enrichment programmes for young people.
’Welters founded the Foundation in 1995. From 1977 to 1991, she worked at IBM, where she held several roles, including systems engineer.
Ms Welters is also a past presidential appointee to the John F Kennedy Centre for the Performing Arts serving on its Executive Committee. She continues to serve on the Library of Congress Madison Council. Ms Welters also serves as a trustee at the Brookings Institute, the Aspen Institute, the National Symphony Orchestra, the Washington Jesuit Academy, and at the Maret School.
Ms Welters holds an AA from Ulster County Community College, a BA from Manhattanville College, and a MA from the City University of New York.’
ZeroOne wrote:Once you is around 20 is like they automatically reject you if its the first time you going to the US, no matter how much money and ties you have.
The consular section also routinely refused youthful applicants who have — with their families — held U.S. visas, visited the United States, and complied with the terms of their visas all their lives, but upon reaching maturity are suddenly viewed as intending immigrants for no apparent reason. Many hail from prominent families unlikely to abandon a lifestyle of privilege hard to duplicate in the United States. Again, both the U.S. Immigration and Nationality Act and the Foreign Affairs Manual argue against such pro forma refusals.
ZeroOne wrote:Once you is around 20 is like they automatically reject you if its the first time you going to the US, no matter how much money and ties you have.
Yes I am, thanks for noticing.TriniVdub wrote:Stephon yuh iz ah beti ent?
pioneer wrote:I think they should refund people at least 50% if they get denied, isn't the $140US a "processing" fee?...if the process doesn't take place in it's entirety...then...the entire service wasn't rendered therefore a refund should be in order?
But alas, the mighty USA captalist regime prevails
Code: Select all
http://www.usdebtclock.org/
US Embassy Trinidad & Tobago wrote:U.S. Embassy Announces Changes in Consular Procedures
The Embassy of the United States of America is pleased to inform the Citizens of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago of the following important changes in consular procedures applying to visa applications and American Citizen Services:
NEW Non-Immigrant Visa Application Form
The United States Department of State has developed a new electronic non-immigrant visa application form, the DS-160, which incorporates all existing NIV applications into one interactive, online form. The DS-160 replaces the three forms that made up the Electronic Visa Application Form (EVAF). The DS-160 will be implemented and required at all U.S. Embassies and Consulates worldwide.
Non-immigrant visa applicants in Trinidad and Tobago may use the new DS-160 application form as an option beginning April 15, 2010. Use of the new form is mandatory for all non-immigrant visa applicants, except ‘B1/B2’ business/tourist visa applicants, beginning April 19, 2010. Use of the new form is mandatory for all non-immigrant visa applicants including ‘B1/B2’ business/tourist visa applicants, beginning May 1, 2010.
NEW Appointment System for American Citizen Services
To provide more efficient services for U.S. citizens residing in Trinidad and Tobago, the Consular Section will begin using an online appointment system for American Citizen Services (ACS), to include all non-emergency services:
· Applying for a U.S. Passport
· Adding visa pages to a U.S. Passport
· Applying for a Consular Report of Birth Abroad (CRBA)
· Returning to submit additional documents for a pending CRBA or Passport
application
· Notarial Services
· Social Security and other Federal Benefit queries
U.S. citizens may begin using the new appointment system on April 15, 2010. Appointments will be mandatory for all non-emergency American Citizen Services beginning May 1, 2010.
U.S. citizens requiring emergency ACS services for crime victim assistance, death, medical, and arrest cases will not need an appointment.
The new ACS appointment system will be implemented and required at all U.S. Embassies and Consulates worldwide.
Complimentary Information Session
The Embassy will hold a complimentary information session for travel agencies, cyber cafes employees, and civic/business organizations on the new ACS appointment system and the new DS-160 non-immigrant visa application form on Wednesday, April 28, 2010 at the U.S. Embassy. Due to space considerations, only one representative per organization may attend.
Individuals interested in attending the session must RSVP no later than April 23, 2010. To RSVP, interested individuals should email their full name, name of organization, and contact information to ConsularPOS@State.Gov.
Additional Information
For more information on our consular procedures, please visit the U.S. Department of State’s website at http://travel.state.gov, or email the Consular Section in Port of Spain at ConsularPOS@State.gov.
Trinidad Express: "Anil wants answers from US on visa denials" wrote:THE United States Embassy should give citizens of this country a better explanation for denying them visas, Minister of Sport and Youth Affairs Anil Roberts said yesterday.
Speaking with the Express during the re-enactment of the Declaration of Emancipation on the Brian Lara Promenade, Port of Spain yesterday, Roberts said he agreed with some of the issues raised by a man who carried two placards objecting to the US visa policy.
"As citizen we want a good relationship with the US, we are friends, we are trading partners but really and truly more explanation should be given to citizens as to why they are being denied," Roberts said.
The protester Addil Abdullah, who said that he did not want a US visa, held placards during the emancipation celebrations in Port of Spain.
Roberts, who was near Abdullah as he stood in the crowd, told Abdullah that he agreed with some of the things he was saying and added that he hoped that the citizens would not line up in the "hot sun" waiting for a US visa either.
Roberts referred to two incidents involving sporting personnel -- national footballer Sean de Silva and former national high jumper Janille Prime -- both of whom were denied visas to enter the United States to continue their studies.
"These things are very worrisome, it appears that there is no clear policy that we could understand," Roberts said adding that the Minister of Foreign Affairs Surujrattan Rambachan would have talks with them (the US Embassy) "with a view of getting some sort of clarity".
Rambachan, in a telephone interview, yesterday said that it is the "right of a country to deny entrants" adding that the right sort of conversation must take place and continue to take place between the United States and Trinidad and Tobago.
He added that since assuming office in May, 18 students seeking to further their education in the United States sought his help in acquiring visas after they were denied by the American Embassy.
Abdullah's protest come on the heels of last weeks visit by Assistant Secretary of State for the Western Hemisphere, Dr Arturo Valenzuela.
During his three-day visit, Valenzuela said that about 70 per cent of the 36,000 visa applications each year from Trinidad and Tobago nationals are approved.
Public Affairs Officer of the US Embassy Matthew Cassetta said yesterday that there are no plans to change the US visa policy.
Trinidad Express: "US Embassy official 'farse and out of place'" wrote:PUBLIC Affairs Officer at the United States Embassy, Matthew Cassetta, is "farse and out of place", says Sport and Youth Affairs Minister, Anil Roberts.
"As a minister here to serve the people, if the media asks me a question, I choose to answer, I choose not to say no comment...because the media represents the views of the people," he said.
Roberts was speaking at a press conference at the ministry's head office in Port of Spain yesterday in response to criticisms by Casseta that he followed the wrong protocol in his response to an Express reporter who approached him after he spoke to someone protesting about the embassy's visa system.
On Sunday, Roberts told the Express that the US Embassy should give citizens a better explanation for denying them visas.
And yesterday, Casseta was quoted in the Guardian as saying that Roberts should have followed protocol and sent a diplomatic note regarding any complaints.
"I couched my statement very carefully and followed protocols, in fact after our swearing in, the first minister I spoke to was Minister of Foreign Affairs, Dr Surujrattan Rambachan, and I shared with him my concerns and it was enunciated by the protestor there on the Promenade on Emancipation Day," Roberts said yesterday.
Additionally, Roberts said the issue was discussed in Cabinet and the Minister of Foreign Affairs has started negotiations and discussions with the relevant officials.
"Now it seems as if people did not hear that part, but I then went on to say in my own capacity as Minister of Sport and Youth Affairs that I know of cases involving two athletes...furthermore I have made many requests through writing letters and diplomatic notes and not once have I received a note saying 'minister we have received your letter'," he said.
As such, a visibly annoyed Roberts called on Cassetta to explain why he in turn chose to address the issue via the very media.
"Because I would suggest to him that he is a guest in this country. No one elected him...and I think the official from the embassy is farse and out of place to be discussing in the newspaper that a minister of government in this country is out of place to be asking him anything. So I think the shoe is on the other foot and he should read his diplomatic manual before commenting," he said.
Calls to the Embassy yesterday afternoon to get Cassetta to respond proved futile as he had already left and no other official wanted to comment.
A July 2009 report compiled by the Office of the Inspector General in the US Department of State with regard to the operations of the embassy located in Trinidad and Tobago has stated that once a individual meets the requirement for a visa they cannot be turned down nor can someone be turned down if in the past they have had a US visa.
The report can be viewed by logging on to www.oig.state.gov
Trinidad Express: "US ambassador defends embassy's visa process" wrote:UNITED STATES ambassador to this country Beatrice Welters has come out in defence of her consular officers, saying they always process visa applications according to the letter of the law.
"We take the letter of the law very seriously and, thus, all of our processes are according to US legal norms, especially those enshrined in the Immigration and Naturalisation Act of 1952," she said in a press release.
Welters's statement was issued following claims made by Minister of Sports and Youth Affairs Anil Roberts the visa-selection process was not fair.
Roberts used the cases of two national athletes who were granted visas once and then turned down a second time to highlight his criticism of the visa process.
However, Welters said many US officials have been impressed with their consular operations, particularly since they efficiently process some 36,000 applications annually.
"US visas processes seem to be of great interest to many here in the Caribbean. As a sovereign country, the USA is committed to balancing border security needs with welcoming and encouraging travel to the United States," she said.
In fact, Welters added thus far, they have processed over 20,000 visa applications, approving 71 per cent for visa issuance.
"I have personally seen consular officers at work interviewing applicants and can affirm that they are courteous and effective in dealing with the public while balancing the need for compliance with US security measures and the letter of the law," she said.
In July 2009, however, that was not the case at the embassy, according to a report compiled by the Office of the Inspector General in the US Department of State, with regard to its operations.
The report, deemed "sensitive but unclassified", highlighted how non-immigrant visa officers were, for years, being trained to refuse visas to certain types of people, including pregnant women, women who already had a child in the US and locals going to America for job training.
The report also found consular management argued applicants just out of school and or starting first jobs "are poor candidates for full-validity visas because they might leave those jobs and stay illegally in the US".
"However, section 214(b) of the Immigration and Nationality Act clearly states that "every alien" shall be presumed to be an immigrant until he establishes to the satisfaction of the consular officer, at the time of application for admission, that he is entitled to a non-immigrant status", the investigators had stated.
src1983 wrote:My girl got turned down this week.....the reason given
"she doesnt have enough money..........."
i didn't know you need more that 50k just to go on vacation..........
src1983 wrote:My girl got turned down this week.....the reason given
"she doesnt have enough money..........."
i didn't know you need more that 50k just to go on vacation..........