.::The Official Nokia Thread::.

original_lollybob

Re: .::The Official Nokia Thread::.

Postby original_lollybob » August 19th, 2010, 8:48 am

http://www.engadget.com/2010/08/19/noki ... -of-china/

Remember this scandalous little leak from back in June? It looks to have been validated today, as imagery of Nokia's MeeGo (or is it Symbian^4?)-powered N9 QWERTY slider has emerged over in China. As usual with these things, we can't be certain that this device is in fact part of Nokia's roadmap and not just another creative hardware emulation, but it sure seems to have our old buddy Eldar Murtazin convinced. Seeing it with clear N9 branding, we can now say that the previously unknown Nokia slider was more likely the N8-01, a keyboard-equipped version of the (still) upcoming N8. The source of this N9 leak reports that it's not in its final retail shape, as it doesn't match up to "the latest drawings," but is apparently planned for a release in the 48th week (i.e. beginning of December) of this year. The prototype, built in Finland, is said to have an entirely metallic construction (more aluminum would be our guess), with only the keyboard buttons, USB cover, and a few decorative parts being plastic. See more of it, including a thorough teardown, in the gallery below.

Update: A friendly mole of ours ran this handset's serial number through an internal Nokia system and has confirmed it as a Nokia prototype. He was also able to uncover an RM-680 product type classification (further distancing this from the RM-626 slider) and a 0595571 product code. Add those to the "Prototype Build B2" and "Property of Nokia" labeling inside the phone's battery compartment, and you've got yourself a very strong candidate for the real deal here.

Re: .::The Official Nokia Appreciation Thread::.

Postby Sinister_Audio » September 13th, 2010, 7:51 am

original_lollybob wrote:anybody have a nokia 5800 running firmware 50.x.xxx?

My slide to answer not workin anymore...

nor the slide to turn off or snooze the alarm...

this happening to anyone else?

k well go to the theme settings on your phone and check and see if the theme effects are on or off...

if you did an update then prolly some default settings were changed... and it prolly went back to the original factory setting...

...k now to my issue, i did a search on nokia's site to see if there were any updates avail for my 5800(usa model) and i was told there was a "Latest software release for Nokia 5800 XpressMusic is 51.2.007" ...now....after checking to see if i had this version, apparently i dont... now after installing the latest version of nokia software updater, AND pc suite....a check was made to see if i had any avail updates, unfortunately i dont :|

soo....please dont tell me i need to go and do this manually.... cuz im almost sure i dont have V51.2.007.... anyone else running this?

thanx... much... Chris

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » September 13th, 2010, 8:22 am

yo

re. my issue with the slide to answer... the screen guard i had was covering the proximity sensor...

so a lil snip and that problem was solved
===
your issue... im running 51.2.007 (kinetic scroll is way better and the phone doh vibrate so much when u tapping 'keys')

did the update over the air...

cause sometimes nokia update thru pc suite doesn't have the update but OTA does...

to do over the air

*#0000#

options

check for updates (course u gonna need to be on WiFi or data SIM)

your welcome :D ... Marc

Postby SUPAstarr » September 13th, 2010, 8:50 am

Holy moly, it's all gone topsy turvy over in Nokia's camp. After Olli-Pekka Kallasvuo was given his marching orders on Friday, this week it's the turn of Anssi Vanjoki -- who only recently became the company's Mobile Solutions leader -- to announce his departure. Anssi has handed in his requisite six-month notice along with the following statement:
"I felt the time has come to seek new opportunities in my life. At the same time, I am one hundred per cent committed to doing my best for Nokia until my very last working day. I am also really looking forward to this year's Nokia World and sharing news about exciting new devices and solutions."

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » September 13th, 2010, 8:54 am

just read that...

anybody buyin the N8 when is released at month end?

rossi

Postby rossi » September 13th, 2010, 9:19 am

original_lollybob wrote:just read that...

anybody buyin the N8 when is released at month end?

not month end for me :? ...prob around December.
and you?

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » September 13th, 2010, 9:23 am

i hope to do december as well...

if not early next year...

wat kinna price u think they gonna hit us wit here?

I dono why one of our carriers doh subsidise it nah

rossi

Postby rossi » September 13th, 2010, 11:27 am

that might be in the 3800 - 4500 range my friend. I'm still 50/50 on buying this phone just because of the price and rumours of a N9 coming out in the next few months...BUT the reason for me is the 12MP camera, so it kinda sounds like a great investment.
If Bmobile gets it...hoss, it gonna be more expensive.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » September 14th, 2010, 8:33 am

Nokia makes E7 QWERTY slider official: 'beautiful and all business'

Nokia's just unveiled its aluminum-clad E7 QWERTY slider handset. One of the new family of Symbian^3 devices, it has a 4-inch tilting touchscreen display on the front and an 8 megapixel imager capable of 720p video on the back. Yummy. It's said to be the best business device Nokia, or anyone else, has ever produced and comes with the touted ability to create PowerPoint slides on the go. The E7 also features Nokia's new ClearBlack Display sorcery and is expected to ship before the end of the year in exchange for €495 (before taxes and subsidies). You'll find the full press release after the break.

Nokia E7 first hands-on

Wow. That's the feeling that hits when you pick up the Nokia E7 for the first time. That 4-inch "Clear Black" display really pops as you'd expect from AMOLED and the full QWERTY slider is packed into an incredibly svelte and attractive form factor. Impressions coming up shortly. Until then, check out the E7 next to its N8 cousin and iPhone 4 foe.

The screen is simply gorgeous -- ClearBlack may be a gimmicky trademark, but CBD's black levels are no joke. We're definitely talking Super AMOLED degrees of awesome, which means that Samsung's stranglehold on badass mobile displays was pretty short-lived -- unless Nokia is sourcing CBD from Sammy, of course. At this point, we don't know and the Nokia reps we've spoken to have been unable or unwilling to tell us.
The keyboard is the best we can remember using on any Nokia. Finally: a straight-up great Nokia keyboard without any fatal flaws like an off-center spacebar or a slider that doesn't slide far enough -- it just works. It's rubbery with a ton of clickiness, and in our quick tests, we were able to belt out verbiage without error.
The slide mechanism is... well, weird. Simply pressing up from the bottom of the display doesn't do any good -- we fiddled with it for a minute before realizing that we could get it to go by prying up on the top side with our fingernails. Turns out that the "proper" technique is two firm thumbs on the bottom, which worked for us, though it takes a little getting used to (and you need to make sure your fingers holding the phone up top aren't in the way).
Jury's still out on performance. Apparently, the swiping problems on the home screen -- which we also experienced on the C6-01 and C7 -- are being passed off by Nokia as a feature that prevents you from accidentally swiping. Sounds like PR spin to us, but we'll have to wait and see how the retail devices work.

Postby tr1ad » September 14th, 2010, 2:36 pm

soooooo how the N900 holding up?
looking to come out of this laggy BB but want something that offer me my corporate email access

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » September 14th, 2010, 5:04 pm

^
well nokia does support mail for exchange.. so if yuh company uses an exchange server...

yuh good to go

Postby tr1ad » September 14th, 2010, 8:22 pm

nah last time i try to use nokia mail for exchange on a E71 it wasn't working

Postby Sinister_Audio » September 14th, 2010, 8:36 pm

original_lollybob wrote:yo

re. my issue with the slide to answer... the screen guard i had was covering the proximity sensor...

===
your issue... im running 51.2.007 (kinetic scroll is way better and the phone doh vibrate so much when u tapping 'keys')

cause sometimes nokia update thru pc suite doesn't have the update but OTA does...

to do over the air

*#0000#

options

when i do the 'check for updates' it says 'server not responding'
how and what should i use to get a suitable server profile?
im attempting to do this via my own home wifi connection....

thnx Chris

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » September 14th, 2010, 8:56 pm

Sinister_Audio wrote:
original_lollybob wrote:yo

===

to do over the air

*#0000#

options

when i do the 'check for updates' it says 'server not responding'
how and what should i use to get a suitable server profile?
im attempting to do this via my own home wifi connection....

thnx Chris

hmmm interesting.. u have a server profile set up? if so delete that...

i also get the server not found error but i jus keep tryin for a lil while and then it connects...

worked fine jus now

Postby Sinister_Audio » September 15th, 2010, 12:30 am

ummm nope still not working...
is it possible to do it manually? SAFELY?

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » September 15th, 2010, 8:16 am

^
never tried that... but on the sites that offer tutorials on how to do that i not seeing 51.2 listed for download so...

but i doh understand why your OTA not working...

look im doing it now using my office WLAN and its connected...

Postby Sinister_Audio » September 15th, 2010, 8:21 pm

k well i got it to work,
deleted previous server profile and created a new one...

...which then led to me being more annoyed...

apparently there are no avail updates...

however v51 is out, but im on v40 :|

wtf?

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » September 15th, 2010, 9:15 pm

WTF.. version 40?

well not all updates are available for all markets so maybe the server profile u set up has no update available

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » September 15th, 2010, 9:16 pm

If you have tried updating your Nokia smartphone using the Nokia Software Updater (NSU) software and found that you can’t download the latest version of the firmware, you can check with the Update website. To do this, you’ll find a link on the updater that takes you to the main Nokia site. This site will prompt you to enter your phone’s product code.

To find out what your device code is you’ll need to take the back off your phone, remove the battery and look for the Nokia sticker. Type this code into update page and it will tell you whether the latest version is available for your phone. You may need to check a few times before the update comes to your device but it will eventually arrive.

update site

Postby Sinister_Audio » September 16th, 2010, 1:27 am

Re: Nokia 5800 XM software version 51.2.007 ?
13-Sep-2010 02:13 PM

Reasons why a phone cannot update:

1. It is a country variant - country variants often get the updates later, or have updates skipped altogether. A Turkish country variant product code for example, skipped v40 and updated from v31 straight to v50.

2. It is network branded - phones acquired from network providers or these providers' stores SIM free are branded, and will not get updates until the networks approve and modify the updates to their liking.

3. Special editions - These special editions are chartered editions and may never get updates unless taken to a Nokia Care center.

http://discussions.europe.nokia.com/t5/ ... 469#M79976

rossi

Postby rossi » September 17th, 2010, 9:28 pm

To jump back in with the N8 talk here.....I checked out the C6. What you guys think about it? I think I gonna change my mind and go for it instead of the N8.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » September 17th, 2010, 11:28 pm

decent mid ranger... but if u goin for new.. all out wid the n8 or e7!

Postby Sinister_Audio » September 21st, 2010, 10:47 am

k so i just got the official update text from nokia :/
now gonna do the v51 update....

i have 8MB free on the C: drive on my phone....
if i'm using PC suite would i need more if the update is 11MB?
or no because i'm using the PC?

cuz right about now, i have some NEEDED apps on my phone, and apparently thats whats killing the hard drive... and i checked, its no FILES saved on the C drive, i would assume its installed apps...

anyway....would it work via PC suite?

Postby Sinister_Audio » September 21st, 2010, 11:33 am

great update....fone workin bess :)

Postby SUPAstarr » September 21st, 2010, 11:41 am

jus got back my e50...yaye now to spruce it back up

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » September 21st, 2010, 1:44 pm

Sinister_Audio wrote:cuz right about now, i have some NEEDED apps on my phone, and apparently thats whats killing the hard drive... and i checked, its no FILES saved on the C drive, i would assume its installed apps...

anyway....would it work via PC suite?

finally yuh get kinetic scrolling then...

why do u install apps to yuh 'hard drive'?

install them on the mem card so then if yuh have to do a format they still there :mrgreen:

Postby Sinister_Audio » September 22nd, 2010, 1:47 am

k....how do i INSTALL to memcard?
lets say i go to youtube...
and i gonna dwld the utube app...

how do i go about doing that?
cause right now im operating on 10mb of free space,
and no matter HOW i try, i cant get any more space,
if i UNinstall an app, i may get 2mb more (like youtube)

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » September 22nd, 2010, 8:22 am

Starting out with 88MB of flash memory on its internal disk ('C'), you'd think this would be enough for the Nokia 5800 XpressMusic. And it would be, in a perfect world. But intensive use (e.g. installing, trying and removing third party applications, web browsing of Flash-based web sites, map-using, using the built-in 'Device updates' system to upgrade the firmware over the air) means that it's easy for these 88MB to disappear. From my own experiences, as much as 40MB (i.e. almost half the entire disk space) can be, apparently, 'lost'.

Before we get to the most drastic step, here are some easy ways to reclaim space (do make a note of your starting figure, as quoted in 'File Mgr' and then compare at each stage)

delete any known large attachments from Messaging and/or Nokia Messaging

delete any direct downloads you've done

remove any trial applications you've installed to 'Internal memory'

use Y-Browser (or similar) to delete the '\cache' folder on C: (deleting the cache from inside Web isn't as reliable)

(if a Google Maps user) use 'Options | Tools | Reset' - this frees up memory used for cached maps

again in Y-Browser, delete 'C:\system\temp' , there are sometimes Megabytes of .SWF (Flash) files here

The text below is for situations where you've run through the list above and deleted everything non-essential that you can think of and yet you know you're still (potentially) tens of Megabytes 'short'.

Here's how to reclaim as much space as possible of your Nokia 5800's internal flash memory.

Go into 'File Mgr'. You'll find this in the 'Applications' folder. Note the current free disk space on 'C' (often labelled 'Phone memory').

Double-tap on 'Backup' and check that 'Backup contents' is set to 'All'.

Use 'Options | Back up now' to do a backup (to card). You can say 'Yes' to the prompt about overwriting a previous backup, if applicable.

It's also now a good idea to check that you know which applications you've installed to disk C and that you know where to download/restore the SIS files from - in case you have to reinstall at the end of the procedure.

When finished (the backup takes a couple of minutes to run), go to the dial pad (on the home screen) and tap out *#7370#, the 'hard reset' sequence for S60 phones. Effectively, this completely wipes the C disk and forces the Operating System to start its system folders from scratch. Your phone will restart as part of this sequence and note that the startup will take a bit longer than usual.

PS. The 'lock code' for a Nokia handset is '12345', unless you've changed it or unless you have a network-branded phone and the network has changed it!!

Once restarted, go back to 'File Mgr', to check free space on disk C again (about 88MB, but this will vary according to the exact 5800 variant you own)

Tap on 'Backup' again, but then tap on 'Options | Restore'.

Check all the content boxes and then tap on 'OK'. Wait while your data, settings and applications are restored from the backup.

Restart the phone.

Go back into 'File Mgr' and you should see that you now have significantly more free disk space on 'C'.

You should now be up and running, but may have to complete the following steps:

Reinstate your Bluetooth pairings (e.g. with your headset and desktop)

Re-organise your application folders again, if needed, as the assignments of apps to folders will have been reset to the default. So you'll need to fiddle with these.

Re-install any applications that had been installed to disk C, if needed. Google Maps is one that you will need to do.

Phew! Depending on how much you had to do, you've still earnt yourself a coffee or beer! Most importantly, you've had a good spring clean and have a lot more space to play with on your phone's internal memory.

Source (C) Steve Litchfield, All About Symbian

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » September 22nd, 2010, 8:24 am

To install apps to the mem card, when u installing choose the memory card instead of phone memory...

cornfused

Postby cornfused » September 22nd, 2010, 11:27 am

was looking at the C series as an upgrade to my old digicel 6131 that was falling apart even though it is probably used in total one month out of a calendar year , i wanted the C3 , but after realizing that although i was a post paid customer for more than 4 year with digicel , i had to pay the prepaid price for the phone :?, what a load of crock as a post paid customer the only real value i get is n the price of the handset . Well i still had the E51 and that is used , how can they continue with a policy that in advertised prices the post paid cheaper price is only for new accounts :?

also the C3 is lacking in several areas compared to the e 51 less memory and no RAM , less display colors but is has a flash light and longer standby and talk times son in the end i am not convinced that the C3is an upgrade for the E51