PREMIUM gas now $4.00/L .......lets discuss

TK!

Postby TK! » September 22nd, 2008, 10:59 pm

~˜VëgŲ˜~ wrote:$210 to full premium gorne up to $280.

iz a cessna yuh have or wha?

my civic does take 110 and give me at least 350km.

jason_79

Postby jason_79 » September 22nd, 2008, 11:04 pm

$120 to full b15, 550 km

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » September 22nd, 2008, 11:05 pm

My COROLLA give me 565km.

Moral of the story: Buy a Corolla and save money on gas 0X 0X 0X

jason_79

Postby jason_79 » September 22nd, 2008, 11:08 pm

that b15 do drive without ac

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » September 22nd, 2008, 11:08 pm

toyota2nr wrote:My COROLLA give me 565km.

i get 4somthing on mines.

jason_79

Postby jason_79 » September 22nd, 2008, 11:11 pm

toyota2nr wrote:My COROLLA give me 565km.

550 with ac right through

eitech

Postby eitech » September 22nd, 2008, 11:12 pm

stupes, doubles went up and ppl still buy it..dis won't make no difference

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » September 22nd, 2008, 11:22 pm

Ha ha Shiro i with you. but you have to go first.

Yup withac on right through, but i badly need a service right now.

Next month maybe.

jason_79

Postby jason_79 » September 22nd, 2008, 11:26 pm

[quote="toyota2nr"]Ha ha Shiro i with you. but you have to go first.

Yup withac on right through, but i badly need a service right now.

Next month maybe.[/quote
alright d boss. i knw ah cyah win yuh. my first car was a rolla too. AE101 headache free

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » September 22nd, 2008, 11:28 pm

right right right

but anyway we have to get serious and save T&T

Invisible

Postby Invisible » September 22nd, 2008, 11:28 pm

toyota2nr wrote:The question now is...............................

what are we the people ( with the voice and the power ) gonna do about it?

Same thing we always do...NOT A DAM THING !!!

Don't be surprised that there's a "planned" shortage on Super and all and sundry forced to buy Premium. Remember NP is government owned.

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » September 22nd, 2008, 11:29 pm

Nissan QG15DE wrote:Premium in the US is $3.50 and Super unleaded is $4.00US. For our Premium rate to pass the US things had to be real bad here?????

BTW Premium gas finishes quick...best allyuh start buying Super Unleaded and add some prestone octane boosters like what I do :lol: .

We not that far behind anymore eh....US$4≈TT$24 per gallon...we at about approx $16 a gallon give it a couple months again an ah sure it will raise more.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » September 22nd, 2008, 11:30 pm

Dread i rather park up my car but yuh know that could very well the way this govt running the country

John Wick

Postby John Wick » September 22nd, 2008, 11:46 pm

vot pnm

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » September 22nd, 2008, 11:50 pm

pyromaniak wrote:Okay, here's my opinion - We all used to run our cars on 92 octane (now super unleaded) a few years back with no complaints. Yes there are some vehicles that absolutely need premium but most if given lower octane gas will retard the ignition timing automatically. You may not get all the power you're accustomed to but either live with that, pay up for the premium or work out a way to do something about it.

All I can say is try de Super maybe with an octane boost and see how it goes, you may be surprised. :idea:

LOL dont be mad 92 octane is not super unleaded which is if i'm not mistaken 91ron ≈ 87 Oct
Last edited by TriniVdub on September 23rd, 2008, 12:02 am, edited 1 time in total.

John Wick

Postby John Wick » September 22nd, 2008, 11:58 pm

VOTE PNM :evil:

TriniVdub

Re: PNM again

Postby TriniVdub » September 23rd, 2008, 12:09 am

toyota2nr wrote:But I disagree in that a lot of people who are complaining here are the people who you always see going to TGI and MovieTowne and Woodford Cafe every weekend and spending a set ah money ( I bet they vote PNM).

The point is that instead of spending all that money on unnecessary stuff ( and by the way that adds to inflation thereby increasing the price or goods and services ) save that money to put premium in your tank

So in otherwords ur trying to say that people should give up there recreation and entertainment in order to pay for gas and buy groceries? Boy i sure u working for d PNM.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » September 23rd, 2008, 12:33 am

teems1 wrote:
~˜VëgŲ˜~ wrote:blessed am I, for my 150km daily run has now been reduced to 30km....I woulda definitely have had to terminate my employment if I had to still hit that rio-grande run.....still,,, $210 to full premium gorne up to $280.......but for me I still coming out cheaper considering my previous monthly fuel cost allocation.......plus I stopped the daily consumption of inebriating fluids so I more than make up gyas money..

hahahaahabahahahhahahahaaa

you cross the rio grande everyday!! you're a wetback!!!

lol :lol: the hyphen actually meant "to"....my apologies for not stating it clearly but hey you got a laugh out of it and thats good. 8-)

Postby equipped2ripp » September 23rd, 2008, 12:38 am

peeps, remember PNM has nothing to do with this... if is anything, blame BUSH and the US.

Rush

Re: PNM again

Postby Rush » September 23rd, 2008, 12:43 am

TriniVdub wrote:
So in otherwords ur trying to say that people should give up there recreation and entertainment in order to pay for gas and buy groceries? Boy i sure u working for d PNM.

No... but ppl need to prioritise...budget it wisely,
instead of always complaining BUT STILL LIVING THE SAME LIFESTYLE then, maybe its time to tighten your belt...hold baclk a little on the recreation...and think more abt the groceries....

and i doubt he working for d PNM, he seems like he has more than the required COMMON SENSE

WD40

Postby WD40 » September 23rd, 2008, 12:57 am

TriniVdub wrote:
pyromaniak wrote:Okay, here's my opinion - We all used to run our cars on 92 octane (now super unleaded) a few years back with no complaints. Yes there are some vehicles that absolutely need premium but most if given lower octane gas will retard the ignition timing automatically. You may not get all the power you're accustomed to but either live with that, pay up for the premium or work out a way to do something about it.

All I can say is try de Super maybe with an octane boost and see how it goes, you may be surprised. :idea:

Great point. I have driven N/A fuel injected cars on super unleaded without any problems.

From the NY times -

By DEXTER FORD
Published: August 3, 2008

AT today’s prices, it’s understandable that drivers accustomed to filling their gas tanks with premium would be looking for ways to ease the financial pain.

For premium-grade gas, prices to match.

Some relief may be as close as their next fill-up. Switching from premium-grade to regular unleaded can save several dollars on each tankful, given an average price difference of about 30 cents a gallon, according to end-of-July figures compiled by AAA.

While using gasoline that carried a lower octane rating than the engine required was once a sure path to disaster, that is no longer the case. Nearly all automobiles sold in the United States since the 1990s will happily run on regular-grade 87-octane gasoline without causing engine damage, a benefit of the electronic controls that now manage all engine functions.

The octane number posted on the pump is a measure of a gasoline blend’s resistance to a condition called knocking. The knocking sound — a rattling noise made by an engine under load, familiar to drivers of older cars — is a result of out-of-control combustion, the mixture of air and fuel burning erratically. The explosion rings the metal of the engine block like a bell.

The higher the octane rating, the more temperature and pressure the gasoline can withstand before it ignites on its own, rather than when it is set off by the spark plug. An engine that calls for premium gas typically has a higher compression ratio — it squeezes the air and fuel mixture to higher pressures — which can improve both fuel economy and power output. But such an engine requires the higher octane rating to run properly.

Before the switch to fuel injection and computerized controls, engines were subject to damage from prolonged knocking. But today’s engine management systems incorporate electronic knock sensors, which detect the condition and adjust the ignition to stop the problem. As a result, it is almost impossible to hurt a current engine by using 87-octane fuel, industry experts say.

“Modern engines prevent the damage from happening before it starts,â€

Postby equipped2ripp » September 23rd, 2008, 1:00 am

^ yeah but on some higher end vehicles, you would hear the engine pinging if regular unleaded (87) is used...

but in Trinidad, many Euros can only use the premium unleaded... because 95 is recommended.

WD40

Postby WD40 » September 23rd, 2008, 1:10 am

equipped2ripp wrote:^ yeah but on some higher end vehicles, you would hear the engine pinging if regular unleaded (87) is used...

but in Trinidad, many Euros can only use the premium unleaded... because 95 is recommended.

If you mentioned turbo cars like the Passat etc, I would err on the side of caution always. But for Pugs, Boras and the like, I would just use the super.

In any case, I doubt if the majority of tuners on this board drive exotic euros/turbo cars so I think that there is no harm is trying the lower grade.

* I am not a professional automotive tuner. Always seek a second opinion.

TURBOT

Postby TURBOT » September 23rd, 2008, 1:20 am

i glad super din rasie
i still putting 100 every week in my cs3 lancer
only getting like 250-300km tho :S more 250

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » September 23rd, 2008, 1:33 am

lol i gettin about 150km per tank if i drive hard.....I remember from Petit valley to d Airport i use half a tank, and that was just a one way trip :lol:

ingalook

Postby ingalook » September 23rd, 2008, 2:04 am

If you look at the price of gasoline in other countries where oil is a major export we have the highest Gas prices

USD per Galon

T&T $2.55
Saudi Arabia $0.91
Kuwait $0.78
Venezuela $0.12

The reasoning behind these gas prices in other countries is simple. The government is raping the land to get oil, the land belongs to the people, to compensate the people for raping the land the government gives them cheap Gas (and electricity)

This government is consuming our natural resources faster than ever before but they are not passing the benefit on to the people.

Anyone who agrees with this move by government is a PNM party stooge or has gone full-retard (you never go full-retard)

Postby Gem_in_i » September 23rd, 2008, 6:40 am

0X
I going full up today and all the other days to come.
I still have to get to work and I still have to drive around after I reach in work. So I could complain all I want but at the end of the day I still have to go and get the work done.

Now, I waiting to see how/if/when travelling officers $$$ wud go up. :arrow:

Postby UML » September 23rd, 2008, 6:45 am

the increase is their way of reducing the expense of the subsidy on gas....expect an increase in Super in the next budget!!!

i only recently started using Premium...so is back to Super :mrgreen:

Postby Gem_in_i » September 23rd, 2008, 6:52 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl ... =161379003

How increasing price wud curb road rage? :shock:
Targeting who could afford it? :o

Postby crazybalhead » September 23rd, 2008, 7:09 am

Time will tell the effect of this increase. It's been a while now, I expected this. We are really a lucky country to have been paying such a low price for so long. Some of you need to leave your shells once in a while, browse the interwebz and look at other countries.

What would be fantastic, is that for the increase in price, they increased the quality of the product, even to the standards they claim it to be. But alas, we all know this will not happen.

Say what. Life must go on.