Hikers Missing?

KM_2NR

Re: Hikers Missing?

Postby KM_2NR » March 12th, 2021, 1:07 pm

Yeah the road paved pretty decently too. I started not far from the bridge and was confused when I saw the road was developed. I didn't spend all 8 hours hiking , ended up chilling in the beach and by the waterfall a bit was roughly 21.25KM according to my tracker. Sad that this man's death making me feel to go again. Heard the funeral is 4:00 this afternoon.

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » March 12th, 2021, 1:21 pm

My wife and I went walking from the bridge last month, walked in for about an hr then turned back cuz we didn't know how far and long it would be and it was already about 3:30pm. You can drive in quite a bit but some places very muddy and has some rough areas where a car would surely drag on the road. Safest bet would be to go with a van

Postby MG Man » March 12th, 2021, 2:04 pm

Musical Doc wrote:My wife and I went walking from the bridge last month, walked in for about an hr then turned back cuz we didn't know how far and long it would be and it was already about 3:30pm. You can drive in quite a bit but some places very muddy and has some rough areas where a car would surely drag on the road. Safest bet would be to go with a van

:lol: :lol: :lol: dude wtf
this is how ppl does end up wid army and coast guard hunting for them

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » March 12th, 2021, 3:40 pm

Musical Doc wrote:My wife and I went walking from the bridge last month, walked in for about an hr then turned back cuz we didn't know how far and long it would be and it was already about 3:30pm. You can drive in quite a bit but some places very muddy and has some rough areas where a car would surely drag on the road. Safest bet would be to go with a van

:lol: :lol: :lol: dude wtf
this is how ppl does end up wid army and coast guard hunting for them

lol not really. We were meeting people on the way heading back and up to the point where we stopped and turned back by some beach there were people on that small beach liming lol

Postby MG Man » March 12th, 2021, 4:19 pm

wait...were you just walking for fun, or actually trying to get to Paria Falls?

Postby SMc » March 13th, 2021, 8:22 am

KM_2NR wrote:Yupp hiking can be legitimately dangerous , I hiked to paria waterfalls during the lockdown with barely any training , took roughly 8 hours and got caught in a storm , felt like I damaged my quad tendons and couldn't manage hiking out then I realized no one is coming to save me and well had to suck it up. The rains made everything muddy and slippery. Prepare for the worst , hope for the best. Rip Shah

what the hell??? WHat was your starting point?

He might have gone via Brasso Seco which is another common starting point, though its easy to take 8 hours from Blanchi side.

I like Paria but a partner have a have a house further up the coast which we go to instead. We usually have plenty stuff so get dropped off by boat which is a trip by itself, sometimes you have do the walk back if Cleve forget to pick you up and that is 3 odd hours

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » March 13th, 2021, 10:36 am

MG Man wrote:wait...were you just walking for fun, or actually trying to get to Paria Falls?

We actually just went for a drive up that side and decided to take a walk along the road. I didn't know that was the route to paria until I pulled out my phone during the walk to see where we were on maps and I realized lol. We plan to try that paria hike but with a group not by ourselves.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » March 13th, 2021, 10:49 pm

I actually knew Qadir as a cricket coach.
He worked with young teens and was actually the coach of Presentation College Championship team about 2 years ago.
Used to be there seeing him working tirelessly with these young cricket talents...including Jayden Seales who is now in the West Indies Team.....So sad to see this young guy who was dedicated to helping future sportsmen leave this world so early.... He was extremely fit and was a fitness and conditioning coach for many T&T athletes....
If the story was that he got lost in the bush I am sure he would have survived and come out....

Rest in Peace brother....

Postby timelapse » March 15th, 2021, 3:37 pm

You were right by another hike trail too.3pools waterfall starts by the bridge and fairly easy