so 4:00am this morning........

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » June 12th, 2008, 1:00 pm

Drivers should really be more considerate about their passengers before embarking on drifting into a corner or street racing to show off!

Sadly many times as proven before, the driver gets away with a few scratches and the girlfriends are the ones who are scarred for life or end up on deaths bed!

:!:

Picasso

Postby Picasso » June 12th, 2008, 1:12 pm

I hope we all learn from this situation... Thank God no one died and I wish those who were injured a speedy recovery.

Postby MG Man » June 12th, 2008, 1:43 pm

bottom line, buckle up, even if you in the back seat
An unbelted backseat driver will bounce around and kill everyone else.
People seem to think you do not need to buckle up in the back seat, and sadly this misconception is reinforced when people own cars without rear setbelts....

sensiman

Postby sensiman » June 12th, 2008, 2:12 pm

In some countries it is required by law that anyone including backseat passengers, be buckled up, and if they are not the police actually deduct points or ticket.
The fact that someone cannot understand that if someone is dismembered by a seatbelt, the force of the impact would definitely be more devastating, is truly insane or those people are severely misinformed.
No doubt here that the driver should have been more responsible but I have been in cars where drivers were speeding and when asked to slow down, said driver and passengers took it as a joke so maybe she did ask, maybe she didn't. I hope she recovers quickly.

Postby RBphoto » June 12th, 2008, 4:48 pm

MG Man wrote:bottom line, buckle up, even if you in the back seat
People seem to think you do not need to buckle up in the back seat, and sadly this misconception is reinforced when people own cars without rear setbelts....

Speaking of which, you installing rear seat belts on the MG? It have any way to retrofit that? when you finish restoration?

dbesson

Postby dbesson » June 12th, 2008, 5:19 pm

just saw this post... what a thing to happen at 4:00 am wish all a quick recovery.

marc1985

Postby marc1985 » June 13th, 2008, 2:12 am

all yuh feel d man shupid or , 5th gear , twas 3rd , check it again , but u must admit its still the prettiest beyotch ever , this like cnn

ingalook

Postby ingalook » June 13th, 2008, 2:35 am

Didn't think it was 5th gear, the amount of damage to the car indicates a crash at about 50-60mph, especially since they said there was no skid or brakes.

If you hit a brick wall at 100mph in a STi you and everyone in the car would die, and we would need a mop to clean you up

You can break the laws of the land, but you can't break the laws of physics :roll:

slimshiney

Postby slimshiney » June 13th, 2008, 8:25 am

Seatbelts!! I was in a back seat without em once...car crashed and hand broke 5 places. I saw this car this morning and the seats more or less resting on the dash.

Seatbelts save lives - www.cambridgeshire.gov.uk

It’s not just wearing seatbelts in the front that people need to be aware of. It is also the importance of wearing seatbelts in the rear of the car.

Most children up to the age of 13 wear seatbelts. However from 14 and upwards, less people wear them in the back, and will give a variety of excuses of why they don’t wear them despite knowing its law to do so.

If you do not wear a seatbelt in the rear of the vehicle and you are involved in a collision, you not only greatly increase your chance of getting injured but you also carry the risk of injuring or killing the person sitting in front of you.

We cannot stress the importance enough, of not only wearing your seatbelt in the front but also the back of a vehicle. If you are the driver, encourage your passengers to do so. And remember, if the child is under 14 years old, then it is your responsibility - as the driver - to ensure seatbelts are being worn

marc1985

Postby marc1985 » June 13th, 2008, 8:42 am

sti 5th gear = 200+ K

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » June 13th, 2008, 8:52 am

so has the car been written off?

parts?

Ronnie203

Postby Ronnie203 » June 13th, 2008, 8:55 am

what a waste of 12" biga$$ Rotors and Brembo's

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » June 13th, 2008, 8:58 am

irrisponsible .. here i am saving meh life out and willin to sell meh left kidney and dem men crashing this like is b-14

chewps .. he needs ah good whipping yes

Postby MG Man » June 15th, 2008, 7:50 am

crossdrilled wrote:
MG Man wrote:bottom line, buckle up, even if you in the back seat

Speaking of which, you installing rear seat belts on the MG? It have any way to retrofit that? when you finish restoration?

why u all up in my bizniss so? :lol:
I will not be fitting rear belts........nobody rides in th back

Postby Ignorant Ignis » June 15th, 2008, 10:02 am

lol@all the solodex comments ...........

sliperywhenwet

Postby sliperywhenwet » June 15th, 2008, 12:52 pm

Steups alyuh good yes ! Speedy recovery to whoever an whoever .Was there alcohol involved here ? Thats another story . I think they will learn thier lesson .Go to a damn Defensive Driving Course an see some pics of not wearing seatlbelts can cause .Tha is a small crash .

Postby MG Man » June 15th, 2008, 7:32 pm

Ignorant Ignis wrote:lol@all the solodex comments ...........

interestingly, a study done a couple years ago tracked some young drivers who were trained in racing techniques............every single one of them was involved in a crash within six months of training...........reason being the 'race training' gave them an over exaggerated sense of skill and confidence, and made them take unnecessary risks.........the solodex thing can go both ways, and catching a slide at dex when it's a tight corner and you in second gear is totally different to overcooking it at 120kph on a nice wide sweeper.....what dex really teaches the smart drivers is how to look ahead and anticipate

Postby gt4tified » June 15th, 2008, 8:08 pm

Who is Seleste (for the ignorant among us)? And get a price for de rims and if the tyres good too, well...... :D

Postby AllTrac » June 15th, 2008, 8:09 pm

^^slight mods and de brakes could bolt up to!!

Postby gt4tified » June 16th, 2008, 8:24 pm

AllTrac wrote:^^slight mods and de brakes could bolt up to!!

roflmao :lol: Like you want to see the GT-4 compete in dex full-time or what?

turbonator

Postby turbonator » June 16th, 2008, 10:24 pm

I doubt the fella was driving all out on 5th gear :? . If that was the case then the girl that wasen't wearing a seatbelt would have been....., well........ lets not think of that. And as far as I know seatbelts DO save lives, be it in the front seat or back seat. If companies like subaru, mitsubishi, nissan, toyota or who ever decide to put ah seatbelt in d vehicle well it hadda be there for ah good reason IMO. Also the fella hadda be driving kinda hard for the girl to get all dat damage but accidents do happen, hence the word "ACCIDENT." I was in ah accident on d highway already (ah head on hit at about 80km/h) and i walked away with only ah imprint of the seatbelt on meh chest and ah few burns from the airbag.

I won't whish this on anyone so I hope all ah dem make ah speedy recovery :fadein: .

turbonator

Postby turbonator » June 16th, 2008, 10:27 pm

If he was really doing it in 5th gear when d car hit all ah dem would turn to soup in d car :|

marc1985

Postby marc1985 » June 25th, 2008, 9:38 am

rims not selling , pm me if you intrested in the car