Postby honda hoe » October 20th, 2008, 9:17 am

socom reviews from a regular game player

http://fidgit.com/archives/2008/10/soco ... edicat.php

socom review from ng4

http://www.kingps3.com/_r1.php

my only "complaint" with the 2nd review is dat u can't rate a game based on the assumption dat the game will play a certain way if/when the servers are fixed. to be honest they should wait until the issues are sorted, or rate it based on how it the experience is NOW

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » October 22nd, 2008, 8:40 pm

it not suppose to be like cod in the first place..
supposed to be team work but most ppl does jus go on a free for all by themself den complain when dey get shoot up like a cont :|

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » October 22nd, 2008, 8:56 pm

well i was never no big gamer so i never played cod4
a certain tuner chain meh up to buy ah ps3 and socom :(

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » October 22nd, 2008, 10:06 pm

pimptacular wrote:well i was never no big gamer so i never played cod4
a certain tuner chain meh up to buy ah ps3 and socom :(

Postby honda hoe » October 22nd, 2008, 10:24 pm

pios... socom being for "hardcore ppl" is a bunch ah crock

different ppl like different games

it is MY opinion dat cod4 is better dan socom

it have nuttin to do wit me getting fragged

i honestly haven't bothered playing since saturday cuz the servers were giving so much trouble i couldn't even join a game

i remember las year when i was catchin my ass to play rainbow 6 vegas... dat was the HARDEST shooter i've ever played to date... but i still played it and enjoyed it and beat it. difficulty is not necessarily a turnoff for a videogame

maybe i jus had a very bad 1st impressino of the game cuz at launch the servers were in a real mess and i haven't really given the game a fair chance

bt it doesn't really matter anyway cuz nex 2 weeks i won't be playing any shooter other dan resistance 2
8-)

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » October 22nd, 2008, 10:29 pm

i still eh know how de fak up to now u eh get in a game :|
i feel u jus blight with tha game

Postby Cjruckus » October 22nd, 2008, 11:09 pm

I have had Mixed Feelings about Socom, and a mixed experience as well. So far the bugs on the servers have been ironed out to an extent where you wouldnt get the game dropping glitch on maps and most games are fairly lag free on a flow connection.

The game itself suffers from a customize your guy until it works for you syndrome. I consider this a double edged sword. You can go in, make a character suited for your needs and exploit his strengths based on your playing style, but if you are like me and want do to everything then, you are stuck with pure Fail. Instead you end up with a guy who is not really good at anything and would get killed by pro rushers, pro snipers, and pro demolition experts. So thats when your skill comes in, but seeing that formula SMG > M4a1 rifle applies to this game, you need to watch for enemies and hit them from far.

Which would bring me to my biggest complaint about this game. At times it becomes a Pure Camp Fest until someone makes a mistake and talks too hard on mic. Each Team Camps Spawn or the best Camp spots near the spawn and wait. These sessions can sometimes go on for 20 minutes of no kills on a small server. So its somthing you need to be aware of. Especially in Ranked matches because stat whoring is rampant. While the game does give you points for assists, which is the gold star for you being the fcuk up and having your teammate take the kill. It still does nothing for you in the end because it is merely a tie breaker.

I would tell people to pick it up, but be prepared for a rough learning curve.

The PS3 headset is ok however. Has some good PS3 features, but the SQ and comfort isnt as good as my plantronics voyager 510. The headset could use some more flex, and maybe a cushion on the ear peace.

toybago

Postby toybago » October 23rd, 2008, 3:07 pm

now pioneer, being good/consistent in any aspect of a game takes skill eh, except getting fragged even though i know some guys who seem to have it down to a fine art

and camping/sniping does slow down a game so i tend/try to rout snipers

Postby honda hoe » October 23rd, 2008, 3:11 pm

waiting in a 10 storey balcony waiting for somebody to pass once every 10 mins for a headshot is not my idea of a fun game

toybago

Postby toybago » October 23rd, 2008, 3:22 pm

agreed honda hoe, but everyone has their idea of 'fun'

i would fall asleep after about 2 minutes of waiting

Postby honda hoe » October 23rd, 2008, 3:27 pm

well pioneer has no gaming skills so maybe dats why he likes socom.. everybody asleep or getting server problems so he'll jus use it to his 'advantage' :|

toybago

Postby toybago » October 23rd, 2008, 3:42 pm

well i can't comment on a man gaming skills till i get him in my sights

toybago

Postby toybago » October 23rd, 2008, 4:44 pm

hmmmmm.....

i still find sniping slows down a game

what if everybody finds a 10 storey building and sits and waits.....and waits.....and waits.....

toybago

Postby toybago » October 23rd, 2008, 4:53 pm

doh worry he'll be forced to learn the way of the gun or forever be branded as cannon fodder

i'll stick to COD4 for now though

Postby honda hoe » October 23rd, 2008, 6:07 pm

toybago wrote:doh worry he'll be forced to learn the way of the gun or forever be branded as cannon fodder

i'll stick to COD4 for now though

wise choice

cod > socom

toybago

Postby toybago » October 23rd, 2008, 7:04 pm

palo i've been gaming longer than most of you been alive eh and i don't like games cuz they are 'easy'

there is a great difference between frustrating and hard

a hard game will prompt me to keep at it till the credits roll

but a frustrating game will prompt me to toss it in the garbage

i may try socom later in the year

Postby Cjruckus » October 23rd, 2008, 8:26 pm

toybago wrote:palo i've been gaming longer than most of you been alive eh and i don't like games cuz they are 'easy'

there is a great difference between frustrating and hard

a hard game will prompt me to keep at it till the credits roll

but a frustrating game will prompt me to toss it in the garbage

i may try socom later in the year

Oh man aren't you hardcore.

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » October 24th, 2008, 2:44 am

steups fifa servers rel fleckin up 2sad
but honda hoe 2wink

Postby honda hoe » October 24th, 2008, 8:30 am

Man gone and uninstall SOCOM from he PS3 yes

correct

game is sh!t

dais 3gb wasted space rite thurr

Postby honda hoe » October 24th, 2008, 8:40 am

LOL

i was one of th 1st ppl to buy a ps3 when it came out

an i have the premium 60gb version

unlike u who had to wait 2 years for price drop to buy a 40gb vrsion

:?

Postby honda hoe » October 24th, 2008, 8:45 am

:arrow:

Postby honda hoe » October 24th, 2008, 8:51 am

lmao

Postby honda hoe » October 24th, 2008, 8:58 am

i don't tink its blink

certain games (like cod4) there is no problem to get into a lobby an gameplay is smooth

when u actually get onto fifa game runs smoothly

hard part is actually gettin into the game

but i'm sure dat will be fixed shortly

Postby honda hoe » October 24th, 2008, 9:01 am

Postby honda hoe » October 24th, 2008, 9:21 am

i not tech savvy but dis is my question

games wit online play are built for a 256mb connection

so say pimptacular (256mb) playin online wit CJ (10gig)... as far as i know they will both enjoy the same gameplay and frame rate

the internet speeds only become a factor if u DOWNLOADING something

or am i misinformed?

Postby honda hoe » October 24th, 2008, 9:41 am

hmmmm

do u get any connection problems when playing against me?

Postby noshownogo » October 24th, 2008, 9:59 am

^^you trying to imply sumptin dere or wha... :lol:

Postby honda hoe » October 24th, 2008, 10:02 am

why allyuh so :lol:

Postby noshownogo » October 24th, 2008, 10:05 am

:popcorn: *crunch crunch crunch* long live the rivalry yo

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » October 24th, 2008, 10:43 am

noshownogo wrote::popcorn: *crunch crunch crunch* long live the rivalry yo