The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Re: The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby stev » September 10th, 2014, 12:23 pm

just updated my hangouts....i see i have a new icon now (Hangouts Dialer)

Postby Trini Hookah » September 10th, 2014, 2:42 pm

Meen geh no update :/

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » September 10th, 2014, 5:44 pm

Hey guys! After the few months I've had it, I've decided to sell my LG G2

To purchase a Sony Xperia Z2

Check out the link if you might be interested viewtopic.php?t=584526

Thanks guys! BTW teaser of performance Image

Postby Spitfir3 » September 10th, 2014, 5:46 pm

*googles vivo Xplay3s*

surprised the g3 not on that benchmark list doh
Last edited by Spitfir3 on September 10th, 2014, 6:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » September 10th, 2014, 6:19 pm

Same here I was shocked when I didn't see it!!

My phone is running G3 software tho, so everything the G3 can do, so can I

Except focus really really fast

Postby Trini Hookah » September 10th, 2014, 10:55 pm

I find G3 stepped down in some ways, for example the rear speaker....from having a speaker at the bottom, why would you go back there?!

Postby r3iXmann » September 11th, 2014, 2:27 am

i used a G3 in store and found the UI to be most laggy. might be impressive if you never had a good android phone before :|

Postby ismithx » September 11th, 2014, 4:00 am

yeah, my concern with LG is their bloatware. Sony does really well in this aspect, their android skin is lightweight. in addition you can also theme it, something that you don't usually find on many stock android skins

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » September 11th, 2014, 4:38 am

ismithx wrote:yeah, my concern with LG is their bloatware. Sony does really well in this aspect, their android skin is lightweight. in addition you can also theme it, something that you don't usually find on many stock android skins

I agree with you, LG had some major bloatware when I got the phone, and this being a Tmobile phone that just made it worst, but thanks to system app uninstaller (required root) I got rid of mostly everything!

Tbh I don't even get lag to open up any apps, but for some reason I think my phone is slow.

Postby DVSTT » September 11th, 2014, 10:02 am

Anyone can help me out?
The WiFi network at school allows me to browse the net, but it won't let my apps connect. Is there anyway to get around this? Iphones are able to access their apps, but no androids... :(.

Its using a custom proxy address and port if that is relevant.

Postby Spitfir3 » September 11th, 2014, 10:18 am

is the same scene with bzone and digicel hot spots

Postby DVSTT » September 11th, 2014, 10:22 am

Spitfir3 wrote:is the same scene with bzone and digicel hot spots

Any idea as to how to fix it? What makes iOS immune?

Postby Trini Hookah » September 11th, 2014, 10:42 am

Mt Hope net is the same thing.

Postby DVSTT » September 11th, 2014, 10:44 am

Trini Hookah wrote:Mt Hope net is the same thing.

Its Mt Hope net I trying to connect to. :(

Postby maj. tom » September 11th, 2014, 11:24 am

DVSTT wrote:Anyone can help me out?
The WiFi network at school allows me to browse the net, but it won't let my apps connect. Is there anyway to get around this? Iphones are able to access their apps, but no androids... :(.

Yeah I'm using SandroProxy at Mt. Hope on my android devices. You need a transparent proxy and configure it according to the settings the school uses plus some other details. Trinituner app not connecting though. All others apps and browsers are. Google still hasn't applied an easy working solution like Apple or Windows for this issue in Android 4.4 wrt proxies.

The "tech" ppl in the library are useless, so don't even bother.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » September 11th, 2014, 10:04 pm

How to remove or disable what's new from home screen?

Postby ismithx » September 12th, 2014, 3:59 am

I'm assuming it's a Sony phone you speak of. Root it and uninstall the app, or if you can't root, enable developer mode and USB debugging, and follow these steps http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthr ... M3yqp40F4A

Postby DVSTT » September 12th, 2014, 4:20 am

maj. tom wrote:

Yeah I'm using SandroProxy at Mt. Hope on my android devices. You need a transparent proxy and configure it according to the settings the school uses plus some other details. Trinituner app not connecting though. All others apps and browsers are. Google still hasn't applied an easy working solution like Apple or Windows for this issue in Android 4.4 wrt proxies.

I don't need to be rooted for that right?

Postby kurpal_v2 » September 12th, 2014, 5:08 am

maj. tom wrote:

Wow, all them struggles to use Instagram?

Postby DVSTT » September 12th, 2014, 6:32 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:
maj. tom wrote:

Wow, all them struggles to use Instagram?

Its for google now. All my documents are online so I need to have access to them

Postby M_2NR » September 12th, 2014, 10:41 am

drive*

Postby RASC » September 15th, 2014, 9:37 am

Google just announce new $105usd phone in India. 4.5" screen...

sonygoup

Postby sonygoup » September 15th, 2014, 1:41 pm

RASC wrote:Google just announce new $105usd phone in India. 4.5" screen...

Google launches Android One in India with three new smartphones
http://gsmarena.com/google_launches_and ... s-9646.php

Postby RASC » September 15th, 2014, 1:45 pm

Thanks!

Postby stev » September 15th, 2014, 6:00 pm

So guys....I am in the market for a phone....was thinking G3? what u guys recommend?....I am not going lower spec'd than a nexus 5.

My Nexus 5 power button finally gave out on me :evil: took two hours on Sunday re-soldering it.....it worked for an hour or more...but then kapoot.

I attempted to repair it myself cuz the entire Google RMA process would cost me close to the cost of the device itself so I didnt bother.

by the way....i'll be posting the N5 for sale shortly (for parts) if anyone interested. :lol:

so anyway.....G3? I not too fancying the Note 4.

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » September 15th, 2014, 6:02 pm

G3 till Nexus 6

Postby Trini Hookah » September 15th, 2014, 6:23 pm

G3 ftw...minus rear speaker

Postby M_2NR » September 15th, 2014, 7:34 pm

Nexus 6. Salt until then :|

seriously though, I liking the looks of the new z3 compact from sony. gsmarena rated it at 101hrs on their endurance test. The nexus 5 got 40hrs.

BTW anyone who is having wakelock issues, check out unbounce. It's an xposed module which delays nlpwakelock or any other (with a donation) and works fantastic. I was wondering about delaying RILJ wakelock also but that wakelock is responsible for a large number of functions.

Postby Trini Hookah » September 15th, 2014, 8:00 pm

U know u eh buying no xperia M, stop playing *eye

Postby stev » September 15th, 2014, 8:20 pm

probably I didnt do enough research but whats dis nonsense about LG G3 and the inability to properly unlock the bootloader / install proper ROMS?