Re: The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby stev » August 31st, 2014, 1:03 pm

temporarily install any VPN app...i used this one:

https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... .vpn&hl=en

clear google play cache and restart phone.....activate VPN, agree to US Play Store terms and conditions (when launching Google Play)....install / configure any region locked app u want.....remove VPN app from phone if u want.

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » August 31st, 2014, 1:13 pm

I have a Gmail account with US credentials linked to my phone. Got the app through that account but signed up with the rewards with my main account.

Postby RASC » September 1st, 2014, 8:37 am

Yet another reason why I believe manufacturers need to start offering more onboard storage!!

Postby Trini Hookah » September 1st, 2014, 9:27 am

Yes, that #fappened

Postby nervewrecker » September 1st, 2014, 12:40 pm

Where sells the micro USB to USB adapters?
Does one need any additional software to use them with the nexus 4 and 7?

Postby RASC » September 3rd, 2014, 11:21 am

Note 4 and Note 4 Edge just being previewed on all major tech sites and YouTube pages....along with new bigger watch WITH sim card built in.

Samsung gone clear with that one. Calls from your wrist. No need for your phone. Not enough time to link pics vids etc.

Someone fix us up Nah. Peace!

Postby stev » September 3rd, 2014, 11:32 am

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » September 3rd, 2014, 11:54 am

RASC wrote:Note 4 and Note 4 Edge just being previewed on all major tech sites and YouTube pages....along with new bigger watch WITH sim card built in.

Samsung gone clear with that one. Calls from your wrist. No need for your phone. Not enough time to link pics vids etc.

Someone fix us up Nah. Peace!

simcard built in? doesnt that mean cdma? we dont have cdma network down here afaik. wouldnt mind a watchfone. been waiting for something sleek to come out. dual sim even better. the china watchfones a bit too bulky looking.

Postby RASC » September 3rd, 2014, 12:12 pm

Sim Slot

Gsm

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » September 3rd, 2014, 12:56 pm

RASC wrote:Sim Slot

Gsm

not sure it's gsm. just 3g for internet access i think. plus its not running android so wrong thread lol. liking the lg g watch r version. running android but they need to make it more independent instead of depending on a connection to a real fone. think ill wait till theyre making 100m water resistant full spec versions ;P

Postby RASC » September 3rd, 2014, 1:17 pm

Scn
Last edited by RASC on September 3rd, 2014, 5:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby RASC » September 3rd, 2014, 1:45 pm

Archlord

Postby Archlord » September 3rd, 2014, 6:57 pm

Nexus 4 softkeys randomly stopped working. Apparently a widespread issue. Installed Xposed GravityBox module for PIE Controls as a workaround. Just dropping a warning for an Nexus 4 owners in here.

Postby Trini Hookah » September 3rd, 2014, 10:55 pm

Samsung keeps snoozing

Postby M_2NR » September 3rd, 2014, 10:57 pm

ear... nobody ear tork bout sony :lol:

but serious thing, all who ready for the yawns next week tuesday? I have some lil glimmer of hope for something nice from apple but... amm nexus bros....
http://www.droid-life.com/2014/09/03/go ... r-nexus-5/

skin coming off tmrw or what stev?

Postby Trini Hookah » September 3rd, 2014, 11:44 pm

High sky during recess awa M?

Postby stev » September 4th, 2014, 7:38 pm

M_2NR wrote:ear... nobody ear tork bout sony :lol:

but serious thing, all who ready for the yawns next week tuesday? I have some lil glimmer of hope for something nice from apple but... amm nexus bros....
http://www.droid-life.com/2014/09/03/go ... r-nexus-5/

skin coming off tmrw or what stev?

well it looks like i gonna have to send my N5 back.....i discovered a hardware problem.....not only me but tons of N5 owners across the world.

basically the power button is stuck at the moment as it keeps cutting off at the Google logo (loop)

the button still 'clicks' but it acts as though i am holding it down.....the only fix i saw was to leave it until its dead then try again.

battery was at 4% when it started......but its been 2 hours now and it still not dead.....lawddd

Postby M_2NR » September 4th, 2014, 7:40 pm

Stev... Wtf. Hoss wow. I really find my power button lil bit inside eh. But sigh :( that sucks buddy.
Trini Hookah wrote:High sky during recess awa M?

Yea Dan. Ear. If u see Weh da ball reach yestaday. I gone fly d kite just now deh. U make your mad bull for class tmrw?

Postby stev » September 4th, 2014, 8:32 pm

:lol: my N5 officially gone mad....

the only way to keep it on is to keep tapping anywhere near the power button. LOL

hope the problem goes away soon.

edit: i was digging around Google support:

https://support.google.com/nexus/contac ... xus_wpo_ts

and entered my next phone number and a short message........i got an automated call in less than 10 seconds :shock:

talked to some guy after on hold for about 2mins......he said he's gonna send me an email with some information he needs and most likely he will send over a new Nexus 5 for me.....well i aint see no blasted email as yet. :evil:

Postby S_2NR » September 4th, 2014, 9:10 pm

stev wrote::lol: my N5 officially gone mad....

the only way to keep it on is to keep tapping anywhere near the power button. LOL

hope the problem goes away soon.

edit: i was digging around Google support:

https://support.google.com/nexus/contac ... xus_wpo_ts

and entered my next phone number and a short message........i got an automated call in less than 10 seconds :shock:

talked to some guy after on hold for about 2mins......he said he's gonna send me an email with some information he needs and most likely he will send over a new Nexus 5 for me.....well i aint see no blasted email as yet. :evil:

How old is the phone? It still under warranty? Be careful when bringing the replacement in, you will get raped

Postby stev » September 4th, 2014, 9:19 pm

phone was bought in December last year....and yes....i feel i gonna get a lil rape when i hadda clear that replacement. :(

Postby Trini Hookah » September 4th, 2014, 9:53 pm

Free replacement dan.

Postby M_2NR » September 4th, 2014, 9:57 pm

Sad thing is it have no way (that i know of) that you can tell customs it's a return/replacement item.

They emailed yet?

Postby stev » September 4th, 2014, 10:37 pm

yes they emailed, the same guy i spoke to on the phone (Sam)...basically they wanna know the order number alone :|

he told me (on the phone) that the office is closing so he wont be able to get back to me until 2mrw.....i replied with the info.

all that does not matter now actually....LOL

i opened the phone with nothing but fingernails and a tiny phillip head screwdriver.......located the tiny internal power button and used a razor blade (after a few taps) to more or less separate the contacts of the power button......phone is back to normal now.

there are a lot of people on XDA with the same problem so im posting my ratch there and will link it here.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/google- ... 7162/page2
Last edited by stev on September 4th, 2014, 10:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby nervewrecker » September 4th, 2014, 10:41 pm

Let's hope it stays working.

Postby stev » September 4th, 2014, 11:21 pm

hope dis dam thing doh give trouble again :evil:

...in other news...looks like google prepping d yard for a new statue:

http://www.androidheadlines.com/2014/09 ... rsion.html

and anyone play the new angry birds? Stella:

https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... EST-Single

Postby Trini Hookah » September 4th, 2014, 11:28 pm

Was actually hoping it was licorice.

Postby Ted_v2 » September 4th, 2014, 11:32 pm

Lawd.

Postby stev » September 4th, 2014, 11:38 pm

all around the internet saying:

"lollipop vs. licorice vs. lemon meringue pie"

they could go with a licensed name like Lemon Heads, Laffy Taffy etc....(they did that with KitKat)

what u guys think? android 4.5 or 5.0?

Postby Trini Hookah » September 5th, 2014, 12:33 am

Hoping is 5, 4 getting outta hand.