The Religion Discussion

Kasey

Re: The Religion Discussion

Postby Kasey » October 24th, 2012, 4:27 pm

MG Man wrote:nah I like it better this way..........not sure if adamb know how to handle a scattershot :p

wwhhoooggaaadddd!!!!!!!!!! EEEMMMGGEEEE!!!!

Red Fraction

Postby Red Fraction » October 24th, 2012, 9:35 pm

Let me be more specific;

Why does a catholic go to confession?? To ask father to forgive him. I was of the view that no man can forgive sin? Why do the catholic divide the ten commandments into eleven and then minus one of them by making one commandment into two? If you are praying to God why is there the necessity to keep reiterating "hail Mary mother of God"? Why on earth would one do penance "like really" to what end?to remove the sin you previously committed? So does one truly believe that after you palace fri through Tuesday, that come ash wednesday when you go to church that the father can forgive what you did previously?

The bible says x y and z concerning the 1st and 7th day why would a preacher take it upon him/her self to say that after Christ died we were no longer obligated to keep the ten commandments because we are under grace?
I ask many people especially jehovah witnesses this question and then they among others jump to revelation.

Don't try to tie up my head with revelation if you can't simply understand genesis. Everybody questioning God he this he that look at children starving,people dying etc. The funny thing is no one will say ghat the problem is not God it's us. I'm sure when your own friend of 40 years back stab you os not God do it. Or you go a party drink drive and end up in icu or you sex every woman you see and get hpv or ssd, I'd God do you that right??? You horn your wife and get aids is God do you that right. Your starving Neighbour have no clothes to put on yet you throwing away money and clothes like garbage, is God fault why he in that state right?

Red Fraction

Postby Red Fraction » October 24th, 2012, 9:53 pm

So adamb are you saying that revelation is somewhat unclear as to it's plain statements? I would love for you to show me why you would say that.

Daniel 12
8 And I heard, but I understood not: then said I, O my Lord, what shall be the end of these things?
9 And he said, Go thy way, Daniel: for the words are closed up and sealed till the time of the end.
10 Many shall be purified, and made white, and tried; but the wicked shall do wickedly: and none of the wicked shall understand; but the wise shall understand.
11 And from the time that the daily sacrifice shall be taken away, and the abomination that maketh desolate set up, there shall be a thousand two hundred and ninety days.

Do you understand what this passage means adamb?

Revelation 22

10 And he saith unto me, Seal not the sayings of the prophecy of this book: for the time is at hand.

No adamb there is no special reward for Christians who worship on Sunday. You can worship 100'days a second give all that you have if you have no love in your heart all that you have done will come to nought.

Sunday for a Christian and Saturday for a Christian or Jew is TOTALLY different. They are by no means the same thing.

How can one go directly to a source that cannot be approached by any human? To whom do you pray to when you say you are praying?

Red Fraction

Postby Red Fraction » October 24th, 2012, 10:39 pm

So ummm Shane do you honestly believe if you ask God to show me you are really god, he will show you? Be not hasty in thy questioning against God.

Job 40:

2 Shall he that contendeth with the Almighty instruct him? he that reproveth God, let him answer it.

Shane we have seen on YouTube people saying they have been to he'll and back and saw heaven do you believe this do you think it's a true happening? Keeping in mind god said.

Ecclesiasties

20 All go unto one place; all are of the dust, and all turn to dust again.
21 Who knoweth the spirit of man that goeth upward, and the spirit of the beast that goeth downward to the earth?

7 Then shall the dust return to the earth as it was: and the spirit shall return unto God who gave it.

5 Also when they shall be afraid of that which is high, and fears shall be in the way, and the almond tree shall flourish, and the grasshopper shall be a burden, and desire shall fail: because man goeth to his long home, and the mourners go about the streets:

Red Fraction

Postby Red Fraction » October 24th, 2012, 10:46 pm

Adamb be what are your thoughts on the mark of the beast? Is it a Litteral mark or one in the mind?
What are your thoughts on the national Sunday law?

Have you ever wondered adamb how is it that Allah being all gracious and kind and loving, can in the same breath be handing down death sentences on his loved ones?

Random question here. To whom so ever it may concern;

Is our life already planned or we decide the outcome. Keeping in mind God knows the end from the beginning. Not withstanding he already knows what you will do but stil allows you to do it.

Red Fraction

Postby Red Fraction » October 24th, 2012, 11:06 pm

Shane you speak as one who knows absoutely nothing.

6 Suffer not thy mouth to cause thy flesh to sin; neither say thou before the angel, that it was an error: wherefore should God be angry at thy voice, and destroy the work of thine hands?

I'm sure you are stil one of the dellusioned folk that stil believes that the "taliban" bombed the world trade center. Smh just now you will say that Rome didnt order Kennedy's hit because he was going to shut down the CIA and end the war that was used as a transport device to move cash and cocaine across the gulf.

Man is the problem. God has made man upright but men has sought out many inventions. Don't blame god for your inability and inherent stupidity to understand.

You're right people really need to wake up. Cause clearly they are sound asleep.
You blame god for Sean luke murder. So did god get an evil thought and came down as a man and kill Sean Luke. Through the play and counter play god is stil in control eh. And god cannot intrude on a person if they don't want him to eh god cannot force he can only love

Shane is there a y proof that you can hold wind? But you can feel it inhale it live by it yet you can't see it, by not seeing it is one to believe that it does not exist.

Red Fraction

Postby Red Fraction » October 24th, 2012, 11:12 pm

They say fundamentalist are the worst but there's nothing worse than blind loyalists the ship will be sinking the airplane crashing and they stil holding on for dear life.

d spike

Postby d spike » October 24th, 2012, 11:50 pm

I just find it hard to believe that if there is a perfect, supreme being, that he is such an egotist and allows only those who claim to have a special relationship with him, or claim to know his name, a reward in the afterlife.
Why would a perfect being create life only for the sole purpose of worshipping himself? Is he that lonely? Or bored with the adulation of the angels? That stinks of Pride.

No. There has to be a better reason. A perfect being IS IN NEED OF NOTHING. So why then the need to create?
Clearly there is a higher purpose to creation. It isn't something to be gained... it was then a gift. Giving for the sake of giving is Charity, or Love.
The concept of Love puts the Creation into context, makes sense of it all. The Creator knew we would enjoy life, and thus he created. (By "we" I mean all creatures, not just humans.)

I don't see the point in arguing whether he exists or not. Whether atheist, agnostic or religious, all agree on maintaining a set of morals in order to ensure a better life experience. Why else would we be given the gift of life if not to enjoy it?
(And to the sour holy-rollers who will scramble to condemn such a "hedonistic" remark, all I can say is: if debauchery and errant behaviour is your concept of "enjoying life", then I think you have absolutely no idea of what life is about, and yours was wasted on you.)

Neither do I see the point of arguing which religion is better, or perfect.
If you believe that God exists, and you are certain of a path to his door, then all power to you. You walk that path, and ensure your life reflects your belief of what is behind the door to which you are heading. There can only be ONE supreme being (otherwise he wouldn't be supreme, now would he?) and as you can't meet him physically and chat, your concept of him is but a mental one, and would obviously differ from that of another person. If each person and group and culture has a differing concept of God, then it should be no surprise to a thinking person that there are different religions - but each pointing the way to the same divine source.

To conclude, just as we have been given life, we are given many gifts that we are expected to use - I doubt we would have been granted useless gifts. If we were expected to think and rationalize, then we would have received the gifts of intellect and logic... oh, that's right, we have received such gifts - well, most of us, at any rate.

Cheers

Postby MG Man » October 25th, 2012, 12:11 am

d spike

Postby d spike » October 25th, 2012, 12:13 am

Red Fraction wrote:I have 3 relevant questions to whom so ever it may concern,

1. Why do we go to confession to ask father for forgiveness?

2. Why do we go to church on Sunday "for the critical drones" the 1st and not the 7th day?

3. Why do we always go to revelation without checking genesis?

I have no idea who this "concerns", as the second question refers to "critical drones" (eh?) and who exactly are the rather silly "we" who "always go to revelation without checking genesis", as Revelation is one of the most misunderstood books in the Bible (Luther wanted to toss it out) and Genesis is one of the most discussed books among believers and non-believers alike.

As far as the first query is concerned, I guess the epistle of James (5:16, to be precise) might be of assistance in acquiring an explanation:
Therefore confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous person is powerful and effective.

d spike

Postby d spike » October 25th, 2012, 12:27 am

MG Man wrote:Image

To be destroyed in the fires of Mt. Doom... Mr. Anderson.

Postby MG Man » October 25th, 2012, 6:10 am

LMAO :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

shane1

Postby shane1 » October 25th, 2012, 7:20 am

red, we dont see wind but we see the effects of it physically, we see it blow off roofs, we feel it when we breathe it in. where is GOD? stuck in people's little brain after being brainwashed for so long. ur reading from books written by men. who cant prove anything. man is his own GOD he has the power to do as he needs. GOD is just a way of controlling sheep. science and evolution is the key truth. why the hell would GOD create dinosaurs for millions of years, did he realize that they couldnt love him so he killed them off to make way for us feeble humans? the dinosaurs maybe were smarter than us then? then to ask me about love... again a mental emotional thing of humans, we see the effects of loving someone at least.

Postby Bizzare » October 25th, 2012, 9:24 am

Red Fraction wrote:Shane is there a y proof that you can hold wind? But you can feel it inhale it live by it yet you can't see it, by not seeing it is one to believe that it does not exist.

I hate when ppl play this weak card. We can detect wind using at least one of our five senses. It exists. We can hear it and feel it. We are unable to see it.
Do you however see God, smell God, taste God, hear God, feel God?

shane1

Postby shane1 » October 25th, 2012, 9:31 am

exactly! wind is no comparrison. Maybe GOD created all the natural disasters and dangers in this world to make us suffer right? make us all playthings. Oh what am i doing today? hmmm let me see ah yes ... cause some tsunamis to wipe out ah set of men women and children right? make all other planets close to us uninhabitable... so we have to born and die right here ent? why make a set of useless planets to mock us. stuck here on one planet having to suffer. if he wanted love so much he would have made other planets full of humans, if he created the earth in 7 days he should have spent time making more planets full of humans. but hmmm right GOD is fiction :)

shane1

Postby shane1 » October 25th, 2012, 10:01 am

if u want to believe in a higher being or supreme being, if you want to succeed or be empowered... dont let some preists tell u pray to GOD the all powerfull and u shall receive his blessing.... believe in the only real being.. its called YOURSELF, cause no amount of useless prayers to something that has yet to exist will help you.

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » October 25th, 2012, 10:18 am

shane I have one question for you..here it goes ,do you think that Jesus was a historical figure?

AdamB

Postby AdamB » October 25th, 2012, 10:33 am

d spike wrote:I just find it hard to believe that if there is a perfect, supreme being, that he is such an egotist and allows only those who claim to have a special relationship with him, or claim to know his name, a reward in the afterlife.
Why would a perfect being create life only for the sole purpose of worshipping himself? Is he that lonely? Or bored with the adulation of the angels? That stinks of Pride.Or that you mis-interpret the definition of worship leading to an improper estimation of GOD such as to say that HE is an EGOTIST, imply that HE is UNJUST with HIS Reward, to say that HE is LONELY, BORED and PROUD.

No. There has to be a better reason. A perfect being IS IN NEED OF NOTHING. So why then the need to create?
Clearly there is a higher purpose to creation. It isn't something to be gained... it was then a gift. Giving for the sake of giving is Charity, or Love.
The concept of Love puts the Creation into context, makes sense of it all. The Creator knew we would enjoy life, and thus he created. (By "we" I mean all creatures, not just humans.)
Are you saying that the ONLY purpose of Creation is for us to ENJOY life?

Muslim Perspective:

Our purpose of existence on earth is more meaningful than being slaves to worldly gains. There can be no meaningful life better than that prescribed by our Creator. Every act done according to GOD's way is an act of worship. Man is the beneficiary and GOD is in no need.

GOD has Names and Attributes, all of perfection according to HIS Majesty. Examples of attributes like mercy, forgiveness, accepting repentance, wisdom, justice, giving help, sustenance, etc. WHY CREATE? The Creation allows for the manifestation of GOD's perfect attributes. If we didn't sin and seek forgiveness and repentance, then how would GOD manifest HIS attributes of giving forgiveness and accepting repentance?

Knowing Allaah's Names and Attributes liberates man from worshipping any form of creation because creation is weak and is in need of The Creator. The knowledge about GOD leads man to know that he is created to live according to GOD's way.

This way was revealed to the last Messenger Muhammad (saws) that muslims hold fast to. This Revelation contains a complete code of life. Everything that is beneficial or harmful is established so that man can center his life around this Revelation. If man commits wrong and knows that Allaah is Oft-Forgiving he would turn to Him and to Him alone seeking His forgiveness.

I don't see the point in arguing whether he exists or not. Whether atheist, agnostic or religious, all agree on maintaining a set of morals in order to ensure a better life experience. Why else would we be given the gift of life if not to enjoy it?
(And to the sour holy-rollers who will scramble to condemn such a "hedonistic" remark, all I can say is: if debauchery and errant behaviour is your concept of "enjoying life", then I think you have absolutely no idea of what life is about, and yours was wasted on you.)

Enjoyment of life can be done with obedience to GOD (that which pleases HIM) and disobedience to GOD (that with which HE is not pleased). I am in agreement with you but rather than leave it open to misinterpretation, I prefer to qualify the statement that what GOD WANTS is enjoyment through obedience and not enjoyment through disobedience.
Neither do I see the point of arguing which religion is better, or perfect.
If you believe that God exists, and you are certain of a path to his door, then all power to you. You walk that path, and ensure your life reflects your belief of what is behind the door to which you are heading. There can only be ONE supreme being (otherwise he wouldn't be supreme, now would he?) and as you can't meet him physically and chat, your concept of him is but a mental one, and would obviously differ from that of another person. If each person and group and culture has a differing concept of God, then it should be no surprise to a thinking person that there are different religions - but each pointing the way to the same divine source.
Unless if GOD has sent a message to us that some of us have gone down a path leading to eventual destruction, so HE shows us the way accepted by HIM through HIS messenger.
To conclude, just as we have been given life, we are given many gifts that we are expected to use - I doubt we would have been granted useless gifts. If we were expected to think and rationalize, then we would have received the gifts of intellect and logic... oh, that's right, we have received such gifts - well, most of us, at any rate.
And some of us are very PROUD of that, though none of us KNOWS FOR A FACT that our opinion is the correct one.
Cheers

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » October 25th, 2012, 10:40 am

adam b the man had a good post going there now look what you go and do now

AdamB

Postby AdamB » October 25th, 2012, 10:42 am

megadoc1 wrote:adam b the man had a good post going there now look what you go and do now

Devil's Advocate??

D man shud know and accept that his opinion is not the only one that counts but knowing is one thing and accepting is quite another....

AdamB

Postby AdamB » October 25th, 2012, 10:46 am

megadoc1 wrote:shane I have one question for you..here it goes ,do you think that Jesus was a historical figure?

While we await Shane's answer, shouldn't historical figures have REAL EVIDENCE from HISTORICAL ARTEFACTS OR OTHERWISE that would prove the existence of such figure?

I am not saying that Jesus did not exist. I am asking if there is real historical evidence to confirm that he did.

From RationalWiki:

Evidence for the historical existence of Jesus of Nazareth (the Christ) as portrayed in the Bible is only found in three places: the Bible itself, other early Christian writings, and references by the various early churches (c. 100CE) to the long dead leader of those churches. There are no contemporaneous sources outside of the early Christian community.

Historians focusing on this era generally accept that there was likely some fellow named Jesus who lived in Palestine roughly two millennia ago, had a very small following of people studying his views, was killed by the government for some such reason, and whose life became pivotal to some of the world's largest religions. Beyond this, however, there is doubt over the accuracy of any of the descriptions of his life, as described in the Bible or as understood by his believers. A handful of authors, past[1] and present[2] believe there is insufficient justification to assume any individual human seed for the stories.

Kasey

Postby Kasey » October 25th, 2012, 10:49 am

^^yeah but you obviously DONT KNOW!!! But rather, You believe!!! You defamed a really good post with red, bold, and caps, like ALWAYS. Your opinion is not as well-presented as spikey's.

AdamB

Postby AdamB » October 25th, 2012, 10:49 am

maj. tom wrote:shane1. Gather your thoughts and write them in one ranting post.

And you really expect me to reply to the babblings of RedFraction, DFC and now shane1?

AdamB

Postby AdamB » October 25th, 2012, 10:54 am

Kasey wrote:^^yeah but you obviously DONT KNOW!!! But rather, You believe!!! You defamed a really good post with red, bold, and caps, like ALWAYS. Your opinion is not as well-presented as spikey's.

Sorry but that's my style to distinguish the reply and stress on certain points/words.

If you think it is not as well presented, then does that make it wrong? Look at the content of the reply before judging based on the person replying.

You have other options:

1. Don't read my posts

2. Set me up as a FOE and you won't see my posts.

Cheers. (I hope that was presented well enough for your liking.)

AdamB

Postby AdamB » October 25th, 2012, 10:57 am

Megadoc,
If Jesus was a Palestinian, when he returns will he return to / in Palestine?

shane1

Postby shane1 » October 25th, 2012, 11:04 am

jesus as a man maybe.

shane1

Postby shane1 » October 25th, 2012, 11:06 am

and his mother wasnt a virgin obviously.

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » October 25th, 2012, 11:06 am

AdamB wrote:
megadoc1 wrote:shane I have one question for you..here it goes ,do you think that Jesus was a historical figure?

While we await Shane's answer, shouldn't historical figures have REAL EVIDENCE from HISTORICAL ARTEFACTS OR OTHERWISE that would prove the existence of such figure?

I am not saying that Jesus did not exist. I am asking if there is real historical evidence to confirm that he did.

From RationalWiki:

Evidence for the historical existence of Jesus of Nazareth (the Christ) as portrayed in the Bible is only found in three places: the Bible itself, other early Christian writings, and references by the various early churches (c. 100CE) to the long dead leader of those churches. There are no contemporaneous sources outside of the early Christian community.

Historians focusing on this era generally accept that there was likely some fellow named Jesus who lived in Palestine roughly two millennia ago, had a very small following of people studying his views, was killed by the government for some such reason, and whose life became pivotal to some of the world's largest religions. Beyond this, however, there is doubt over the accuracy of any of the descriptions of his life, as described in the Bible or as understood by his believers. A handful of authors, past[1] and present[2] believe there is insufficient justification to assume any individual human seed for the stories.
what about david? the only historical sources for him is in the bible, but isnt he considered to be a historical figure? where as Jesus has more reference to him by historians.you are very wrong to think that the only sources for historical Jesus can be in the bible or christian writings! please look up the writings of Tacitus,Pliny,Lucian,Josephus,Pliny the younger,celsus(he said what Jesus did was sorcery but he never denied his existence),thallus(and another debated the mid day darkness on the day Jesus was killed on weather or not it was an eclipse ) do some research here..wanna bet you would aviod wikki on this one?
Last edited by megadoc1 on October 25th, 2012, 11:14 am, edited 1 time in total.

shane1

Postby shane1 » October 25th, 2012, 11:07 am

futhermore supernatural and obeah are all BS and there is no hard evidence to prove it!

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » October 25th, 2012, 11:09 am

shane1, alot of things can be written in one post eh

shane1 wrote:jesus as a man maybe.

thanks for your honesty
shane1 wrote:and his mother wasnt a virgin obviously.
this is a matter of belief sir