The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

silent_riot

Re: The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby silent_riot » August 15th, 2014, 7:57 pm

Got my Moto E this afternoon, I'll let you know of any issues.

Postby M_2NR » August 15th, 2014, 8:43 pm

S_2NR wrote:
M_2NR wrote:
stev wrote:just flashed Mahdi ROM on my N5.....ignored the gigantic warning and turned on ART. lol

liking the built in customization options.....native icon replacement is the best IMO.

lemme know how it goes eh :D

although i real liking my stock + gravity box combo.

_

I had find out what was the cause of my drains... well most of it. It was AppOpps xposed module ironically. when i disabled all the location crap from apps... it caused a wakelock for fused location :|

yea let us know how mahdi works..
saw it available for moto g now.
was gonna sell my phone and probably upgrade to the new moto x when released but i have some unexpected expenses to deal with.

How you muster d courage to sell that moto g already boy? yuhno i still have my nokia 6230 :lol:

Postby S_2NR » August 15th, 2014, 9:11 pm

I want a batter camera.

Postby Trini Hookah » August 15th, 2014, 10:01 pm

A cake camera sounds delightful.

Postby S_2NR » August 15th, 2014, 10:25 pm

oh sheit. dam autocorrect :lol: ... "better"

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » August 16th, 2014, 11:13 am

When you mass-produce devices on the scale that a company like Samsung does, it's a given that there will be a (small) percentage of them with issues.

I've had the Galaxy S, S2, S3, Note 2, Note 3, Tab 2... and not ONE of those devices have had any issues.
They still don't...many firmware upgrades and mods later.

I can understand if you buy one Samsung device and it craps out on you, then you tend to take a very dim view of their products from then on.

Looking forward to more Sammy goodness with the Note 4. :)

Postby stev » August 16th, 2014, 9:49 pm

i wonder what new S-Pen features the Note 4 will bring...and if there will be any backward compatibility for the Note 3.

so i've been using Mahdi ROM for d past week.....most stable ROM i've used so far....literally no bugs spotted during daily use....even when i turned on ART (big warning not to)....customization options are very nice as well.

when i first installed it, i let all my apps sync / install before charging to 100%. after i noticed a 10% battery drain (~5 mins SOT) over the span of an hour. :?
I ignored it as i thought my other accounts were probably still syncing.

By wednesday my battery stats were approx. 18hrs (2.5hrs SOT)....not very good compared to stock IMO....unless there is something im doing wrong.

on stock (4.4.4) i can squeeze up to 24hrs with ~3.5hrs SOT....thats the most i ever make on the N5 with daily usage.

GPS always on high accuracy as well as sync always on for 8 accounts.

thats just my experience with Mahdi ROM.....most likely it will be a different experience (better or worse) for other N5 users or Moto users.

im back on stock at the moment. gonna try sailfish alongside firefox OS (dual boot) 2mrw....was hesitant at first but then i saw how easy it is to get rid of everything when im finished.....just download a nexus factory image and type one command to revert everything back to stock :lol:
adb flash-all.bat FTW

Humes

Postby Humes » August 17th, 2014, 12:17 am

Do any of you do minor software repairs on Android tablets? I have one that needs some help.

My wife got a "encryption was interrupted and can't complete as a result" message on her Asus Memo Pad 7 this evening. The button to do the factory reset on the message prompt did nothing, so I ended up booting it into recovery mode and factory resetting from there.

When I rebooted it after that, it got stuck in a reboot loop, showing the logo, then the second logo/slogan, then restarting. I can cold boot it from there, but I haven't been able to shut it down. It might just keep doing that all night until the battery runs out.

Any advice would be appreciated, and I'm also willing to bring it in for repairs.
Last edited by Humes on August 18th, 2014, 12:51 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby M_2NR » August 17th, 2014, 12:17 pm

stev wrote:adb flash-all.bat FTW

dan :lol:
yuh never use nexus root toolkit?
i normally liked to do things myself but i decided to try it out. works wonderfully.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » August 17th, 2014, 2:45 pm

So far so good with the moto e.
Battery life is good with the normal apps running. Display is really nice. Camera not all that, os response is really nice though.
Good value IMO.

Postby S_2NR » August 17th, 2014, 3:03 pm

moto g cam rel lacking so i could imagine the moto e. ill pray for you bro

Postby RASC » August 17th, 2014, 5:28 pm

Dunno how allyuh surviving with those cams. I take pics of everything that'd kill me :(

Postby Trini Hookah » August 17th, 2014, 7:41 pm

Ent bai. I have nightmares about 5mp cams

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » August 17th, 2014, 8:57 pm

Well I'm not one of those who are big on phone cams.
I use a dslr for when I want to take photos, but all in all my experience is the same as those reviews online. I like the phone as it does what I need for now.

Postby nervewrecker » August 17th, 2014, 9:20 pm

silent_riot wrote:Well I'm not one of those who are big on phone cams.
I use a dslr for when I want to take photos, but all in all my experience is the same as those reviews online. I like the phone as it does what I need for now.

Where you got it and how much it cost?

sonygoup

Postby sonygoup » August 17th, 2014, 10:24 pm

The solution IMO to any low megapixel smartphone camera ie. Moto g/e
http://www.engadget.com/2013/09/18/sony-qx10-review/

Just the price kinda high but it's worth it, if you want a good camera and a basic android device!

Postby stev » August 17th, 2014, 10:52 pm

silent_riot wrote:I like the phone as it does what I need for now.

most important IMO.

didnt charge my phone since i went back to stock.....hardly used my phone over the weekend as well...mainly google now and google play books.

not much processing power involved (reading a book from google play this evening) but I have no idea how i pull this off:

Screenshot_2014-08-17-22-34-29.png

Screenshot_2014-08-17-22-34-38.png

Postby DVSTT » August 17th, 2014, 10:54 pm

sonygoup wrote:The solution IMO to any low megapixel smartphone camera ie. Moto g/e
http://www.engadget.com/2013/09/18/sony-qx10-review/

Just the price kinda high but it's worth it, if you want a good camera and a basic android device!

The moto Xcamera isn't too bad though .

Humes

Postby Humes » August 17th, 2014, 11:05 pm

Humes wrote:Do any of you do minor software repairs on Android tablets? I have one that needs some help.

My wife got a "encryption was interrupted and can't complete as a result" message on her Asus Memo Pad 7 this evening. The button to do the factory reset on the message prompt did nothing, so I ended up booting it into recovery mode and factory resetting from there.

When I rebooted it after that, it got stuck in a reboot loop, showing the logo, then the second logo/slogan, then restarting. I can cold boot it from there, but I haven't been able to shut it down. It might just keep doing that all night until the battery runs out.

Any advice would be appreciated, and I'm also willing to bring it in for repairs.

Any help possible?

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » August 17th, 2014, 11:57 pm

My Dad BLU dash (Android 2.3.5) has a WIFI error problem everytime he tries to connect. I search all night for solutions but nothing worked so far, any suggestions?????

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » August 18th, 2014, 6:47 am

eurotuner wrote:My Dad BLU dash (Android 2.3.5) has a WIFI error problem everytime he tries to connect. I search all night for solutions but nothing worked so far, any suggestions?????

Check the date on his phone and make sure it current... (serious!)... My mother-in-law use to set the date back to play candy crush and get more lives and when she set it to 2012 or something so the Play Store and other apps refused to work... I set the date to August 2014 and rebooted and everything works fine..

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » August 18th, 2014, 10:44 am

Humes wrote:
Humes wrote:Any advice would be appreciated, and I'm also willing to bring it in for repairs.

Any help possible?

I dont know if this will work, but You likely need to reflash the firmware.
This XDA thread includes a link to original firmware and I believe a detailed guide on how to install it.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthr ... ?t=2503668

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » August 18th, 2014, 11:30 am

Humes wrote:
Humes wrote:Do any of you do minor software repairs on Android tablets? I have one that needs some help.

Any help possible?

Check yuh pm

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » August 18th, 2014, 1:50 pm

-Roach- wrote:
eurotuner wrote:My Dad BLU dash (Android 2.3.5) has a WIFI error problem everytime he tries to connect. I search all night for solutions but nothing worked so far, any suggestions?????

Check the date on his phone and make sure it current... (serious!)... My mother-in-law use to set the date back to play candy crush and get more lives and when she set it to 2012 or something so the Play Store and other apps refused to work... I set the date to August 2014 and rebooted and everything works fine..

Thanks man, would try and let you know how it went

Postby ismithx » August 18th, 2014, 6:29 pm

*wipes forehead*

and there was a couple hours of on-screen time there too
Screenshot_2014-08-18-23-22-59.jpg

Postby stev » August 18th, 2014, 7:22 pm

couple of hours or couple of minutes? :lol:

Postby Trini Hookah » August 18th, 2014, 10:20 pm

Brightness on 1 + no wifi maybe

speedist

Postby speedist » August 18th, 2014, 11:55 pm

Anybody have experience with alcatel? Lookin at the c1 pop. Looks good on paper. Searching for something basic for a beginner smartphone user.

Postby Trini Hookah » August 19th, 2014, 8:55 am

Blu is the only good budget android. The ones that went for $200 in the sale ftw

Postby stev » August 19th, 2014, 9:05 am

speedist wrote:Anybody have experience with alcatel? Lookin at the c1 pop. Looks good on paper. Searching for something basic for a beginner smartphone user.

I know a few people with Alcatel phones (not the one in question)...never heard any complaints.

I would advise against it though....look for something a bit more mainstream...Like the Moto E / G if ur budget supports it.....judging from the specs of the c1 pop...ur android experience will be kinda bad.

will u (or the user of the phone) be interested in android mods / tweaks / customization etc.? if not then android is a good option but not your only option. If yes then a somewhat mainstream phone wud be better.