Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby matr1x » May 11th, 2017, 8:05 pm

Drchaos is kind of simple in the head.

Then again, the pnm bloggers live to serve their boss. They don't care about the poor or anyone after the caroni bridge.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 11th, 2017, 8:10 pm

Last time Trinis protested they got a mayor removed. Just saying.

Postby RedVEVO » May 11th, 2017, 8:14 pm

Last time Trinis protested they got a 5-10% increase in salary. Just saying.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 11th, 2017, 8:46 pm

Mariano Browne is live on 90.5fm

http://v6.player.abacast.net/826

Program ends around 9:30 PM so there is 40 minutes left

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 11th, 2017, 8:51 pm

RedVEVO wrote:^^

You continue to troll .
You continue to hijack discussions.
You continue to refuse to stop

Last time you were crying.
Mentioned your Mama had all the files.
Last time you e-mailing lawyers.
All public information.

You sure no one stole your password now ?
You sure your computer was not hacked ?

Property Tax is unfair.
Axe the tax.

Keep untwisting your labia almost free! :lol:

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 11th, 2017, 8:53 pm

matr1x wrote:Drchaos is kind of simple in the head.

Then again, the pnm bloggers live to serve their boss. They don't care about the poor or anyone after the caroni bridge.

If yuh cah beat them ... Join them. I see the light and only recently apply for my PNM party card yes!

Better to be on the right hand of the devil than in his path.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 11th, 2017, 9:03 pm

So Mariano Browne now said those renting from the NHA will NOT be paying any Property Tax.

Live link

http://v6.player.abacast.net/826

car

Postby car » May 11th, 2017, 9:08 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:So Mariano Browne now said those renting from the NHA will NOT be paying any Property Tax.

Wait a few more days and they will say Beetham and lavantille and hard to get places - no tax.
Then a week after-no tax for squatters.

And all the above was their original plan all along.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 11th, 2017, 9:13 pm

Well fellas look, Mariano now say that we have a massive subsidy on water in this country and a subsidy on current though he didn't say how big it is.

He broke it down how much 1000 gallons of water costs in the US and well lets just say that if you paying $1000 a year in Property tax it is still significantly cheaper than if government was to remove subsidy from WASA and let you live free of property tax.

So I guess that could always make us sleep better.

HOWEVER he said lack of local government reform for this property tax is a concern but not a HUGE concern because of the subsidy on electricity and water. But offcourse the government could remove these subsidies at any point we really don't know what will take place. But for now it isn't as bad as we think.

But again people renting house from the government will NOT be paying any property Tax and that is their support base.

car

Postby car » May 11th, 2017, 9:23 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Well fellas look, Mariano now say that we have a massive subsidy on water in this country and a subsidy on current though he didn't say how big it is.

He broke it down how much 1000 gallons of water costs in the US and well lets just say that if you paying $1000 a year in Property tax it is still significantly cheaper than if government was to remove subsidy from WASA and let you live free of property tax.

HOWEVER he said lack of local government reform for this property tax is a concern but not a HUGE concern because of the subsidy on electricity and water. But offcourse the government could remove these subsidies at any point we really don't know what will take place. But for now it isn't as bad as we think.

But again people renting house from the government will NOT be paying any property Tax and that is their support base.

Anybody know how much the subsidy on water and electricity is?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 11th, 2017, 9:25 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Well fellas look, Mariano now say that we have a massive subsidy on water in this country and a subsidy on current though he didn't say how big it is.

True! Rowley does want to wean us off subsidies, electricity and water will be soon. The poor chap is not a really a people's person that why he is always putting his foot in his mouth saying things like he needs to wean us off the government. But I think as a nation subsidies make us lazy and noncompetitive. and a slow removal is what we need in order to help us reach our full potential

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 11th, 2017, 9:30 pm

car wrote:

Alot! In Grenada I used to pay around 700 to 900 EC for a one bedroom apt with an A/C running 6 hours a night and no washer and dryer. They have no subsidies on electricity. In T&T that much can run two apartments with 3 a/cs on for the whole night, and a large unit in each apartment running during the day, 4 fridges, two sets of washers and dryers and so on and so on. If I had to guess I would say we pay less than 1/4 what the other islands pay for their unsubsidized electricity. Bear in mind this was when oil and NG was high.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 11th, 2017, 9:34 pm

^ damn that is to show you how cheap Trinidad really is, but I have a gut feeling is only a matter of time until imbutt remove those subsidies. Rowley does give lil hints here and there about how we grow up on the government back but no more. What I found bizarre is when he made that speech in laventille everybody in the room start to clap.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 11th, 2017, 9:37 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ damn that is to show you how cheap Trinidad really is, but I have a gut feeling is only a matter of time until imbutt remove those subsidies. Rowley does give lil hints here and there about how we grow up on the government back but no more. What I found bizarre is when he made that speech in laventille everybody in the room start to clap.

Who going into laventille to make these people pay for the electricity they stealing off the grid? :mrgreen:

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » May 11th, 2017, 10:01 pm

Who want to talk in they ass about water and electricity subsidy by using price comparison in the states better compare salary and minimum wage in the four kings states too.

Postby sMASH » May 11th, 2017, 10:32 pm

bluesclues wrote:Who want to talk in they ass about water and electricity subsidy by using price comparison in the states better compare salary and minimum wage in the four kings states too.

^^ this, +purchasing power.

Postby matr1x » May 11th, 2017, 11:27 pm

With the amount of wastage that happens with wasa, it's wasa that's gets the bligh not the citizens.

I wouldn't even use Grenada as a comparison because of different economic structure.

In beetham the amount of people stealing electricity is staggering. Let's just say, if a jumper cable cause a fire, let's not waste sympathy for those thieves.

Speaking of t&tec, those with electric meters, if you see the brand name itron, there was a little backdoor dealings with the last pnm administration that should make your blood boil.

Postby RedVEVO » May 12th, 2017, 1:03 am

drchaos wrote:
car wrote:

Alot! In Grenada I used to pay around 700 to 900 EC for a one bedroom apt with an A/C running 6 hours a night and no washer and dryer. They have no subsidies on electricity. In T&T that much can run two apartments with 3 a/cs on for the whole night, and a large unit in each apartment running during the day, 4 fridges, two sets of washers and dryers and so on and so on. If I had to guess I would say we pay less than 1/4 what the other islands pay for their unsubsidized electricity. Bear in mind this was when oil and NG was high.

Wait , wait ! .... Wait ! .... hold de doubles, medium in one , heavy on the other.

... drchaos is a Grenadian ?

Since when Remand Yard inhabitants have access to broadband ? :roll:

Mask off ! :lol:

Trini Only:

Axe the Tax !
Last edited by RedVEVO on May 12th, 2017, 1:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » May 12th, 2017, 1:25 am

RedVEVO wrote:
drchaos wrote:
car wrote:

Wait , wait ! .... Wait ! .... hold de doubles, medium in one , heavy on the other.

... drchaos is a Grenadian ?

Since when Remand Yard inhabitants have access to broadband ? :roll:

Mask off !

Trini Only:

Axe the Tax !

( .. 4 fridges , 4 stoves, 4 washer / dryer .. my ass :x )

Bai why remove the utility subsidiary who ever wanna do that wicked u justified by this government and at the end if you get a new tax it's gonna stay a long time..

Postby RedVEVO » May 12th, 2017, 1:56 am

Removal of "subsidies" is a plan that all Gov'ts want.
Gov'ts like to increase taxes to provide services.

It is a basic untruth in Trinidad.

Most "First World" countries can follow through but others fail especially
in "Third World" countries ( Trinidad ).

Some administrations look at Gov't like a business.
You cannot run a Gov't like a business.
People are diverse. You have the rich, middle and low income classes.

When you have low wages and extreme poverty and then waste
and mismanagement with no accountability, then you have Trinidad.

Trinis need to wake up and protest .

There is total denial of our affairs.

Again ' Axe the tax '

Postby sMASH » May 12th, 2017, 5:02 am

think about it like this;

u have a low income home with a total monthly income of say 5000. and bills that pile up to 3500
u can say yeah, they still have savings, that they would spend on boat cruise or river with WO.

then u have a middle class income home with a monthly income of say 28000 and a monthly bill total that is like 14000.

when u factor in things that may happen but not be normal monthly factors, like a doctor visit, or surgery, or a car accident to fix car, or some appliance breaking down that need replacement or fixing, or some traffic ticket.
u can see who will be most affected by small changes in living costs.

all these increases would affect everybody, but affects the poor most of all. and what kinda life u expect people to have when the only form of enjoyment they can afford is to sit and talk to each other?

and what we have failed to factor in, is a young blood, who trying to make it, and just not getting through, but still seeing people with their big cars and big house, and cant even afford a descent pair of shoes... seeing them and deciding to fleck the right way, and just take it from the so called rich person.

it would be a case of the have-nots, taking from the haves.

all these PNM taxe increases are just gonna make the inequality gap a lot wider, but put the poor in society in a less forgiving situation.

Postby RedVEVO » May 12th, 2017, 6:18 am

Yes .

Also consider you have the rich who can weather the recession .
The poor will be at a disadvantage - again.

Then you have the middle class which will slide to the low end (poor) and there will exist
then a widened inequality. Or in other words no middle class.

Gov't is asking the rich to invest in low income housing - They will not.

Why ? The returns will be minimal . They will begin to finance other areas e.g. drugs

The Forex distribution is another festering problem that will cause serious problems and will
be corrupted as Gov't seeks to give manufacturers priority .

It will never work. Manufactures will still hoard and keep the US dollars.
Why ? The is no trust with the Gov't as to supply US dollars.

The Gov't in power is clueless .

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 12th, 2017, 7:18 am

Yes .

Also consider you have the rich who can weather the recession .
The poor will be at a disadvantage - again.

Then you have the middle class which will slide to the low end (poor) and there will exist
then a widened inequality. Or in other words no middle class.

Gov't is asking the rich to invest in low income housing - They will not.

Why ? The returns will be minimal . They will begin to finance other areas e.g. drugs

The Forex distribution is another festering problem that will cause serious problems and will
be corrupted as Gov't seeks to give manufacturers priority .

It will never work. Manufactures will still hoard and keep the US dollars.
Why ? The is no trust with the Gov't as to supply US dollars.

The Gov't in power is clueless .

I thought you said all the rich left the country ???

There is no shortage of USD. There is a shortage at the 6.7-6.8 price point. There is a thriving black market that the politicians are encouraging because their friends stand to make a lot of money. UNC did the same. There are numbers floating around where you can any USD you want but you have to pay 7.4 to 8.

You know nothing Redvevo (said in a strong northern English accent).

Postby RedVEVO » May 12th, 2017, 7:32 am

The Rich manage their affairs from abroad.
The Rich have left T&T long time.

I poor. I staying here . South of Caroni.

So you saying that there is no shortage of USD ?
You should send a memo to the Banks, Gov't and all of T&T.
We all did not get your esteemed financial report.

For a Grenadian you talk real big ! PNM card, Ford Ranger 3.2 etc.
You gave us a lecture about Syrians. English accent and all.
Take a win . Maybe you know more than the average Trini.

Send us a photo of the Ford Ranger 3.2
you purchased and give us a detailed review.

Again , for Trini Only:

Axe the tax !

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 12th, 2017, 4:54 pm

The Rich manage their affairs from abroad.
The Rich have left T&T long time.

I poor. I staying here . South of Caroni.

So you saying that there is no shortage of USD ?
You should send a memo to the Banks, Gov't and all of T&T.
We all did not get your esteemed financial report.

For a Grenadian you talk real big ! PNM card, Ford Ranger 3.2 etc.
You gave us a lecture about Syrians. English accent and all.
Take a win . Maybe you know more than the average Trini.

Send us a photo of the Ford Ranger 3.2
you purchased and give us a detailed review.

Again , for Trini Only:

Axe the tax !

Interesting how Poverty affects literacy.

It was a 2.2 ranger, and we decided against it because you need a class 4 permit.
The information is there my friend you just need to attend some ALTA classes.

Postby RedVEVO » May 12th, 2017, 6:45 pm

Happy Friday Grenadian ! A Grenadian with a new PNM card !

Everybody knows you need "Heavy T" to buy a Ford Ranger 2.2 and Ford Ranger 3.2

So you could not afford it ? Bank did not approve loan ? It is Friday drink some rum !

Oh and yes I am a poor hard working young Tiger. I see you highlighted the word "poor."
No shame to being poor . It humbles a person. Makes you work hard.

But I know one thing. Yes, I will continue with my agenda :)

The Property Tax is unfair.

The form the Gov't is asking you to sign is illegal.

Talk to your MP !

Axe the Tax .

Postby rspann » May 12th, 2017, 7:44 pm

Anand Ramlogan is carrying the Gov't to court over the property tax, also a group of lawyers is doing the same thing in south. The south group has Avery Sinanan and Jagdeo Singh among them. They have given the gov't until the 18th to respond.

Postby RedVEVO » May 12th, 2017, 7:53 pm

rspann wrote:Anand Ramlogan is carrying the Gov't to court over the property tax, also a group of lawyers is doing the same thing in south. The south group has Avery Sinanan and Jagdeo Singh among them. They have given the gov't until the 18th to respond.

F***ing best news I hear today. These are the top attorneys - Our next Gov't !

Join us in Court "spanner man" !

Even if you wearing the rubber slippers and short pants :roll:

Postby rspann » May 12th, 2017, 8:02 pm

I never wear a rubber slipper in my life, and some people have long pants with empty pockets.

Postby bluefete » May 12th, 2017, 8:35 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
rspann wrote:Anand Ramlogan is carrying the Gov't to court over the property tax, also a group of lawyers is doing the same thing in south. The south group has Avery Sinanan and Jagdeo Singh among them. They have given the gov't until the 18th to respond.

These are the top attorneys - Our next Gov't !

You cannot be serious.

Anand was fired for conspiracy to pervert the course of justice.

Anand Ramlogan and Gary Griffith have been axed

Published on February 2, 2015

By Richard Charan
February 02, 2015 – trinidadexpress.com

PRIME Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar has asked that the President revoke the appointments of Attorney General Anand Ramlogan, National Security Minister Gary Griffith, and called for the resignation of the Director of the Police Complaints Authority (PCA) David West, for their roles in witness-tampering investigation ordered by Acting Police Commissioner Stephen Williams.

Full Article : trinidadexpress.com

The PM’s address

February 02, 2015

When this government assumed office I pledged that there would be no compromise on integrity in public office or performance.

I took an oath under the Constitution of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago that “I will bear true faith and allegiance to Trinidad and Tobago and will uphold the Constitution and the law,

That I will conscientiously, impartially and to the best of my ability discharge my duties as Prime Minister, And do right to all manner of people without fear or favour, affection or ill-will.”

I have strived in every way to do so.

Over the past four years, as I ensured that the public interest was paramount, sometimes changes in government were required to protect the public interest.

I have been criticized for removing too many office holders over the past four years as I was seeking to ensure the public interest was secured.

While it may have not served narrow political interests, I took the decisions necessary to serve the broader national interest, above and beyond everything else.

I did so while ensuring all matters were fairly and reasonably considered and all parties were given an opportunity to be heard and evaluated.

Despite the fact that we are today on the cusp of a general election, I want to make it clear my considerations today will be no less driven by any other than that of what is best for the nation.

For me, my position as Prime Minister has always been a selfless task and one which I felt humbled to have been granted through the will of the people and the grace of God.

There have been allegations being made by the current Director of the PCA, regarding the Attorney General.

The Director of the PCA has signed a statement in which he claims that the Attorney General had asked the Director of the PCA to withdraw his witness statement in a defamation matter against the Opposition Leader.

The Attorney General has vehemently denied the allegation.

The Trinidad and Tobago Police Service has confirmed that an investigation is being conducted into the matter.

More recently, the Minister of National Security has become embroiled in the matter.

It is alleged that the Minister, upon the advice of the Attorney General, telephoned the Director of the PCA to query whether he had withdrawn a statement.

That alleged incident also forms part of the police enquiry.

The Minister has confirmed that he did in fact make such a call.

Upon placing that call the Minister did not consult with me nor make it known the details of his conversation with the Director of the PCA.

The Minister also did not report to me on the alleged request of the Attorney General either before or after his call to President of the PCA.

The question is whether the Minister was not under an obligation to inform me, as the Prime Minister, that he made such a call.

The situation today would have been very different had such a request not been made and this matter been brought to my earlier attention.

I have requested and received statements from Honourable Attorney General and the Honourable Minister of National Security.

I have perused both those statements as well as the reported statements of the Director of the PCA, and from my perusal of same I have discerned that the material facts contained therein are in conflict with each other.

I cannot be judge and jury to determine the veracity of any or all.

While I am not in a position to determine neither guilt nor innocence in this matter it is of grave enough consequence to warrant serious consideration and immediate action.

I cannot and will not sit idly by while the Office of the Attorney General and that of the Minister of National Security and the head of the Police Complaints Authority are being compromised and brought into disrepute by such allegations that have warranted a police enquiry.

Those office holders preside over the administration of justice, law and order and so cannot remain in those positions while these investigations into allegations are made.

I cast no aspersions on the capacity or performance of those that hold these positions but cannot have these offices be so embroiled in conflict and controversy eroding public confidence in the institutions which they lead.

Without prejudice to the outcome nor denial of any party to due process and a fair and just determination in the matter, I have asked for and received the resignation of both the Attorney General and the Minister of National Security.

What is also of equally grave concern to me, as it must be to the nation, is the compromised position of the Director of the PCA, arising out of this situation.

The question must arise as to why he did not make it known to me or to His Excellency President Anthony Carmona when the position of heading the PCA was offered to him in November.

Further, why did he wait until now to make public this matter?

If the Opposition Leader also knew of the issue at the time when he was consulted about the appointment by myself –we had discussions- and the President it would also have been obligatory upon him to have informed His Excellency.

Failure by the Opposition Leader to do so at the time does create doubt to any independent observer as to why no mention was made at the time of appointment and why was there such a delay between November and when the appointment and now in making known the matter.

Given the political sensitivity and nature of the alleged incidents it would have been not just prudent but mandatory that both myself and His Excellency, the President be informed.

Withholding such information has seriously compromised the appointment of the Director of the PCA.

It is my view therefore, that the Director of the PCA should immediately resign and/ or his appointment be revoked.

The PCA is an independent institution and public confidence must remain strong if that body is to carry out its duties without fear or favour and be perceived by all to so do. Justice must only be done seen to be done.

It would be impossible, given the present issue that the current head can continue to hold this position without the very institution he leads also being called into question.

The head of the Police Complaints Authority has the responsibility to investigate complaints against police officers.

He would find himself doing so now while he himself has filed a matter for investigation to the Commissioner of Police.

The threat of conflict of interest or perception thereof clearly emerges and compromises the role of the head of the PCA.

Further, questions also arise on the role of the Opposition Leader in the matter.

Did the Opposition Leader not have a moral if not legal obligation to inform me as Prime Minister and His Excellency the President about the personal involvement of a witness in a defamatory statement involving himself, the Leader of the Opposition

One has to be mindful that public office is not used for private gain.

Had there been a disclosure by the Opposition Leader of the personal interest in a legal matter involving himself and the Director of the PCA at the point of his nomination to be head of the PCA, the conflict of interest would have been declared.

Again the question arises and I want to say there are more questions than answers as to whether there was any deliberate attempt to hoodwink His Excellency and the Prime Minister in making the appointment by such nondisclosure.

I urge that an independent probe be conducted into these circumstances involving the Attorney General, the Minister of National Security, the head of the Police Complaints Authority and the Opposition Leader.

And so let the chips fall where they may.

I recognize that this cannot be an easy time for all individuals affected but know their duty to country first would bring to bear the burden of the action necessary to be taken.

Jagdeo was charged for bribery. But he was cleared by the Privy Council

The Jailing of a Lawyer

FRANCIS JOSEPH Sunday, June 19 2005

IT DOES not happen often. Once an appeal is compelling enough, the judges of the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council do not waste time.

So said, so done with Jagdeo Singh’s appeal on Thursday. The five-member Board retired for just 15 minutes, returned and allowed Singh’s appeal.

Conviction and sentence quashed, no retrial.

It was the same thing in December 1995 (a cold time in London) when Dole Chadee’s constitutional mo-tion on prejudicial pre-trial publicity was thrown out on the second day of the three-day hearing.

The Law Lords retired, returned quickly and dismissed Chadee’s appeal. They did not reserve, nor did they have a written judgment at the time.

Several lawyers have been to jail over the last ten years, but none so high-profile as Singh. He was an active member of the UNC St Joseph Constituency, residing in Maracas/St Joseph.

He was a member of the Plipdeco Board of Directors, he was in chambers with Seenath Jairam SC and others.

He had a thriving legal career and was a successful attorney at the time of his arrest.

While in prison, Singh’s daughter Priya was born. Two weeks ago, his sister died of cancer in New York.

THE ALLEGATION

On October 1, 1999, Rudolph "Horseman" John, a client of Singh’s, was charged for possession of marijuana for the purpose of trafficking.

Two other men were charged.

On October 2, Sherry Ann Basdeo, John’s common-law wife, approached Singh and asked him to represent her husband in the matter. Singh agreed and fixed his fee at $50,000.

Singh had previously represented John at a preliminary inquiry into another charge and John was committed to stand trial at the Assizes. For that matter, Singh quoted a fee of $150,000 and Basdeo paid him $10,000 and $2,500.

On October 11, Singh went to the chambers of Magistrate Deborah Thomas-Felix, the magistrate before whom John would appear that day on the trafficking charge, and asked if his client would be granted bail.

She told him that since his client had several charges pending, unless circumstances changed, he would have to seek bail before a judge in chambers. Singh replied that he would take his chances at the Magistrates’ Court. Bail was denied.

On November 1, Singh appeared before the same magistrate. He represented the three accused in the matter but made no application for bail for his own client. Bail was granted to the two other accused.

On November 11, Singh met Basdeo at the Magistrates’ Court at Nipdec House. He told her that in order for her husband to be granted bail, she would have to pay $40,000 as an inducement to Thomas-Felix to grant bail and for the court prosecutor Sgt Claudette Bynoe to offer no objections to the bail. Singh made repeated requests of Basdeo for the money.

On November 18, Derek Perpignac (the man with the four names), whose wife was on friendly terms with Basdeo, visited Thomas-Felix at her home and spoke with her. The magistrate then contacted Senior Supt Wellington Virgil of the Fraud Squad.

The following day, Singh appeared at the door of the magistrate’s chambers. He asked her not to fix bail because he had not received his fees.

She asked, "You have not received your fees?" He replied, "no." She said, "no problem."

Virgil arranged a sting operation involving WPC Lystra Bridgelal and Basdeo.

On November 30, Bridgelal and Basdeo visited Singh’s office. Bridgelal posed as Debbie, the wife of a friend of John, and the person who was trying to raise the $40,000. She told Singh she wanted to be sure the money was to be used to take John’s bail and she appreciated that Singh was trying to get bail for John.

She asked Singh how long after she paid the $40,000 that John would get bail. He said all the arrangements for bail were made and he needed to have the money at least one day before the matter came up for hearing. Singh also told Debbie that if John did not get bail, he would return the money to her.

On December 1, Singh ap-peared for John and sought an adjournment to December 3. He whispered to the magistrate that he would make an application for bail on that day because he would be getting his fees.

The following day, Virgil gave Bridgelal the $40,000 in a white plastic bag, having obtained the money from OCNU. Virgil made a list of the serial numbers on the bills. Sometime later, Bridgelal, WPC Kathleen Nanton and other members of OCNU took up positions at the KFC outlet at Curepe where Singh agreed to meet Basdeo.

Singh arrived at the KFC outlet. Basdeo and Debbie were seated inside. Singh called Basdeo on her cell phone and spoke to her. He made a second call to Debbie, asking her what was taking so long. He refused to go inside the restaurant for the money. He told Debbie to come outside with the money.

Basdeo and Debbie eventually ap-proached Singh in his car. Debbie handed him the money. Basdeo asked him if everything will be all right. He said, "Yes, everything would be okay." Police then converged on the car.

Singh cried, "Is money, is money!"

Virgil arrested Singh and took him to the Fraud Squad office in Port-of-Spain where the suspect was told of the report. Singh replied that the $40,000 was his fee.

THE JAILING

Singh, who was called to the Bar in 1989, was charged with three counts. But he was found guilty before Justice Stanley John on two counts and sentenced to seven years in jail:

1) Between October 1 and December 3, 1999, he corruptly solicited for himself the sum of $40,000 from Shirley Basdeo as an inducement to Magistrate Deborah Thomas-Felix to grant bail to Rudolph John, and as an inducement to Police Prosecutor, Sgt Claudette Bynoe to forbear to object to the granting of bail to John, contrary to section 3 (1) of the Prevention of Corruption Act, No 11 of 1987.

2) On December 2, 1999, he corruptly received for himself the sum of $40,000 from Basdeo and Woman Police Constable Lystra Bridgelal as an inducement, contrary to section 3 (1) of the Prevention of Corruption Act No 11 of 1987.

Singh appealed, but the Court of Appeal comprising Chief Justice Sat Sharma, Justice Roger Hamel-Smith, and Justice Lionel Jones, dismissed the appeal on November 29, 2001. He then appealed to the Privy Council.

Singh’s attorneys relied on two grounds.

English Queen’s Counsel Edward Fitzgerald, who represented Singh at the Privy Council, said on Wednesday that the State rightly conceded at the appeal hearing, and the Court of Appeal rightly held, that the judge’s directions were defective in that the judge failed to give a direction that Singh’s good character must be taken into account on the crucial issue of credibility.

He contended that the State sought to assert at the special leave hearing on October 2, 2003, that there was nothing wrong with the directions. He submitted that this assertion was untenable on the part of the State and that it was inappropriate for them to reopen this issue at this stage of the proceedings.

Fitzgerald also argued that the Court of Appeal was wrong to apply the proviso for two reasons:

(1) Firstly, as a matter of principle, a failure to direct the jury on the importance of good character in respect of credibility represents a serious failure in any case where credibility is the issue. This, he added, restricts the discretion to uphold the conviction by application of the proviso to extreme and exceptional cases.

(2) Secondly, on the facts, the Court of Appeal’s analysis was flawed and the whole approach of reconstructing what the jury must have found was in conflict with the correct approach laid down by the House of Lords in 2002.

Fitzgerald said it appeared that the court reached its conclusions without any reference to the notes of evidence which were not before them.

Fitzgerald also submitted that the Court of Appeal erred in its construction of section 3 (1) of the Prevention of Corruption Act.

According to the written submissions of the English QC, "it was common ground between the State and the appellant, that the appellant never suggested or offered a bribe to the magistrate and/or the prosecutor. Indeed, it is the appellant’s case that it was conceded by the State at the trial that he never had any intention to offer a bribe to either of them."

Fitzgerald said the trial judge and the Court of Appeal relied on English and Welsh authorities to hold that "corruptly" means doing an act which the law forbids, in this case soliciting and receiving money from Basdeo, having induced her to believe that, in doing so, she would be entering into a corrupt arrangement with the magistrate and the prosecutor.

According to Fitzgerald, the intention of the TT Parliament was to deter persons from bribing or attempting to bribe the agents of the State. In this case, Queen’s Counsel pointed out that there was never any intention by Singh to bribe anyone.

On Thursday, the case was all over and Singh was released from the Maximum Security Prison at 7.05 pm. Prakash Ramadhar, a close friend of Singh’s who was en route from Miami at the time of the release, wants Singh to resume his legal career this week. How? We will just have to wait and see