Re: Trinituner Reefers, Saltwater Aquarium Fish Keepers

Postby HondaB20B » November 2nd, 2014, 5:30 pm

check PM

thatlife

Postby thatlife » November 5th, 2014, 12:38 pm

HondaB20B wrote:^^^^^why don't you just run one large sump outside instead of two small ones.

space and design

i end up ordering everything last week

will start the install next week

i'm doing a closed cabinet in my garage on a wall, i will have 2 sumps (reason being of the size that I was able to get them) and 2 display tanks (30 gal each),

everything should not cross 15" in depth.
the cabinet will have a glass viewing area where the display tanks are and the sumps will be closed

everything would be in the cabinet
dosing pumps and containers
ATO
Chiller (ventillation accounted for)
reactor
etc

i made sure to order enough check valves something i didn't have before which caused problems for me

there is also a quick and easy way to do the water changes, no more siphoning
just the turn of a valve to drain
and turn of a valve to refill

ziggy_dappa

Postby ziggy_dappa » November 6th, 2014, 10:49 am

^^^ Just a word of advice, do not depend on check valves for anti siphon because they do and will fail. The bio-film that's generated in our marine aquariums as well as pieces of debris such as broken coraline algae could get on the sealing surfaces of the valve and cause it to leak even if the flapper is closed and would still eventually lead to a siphon, your best option is to always size the sump to take the siphoned volume of water from your display tank in the event of a power failure.
To avoid a large volume of water from flowing back due to the low placement of the return nozzle I drilled two 1/4" holes in the return just under the water surface which acts as a siphon break once the level drops to the holes (be sure to drill two holes at about 90 degrees apart in case a snail moves over one an plugs it).

thatlife

Postby thatlife » November 6th, 2014, 1:38 pm

^ thanks!

i went with these check valves from marine depot

The back siphon from the return nozzle is the issue but only for the display tank inside the house which will flow back into the main sump in the garage
the nozzle is built into the back panel of the tank and I cant modify it as I wanted to drill the holes before but there isn't any space
i'm considering plugging that return and making my own and drilling the holes

ziggy_dappa

Postby ziggy_dappa » November 6th, 2014, 1:59 pm

My return is plumbed over the rim of the tank so it worked for me but you would have problems as yours is drilled.
With some creative plumbing you can still get it to work if you put a tee on the nozzle at the back of the tank with the bottom branch coming from your return pump and the top branch going over the top of your tank with a cap and 1/4" hole right at the normal water level.

The check valve would do the job though just make sure you have enough spare sump capacity in case it fails.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 6th, 2014, 8:41 pm

ZIGGY, NICE INFO THERE. I need to check you with that design you talking about. that's how I want to hook up the frag tanks. ordering the glue tonight.

Postby UML » November 7th, 2014, 10:34 am

ziggy_dappa wrote:My return is plumbed over the rim of the tank so it worked for me but you would have problems as yours is drilled.
With some creative plumbing you can still get it to work if you put a tee on the nozzle at the back of the tank with the bottom branch coming from your return pump and the top branch going over the top of your tank with a cap and 1/4" hole right at the normal water level.

The check valve would do the job though just make sure you have enough spare sump capacity in case it fails.

but wouldnt water be shooting through the 1/4" hole as well?

I guess its more of a best option because it will create the needed break in the vacuum.

I have my return over the edge as well

thatlife

Postby thatlife » November 7th, 2014, 11:39 am

ziggy_dappa wrote:My return is plumbed over the rim of the tank so it worked for me but you would have problems as yours is drilled.

that sounds like a plan

ziggy_dappa

Postby ziggy_dappa » November 7th, 2014, 3:07 pm

Yea there would be a small amount of water coming through the holes but it will be under the surface so you wont notice it

Anthony_S

Postby Anthony_S » November 7th, 2014, 5:43 pm

Does anyone have serpent or bristle starfish and feather dusters for sale? I want one

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 7th, 2014, 8:00 pm

Raj have featherdusters,
reason why people don't keep/stock serpent stars is that they will eat fish. they are serious predators. Check raj, he brings in fish weekly now. so he might bring it in

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » November 8th, 2014, 9:33 pm

I had a nozel for my return that came with a hole for that purpose of breaking the siphon so thatlife even though your return is drilled dont look at a check valve as your only option.

For my new tank i'll be using a design similar to this:
http://www.customaquariums.com/c-8-siphon-stopper.aspx
will be building it using pvc of course. And still be sure your sump can hold the water just in case the siphon doesnt break.

Anyone use LED lighting strips similar to the ecoxotic LED strips? looking to add some more actinic lighting.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 9th, 2014, 9:35 am

Postby UML » November 9th, 2014, 9:55 pm

Had a scare today. Broke off the base of my hammer coral. Thought I killed it. Luckily it wasn't affected.

For some time I have been considering changing my lights from T5s to LEDs

You guys think its a good idea?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 9th, 2014, 10:25 pm

[quote="UML"]Had a scare today. Broke off the base of my hammer coral. Thought I killed it. Luckily it wasn't affected.

For some time I have been considering changing my lights from T5s to LEDs

You guys think its a good idea?[/
quote]

no comment........ :mrgreen:

Postby UML » November 9th, 2014, 11:30 pm

No comment or no LEDs? Lol :mrgreen:

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 10th, 2014, 1:19 pm

UML wrote:No comment or no LEDs? Lol :mrgreen:

Pal, every one have their likes and dislikes. I cant tell you what lights to go because everyone has their own opinions. My reef tank has surpassed 3yrs with running my 12-T5's. I have gotten fantastic growth with it and I don't think I will change it anytime soon. I use blue LED's though to give me that pop in color. I have my frag tank (sump) running on LEDS and I get great color and growth. You have to do your reviews and see what works for you.

Postby UML » November 10th, 2014, 1:27 pm

Yea. Well I like the Kessil and the Radion. Will have to do more research and talk to Raj bout prices. I doh think I will go LED anytime soon unless I get a sale for the T5.

What LED light you running in the sump? or did you build it yourself?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 10th, 2014, 2:46 pm

If I changing out my T5's to run LED's, i'll quicker go buy the Kessil A360W. But i'll have to buy 4 or 5 of them for my tank to get the proper spread. Even though they say the spread is 24", i'll have to put more because my tank is viewed from both long sides and one short side of my tank.
I have seen the kessils in a few petshops in the US and they really holding up. Also saw great reviews. Only down side is the $400 US each

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 10th, 2014, 2:59 pm

Had the chance to have some fun with one of these from RAJ............. real sweet

http://www.amazon.com/Maxspect-R4z0r-Ra ... zor+lights

Postby UML » November 10th, 2014, 3:11 pm

yea i like the kessil for its simplicity.

like the razor least because the settings look difficult. how was the settings from your experience with it?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 10th, 2014, 3:21 pm

UML wrote:yea i like the kessil for its simplicity.

like the razor least because the settings look difficult. how was the settings from your experience with it?

REAL EASY.
VERY SLIM, FAN VERY SILENT AND REAL SWEET

Postby UML » November 12th, 2014, 11:47 am

UML wrote:
Old PTSC buses for underwater reef

Reshma Ragoonath

Published:
Wednesday, November 12, 2014

Derelict Public Transportation Services Corporation (PTSC) buses will soon be given a new lease on life, as they will be used to create artificial reefs around the coast of T&T. Yesterday Transport Minister Stephen Cadiz said he was working with the Environmental Management Authority (EMA) to use the 45 decommissioned buses. “I hope that we will be able to make further use of these old chassis by making artificial reefs where fish will breed in them and increase the fish count,” Cadiz said as he spoke with reporters during a tour of the PTSC garage at Lady Hailes Avenue, San Fernando, yesterday.

The minister said similar reefs were successfully created 20 years ago. He said the derelict buses from South Quay and San Fernando would be removed to PTSC’s facility in Carlsen Field where they would be further decommissioned. “Before we make an artificial reef with them, we have to get EMA to sign them off and make sure that all liquids, anything that would damage the environment, has to be removed, and we will then begin making artificial reefs,” Cadiz said. Artificial reefs are a popular use for derelict vehicles and ships around the world and are strategically placed in coastal areas to be colonised by soft corals and plants and encourage spawning of fish.

Cadiz said his ministry was in talks with the Ministry of Land and Marine Resources, Fisheries Division and the EMA to decide where the buses would be put. He said there would be little to no cost to PTSC for the project since the private sector and the Game Fishing Association had come forward to help with the creation of the reefs. “They say they will lend us a hand by proving cranage, etc, to the exercise. It will be a combined effort from PTSC, the ministries, the people who will benefit, fishermen and the Game Fishing Association. It is an all-out effort from everybody.”

CNG buses to roll soon
Cadiz announced that this weekend PTSC’s in-house CNG (Compressed Natural Gas) fuelling station at South Quay, Port-of-Spain would be formally commissioned. This would pave the way for the integration of its new fleet of CNG-powered buses, he added. On Sunday the 35 new Sunlong buses, made in China, arrived at the Port-of-Spain port. He said the buses, which cost $38 million, were being commissioned and licensed. “I am hoping by the first week in December we would have the brand new buses out on the road which will again greatly improve the run-out (number of buses on routes at a given time),” Cadiz said.

He said converting the PTSC’s fleet to CNG would not only reduce the corporation’s operating costs but was better for the environment. Cadiz said he decided to tour the San Fernando facility to see firsthand some of the issues staff were experiencing. Transport and Industrial Workers Union (TIWU) shop steward Kervyn Edwards said workers had health and safety concerns, as well as issues with lack of equipment. Cadiz assured that his ministry was working with the PTSC management and board to address all concerns so the bus company would be more efficient and effective.
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2014-11- ... water-reef

Postby meccalli » November 12th, 2014, 10:00 pm

That's great news, hope there's measures in place to make sure people don't exploit them though..

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 14th, 2014, 7:35 am

meccalli wrote:That's great news, hope there's measures in place to make sure people don't exploit them though..

They more put them in deeper waters and sometimes where trawlers and other people who drag nets. It really does work. A few years ago, Trinmar was asking all tire shops to drop off all tyres for them to use as reefs. They collected thousands of tyres and tied them together making huge pyramids approx. 20ft wide X 20ft high. They dropped them off at various locations throughout the gulf using their big crane barge. Due to the high nutrient rich waters the gulf has, within 6mths, divers were amazed with the amount of fish, crustacean, plants and coral live had already started to take over the man made reefs. Fishermen who drag their nets within the areas always come up empty handed or somewhat loose their nets in these areas.

Postby meccalli » November 14th, 2014, 12:55 pm

Awesome ,yeah, knowing the gulf, its going to be ridiculously easy to attract life to any little piece of structure.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » November 15th, 2014, 8:57 pm

I have a BRAND NEW Aqua Euro (USA) 1/15hp Chiller rated for tanks up to 35Gals
FOR SALE

PM if interested

TheSpecialOne

Postby TheSpecialOne » November 26th, 2014, 12:22 pm

let me know price on the 1/15hp chiller.
I looking for a Flame Angel, Coral Beauty & Stars and Stripes Puffer

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » November 26th, 2014, 12:34 pm

TheSpecialOne wrote:let me know price on the 1/15hp chiller.
I looking for a Flame Angel, Coral Beauty & Stars and Stripes Puffer

PM sent:!:

thatlife

Postby thatlife » December 2nd, 2014, 9:41 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1417570802.745474.jpg

Small preview of my new setup in the garage.

3 tanks linked to 2 sumps, 75 gal
Connected to the one inside the house as well

Cabinet being built around everything
Will post more pics soon