The Official 'Bad Parkers in T&T' thread

Re: Official "Worst parking in T&T" thread

Postby Hook » January 17th, 2013, 3:51 pm

rollingstock wrote:Thanks everyone for bearing with me, was a little busy.

Now i must apologise for my earlier statement. When i quoted "by any means necessary" i wrongly attributed this to the MV&RT Act. This was actually the words of a Law Lord of the Privy Council adjudicating on a matter. The exact case law eludes me at this time, it was over ten years ago i researched this so excuse me.

Now for damaging a glass to gain entry to a vehicle to move it or in entering the vehicle and in fact moving it, you are covered under Section 75 of the Motor Vehicle and Road Traffic Act Chapter 48:50.

I quote:

Any person who, without the knowledge or permission
of the owner, gets onto or attempts to manipulate any of the
levers, the starter, brakes or machinery of a motor vehicle, or in
any way interferes with or damages a motor vehicle while the
vehicle is on a road or parking place, is guilty of an offence; but
a person shall not be convicted under this section when such
motor vehicle is obstructing his own or another motor vehicle

Does this suggest that one can STILL be charged under another section of the law for vandalizing the vehicle?

Postby rollingstock » January 17th, 2013, 4:18 pm

To commit an offence there are 2 ingredients, 'mens rea' which is the state of mind/intention, and 'actus reus' which is the actual act itself. Both mist be present to commit a crime.

If your gate is blocked and you break a glass to gain entry to move the vehicle, yes you committed teh act of breaking teh glass, but the intention is not to damage teh vehicle but gain entrance to move it. Hence the ingredients to be convicted for teh offence is missing. And there is where this section will come in giving you the necessary rights to take such action and not be held liable for any consequences.

And according to le Law Lords, in case of emergency 'by any means necessary'
According to them this goes beyond a mere traffic offence to a constitutional right to enjoyment of property and free movement.

Postby cinco » January 17th, 2013, 4:20 pm

rollingstock wrote:To commit an offence there are 2 ingredients, 'mens rea' which is the state of mind/intention, and 'actus reus' which is the actual act itself. Both mist be present to commit a crime.

If your gate is blocked and you break a glass to gain entry to move the vehicle, yes you committed teh act of breaking teh glass, but the intention is not to damage teh vehicle but gain entrance to move it. Hence the ingredients to be convicted for teh offence is missing. And there is where this section will come in giving you the necessary rights to take such action and not be held liable for any consequences.

And according to le Law Lords, in case of emergency 'by any means necessary'
According to them this goes beyond a mere traffic offence to a constitutional right to enjoyment of property and free movement.

say i buss the glass and move the vehicle and then someone comes and takes stuff from the vehicle would i be persecuted?

Postby rollingstock » January 17th, 2013, 4:24 pm

What for? You did not take anything.

But this is where common sense is needed. If you enter the vehicle and leave your prints, teh person finds their vehicle broken and stuff missing, vehicle checked for prints and your found, how you proving you didn't take it.

So sometimes even if teh law allows it better to let teh police handle it.

Then again is TTPS "No workable prints found"

Postby cinco » January 17th, 2013, 4:29 pm

rollingstock wrote:What for? You did not take anything.

But this is where common sense is needed. If you enter the vehicle and leave your prints, teh person finds their vehicle broken and stuff missing, vehicle checked for prints and your found, how you proving you didn't take it.

So sometimes even if teh law allows it better to let teh police handle it.

Then again is TTPS "No workable prints found"

or just call a wrecker ent unless it really is an emergency

Postby rollingstock » January 17th, 2013, 4:30 pm

Yep wrecker is teh better option.

Postby Hook » January 17th, 2013, 4:33 pm

Okay, so breaking the glass is a last resort or in case of emergency, eg. a person has to be rushed to a medic or for an emergency vehicle to gain access

Postby rollingstock » January 17th, 2013, 4:42 pm

You have to go to work is an emergency, you going to buy food is an emergency, an 'emergency' is subjective. But yes as a last resort just to be safe.

Postby nervewrecker » January 17th, 2013, 4:55 pm

stock, yuh username eh in green yet boi? wah goin on with duane jed?

muchos gracias eh, muchos muchos

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » January 17th, 2013, 5:28 pm

Rollingstock, would you mind creating an all new thread with this info, for the folks that might miss this it in here :?: Or maybe Hook, can you use his modly powers and do the same :idea:

also, is it just me or are you all just hoping someone would park in front of you gate now? :oops:

konartis

Postby konartis » January 17th, 2013, 6:34 pm

rolling stock is right...whilst section 75 caters for a person wanting to move a vehicle, it wouldnt be wise to break a persons glass and move the car...call a wercker, there is no specific law that covers you for the actual breaking of the glass and moving the car incase of an emergency or somthing along that line....only a case law..meaning a matter that was heard by the courts an was successful in the results...therefore it sets a precedence for similar matters to follow...but be careful with wotless trinis and some of the officers who doesnt knw...they will charge you for malicious damage...or mabe larceny! call a wrecker!

singhj

Postby singhj » January 17th, 2013, 7:04 pm

Does anyone know of any laws which can force the owner to remove a vehicle which is constantly being parked on the roadway?
Does the police have the power to do this?

There is a truck which constantly parks on my street and the owner figures that the space where he parks on the road is reserved for him and gets on like ah kant when someone else parks there. There are a couple of schools in the area and it causes a lot of traffic when school is over because traffic can only flow in one direction at a time. The truck also leaks oil and diesel on the road.

Postby wagonrunner » January 17th, 2013, 7:27 pm

fack he. the public road belongs to the public.
you don't even have right to "yuh gap", but courtesy is extended most times.

Postby Stephon. » January 17th, 2013, 7:55 pm

Cellphone pic sorry about the quality..

Wait .... lemme try that again

Galaxy pic sorry about the bandwidth

VAN DRIVERS DO THE ABSOLUTE MOST WHEN IT COMES TO PARKING!

They need to realize that their vans are almost the same width of a sub compact so they don't need to be getting on like this when it comes to parking!

Well ... in this case the length but still! the difference does be a couple inches max! smh

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » January 17th, 2013, 10:46 pm

María wrote:gulf city mall this afternoon

All that and is an Almera he driving

Postby pete » January 19th, 2013, 11:30 am

Postby Habit7 » January 19th, 2013, 11:33 am

Trincity needs a good pave, a lot of those lines fading or being eaten up by potholes esp. in the back car park.

Postby Morpheus » January 19th, 2013, 11:36 am

^^ I agree. But that park above is just JACKARSE. Those lines are still visible.

Postby Stephon. » January 19th, 2013, 9:33 pm

Van drivers acting like they driving a military tanker as per usual.

Postby mitsu_chick941 » January 19th, 2013, 9:58 pm

:| :| :mrgreen:
Last edited by mitsu_chick941 on January 19th, 2013, 10:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby mitsu_chick941 » January 19th, 2013, 9:59 pm

hilux drivers = big vehicle to compensate for little brain/penis

Postby Rooki3 » January 19th, 2013, 10:02 pm

lancer driver = too broke to by a proper vehicle

clone101

Postby clone101 » January 20th, 2013, 1:29 pm

I have to deal with this every day,the view is from my drive way facing the cnuts that live on my street ..........
Photo0465[1].jpg
Photo0465[1].jpg (23.05 KiB) Viewed 1703 times

Re: Official

Postby Morpheus » January 20th, 2013, 3:17 pm

Rooki3 wrote:lancer driver = too broke to by a proper vehicle

^^Aye Aye!

I resemble that remark! :|

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » January 20th, 2013, 5:11 pm

clone101 wrote:I have to deal with this every day,the view is from my drive way facing the cnuts that live on my street ..........

man park over the road you can't drive a wa i making that and reversing into also,din't mind if he park infront yuh gate.

whyteliver

Postby whyteliver » January 20th, 2013, 5:34 pm

clone101 wrote:I have to deal with this every day,the view is from my drive way facing the cnuts that live on my street ..........

eeeeerrr...wats the problem?

Postby nervewrecker » January 20th, 2013, 7:22 pm

If his driveway narrow and it have a canal on each side its gonna be a bit of a problem to come out.

Got the same damn problem here. The road very narrow and they park directly opposite out gate, why not park in front allyuh own effin driveway? Both pick up's have to drive over the pavement and risk rubbing down our gate posts everytime. Depending on how they park, coming out with the car aint so tough.

konartis

Postby konartis » January 20th, 2013, 9:53 pm

saw this guy parked in princes town...he cudda atleast park a little before the sign...apparently he cant read
park.jpg

Postby gastly369 » January 20th, 2013, 10:28 pm

guttering ..... needs... repairs ....

whyteliver

Postby whyteliver » January 21st, 2013, 8:14 pm

gastly369 wrote:guttering ..... needs... repairs ....

this gave me a good humour :D