TSTT WiMax 4G/Hotspot and HSPA+ Thread

Re: TSTT WiMax 4G/Hotspot and HSPA+ Thread

Postby hustla_ambition101 » November 8th, 2012, 7:31 pm

tr1ad wrote:so anyone activate 4G on a blackberry?

I contemplating getting a 9320 with it but I waiting on somebody to answer same

Postby tr1ad » November 8th, 2012, 7:38 pm

well they said they activated it on mine, but yet to see any icon or experience any tremendous boost in speed

Postby r3iXmann » November 8th, 2012, 7:49 pm

shaneelal wrote:
r3iXmann wrote:
Daran wrote:Yes I have both, so far bmobile seems a bit faster, average around 2 to 3mbps.

Digicel averaging between 1 and 2mbits.

i'm experiencing quite the opposite

digicel gets avg 3-4 mbps...more in some areas

with bmobile, so far i'm lucky if i get a full 2mbps

This is from speedtest.net ? Use a Miami server if possible.

yup. ok will try

tr1ad wrote:well they said they activated it on mine, but yet to see any icon or experience any tremendous boost in speed

u rebooted the phone? i tried disabling/enabling my data but it didnt work until i rebooted the phone :|

Postby tr1ad » November 8th, 2012, 7:58 pm

numerous times

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » November 8th, 2012, 8:21 pm

tr1ad wrote:so anyone activate 4G on a blackberry?

I did this week, for some reason i still can't stream a youtube video i get some kinda error message.

Did a speed test using an app, i get around 600 to 800 MBPs down. Battery performance has deteriorated significantly as well.

d_saw10

Postby d_saw10 » November 9th, 2012, 12:34 am

For any speed issues I'd recommend you ensure that your account was updated correctly... I updated 3 days ago and experienced typical speeds of .5 mb up and down.... never anything more....

My original plan was BB $99+$75 Corp ... Contacted online tech supp and discovered that the upgrade went through but also maintained the $99 bb package... indicated to tech that I wasn't using a bb anymore ... tech removed the bb package and soon as I restarted go improved speeds right away... typically 1 mb plus .... last test was 4.23 down 1.67 up at time of this post from POS to Miami Server.... to nearest Flow hosted server its more typically 1-2 down and <1 up....

Will assume that the speed is mostly based on low cellular usage at this time of day ... however, even when I was getting slower rates with the bb package attached I could stream Netflix middle of the day with no buffering aside from initial startup....so no worries with the available bandwidth and QOS ... as a side note I feel like I was being throttled with the bb package attached.... because the speed was consistently .45-5.0 mb down in all sites tested (POS uptown+downtown, curepe, san juan, highway between beetham and gran bazaar) ... who knows?

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » November 9th, 2012, 12:36 am

Hmm with my bmobile 4g (iphone) i get minimum so far, anytime i checked my speed via speedtest.net app for iphone, the lowest was around 2MBPS, fastest i got was 3.89MBPS..

I hope this continues

Postby tr1ad » November 9th, 2012, 12:52 am

yet to see any 4G, 3G or H+ icon on my phone, yet they insist the package is active

d_saw10

Postby d_saw10 » November 9th, 2012, 1:19 am

if your phone is a bb make sure that you have it set to 4g in mobile options... if its an android make sure its configured for both gsm and wcdma and if its an iphone it should be fine with no changes... if its postpaid make sure its got the apn set to internet and if its prepaid make sure its the correct apn name (which escapes me at this point, but its different from postpaid) ...all that being ensured then its gona be your model of phone and the bandrate supported, a possible setting or antenna problem if you're using a rooted android rom or jailbroken iphone, a physical antenna problem if the phone was dropped, no 4g data available in your area, more than 1 inept bmobile staffer who aren't able to identify a problem on your account preventing you from getting 4g service.... I'd recommend testing your sim in another 4g enabled phone if possible for a quick validation of whether the problem is your phone or your service ;)

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » November 9th, 2012, 2:25 am

Digicel just double my data package

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » November 9th, 2012, 5:23 am

prepaid APN which I got working proper after the plan is : bConnected

Postby tr1ad » November 9th, 2012, 6:26 am

firstchoicett wrote:Digicel just double my data package

isn't there a digicel thread for you?

you remind me of this

d_saw10 its a bold 9900 and im in pos

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 9th, 2012, 6:42 am

Did you try letting them deactivate the plan and then reactivate it? Could be a glitch or something like that.

Postby tr1ad » November 9th, 2012, 7:31 am

yup they have tried many times within the past 2 days

i will have to see who in the office has a 4G phone to confirm if it is indeed my device

Postby maj. tom » November 9th, 2012, 8:12 am

^^ your BB 9900 probably uses the 3G HSDPA 900 / 1700 / 2100 bands.
The American version uses the HSDPA 850 / 1900 / 2100 / 800.(http://www.gsmarena.com/blackberry_bold_touch_9900-3116.php)

Or the other way around, it doesn't specify which bands are for which market, but I would assume that's the problem. So you would only pick up EDGE on the 3G plans instead.

Digicel and TSTT are using the 850/1900MHz for their GSM/CDMA network.

Postby tr1ad » November 9th, 2012, 8:19 am

that seems to be the problem,

i'll just go back to regular BIS

jusme

Postby jusme » November 9th, 2012, 10:05 am

A digicel rep spent minutes trying to activate a 4G plan on my neighbor's 9900 then told him "hard luck u cyah get 4g"

Postby tr1ad » November 9th, 2012, 10:07 am

the 9900 won't work on the local "4G"

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 9th, 2012, 10:16 am

jusme wrote:A digicel rep spent minutes trying to activate a 4G plan on my neighbor's 9900 then told him "hard luck u cyah get 4g"

I think the HTC Sensation 4G is the same problem. Someone was saying recently his one don't work with Digicel 4G network.

ninjaboost

Postby ninjaboost » November 9th, 2012, 10:36 am

tr1ad wrote:the 9900 won't work on the local "4G"

uhhhhh my 9900 works perfectly with the 4G.

What is your network mode set to?

Postby tr1ad » November 9th, 2012, 10:39 am

2G/3G/4G

but it's not a bmobile handset

the at&t version will work locally

Postby ismithx » November 9th, 2012, 10:48 am

you all need to double check whether the phone you all have can run the 1900 band in 3G....

PapaC

Postby PapaC » November 9th, 2012, 11:17 am

lolz @ tr1ad

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 9th, 2012, 11:46 am

big question....

can i roam with high speed data?

Postby S_2NR » November 9th, 2012, 11:51 am

Chiney wrote:big question....

can i roam with high speed data?

I don't see why not.

But prepare ur angus for crazy charges.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 9th, 2012, 12:50 pm

anyone on corporate plans got thru with purchasing an iphone 5 and signing up for a plan?

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » November 9th, 2012, 12:59 pm

So far I'm getting on Blah Mobile 3-4 MB tested in Central , PoS , Trinicity , South .

Digicel between 9-11 MB.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » November 9th, 2012, 1:00 pm

anyone getting issues with calls goin straight to voicemail?
i activated the 4g but now not even getting calls coming thru on android

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 9th, 2012, 1:08 pm

firstchoicett wrote:So far I'm getting on Blah Mobile 3-4 MB tested in Central , PoS , Trinicity , South .

Digicel between 9-11 MB.

That's great. I'm glad Bmobile has finally launched hi speed. What I find particularly impressive is the latency of Bmobile's 4g. At some points it was better than Flow's cable internet latency. Very impressive. I think that latency is going to be the true issue vs outright max speed.

Daran

Postby Daran » November 9th, 2012, 2:10 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
firstchoicett wrote:So far I'm getting on Blah Mobile 3-4 MB tested in Central , PoS , Trinicity , South .

Digicel between 9-11 MB.

That's great. I'm glad Bmobile has finally launched hi speed. What I find particularly impressive is the latency of Bmobile's 4g. At some points it was better than Flow's cable internet latency. Very impressive. I think that latency is going to be the true issue vs outright max speed.

This man knows the truth. Latency on bmobile's 4G is excellent! which means, surfing, apps etc will work far better versus digicel.

Average latency I'm seeing on bmobile is 3 to 4 times faster than digicel