*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby crazybalhead » November 29th, 2010, 12:25 pm

Pretty simple, the Sub is running one coil at 4 ohms, the amp ahould be putting out about 200W RMS, and the port is tuned to 24Hz. The Sub itself has an Fs of 22 Hz.

Sounds pretty good for both music and movies. Like any ported sub, information below the tuning frequency is limited, but everywhere above 25Hz or so is pretty good.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 29th, 2010, 3:05 pm

wat plate amp are u using?
or external?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 29th, 2010, 4:16 pm

oh gorms allyuh gone back with that again?

X_Factor wrote:
dry wrote:
X_Factor wrote:imo, its easier and probably cheaper to build a diy HT sub and im sure wont cost 1/4 as much as those

no doubt... it's also easier and cheaper to make a corned beef sandwich instead of going to a restaurant to get a steak and it won't cost 1/4 of it.

who said we using corned beef?..same steak, just made differently

a similar bash 500w powered amp costs under 250USD on parts express
and you have a choice of dayton, peerless, vifa, or car audio subs to choose from under 200USD and im pretty sure we have local guys with enough skill do design the enclosure entire which should cost less than 500USD for a really high quality build

u can probably build a decent HT sub set up for 1500.00 or so, with the hardest thing is getting the plate amp

with SWS cheapest sub starting at 500.00

a common mistake made in HT setups is matching speakers.
getting the sub to properly fill in what the front speakers can't and vice versa is alot different from car audio. Standing waves are a major menace to home audio setups too and alot of R&D is done by HT and home audio sub manufacturers for issues like these.

You may be able to get it right by building it, maybe.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 29th, 2010, 6:03 pm

im gonna get it right..
im sure

guru

Postby guru » November 30th, 2010, 12:00 am

Looking for some clarification here guys.

Hooking a 120hz LCD with real motion etc to my computer - do i set the output to 24 hz for the 5x pull down to do the smoothing? or do I set the output to 60hz and let the set do i assume a 2x?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 30th, 2010, 12:30 am

^ are you playing 24p content from the computer?

guru

Postby guru » November 30th, 2010, 3:37 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ are you playing 24p content from the computer?

Was planning to use reclock to assist, would that be sufficient? What will ineed to do pn the pc side of things..

Postby crazybalhead » November 30th, 2010, 6:35 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:oh gorms allyuh gone back with that again?

X_Factor wrote:
dry wrote:
X_Factor wrote:imo, its easier and probably cheaper to build a diy HT sub and im sure wont cost 1/4 as much as those

no doubt... it's also easier and cheaper to make a corned beef sandwich instead of going to a restaurant to get a steak and it won't cost 1/4 of it.

who said we using corned beef?..same steak, just made differently

a similar bash 500w powered amp costs under 250USD on parts express
and you have a choice of dayton, peerless, vifa, or car audio subs to choose from under 200USD and im pretty sure we have local guys with enough skill do design the enclosure entire which should cost less than 500USD for a really high quality build

u can probably build a decent HT sub set up for 1500.00 or so, with the hardest thing is getting the plate amp

with SWS cheapest sub starting at 500.00

a common mistake made in HT setups is matching speakers.
getting the sub to properly fill in what the front speakers can't and vice versa is alot different from car audio. Standing waves are a major menace to home audio setups too and alot of R&D is done by HT and home audio sub manufacturers for issues like these.

You may be able to get it right by building it, maybe.

Nope, same exact thing.

Standing waves are more a room problem than a sub enclosure problem. Look at the cutaways definitive like to put in ads. The sub enclusures are always braced at regular intervals, despite the claim that the braces are put there through accelerometer testing.

A midrange/high freq. unit is what is difficult to build, as well as crossover modelling.

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » November 30th, 2010, 7:35 pm

biggy82 wrote:
RapToR wrote:
idlemind wrote:decided not to go thru due to warranty stress if anything happens...

samsung ftw !

http://www.pcworld.com/article/211088/2010_reliability_and_service_survey_hdtvs.html

This is just based on a survey,maybe Samsung is down the list because of they sell a larger number of HDTVs. Do your research on a specific model before buying, I'll still most likely buy a Samsung HDTV.
Last edited by shaneelal on November 30th, 2010, 8:31 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 30th, 2010, 7:52 pm

^ perhaps and also why Olevia is so high up

I wouldnt make a decision based on that chart. Worrying like that also makes people sit and watch a crappy showing TV that they bought just because it was on sale with warranty rather than going for the best in picture quality just because they had to order it online.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 30th, 2010, 7:54 pm

guru wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ are you playing 24p content from the computer?

Was planning to use reclock to assist, would that be sufficient? What will ineed to do pn the pc side of things..
you didnt answer the question though, is the content you are playing from a BD in 24p?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 30th, 2010, 7:58 pm

LG FTW !!

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » December 1st, 2010, 9:05 am

pioneer wrote:Is there a HUGE difference between 120Hz and 240Hz LCD/LED TV's?

yeah, anything you watch on a 240 instead of a 120 does finish in half the time...

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » December 1st, 2010, 10:38 am

Soundwave wrote:

yeah, anything you watch on a 240 instead of a 120 does finish in half the time...

RapToR

Postby RapToR » December 1st, 2010, 10:38 am

not much

stop being cheap

buy the tv for 25k

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 1st, 2010, 11:59 am

buy plasma - it's 600Hz :idea:

plasma shows better than LED anyway

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 1st, 2010, 1:11 pm

^ only in the minds of the ppl who fall for the LED marketing hype

the best picture quality TV's are plasma - the best 3DTVs are plasma
Plasma can also be ultra slim - they've been making 1.2" thick plasmas since 2009

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 1st, 2010, 1:24 pm

^ not really - the 600Hz will help!

there is the issue of burn in but watching a movie wil black bands on the top and the bottom for 3 hours doesnt cause any harm - I doubt you plan to play a game for 3 hours straight without changing the screen to that things like the score and health bar etc aren't in the same spot all the time. - hardly likely.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » December 1st, 2010, 2:10 pm

Get a Pioneer Kuro ( no pun intended)

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 1st, 2010, 5:27 pm

^ Pioneer Kuro is THE king of ALL HDTVs for picture quality, yet to be beaten.
They were made with hand selected panels that produced the best colours, best contrast and deepest blacks attainable.
Problem is that Pioneer stopped making them since 2009.
There are still a few left for sale but expect to pay about US$6000 for a 60" today.
http://www.amazon.com/Pioneer-PDP-6020FD-60-Inch-Class-Plasma/dp/B001AAQTXQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1291238624&sr=8-1

pioneer wrote:how much Hz your plasma have?
600Hz
It's a Samsung 58" 8series plasma

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 1st, 2010, 10:20 pm

^ well then plasma even better for movie watching

plasma panels are glass though and will be more reflective than the plastic LCD panels, so glare through windows might be a problem - even though newer plasmas (2009 onward) have very good anti glare treatment on the glass.

In any case if picture quality matters to you when watching movies and TV, you wont allow glare in the room while the TV is on. If you do have uncontrolable glare in the room then you are wasting money buying a TV with good picture quality unless you only plan to watch it in the night.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » December 1st, 2010, 10:25 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:In any case if picture quality matters to you when watching movies and TV, you wont allow glare in the room while the TV is on. If you do have uncontrolable glare in the room then you are wasting money buying a TV with good picture quality unless you only plan to watch it in the night.

exactly !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 1st, 2010, 10:37 pm

^ exactly meaning you only watch your TV at night? Or exactly meaning that you agree that its wasting money buying a TV with good PQ when you have it in a room full of glare? Or exactly meaning you shouldn't allow glare into your HT room?

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » December 1st, 2010, 10:57 pm

^^^exactly :lol:

Chiney

Postby Chiney » December 1st, 2010, 11:04 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ exactly meaning you only watch your TV at night? Or exactly meaning that you agree that its wasting money buying a TV with good PQ when you have it in a room full of glare? Or exactly meaning you shouldn't allow glare into your HT room?

all of the above except only watching tv at night

RapToR

Postby RapToR » December 1st, 2010, 11:13 pm

Chiney wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ exactly meaning you only watch your TV at night? Or exactly meaning that you agree that its wasting money buying a TV with good PQ when you have it in a room full of glare? Or exactly meaning you shouldn't allow glare into your HT room?

all of the above except only watching porn at night

Chiney

Postby Chiney » December 1st, 2010, 11:17 pm

use my lappy for porn...
doe wah nobody diving in de room and seeing somebody skinning up on meh screen

Anton

Postby Anton » December 2nd, 2010, 6:22 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ Pioneer Kuro is THE king of ALL HDTVs for picture quality, yet to be beaten.
They were made with hand selected panels that produced the best colours, best contrast and deepest blacks attainable.
Problem is that Pioneer stopped making them since 2009.
There are still a few left for sale but expect to pay about US$6000 for a 60" today.
http://www.amazon.com/Pioneer-PDP-6020FD-60-Inch-Class-Plasma/dp/B001AAQTXQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1291238624&sr=8-1

pioneer wrote:how much Hz your plasma have?
600Hz
It's a Samsung 58" 8series plasma

The word is that the engineers behind the pioneer kuro have been wooed and are now in the employ of panasonic.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 2nd, 2010, 10:19 am

^ no doubt, but while Panasonic and Samsung currently have some TVs that come damn close to the PQ of the Kuro, they still haven't matched or gotten better than it - could be too that neither company sees the point in selling a TV for $6000US

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » December 2nd, 2010, 11:35 am

pioneer wrote:So like i called a place jus now n ask them what's the difference between a 120Hz and 240Hz LCD, the girl said hold on...

*elevator music*

She came back...yes sir...the difference is 120Hz....