Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

cornfused

Postby cornfused » March 12th, 2010, 10:03 pm

link wrote:if his 'system' is not established, there is no cycle in which the hyacinths can fit into, hence he needs to up the ante for plant nutrients to accommodate. the water testing will prevent ammonia/nitrite spike & ecological equilibrium should come around. Then he can extend the period of filter operation (or restrict the efficiency of the system) acdgnly.
but...there are many ways to massage yr systems
rgds

I know where and how bacteria spike can occur , and the tank in question has two sources of filtration and water pump filter system and an air based system , i am now using the air based system in the day and both at night

Naka

Postby Naka » March 13th, 2010, 7:33 pm

ryan99tt wrote:Naka, wat kind of plecos yuh hav?

from the river.

slow323

Postby slow323 » March 14th, 2010, 3:15 pm

guys i having a problem with my tank, right now the gold fish are having symptoms where it looks like their scales are comming off and they have red patches on the side

now this is happening to one fish at a time but i have 3 oscars in tha tank also so im wondering if they are attacking the goldfish

if not yall guys have any idea what disease this may be

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » March 14th, 2010, 3:46 pm

slow323 wrote:guys i having a problem with my tank, right now the gold fish are having symptoms where it looks like their scales are comming off and they have red patches on the side

now this is happening to one fish at a time but i have 3 oscars in tha tank also so im wondering if they are attacking the goldfish

Goldfish and Oscars are not compatible tank-mates Sir.

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » March 14th, 2010, 4:02 pm

some of my beauties.

slow323

oscars

Postby slow323 » March 15th, 2010, 2:15 am

AGENT RORO wrote:
slow323 wrote:guys i having a problem with my tank, right now the gold fish are having symptoms where it looks like their scales are comming off and they have red patches on the side

anyone want 3 oscars ? the are about 4 inches long

wireless

Postby wireless » March 15th, 2010, 8:04 am

Halfbreed07 wrote:some of my beauties.

Beautiful..
Did any male and females pair of yet?
You got these by raj?

thetriniman

Postby thetriniman » March 15th, 2010, 9:22 am

any one know of a contact number and name of a discus guy in santa cruz

Naka

Re: oscars

Postby Naka » March 15th, 2010, 8:34 pm

slow323 wrote:
AGENT RORO wrote:

anyone want 3 oscars ? the are about 4 inches long

yeah me, I'll trade u some plecos, for yur oscars, I'll give u 20 of em, pm me.

Postby Razkal » March 16th, 2010, 11:46 am

anyone breeding koi angels? or angels in general?

i have a spawn of koi angels (regular fin, moderate coverage on both parents), and a spawn from a gold super veil/ koi cross...been researching the genetics to see what ratio of phenotypes i'll get from the cross and if any mutations in the koi/koi spawn..

i'll post pics when the fry are free swimming and properly visible in a pic....

Postby Razkal » March 16th, 2010, 11:48 am

www.theangelfishsociety.com

wicked genetic work they did, basically covered all varieties in some detail and how to go about breeding for the variety you want...not much on koi angels though..

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » March 17th, 2010, 8:51 am

Razkal wrote:www.theangelfishsociety.org

wicked genetic work they did, basically covered all varieties in some detail and how to go about breeding for the variety you want...not much on koi angels though..

*Fixed*

Postby zoom rader » March 17th, 2010, 9:46 am

F.S Jumbo Kois for large ponds , my kois are over 24 inches to 36 inches and are suited for larger ponds. I have all breeds , butterflys and colours.

link

Postby link » March 17th, 2010, 2:52 pm

zoom
pm me yr adds & cell ctc.........
interested in butterfly colours.......
but small ones to grow out.....
tks

djblademan

Postby djblademan » March 23rd, 2010, 6:09 pm

ppl..... i have a few plants to sell... I've got some amazon swords, nice ones.
Prices are 15, 20 & 25, dont have much remaining tho & i'm not on tuner these days...so if anyone interested, call me 752-7100 to ask questions...
can make deliveries to curepe or within the east-west...
thanks...

(keep the thread going)

djblademan

Postby djblademan » March 23rd, 2010, 6:15 pm

selling any? you breeding? where you get these? how long you have em & wat you feed em?

link

Postby link » March 23rd, 2010, 6:42 pm

just got a small spawn frm one of the blue orandas....abt one thou fry........will adv in two or so mths how many will get to market...
in meantime...my monster female will join four other blues this wknd....I'm expctng 5-8 thousand eggs frm this spawn...
xing fingers here :!:
btw
anyone interested in panda orandas ?? will spawn a female in two weeks time
rgds

Ronnie203

Postby Ronnie203 » March 23rd, 2010, 7:00 pm

anybody have a used 4ft aquarium for sale ?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 23rd, 2010, 7:46 pm

djblademan, nice fishes dred...long time we ent see yuh on d forum...

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » March 24th, 2010, 4:27 am

djblademan wrote:

selling any? you breeding? where you get these? how long you have em & wat you feed em?

not breeding, too much work
i got these from all over, fish doc., sunils, wazir, raj.
i feed them an array for dry tetra food and frozen blood worms.

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » March 24th, 2010, 4:29 am

ryan99tt wrote:djblademan, nice fishes dred...long time we ent see yuh on d forum...

erm ya mean
ryan99tt wrote:halfbreed07, nice fishes dred...omg theses are amazing fish, i wish i had fish like these!!

:wink:

djblademan

Postby djblademan » March 24th, 2010, 7:15 am

well ryan as you see they are halfbreeds fishes not mine... i havent got around takin pics of mines as yet.

I having some medical issues with my eyes, so im not really alllowed on the pc, but i cant help tuner sometimes..., i dont stay long on it...
Dont forget guys plants on sale right now!

chit8238

Postby chit8238 » March 27th, 2010, 8:34 pm

Hello guys. I have to warn you about something. Recently WASA's water in central is very acidic! I learnt that the hard way. I changed a big portion of my son's aquarium water. By the next day, fishes started dropping. Now just about all have died. We ran chemical tests and the water was strongly acidic (in fish terms) - off the PH scale used for aquarium measurements! I thought the kit was bad or there was some mistake. But the other fish tanks were normal (7.0 or thereabouts). I tested water in the street tap and it was also acidic. I have several water tanks home with a nice valve system, pump etc. I fill up and use for home use from the 1st tank. I keep the other two as reserve and for fishes, I lock off the first and use from the second after a week or so, so you can forget about chlorine. I have been doing this for years. Years aback when I tested the tap water it was always 7.0 to 7.2 which was good, so I stopped testing, assuming it would be just about neutral. I am telling you guys so you will be careful and don't assume the water supply is neutral like I did. Use a cheap test kit and make sure.

thetriniman

Postby thetriniman » March 27th, 2010, 8:50 pm

good point chit8238
many ppl have lost fish recently during water changes

SHARIFF

Postby SHARIFF » March 27th, 2010, 10:06 pm

[quote="chit8238"]Hello guys. I have to warn you about something.]

WHAT WAS THE READING "PH"

chit8238

Postby chit8238 » March 27th, 2010, 10:22 pm

I don't have the test kit chart with me upstairs to check the lowest PH. I think about 6.0 or 6.2. If I have time tomorrow I will check it and post it here. But it was definitely acidic-slightly more acidic than the lowest colour on the chart.

link

Postby link » March 27th, 2010, 11:07 pm

I think WASA is pumping water from the desal plant into the public system....desal water is very acidic.....

chit8238

Postby chit8238 » March 27th, 2010, 11:46 pm

If I get time week after, I will try to find out since I work at WASA. I am on two weeks leave for exams right now though.

chit8238

Postby chit8238 » March 28th, 2010, 1:33 pm

I checked the scale. The lowest reading is 6.2 and WASA's water was a little lower than this-6.0 or 6.1-very acidic for fish.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » March 28th, 2010, 1:58 pm

well this isnt good..... :|