*** The OFFICIAL Soca Warriors Football Thread***

Postby tr1ad » April 2nd, 2009, 3:55 am

how come it eh ha no indian playin fuh tnt
how come all dem intercol players from south / central especially that show promise never make nationals

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » April 2nd, 2009, 4:59 am

how come it eh ha no indian playin fuh tnt

^^^All ah dem playing cricket...............duh

:lol: :lol: :? :|

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » April 2nd, 2009, 7:13 am

Trinidad played its worst game in years. Absolutly atrocious

Premera

Postby Premera » April 2nd, 2009, 7:34 am

doh worry fellas....we still going South Africa.........................to spectate........hahahahaha

type_r_teggy

Postby type_r_teggy » April 2nd, 2009, 7:47 am

dat game was the worse for real..... :shock:

equal2zero

Postby equal2zero » April 2nd, 2009, 9:13 am

Guardian Front Page

Jeezan :roll: Donovan hat trick? Seriously? Steups

Postby tr1ad » April 2nd, 2009, 9:15 am

i really thought i was watchin a different game :|

ingalook

Postby ingalook » April 2nd, 2009, 9:59 am

^^^^^^Donovan hat trick???????

WTF these reporters only know one name from USA oh what???

cornfused

Postby cornfused » April 2nd, 2009, 10:09 am

Smokey wrote:look the way we playing, we really not on the level of these other teams.

I know USA is good, but we made them look like thew freaking Germans (in the prime) when attacking, the way they were able to pry open our defense effortlessly.

We were lacking basic ball control, something I thought any have decent coach would try to drill into them.....but maybe he is and the guys just not up that level.

Also, I agree that a lot of players appear lazy on field. Football is jus 90 friggin minutes, and it's their freaking career for god's sake. Stern John should never play another match due to lack of effort.

Kenwyn Jones is not all that great, but he tried really hard out there....also carlos edwards tries his heart out. He didn't have a great game, but that's only because the other teams have studied us thouroghly and know that once they nullify him, our attack is almost non existant.

So HON just beat Mex 3-1. Hondurus winning opens up the group, but still does not really help us as it increases the competition tremdously now.......

USA - 7
CR - 6
HON - 4
MEX - 3
ES - 2
T&T - 2

Face it, there is almost no way out of this group now....

21 points still up for grabs , but i have seen Savannah teams more organized than what we played last night

Postby SR » April 2nd, 2009, 10:13 am

why allyuh acting soo surprised with the outcome

trinidad has never really had a true TEAM and probably never will

is just comprised of players..............some with talent and most who cant work together as a team

Postby SUPAstarr » April 2nd, 2009, 10:15 am

I hearin ppl sayin this morn doh blame stern john cuz if it was sombody else it wud be the same result, but IMHO i cud live with a younger player makin those mistakes, knowing that he can get better, but firetruck stern show no progression, nuttin, same list of inabilites as before, drap he madda kant!!!!!!!

ingalook

Postby ingalook » April 2nd, 2009, 10:17 am

Guardian say Donovan score Hat Trick

Good to know dem eh even care to watch the game...

Postby Maserati » April 2nd, 2009, 10:19 am

really poor from the guardian yes..them should be real ashamed..lol someone should send the front page for Donovan :lol:

joel

Postby joel » April 2nd, 2009, 10:24 am

the last time trinidad played utter mess like this was the last time we played america in america in de semifinal qualifying round....everybody talk about missin dennis lawrence etc...what now?

Ok blame Stern John: He lazy, agreed, he does fall for no reason, agreed. He don't try? would not say so...worksux and pyromaniak say the man didnt come back....well it have to be that alyuh was watchin some other game...WE HAD NO MIDFIELD!! the only time the fwds get the ball was because they went for it in the middle of the park...without service from midfield (read carlos and daniels here) to two fwds who are good in the air, there can be no goals...there can be NONE.

Coincidentally worksux, i watched a video of Trinidad practisin tuesday in the university ground. I got the video yesterday from a bretherin before the game...yuh see that same thing KJ did to the ball that was squared across the park from Hyland, yea the over the bar when it was supposed to be kept low, when he lean back instead of get over the ball, he do that same thing in the practice session...the EXACT same thing. When i saw it I was thinkin i hope he eh do that in the game...hope wasted...

I believe KJ has to work on his first touch to improve on his game. Stern need to stop fallin down and play to the flippin whistle instead of puttin his hands in the air and callin for foul all de time...

Look i aint no great stern fan as ah said before but we trinis too ungrateful to we own and we have very short memories.

Is 3 we get...we need to find another scapegoat. Trinidad get beaten ALL OVER DE PARK. Either change coach or work on a new strategy

Postby pete » April 2nd, 2009, 10:36 am

The printed paper doesn't have Donovan's name on it though. Must have been a mistake with the online version.

pyromaniak

Postby pyromaniak » April 2nd, 2009, 1:06 pm

joel, I not blaming the game on one person (the guy with his hands up in the air for most of the game, hey, I didn't get the ball), if you read my previous posts I mentioned the shortcomings of the coach and technical staff ( re the problem of delivery to two players that can't carry the ball forward themselves). Scotland is better at moving the ball for himself but then he lacks in other areas. I'm just highlighting an experienced player's lack of inspiration when it comes to creating or helping to create chances for himself when he's playing with a sub-standard mid field. In essence Stern only performs well when someone like Latas on the field.

So why play with that team composition knowing he's going to have very limited chances.

Leo Beenhakker knew our team and how to make it work much better than Maturana does unfortunately.

I would go out to say that this side is more talented than the one that went to Germany (sum of the individual talent) however the organization under Beenhakker made it look like much more than it was.

We have a reasonably talented team but we need a more talented coach

My ( no where near worthy enough to be T&T coach and no where as experienced as coach Maturana )$0.02

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » April 2nd, 2009, 1:46 pm

Coincidentally worksux, i watched a video of Trinidad practisin tuesday in the university ground. I got the video yesterday from a bretherin before the game...yuh see that same thing KJ did to the ball that was squared across the park from Hyland, yea the over the bar when it was supposed to be kept low, when he lean back instead of get over the ball, he do that same thing in the practice session...the EXACT same thing. When i saw it I was thinkin i hope he eh do that in the game...hope wasted...

You don't play football do you?
Have you ever tried leaning forward and kicking a ball that is going at pace BEHIND you while you are running FORWARD?
Heck even in the England qualifying game, Rooney missed a similar chance and noone dared to call it a sitter, because its not...if the ball were toward his feet than that's different, but for a ball to be going BEHIND you...you can't be serious :lol:

And as for Stern John...the problem is his attitude...everyone misses or throws away a opportunity here and there like the cross he had from Edwards, but his lack of effort is ridiculous...regardless of the midfield is playing, you do NOT watch your midfielder challenging for a ball 10 yards in front of you, when youa re right outside the opponent's box, and not try to help or get involved...

Noone is blaming Stern John solely, but he is a big part of the problem...as is the manager's choice of starters, and the inability of the defence to cope with any kind of serious pressure...

cincuanta

Postby cincuanta » April 2nd, 2009, 5:51 pm

So mexico bite the bullet early after their humiliating loss to Honduras and fire their coach(long time in coming), so is now the best time for us to rock the boat and make sweeping changes e.g. FIRE Maturana,John,Akiel Edwards etc? Or wait until we Completely covered in sh!t???

Postby SUPAstarr » April 2nd, 2009, 5:57 pm

i'll take.. wait until were covered in sheit for 200 Alex

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » April 2nd, 2009, 5:57 pm

^^Make a move NOW!!

Maturana has to go. A simple thing like communication is a problem. Cannot work. Tactics are poor at best.

Don Leo!!!! :lol: :? :|

cincuanta

Postby cincuanta » April 2nd, 2009, 6:08 pm

A simple thing like communication is a problem

Anybody else ever wonder how Maturana does impart strategy,plays,motivation to our guys??? D man uses an interpreter all the time when speaking to the press. His command of the English language has not improved to the point that he is even confident enough to give press conferences in Spanglish.
It is a known fact that even though the wording of sentences may be the same,diferent ppl convey the same message differently/forcefully. It is tool utilised expertly by motivational speakers at management training seminars.
I would like to see tapes of his sessions with these guys,just to see this.

Smokey

Postby Smokey » April 2nd, 2009, 7:38 pm

cincuanta, next ting u know is 'translator' coaching the side.

cincuanta

Postby cincuanta » April 2nd, 2009, 7:46 pm

Would be the greatest story ever told! Reaching the WC thru a translator,we good so.

realinstinct

Postby realinstinct » April 2nd, 2009, 7:52 pm

i don't know if it's me alone but somehow that referee have a striking resemblance to obama... :evil:

R. Mutt
Location: on the side of the road maptracing and reflashing the ecu

Postby R. Mutt » April 2nd, 2009, 8:54 pm

pyromaniak wrote:
worksux101 wrote:Stern John isn't getting blamed because of the miss, he's getting blamed because of the lack of effort...
You do NOT throw your hands in the air everytime you don't get the ball, and you do not spin around when your teammate is fighting for a ball 10 yards in front of you...
Kenwyne Jones didn't play very well, but he showed effort and tried to get the ball, unlike John who just waited for it to be played to him...no movement, no comunication, just demoralising body movements...

I wasn't going to say anything to upset the Stern fans but yuh start meh. The man don't move at all. He's not, creative on his own, he depends on someone like Latapy to be creative for him, just lazy. He does not try to make space for himself to receive passes and that's when the midfielders (anyone behind him) run out of options. No kinda diagonal runs or anything, he just runs with his defender and hopes for the best. Occasionally he gets himself into a good position for a cross but how many times per game? He's not a total waste but I don't like to see ppl trying to defend mediocrity.

Also, what the hell is it with this team and these long balls? We're not strong in that area. We're much stronger when we play the ball on the carpet man. They watching too many EPL teams and not teams that play to their strengths like Barca for example.

Nail on the head with both points!
realinstinct wrote:i don't know if it's me alone but somehow that referee have a striking resemblance to obama... :evil:

:lol: :lol: noticed this as well
Last edited by R. Mutt on April 2nd, 2009, 9:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

djvybz

Postby djvybz » April 2nd, 2009, 8:59 pm

people all we need is a lil GOD to save we team as i posted earlier....GOD IS LOVE

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/vP24ovcflb8&hl=en&fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/vP24ovcflb8&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » April 2nd, 2009, 9:16 pm

^Dunno wtf those ppl are, but thas cic centenary hall :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Maserati » April 2nd, 2009, 11:30 pm

do like what Mexico do!!! they fire their coach!!

come on T&T fire he a$$

Postby Maserati » April 2nd, 2009, 11:42 pm

pioneer wrote:and bring who?...

scolari :lol: :lol:

Terran

Postby Terran » April 3rd, 2009, 7:24 am

I'm guessing a coaching change too.

Leo used the same team of players he was handed... and look at what he achieved. Look at the team's performance at the 2006 World Cup... and look at what it is now.

Every coach has their unique approach. But, we're at the final round of qualifiers, and it is clear that whatever we're doing right now is NOT working.

The US did not play all that well, better than T&T - yes. Who knows - if they were playing a tougher, more composed T&T team, they may have stepped up the pressure on us. But a younger team should not know their way around BETTER than our so-called experienced veterans. Pace on the ball is another story between younger legs and older legs. From a tactical perspective, we were supposed to be the stronger team. It did not take rocket science to know T&T's strengths and shut them down. Once that failed, we had no other approach. And I believe that is an issue that should be addressed with the head coach.

Defensively, the team is probably at its worst ever. Where the hell is Cyd Gray?? Not as if I swear by him, but his temperament does a lot of good (and some bad) on the field. I am certain that Altidore would have had nothing short of a nightmare if Cyd Gray was on the field.