AdamB wrote:AdamB wrote:MG Man wrote:Chapter 3 'The God Delusion' by Richard Dawkins, Chapter 3
I checked your "bible" above and found nothing to do with the Qur'aan or the prophet. However, I did find a lot of info about the Bible, the four gospels and at least 8 others that were thrown out (or not put in) and other books like Did Jesus Exist? and The Story Behind Who Changed The New Testament and Why?.
errrr noKasey wrote:Always wondered where the term 'booty' came from
TonyM wrote:So Muslims should all have slaves then?York wrote:If scripture is not to be taken literally, then how is it to be taken and understood? What is the purpose of it then?
What you are saying is that no one will know what it really means unless they themselves are "divinely inspired". Now that's unreasonable.
The Prophet himself had slaves and concubines. Muslims are supposed to follow "sunnah" (follow in the ways of the Prophet).
Qur'an 33:50 - "Prophet, We have made lawful to you the wives to whom you have granted dowries and the slave girls whom God has given you as booty."
http://quran.com/33/50
Qur'an 23:6 - "... except with their wives and slave girls, for these are lawful to them:..."
http://quran.com/23/6
The Muslim spin doctors are probably going to quote all the verses that talk about freeing slaves and stating that Islam supports abolition. Why then did the Prophet have slaves and slave girls? Why did he marry captured women after battle?
While I think it's nice to allow a slave to obtain his freedom, (at his master's discretion) it is tragic that Islam allows them to be enslaved in the first place. That's like robbing a bank and giving some of the money back to the bank, and thinking you did the right thing!
The above verses show that taking slaves was ordained by Allah, and that it was permissible for Muslim males to have sex with their female slaves. It also shows that slaves were a valuable commodity to the Muslims, otherwise, Allah would not have imposed the penalty of freeing a slave to make up for a crime.
megadoc1 wrote:what attack?
York wrote:What you are saying is that no one will know what it really means unless they themselves are "divinely inspired". Now that's unreasonable.
York wrote:In the christian dilemma, if the holy spirit enters, inspires (or possesses) someone then where's the FREE WILL?
d spike wrote:Seriously, I think an explanation of what Christians think 'inspired writings' and 'revealed truth' mean - or what they are supposed to think. 'Inspired' means 'guided by the spirit of God'. Writings that are inspired are full of moral teachings, advice, instruction and guidance... all good, but more than just a purely human effort of a human mind trying to guide others to goodness (at least, that's what was agreed on by those who decided these writings should be included in the big ring-binder we call the bible). Revealed truth is far different (but self-explanatory). These are inspired writings that contain material that the human condition couldn't engineer on its own... BUT STILL WRITTEN BY A HUMAN WHO HAS A CULTURE AND IDIOM THROUGH WHICH HE TRANSMITS HIS INFO (which he will put in terms that he uses, explain what he is trying to be aware of from his point of view).
The way many christians talk, you could swear that de Boss put whoever it was into a trance or something, and when the guy wakes up, he finds reams of writing... "Ay, gimme dat pencil, twit... lemme write dat..."
York wrote: No two persons will understand scripture the same way, leading to many divisions aka sects, as currently exists. Will GOD accept all or some or none?
d spike wrote:I agree, but where that one truth is concerned, there are many ways of perceiving it, expressing it, focusing on different aspects of it... and when you consider that all or some of this must be put into the context of the culture of the one who proclaims it... no wonder the multiplicity of religions in the history of man.
A truly religious person would believe this. However the problem with appreciating/accepting other cultures' religions starts right as one accepts this truth, and at the same time, allows one's own personal view to colour this same truth.
Who you deem God (and thus, His revealed "word") can easily lead you to assume that you (and hence your choice) are right... and all else must therefore be wrong. It hardly ever occurs to the immature/simple mind that God would choose to reveal himself to different cultures across time in ways that those particular people could understand and would accept His truths.
Please note that I am not decrying immature or simple-minded folk - far from it... Their lives are far more uncomplicated. It is what we do, not what we know, that we will be judged by - if you believe in some form of judgment, of course. In fact, to be aware of more, makes whatever judgment you might face even more weighty. Simple people see things in "black and white". Decisions come easily to them... until they come across one of life's quagmires of moral dilemmas. (At that point, they either become aware of the existence of the "gray areas" of life - and in choosing to deal with it, open their minds to the ability to learn more deeply about life; or they prefer to remain as they are by "backpedalling" until they reach to safe ground, then avoid that particular reality like the plague - or just live in denial.)
Where these simple folk run afoul is when they decide that everybody else must do things / accept truths their way - as any other way must be wrong.
York wrote:Is there anyone that GOD will reject? Send to Hell (if it exists)?
What is the criteria for heaven for all people / religions, not christianity alone?
York wrote:If scripture is not to be taken literally, then how is it to be taken and understood? What is the purpose of it then?
d spike wrote:If one is going to follow everything stated in the bible literally, then one is going to run into problems due to seemingly conflicting/contradictory statements - simply due to multiple translations, differing points of view of different authors who wrote at different times - please bear in mind that scripture is "inspired by God"... not, "gimme dat pencil, minion, lemme write dat fuh yuh..." Are you going to hate your parents? Have you given away everything you own? (Or are you posting on the computer belonging to the person who took you in, while you preach in their town?)
The bible isn't a manual on how to do things. It (as is all scripture) is meant to guide you in how you should live your life. Values, not a series of instructions.
York wrote:megadoc1 wrote:what attack?
Are you blind, delusional or hypnotized by your new guru Dspike?
York wrote:Dspike said that scriptures are NOT to be taken literally. His expertise is christianity, so I presume he can only speak concerning the Bible.
York wrote:Muslims, you guys are saying, take their scriptures literally. When they are instructed in their Koran to kill infidels, free slaves, pay charity, go to Hajj, what do you expect them to do? Disobey, do something else, if they are not to take their scripture literally? If god says worship him alone, do you expect them to worship others (like idols and man) also and say that they are obeying their god because, according to you all, THEY HAVE NOT TAKEN THEIR SCRIPTURE LITERALLY?
new guru?...wow..because I came across agreeing with him in some posts lately?York wrote:megadoc1 wrote:what attack?
DFC wrote:People make Too much about Heaven and Hell, that should not be the focus. What the intelligent man should concern himself is making his life peaceful, stress free, living with harmony with nature and with neighbors. Help anyone regardless of race, creed or belief, teach all your wisdom to the young ones, help save the dying earth, give charity, share, love, plant a tree, save the dolphins, encourage others to do so.
megadoc1 wrote:new guru?...wow..because I came across agreeing with him in some posts lately?York wrote:megadoc1 wrote:what attack?
what was your old username?
listen if you read a few hundred pages back to me d spike was the devil...(he still is..lol)
I may not agree with most of what he says ( I don't understand him that well) but I have matured past the stage of being silly and attacking everything he says and reminding him of who he is ..but instead I try to see the practicality and the reality in what he says..unlike some Muslims who have a mindset that if a person eat pork or is an unbeliever ,nothing valuable can come from them.. this mindset is what hinders most from learning anything ...I believe in God and I believe all truth comes from God and most of what d spike wrote on here have very simple practical truths to them ,I would be stupid to deny those truths ,just because I consider him an infidel ..you guys needs to stop that!
meccalli wrote:DFC wrote:People make Too much about Heaven and Hell, that should not be the focus. What the intelligent man should concern himself is making his life peaceful, stress free, living with harmony with nature and with neighbors. Help anyone regardless of race, creed or belief, teach all your wisdom to the young ones, help save the dying earth, give charity, share, love, plant a tree, save the dolphins, encourage others to do so.
I believe much sense was said here and taking from Ghandi's words, that men ought to live more like Jesus Christ. And after all that's all being a Christian is, following in the steps of Christ, following a light to keep ourselves from darkness. Believing in a God that saw fit to become flesh and see eye to eye with his creation that was fashioned in his own likeness, to set the example himself and give his life for ours to be spared. That is true love, and why God is love.
megadoc1 wrote:some Muslims who have a mindset that if a person eat pork or is an unbeliever ,nothing valuable can come from them..
megadoc1 wrote:I believe in God and I believe all truth comes from God
Kasey wrote:just one question york, did the koran really say those things that TonyM wrote?
megadoc1 wrote:what attack?
AdamB wrote:megadoc1 wrote:I believe in God and I believe all truth comes from God
If you believe in GOD, then you would recognize the truth in the Qur'aan. Since you don't recognize the Qur'aan as truth, DO YOU REALLY BELIEVE IN GOD?
Oleander wrote:AdamB wrote:megadoc1 wrote:I believe in God and I believe all truth comes from God
If you believe in GOD, then you would recognize the truth in the Qur'aan. Since you don't recognize the Qur'aan as truth, DO YOU REALLY BELIEVE IN GOD?
I don't live by the words of the Qur'aan but I am most positively sure that I believe in God and have faith is His power as well.
Who are you to question what a mortal man like yourself believes?
d spike wrote:Says who?AdamB wrote:There are three categories of ONENESS OF GOD:
1. LORDSHIP (Creator, Sustainer, Owner, Running of affairs, Giver and taker of life)
2. WORSHIP (HE ALONE is to be worshipped in the way that HE has legislated)
3. NAMES AND ATTRIBUTES. (not resembling the Creation and creation not resembling HIM, unique to HIM, Names not without meaning and Attributes of perfection, There is NONE LIKE UNTO HIM).
Names???
Why this constant hang-up on names??? Do you really think you might end up mistakenly praying to the WRONG God? Isn't the whole point of Monotheism that there is ONLY one????
Oleander wrote:I didn't question your belief...that was the point of my question.
I realised the intent of your question. Seeing that I clearly stated that I don't live by the words of the Qur'aan would you ask me the same question?
megadoc1 said he believed in God just like I did.. I have no doubt in my mind about my belief/faith after all I live in my God's grace each time he gives me the opportunity to see another day.
Oleander wrote:megadoc1 said he believed in God just like I did..
AdamB wrote:Oleander wrote:megadoc1 said he believed in God just like I did..
What is that belief, specifically?
well answer me this ...is there anything that d spike wrote here that you can gather simple truths from? if no GOTO quote belowAdamB wrote:megadoc1 wrote:some Muslims who have a mindset that if a person eat pork or is an unbeliever ,nothing valuable can come from them..
That's not true. What is the basis for this statement? GOD affirms in the Qur'aan that some good/benefit comes from alcohol, gambling, etc but the evil far outweighs the good.
megadoc1 wrote:some Muslims have a mindset that if a person eat pork or is an unbeliever ,nothing valuable can come from them..
I do recognize truths in the Qur'an but that does not mean that the quran is a truthful book as a wholeAdamB wrote:megadoc1 wrote:I believe in God and I believe all truth comes from God
If you believe in GOD, then you would recognize the truth in the Qur'aan. Since you don't recognize the Qur'an as truth, DO YOU REALLY BELIEVE IN GOD?
dan how does his warrant such a response? a guy simply asked some questions and it was considered to be an attack on muslims...AdamB wrote:megadoc1 wrote:what attack?
It is very wrong for people to portray polygamy as only as Muslim thing yet it is ...................................................................................................................................
Oleander wrote:AdamB wrote:Oleander wrote:megadoc1 said he believed in God just like I did..
Belief is a habit of the mind. It provokes trust and confidence. Belief is one's conviction of what he deems to be true.
E.g. I believe that God's truth is laid in His holy bible. I seek His inspired words for inspiration, wisdom and peace. I believe that if I follow the words that my life would be a righteous one.
AdamB wrote:Oleander wrote:megadoc1 said he believed in God just like I did..
megadoc1 wrote:well answer me this ...is there anything that d spike wrote here that you can gather simple truths from? if no GOTO quote belowAdamB wrote:megadoc1 wrote:some Muslims who have a mindset that if a person eat pork or is an unbeliever ,nothing valuable can come from them..
That's not true. What is the basis for this statement? GOD affirms in the Qur'aan that some good/benefit comes from alcohol, gambling, etc but the evil far outweighs the good.megadoc1 wrote:some Muslims have a mindset that if a person eat pork or is an unbeliever ,nothing valuable can come from them..
I already responded to this, yes.I do recognize truths in the Qur'an but that does not mean that the quran is a truthful book as a wholeAdamB wrote:megadoc1 wrote:I believe in God and I believe all truth comes from God
If you believe in GOD, then you would recognize the truth in the Qur'aan. Since you don't recognize the Qur'an as truth, DO YOU REALLY BELIEVE IN GOD?
We can say the same for the bible, do you agree?dan how does his warrant such a response? a guy simply asked some questions and it was considered to be an attack on muslims...It was, simply, because he chose to attack muslims alone.AdamB wrote:megadoc1 wrote:what attack?
It is very wrong for people to portray polygamy as only as Muslim thing yet it is ...................................................................................................................................