Re: The Religion Discussion

Postby MG Man » October 3rd, 2012, 6:32 am

AdamB wrote:
MG Man wrote:in his case, more like d!ck in camel

You just revealed that you probably don't amount to a quarter of Crossdrilled's intelligence, so stop beating a dead horse. See if Kasey could LEARN YOU HOW YOU SHOULD SPELL AND CONSTRUCT YOUR ENGLISH LANGUAGE GRAMMAR CORRECTLY (or as you would say GOOD).

wai yew tipe capz

Kasey

Postby Kasey » October 3rd, 2012, 7:51 am

'Netiquette' is actually a term recently added to the english vocabulary. It is equavalent to Etiquette, and means the way one expresses themselves on the internet.

Typing in CAPS, is actually equivalent to shouting. Using red font is also Yelling. It IS rude, and obnoxious when overused. Someone using this method does not have respect for other peopeles views and opinions and they can be considered a MORON.

Postby MG Man » October 3rd, 2012, 9:19 am

at lest eh can spel good

AdamB

Postby AdamB » October 3rd, 2012, 9:43 am

crossdrilled wrote:
AdamB wrote:

You just revealed that you probably don't amount to a quarter of Crossdrilled's intelligence, so stop beating a dead horse. See if Kasey could LEARN YOU HOW YOU SHOULD SPELL AND CONSTRUCT YOUR ENGLISH LANGUAGE GRAMMAR CORRECTLY (or as you would say GOOD).

Don't know whether I should feel complimented or insulted.

If you feel insulted, then what would that say for those who don't measure up?

Postby MG Man » October 3rd, 2012, 9:45 am

wont sum healp?

AdamB

Postby AdamB » October 3rd, 2012, 9:53 am

Kasey wrote:'Netiquette' is actually a term recently added to the english vocabulary. It is equavalent to Etiquette, and means the way one expresses themselves on the internet.

Typing in CAPS, is actually equivalent to shouting. Using red font is also Yelling. It IS rude, and obnoxious when overused. Someone using this method does not have respect for other peopeles views and opinions and they can be considered a MORON.

Netiquette Rule #2. No "Flaming": Flaming is a form of verbal abuse when you intentionally attack or disrespect somebody for whatever reason. Maybe you didn't agree with something they said, but there's a nice way to share a different point of view without name calling, attacking, harassing or insulting someone.

AdamB

Postby AdamB » October 3rd, 2012, 9:55 am

AdamB wrote:

wai yew tipe capz

It's self-explanatory.

Postby RBphoto » October 3rd, 2012, 10:02 am

Guys... more religious discussion, and less personal messages. Anyway... If I have a new religion, is there any way to register it to make it legal?

Postby Dizzy28 » October 3rd, 2012, 10:05 am

Religions have to be registered?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 3rd, 2012, 10:08 am

crossdrilled wrote:Guys... more religious discussion, and less personal messages. Anyway... If I have a new religion, is there any way to register it to make it legal?
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-14135523

AdamB

Postby AdamB » October 3rd, 2012, 10:13 am

crossdrilled wrote:Guys... more religious discussion, and less personal messages. Anyway... If I have a new religion, is there any way to register it to make it legal?

Check with either the Attorney General's office or the new Minister of Justice.
The President is the Head of State, so if yuh get him to join then yuh have string to pull! Just throw in some alco and wining and he may lap it up...

Postby Dizzy28 » October 3rd, 2012, 10:16 am

^^This had a thread a while back

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=384205&hilit=pastafarian
Last edited by Dizzy28 on October 3rd, 2012, 10:17 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby bluefete » October 3rd, 2012, 10:16 am

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-14135523

:rofl: If I remember well, this item is somewhere in this thread (from last year sometime).

What about the Rastaman in the USA who got off recently on a marijuana charge because the jury agreed that it was a fundamental part of his religion?

Jury Nullifies Charges Against Rastafarian Accused of Growing Marijuana
Posted on September 28, 2012 by Andrew R. Hamilton |

Last week, a New Hampshire jury nullified criminal charges brought against a 59 year-old Rastafarian accused of growing 15 marijuana plants near his home. The defendant, Doug Darrell, claimed that the marijuana was used as part of his religious practices. The defense attorney sought a jury nullification instruction and it was granted by Belknap County Superior Court Judge James O’Neill. According to one report, the judge gave the following instruction: “Even if you find that the State has proven each and every element of the offense charged beyond a reasonable doubt, you may still find the defendant not guilty if you have a conscientious feeling that a not guilty verdict would be a fair result in this case.” The marijuana plants were spotted by a National Guard helicopter as part of a coordinated operation with NH State Police.

This case raises questions as to whether jury nullification is a viable way to protect the rights of religious minorities from criminal prosecution. Read one way, this case may suggest that jury nullification is a tool for local communities to protect the rights of such minorities from the unintended consequences of a generally applicable law. Rastafarianism is by no means a popular religion in the US (I daresay this is especially true in the Granite State), and I doubt that NH legislators had the religion in mind when they passed the law prohibiting marijuana possession. Yet a group of twelve citizens decided not to apply the neutral, generally applicable law (see Employment Division v. Smith) because it substantially burdened one adherent’s beliefs.

Read another way, jury nullification only worked here because of a number of other factors, unrelated to Mr. Darrell’s religion. In fact, one juror stated that Mr. Darrell’s religion had nothing to do with the jury’s decision. One cannot ignore, for example, the fact that this case involved a criminal act many people are familiar with and do not consider wrongful (i.e. growing marijuana for personal use). I wonder if the jury would have nullified had Mr. Darrell been a member of the Santeria religion charged with animal cruelty (see Church of Lukumi Babalu Aye v. City of Hialeah). Another aspect is the personal story involved. Mr. Darrell is a 59 year-old, mild-mannered man who has been married for 38 years and has 4 grown children, who are “successful in their fields.” Again, I wonder if the jury would have nullified had Mr. Darrell been a loud, unrepenting agitator, arrested while picketing military funerals (See Snyder v. Phelps).

Jury nullification, therefore, seems like one way to protect religious minorities from prosecution. However, whether a jury will actually do so depends much less on the lofty ideals of respect for religious freedom or diversity and more on the mundane issues of familiarity and likeability.

http://clrforum.org/2012/09/28/jury-nul ... marijuana/

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 3rd, 2012, 10:38 am

^ "when one person suffers from a delusion it is called insanity. When many people suffer from a delusion it is called religion" - Robert Pirsig

Postby DFC » October 3rd, 2012, 10:47 am

Hi guys, here's some excerpts from an Interesting article I read.
I will post more later.

God must be Crazy.

Put simply, the basic premise of the Abrahamic beliefs (Judaism, Christianity and Islam) are as follows:

- God is just, kind, perfect
- This life is our first and last life
- God is testing us here
- Based on the marks we obtain in this test, we will go to either Heaven or Hell.

The differences between various sects of Judaism, Christianity and Islam lie only in
- the testing criteria and the description of Heaven and Hell
- the level of fanaticism required for passing this Test.

But the basic construct is same – One Life which is Test, God is best examiner, and Result is Pass (Heaven) or Fail (Hell) .

Let us evaluate this basic construct critically through a series of examples, and decide whether it is logically plausible.

Many children die in the wombs. Now as per Islam or Christianity would they go to Heaven or Hell? Most scholars of Islam and Christianity say they go to Heaven because they never did anything wrong in their lives.

Now my question is “Did they even have an option to do anything wrong?”

Is God not being partial by clearing one candidate even without starting his examination, and another one has to keep giving test after test continuously for 100 years!

Many children die young before they reach maturity. Even the wrong acts they do are not out of willful desire to do something wrong but out of innocence. Would they reach Heaven or Hell?

If they reach Heaven, then why does God not kill everyone in their childhood and ensure a seat in Heaven for them? Is God not being unjust and imperfect?

If they reach Hell, what was their fault?

Say twins were born. Both lived same innocent life for first 3 years. Then one died. He will go straight to Heaven. The other remained innocent for next few years, then got into bad company, became an Apostate/Kafir and died at age of 60. Now he should go to Hell, as per the Books.

Is this not God’s crime that he made him live for 60 years and not his brother? Had he killed both at same age of 3 years, both would have gone to Heaven!

So if there is one life and permanent Heaven/Hell, it proves God is unjust.

A person is born insane. His mental faculties have not developed beyond say, age of five. But he lives a long life. Will he go to Hell or Heaven?

Again the same questions as above rise. And result in either God being unjust or concept of one life as test to enter Heaven/Hell being wrong.

A person who is devout follower of Islam believes that children go to Heaven because that is what scholars teach him. So as a noble example of self-sacrifice, he starts killing children. His logic is that, even if I have to burn in Hell forever, I should do my best to ensure that these innocent children get reservation for Paradise!

Thus he is doing a selfless social service. Will he go to Heaven or Hell?

If he goes to Heaven, then Allah or God is setting a wrong example for people to follow.

If he goes to Hell, then selflessness is bad.

Further, since no one will actually know who will go where until doomsday comes, it means God has already spread enough confusion to motivate many innocent selfless social workers to follow the path of infanticide and killing!

An unbiased testing environment will demand that
- first the subject be taught to everyone with same facilities,
- then they should be evaluated under same testing environment.

Accordingly, God should have first imbibed Quran or Bible, whichever is true, in hearts of all people, then given them birth in same types of family, allowed them to grow up in same place and in same conditions, and only then should have conducted the test.

But in this world, we find the testing environment to be as diverse as one can possibly imagine. And yet God is claimed to be perfect, just and kind!

Most religious scholars answer this paradox by saying that God or Allah knows how to decide the fate by whatever acts people have done in their respective lives based on whatever environment they had to live in. This seems to be like God having something like the Duckworth-Lewis formula which is used to decide winner of an interrupted cricket match.

Now this raises few doubts:

One,
if indeed God is perfect and He has such a great scoring formula, why did he create the entire drama and wasted so many years? He should have used the formula in the very beginning and directly sent everyone to either Heaven or Hell!

Two,
If the formula works on a stillborn child or a fetus, why did he unnecessarily bias against certain folks and had them face troubles of long lives? After all He had created everyone equal to start with!

Three,
The test seems to have discrete results. As per Quran, all Heaven-goers would get 72 virgins each. There seems to be no concept of variation of results as per deeds. Some books do talk of several varieties of Heaven, but these merely increase a binary solution to a finite number solution (Instead of one Heaven and one Hell, there are now say 10 Heavens and 10 Hells). But still there is no continuous gradation. It is like a continuous function equation is giving a non-zero discrete answer, which is mathematically improbable.

Postby DFC » October 3rd, 2012, 10:53 am

People seem to be retaining their youthful bodies in Heaven. Now will they be able to change their looks if they want to? What about children and fetus who go to Heaven? Will they go as adults? Will they receive a training in Hebrew or Arabic which is supposed to be the language of Heaven? If indeed so, why did God not make only one single language in earth also?

What about animals – reptiles, insects, mammals and other creatures? Will they go to Heaven or Hell? The earlier belief was that animals do not have souls. But now that it has been amply proved that at least the higher animals feel pain and pleasure like humans, the opinion is divided.

Some claim that they will also go to Heaven. Others say that Allah knows the best!

In case they go to Heaven, why did God or Allah bias against others and not gave them birth as cockroaches and goats? That way they too would have got straight passport to Heaven!

In case they go to Hell, what was their fault?

Also, will they live like cockroaches and goats, or will they get human body? Will their intelligence be enhanced? Or they remain equally dumb as in earth?

Heaven and Hell seem to be permanent. It will continue forever, as per these religions. Now if that be so, God’s injustice becomes even more prominent in light of above points.

Based on one single test, God put certain people directly in Heaven without testing them at all! Others he tested for so many years. Some he gave birth in homes of Apostates, some as children of Prophet himself.

Is this not gravest cheating?

God is the most unjust and biggest cheater of these stories of there being one single exam and Heaven/Hell forever be true.

A corollary:
What would happen if people start fighting or cheating or adultery in Heaven? Will they be shifted to Hell? Or will they be permitted to do whatever they want and yet remain in Heaven?

The Holy Books seem to be silent on this!

Recently there was news that a 2 month old baby was raped.

Now who is being tested? The victim or the rapist?

If its test of victim, is it in a position to respond?

If its test of the rapist, why the hell did God make the poor little baby as a scapegoat?

God seems nothing more than a crazy, stupid, psychopathic dictator if these stories be true.

Almost all books of Eastern philosophies refute the concept of one birth. They believe in life being a continuous cycle not interrupted by death. Its broadly termed the Theory of Karma.

Now if this were not true, why did God act like a Kafir/ Apostate and confuse minds of people who were born in Eastern part of the globe, from very childhood.

As per Bible and Quran, God has done great miracles in past including burning entire towns and villages, and giving birth to prophets like Jesus without need of a human father. If He can do so much, why did he not burn these books of East forever? After all He himself laid the criteria that those who refuse to believe in Jesus or Muhammad will go to Hell! Ideally he should have stopped the creation of these books in the first place!

In Muslim texts, Muhammad has foretold that he sees Heaven full of men and Hell full of women. This means that there is already reservations made on basis of gender. Is this not match-fixing by the whimsical dictator named God or Allah? 

(Refer KITAB AL-RIQAQ, Chapter 1, Sahih Bukhari Book 36, Number 6596, Book 36, Number 6597, Book 36, Number 6600)
Also, as per Islam, each male will get 4 faithful wives in Heaven. But if Heaven if full of only men, as per previous claim of Muhammad, does it not mean that Heaven would be a homosexual paradise? Because with majority being males, it is mathematically impossible for everyone to get 4 female wives each. And if homosexuality is the only way in Paradise, why condemn it on earth?

Perhaps the only women who go to Paradise may be the lesbians (because straight women cannot enjoy 72 virgins that would be allotted to them!)

What about terrorists who were brainwashed from very childhood to do Jehad? Will people like Kasab who killed many in Mumbai attack go to Heaven or Hell? They were simply brainwashed by fanatics to take up arms to seek Allah!

If indeed there is only life, why did God create so much of confusion about His original message.

The original Bible is simply not available. Quran was compiled after death of Prophet. And those who compiled were fighting each other to death. How can only rely on such blood-thirsty people to have had the capability to reproduce the original message of God? Further certain verses seem to have been added in Quran out of Satanic influences on Prophet.

If Allah or God is so just, and is giving only one life to compete, why did he create such confusions which no human being can decipher. And then he lays the criteria that unless you are out of this confusion, you will burn in Hell! Not satisfied with this, he further went to condemn certain people to remain away forever from his message!

Both Islam and Christianity believe that God forgives the sins of one who agrees to accept the respective religion! 

This means that regardless of whatever you have done, if finally you say sorry, you will go scot-free in Heaven! 

And if you have been a devout believer but at last moment you say, “I refuse to believe”, he will give you ticket to Hell.

This raises further doubts:

One,
Does it not render the entire life and all its multi-dimensionality and complexity wasteful? The entire life, its efforts, its studies all go for a toss, and what remains is a final yes or no. Is this not against nature?

We all know anger is bad. But still we succumb to anger at times, due to limits of our understanding and our neural programming.

So if someone has been a believer throughout but out of confusion, in last few days of his life, became an apostate, why should he be punished so severely?

And another one, who was apostate forever, why should he be rewarded Heaven despite all the nonsense he thought and did for decades?

No decision is without confusion. The only way to take a right decision without confusion is to know everything and be able to analyze everything. This is impossible for any human. Thus no decision of human can be considered reliable and final.

Thus regardless of whether one agrees or disagrees with Quran/ Bible, the decision is full of confusion and based on extremely limited knowledge.

Is God not crazy then to curse one to Hell and another one to Heaven forever, based on a momentary decision which was taken out of ignorance?

Is God not stupid to have designed such a faulty testing mechanism that relies on ignorance of people which will decide the fate of all souls forever?

Two,
Does it not provide an inbuilt motivation mechanism in the system to keep doing all sorts of nonsense throughout the life and say sorry at the end?

We thus, see many becoming saint-like as old age comes to say sorry and go to Heaven. More careful ones do the nonsense, and then confess the same, and go scot-free!

Three,
Why does nature work opposite to God’s method then? Was nature designed by God when he was imperfect, or what is a joint-venture with Satan?

Because in nature, if you commit a mistake, you cannot go scot-free without paying the price.

If you eat lots of sugars and get diabetic, you do not get cured by saying Sorry! You need to undergo the entire treatment process and even then perfect cure is not guaranteed. We do not get strong by saying, Sorry! We do not get back our teeth by saying, Sorry! We do not become scholars by saying, Sorry! We do not master skills by saying, Sorry!

On contrary, in nature, everything happens in a continuous process as per definite laws. There is simply no escape from it. Why does God suddenly become so dismally and so confusingly discrete then! God must be crazy!

If God is just and kind, why does He demand belief in things we can neither see, hear, analyze or feel, for booking our permanent future?

Neither we see God, nor see Him doing the kind of miracles we read in Bible or Quran, nor we witness any Prophets or messengers around, nor we have ever seen any Holy Spirit or Angel, nor we ever see any virgin giving birth to any baby, nor we have seen even trailer of Heaven/ Hell, nor we ever saw the Garden of Eden, nor did we discover the seven/ four skies etc etc.

Yet belief in each of these is necessary to book a seat in Heaven!

And if we do not, we are doomed to Hell forever!

On top of it, God gave us the intelligence to be able to test what is fraud and what is right. In this world, we respect those people more who have more of this intelligence.

But in God’s kingdom, this intelligence is the greatest cause of sin.

Only the blinds will enter the Heaven. Rest shall burn in Hell!

The God’s world is indeed very confusing.

God must be crazy!

AdamB

Postby AdamB » October 3rd, 2012, 10:55 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ "when one person suffers from a delusion it is called insanity. When many people suffer from a delusion it is called religion" - Robert Pirsig

While doing laboratory work in biochemistry, Pirsig became greatly troubled by the existence of more than one workable hypothesis to explain a given phenomenon, and, indeed, that the number of hypotheses appeared unlimited. He could not find any way to reduce the number of hypotheses--he became perplexed by the role and source of hypothesis generation within scientific practice. This led him to an awareness of a (to him) previously unarticulated limitation of science, which was something of a revelation to him. The question distracted him to the extent that he lost interest in his studies and failed to maintain good grades; he was finally expelled from the university.

Pirsig suffered a nervous breakdown and spent time in and out of psychiatric hospitals between 1961 and 1963. He was diagnosed with paranoid schizophrenia and clinical depression as a result of an evaluation conducted by psychoanalysts, and was treated with ECT on numerous occasions, which he himself talks about in his autobiographical book Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance.

Postby MG Man » October 3rd, 2012, 11:21 am

Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance is a brilliant book
You should read it
I wonder if he ever justified poking little girls

AdamB

Postby AdamB » October 3rd, 2012, 11:26 am

Robert Pirsig married Nancy Ann James on May 10, 1954. They had two sons: Chris, born in 1956, and Theodore, born in 1958. He married Wendy Kimball on December 31, 1978.

In 1979, Pirsig's son Chris, who figured prominently in Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance, was stabbed to death during a mugging outside the San Francisco Zen Center. Pirsig discusses this incident in an afterword to subsequent editions of Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance, writing that he and his second wife, Kimball, decided not to abort the child she conceived in 1980, because he had come to believe that this unborn child was a continuation of the life pattern that Chris had occupied. This child's name is Nell.

Maybe he is a believer after all...

Postby MG Man » October 3rd, 2012, 11:31 am

a believer in what?

AdamB

Postby AdamB » October 3rd, 2012, 11:34 am

MG Man wrote:a believer in what?

In the Unseen, Unjustified, That which could not be proven.

Maybe he just wanted to start his own religion?

AdamB

Postby AdamB » October 3rd, 2012, 11:37 am

If you hold a Certified LOONEY in high esteem because he seems to support your cause...that's your choice but I say examine the evidence before making those decisions. There may be implications here (if you read between the lines).

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 3rd, 2012, 11:37 am

DFC you raise some logical points but in some of them you are assuming that God thinks in simple logic as we do. His plan maybe more complex than we can perceive.

the main difference between Islam and Christianity with regards to your comments above is that Christians believe they are born into sin and need to accept Jesus and only through him they can remove that original sin and make it to heaven.

Muslims on the other hand believe that everyone is born a Muslim and completely without sin. So if a baby dies at birth, they will be without sin and will go straight to heaven.
DFC wrote:If they reach Heaven, then why does God not kill everyone in their childhood and ensure a seat in Heaven for them? Is God not being unjust and imperfect?
this logic is flawed

take a teacher giving an end of term test. the teacher wants all the students to pass (this also makes the teacher look good too) so why no just forgo the test and pass everyone? - because the purpose of testing is lost and when the student moves up a grade they may not be capable or worthy.

However in my example the fundamental difference is that the teacher is not all-knowing like God. So the teacher (and school) MUST test the pupils to ensure they are capable and worthy of moving up to the next grade. God on the other hand is all-knowing and already knows what grade you will get, so THAT is the real question - why bother testing if the result is known?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 3rd, 2012, 11:42 am

AdamB wrote:Robert Pirsig married Nancy Ann James on May 10, 1954. They had two sons: Chris, born in 1956, and Theodore, born in 1958. He married Wendy Kimball on December 31, 1978.

In 1979, Pirsig's son Chris, who figured prominently in Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance, was stabbed to death during a mugging outside the San Francisco Zen Center. Pirsig discusses this incident in an afterword to subsequent editions of Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance, writing that he and his second wife, Kimball, decided not to abort the child she conceived in 1980, because he had come to believe that this unborn child was a continuation of the life pattern that Chris had occupied. This child's name is Nell.

Maybe he is a believer after all...
LOL hahahahahahaha

so an atheist cannot use the word "believe"? :lol: :lol:

"I believe it will rain today" is an expression, a thought, NOT a proclamation of faith in God!

replace "believe" with "think"

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 3rd, 2012, 11:49 am

AdamB wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ "when one person suffers from a delusion it is called insanity. When many people suffer from a delusion it is called religion" - Robert Pirsig

While doing laboratory work in biochemistry, Pirsig became greatly troubled by the existence of more than one workable hypothesis to explain a given phenomenon, and, indeed, that the number of hypotheses appeared unlimited. He could not find any way to reduce the number of hypotheses--he became perplexed by the role and source of hypothesis generation within scientific practice. This led him to an awareness of a (to him) previously unarticulated limitation of science, which was something of a revelation to him. The question distracted him to the extent that he lost interest in his studies and failed to maintain good grades; he was finally expelled from the university.

Pirsig suffered a nervous breakdown and spent time in and out of psychiatric hospitals between 1961 and 1963. He was diagnosed with paranoid schizophrenia and clinical depression as a result of an evaluation conducted by psychoanalysts, and was treated with ECT on numerous occasions, which he himself talks about in his autobiographical book Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance.
so a brilliant scientist is finding a cure for Cancer and then due to stress with work he has a nervous breakdown and becomes schizophrenic or even delusional. He later recovers and writes a brilliant paper that eventually results in major headway into the cure for Cancer.

You'd just write him off as looney and never use his method for a cure?

a crazy person can still make a very valid claim such as "the sky is blue". Them being crazy does not make their statement any less valid.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 3rd, 2012, 11:56 am

AdamB wrote:hold a Certified LOONEY in high esteem because he seems to support your cause
sounds like alot of religions and religious figures

as a Muslim you probably think the same thing of Sai Baba, while Sai Baba followers probably think the same thing of Muhammad.

you should not judge

Postby Dizzy28 » October 3rd, 2012, 12:07 pm

AdamB wrote:hold a Certified LOONEY in high esteem because he seems to support your cause
sounds like alot of religions and religious figures

as a Muslim you probably think the same thing of Sai Baba, while Sai Baba followers probably think the same thing of Muhammad.

you should not judge

Awaits the rants, quoting of scripture etc.

AdamB

Postby AdamB » October 5th, 2012, 11:37 am

AdamB wrote:

so a brilliant scientist is finding a cure for Cancer and then due to stress with work he has a nervous breakdown and becomes schizophrenic or even delusional. He later recovers and writes a brilliant paper that eventually results in major headway into the cure for Cancer.

When this happens, we'll open a thread for that. Surely the Cure exists, the problem is that it has to be found.

The point I was trying to make is that when we take knowledge, opinion or matters of the Unseen from someone, then that person should have shown a flawless record in terms of his trustworthiness and also his record with regard to his sanity. This is the standard that our prophet, Muhammad, has under his belt.

You'd just write him off as looney and never use his method for a cure?

Postby Chimera » October 5th, 2012, 2:49 pm

http://www.livescience.com/23758-einste ... ction.html

The private letter written by Einstein expressing his views on God and religion will go up for auction Monday (Oct. 8) on eBay. In the letter, he calls belief in religion and God "pretty childish" and ridicules the idea that the Jews are a chosen people.

"This is the most historic and significant piece we have listed on eBay," Eric Gazin,

AdamB

Postby AdamB » October 5th, 2012, 4:03 pm

After all is said and done:
Don't people believe what they want to believe?
Is it not a matter of (personal) choice?

So regardless of what the reality is, we all would have made our choice and will have no one to blame but ourselves if GOD (reward /punishment) is the reality.