Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

daring dragoon

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby daring dragoon » April 6th, 2022, 3:47 am

paid_influencer wrote:okay, so I want to talk to you guys about failure. It is an important topic, failure is, and I have experience with failure. Here is what I've learnt. (Don't worry, this will be on-topic)

- Failure is inevitable. Failure will always happen given a long enough time frame.

- Do not over think failure. Do not drink lannate because of failure.

- Failure is not necessarily good or bad. Failure is a forced, unintended move to a new direction.

- The best option is always to expect failure and diversify to mitigate it.

With that in mind, this incessant focus on local agriculture is not a solution to food prices. Local agriculture is vulnerable. It is fragile. It will fail, hard, at some point. We cannot put all our eggs into that casket.

Diversification is the answer. Patrick Manning was right. He was always right. God bless him. God bless my Prime Minister.

failure is not inevitable, it is only failure if you give up and admit you failed. you need to think of it as a lesson to be learnt and move on. agriculture is not the failure here the problem is voting the same government over and over and expecting different outcome. people have been planting for generations and made good money and send their children foreign and if you put a man with no vision in power you look for your trouble.

learn your lesson and move on. PNM like to feel them is boss and can close down from caroni to petrotrin and fork away with consequence. successive pnm govt has done this and you all vote them back in and just like how america voted the democrat and now sorry the same way we will be sorry. A republican style govt like UNC will allow business men to control the economy and the economy will prosper. vote race or vote money your choice.

Postby 88sins » April 6th, 2022, 5:15 am

paid_influencer wrote:okay, so I want to talk to you guys about failure. It is an important topic, failure is, and I have experience with failure. Here is what I've learnt. (Don't worry, this will be on-topic)

- Failure is inevitable. Failure will always happen given a long enough time frame.

- Do not over think failure. Do not drink lannate because of failure.

- Failure is not necessarily good or bad. Failure is a forced, unintended move to a new direction.

- The best option is always to expect failure and diversify to mitigate it.

With that in mind, this incessant focus on local agriculture is not a solution to food prices. Local agriculture is vulnerable. It is fragile. It will fail, hard, at some point. We cannot put all our eggs into that casket.

Diversification is the answer. Patrick Manning was right. He was always right. God bless him. God bless my Prime Minister.

Some correct, and some not so correct.
Failure is not inevitable, but given a long enough time span it can be an eventuality, and the only time one truly fails, is when one fails to try or keep trying to achieve the objective.

That being said, you mention not putting all our eggs in one basket, and that's actually good advice. However...

This is a small country, and we could never be able to diversify our outputs and incomes enough to make up our shortfall fast enough, or claim a large enough market share to bring in enough revenue to sustain our current system of food and everything else imports. This is especially important to be understood when we consider that this regime has no issues with destroying potential revenue generating entities (petrotrin closure), and large private companies that are expected to bring in forex are either scaling back or pulling out of here entirely, or more commonly intentionally keeping that forex outside.0

Basically, we only have one egg (using oil and gas revenue to import the majority of what we consume), and it's in currently on an unstable concrete floor in the hot sun and surrounded by rocks and egg-eating snakes. As that's the case, even a 10% boost in local production will be of benefit in the long term if we can maintain it, or increase that level of performance by even 1% each year.

A nation that cannot at the very least partly feed itself, is a nation that will eventually fall on disaster.
Look at it this way.
You and your neighbor in a similar financial situation, with limited income. When you each get money, you buy food supplies so that you can eat and stay alive. Now, suppose you had no income or your income cut in half, but you have several food trees and crops planted in your yard already producing, and your neighbor chose to concrete every square inch of his yard.

Who you think will feel the squeeze worse?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 6th, 2022, 6:11 am

Agriculture is a pure joke in this country and no govt has made it easy to get into the industry. NONE! We may not have the ability to produce food where we can match our imports but we certainly can do things to get the cost down.

Firstly, make better use of Cepep(instead of only cleaning drains, cutting grass( respective regional corps are there for that)and having one man bawling ohhhhhhh when a car passing, start planting the much available land in each district!

Secondly, have prisoners plant their own blasted food or grown their own poultry. You would see how fast the cost to "maintain" one prisoner would go down.

Make access roads ACCESSIBLE!

Make land tenure an actual thing and not an election gimic

Yes, the govt can assist with the cost of fertilizers.

Ever tried going to the ADB....it's easier to take a 7 year loan to buy an Aqua than to get some money to plant one acre of something. FIX IT!

Larceny is a thing that cannot be eradicated but controlled.

Don't start me on water supply.

Take it from someone who has given up, looking to sell out all agriculture land and looking for something else to do.

Postby De Dragon » April 6th, 2022, 6:33 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Agriculture is a pure joke in this country and no govt has made it easy to get into the industry. NONE! We may not have the ability to produce food where we can match our imports but we certainly can do things to get the cost down.

Firstly, make better use of Cepep(instead of only cleaning drains, cutting grass( respective regional corps are there for that)and having one man bawling ohhhhhhh when a car passing, start planting the much available land in each district!

Secondly, have prisoners plant their own blasted food or grown their own poultry. You would see how fast the cost to "maintain" one prisoner would go down.

Ever tried going to the ADB....it's easier to take a 7 year loan to buy an Aqua than to get some money to plant one acre of something. FIX IT!

Take it from someone who has given up, looking to sell out all agriculture land and looking for something else to do.

A whistle is being used now, get with the times :lol:
I agree, too much lip service was, and is still being paid to agriculture by ALL Governments. Start with reducing our import bill/Forex, not using it to buy foreign yams. Too many people view agriculture as hard work, but the hardest thing is the red tape/hoops to jump through to get land tenure, road access, water, praedial larceny protection.
Mostly everyone can start with a little box garden, or a small bed. Also support local produce more

matix

Postby matix » April 6th, 2022, 6:38 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Agriculture is a pure joke in this country and no govt has made it easy to get into the industry. NONE! We may not have the ability to produce food where we can match our imports but we certainly can do things to get the cost down.

Couldn’t have said it better.

Postby timelapse » April 6th, 2022, 7:04 am

How dare you talk sense!!!

Postby zoom rader » April 6th, 2022, 7:14 am

In a country that puts Carnival first .

Stupid Country filled with Stupid people

Postby hover11 » April 6th, 2022, 7:19 am

Commendable, however, I have come to realization we will never be serious about agriculture in this country. A pandemic and a war took place which heavily impacted our imports and the prices of such along with shortages in many other areas. Yet still agriculture is placed at the back burner, I guess we have to wait until sheit gets real.

Postby timelapse » April 6th, 2022, 7:34 am

Any fool coming to steal my chickens or ducks better pray to God that the police catch you before I do.
A time will come when stealing of crops and livestock will be rampant

Postby 16 cycles » April 6th, 2022, 7:38 am

timelapse wrote:Any fool coming to steal my chickens or ducks better pray to God that the police catch you before I do.

more rampant than presently?

Postby timelapse » April 6th, 2022, 7:44 am

16 cycles wrote:
timelapse wrote:Any fool coming to steal my chickens or ducks better pray to God that the police catch you before I do.

Yes more rampant.Knock on wood, so far I haven't had any reason to crucify anybody since keeping the poultry.Eight geese are good guard dogs lol.
But yeah, when food prices reach unbearable levels and people become desperate, stealing or even robberies will become the norm.Either that or government will try to take it from you forcefully to ration out to these wastrels.Dem could haul.The way we going, that isn't just me talking out of my arse.It will happen if we don't stop playing the fool.
The 1% now control food, clothing and shelter.Well done T&T.From one massa to the next.

Postby 88sins » April 6th, 2022, 10:16 am

timelapse wrote:
16 cycles wrote:

Yes more rampant.Knock on wood, so far I haven't had any reason to crucify anybody since keeping the poultry.Eight geese are good guard dogs lol.
But yeah, when food prices reach unbearable levels and people become desperate, stealing or even robberies will become the norm.Either that or government will try to take it from you forcefully to ration out to these wastrels.Dem could haul.The way we going, that isn't just me talking out of my arse.It will happen if we don't stop playing the fool.
The 1% now control food, clothing and shelter.Well done T&T.From one massa to the next.

what u worrying about pa?
leave dem to their devices, and secure your own situation.

Postby Rovin » April 6th, 2022, 11:19 am

i hear u but u hada realise nothing gets done in this country without approval of d 1% & all this food importing is done by them to keep their pockets forever fat , once they living it up nice they simply have no conscience to GAF about if d country run down to d ground : they will simply migrate ... hopefully it may not happen in our lifetime but at this current rate 1 day it will

Postby Chimera » April 6th, 2022, 11:23 am

So much land and so much vennies....we could boost agriculture here

Postby Rovin » April 6th, 2022, 11:57 am

^^^ ENT ! at least pee nm avinash doing it

i watched some YT vids around world how in some areas ppl realised their mistakes regarding wasting land or raping d land barren then their ppl starting starving, but thru d use of education, technology, a few sponsors cause in some cases their own govts not doing anything for them, in a short span of time they were able to re-cultivated crops in areas that were thought of being impossible or very hard especially in steep hillsides , d villagers came together, reverse d destruction & able to provide food for themselves

trinidad has plenty flat bush lands unoccupied simply doing nothing, we cud more than do something at least for our own local use if we truly wanted to

we are surrounded by sea other countries wished they had that can be used for sea fish farming ...

Postby timelapse » April 6th, 2022, 12:11 pm

Rovin wrote:^^^ ENT ! at least pee nm avinash doing it

i watched some YT vids around world how in some areas ppl realised their mistakes regarding wasting land or raping d land barren then their ppl starting starving, but thru d use of education, technology, a few sponsors cause in some cases their own govts not doing anything for them, in a short span of time they were able to re-cultivated crops in areas that were thought of being impossible or very hard especially in steep hillsides , d villagers came together, reverse d destruction & able to provide food for themselves

trinidad has plenty flat bush lands unoccupied simply doing nothing, we cud more than do something at least for our own local use if we truly wanted to

we are surrounded by sea other countries wished they had that can be used for sea fish farming ...
I had big hopes for Avinash.He get pushed into a corner by the big boys

Postby Rovin » April 6th, 2022, 12:16 pm

like many others in this country he is doing his thing just hanging out with d govt as a backup in case ... its good to have frens in high places sort of thing

Postby Chimera » April 6th, 2022, 12:24 pm

Avinash father is a very big farmer.

But once you get into politics you don't need to farm

Postby Chimera » April 6th, 2022, 12:26 pm

We could have so much forex generating options here.

Large scale pepper production
Marijuana production
Seasoning.....

Government could easily do these things but they does always put people in charge who don't know or care about it and just looking to get their salary and rape and pillage the programs

Postby zoom rader » April 6th, 2022, 1:10 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:We could have so much forex generating options here.

Marijuana production
Seasoning.....

Government could easily do these things but they does always put people in charge who don't know or care about it and just looking to get their salary and rape and pillage the programs

Carnival in October more important bro

Postby hover11 » April 6th, 2022, 1:12 pm

Marijuana production
Seasoning.....

Carnival will be our main revenue earner after oil and gas done.... the future is bright

Postby zoom rader » April 6th, 2022, 1:44 pm

hover11 wrote:

Marijuana production
Seasoning.....

Carnival will be our main revenue earner after oil and gas done.... the future is bright
Hyatt will be full for one week in the year. It ram

Meanwhile 51 weeks will mean near empty.

Yup Carnival a big income earner

death365

Postby death365 » April 6th, 2022, 2:39 pm

We created the moruga scorpion pepper but some how all over the world has better production than here. And pepper don't need much space

Postby timelapse » April 6th, 2022, 3:24 pm

death365 wrote:We created the moruga scorpion pepper but some how all over the world has better production than here. And pepper don't need much space
Carolina reaper guy.Doh worry, I breeding some monster peppers.One of these days I hope to pass him

Postby bluefete » April 6th, 2022, 4:36 pm

adnj wrote:At no time in history has agriculture/forestry/fishing been a significant contributor to the TTO economy.

Patricia Bissessar
·
TRIP DOWN MEMORY LANE.
Vintage Photo

In the early 1800s, Trinidad's agricultural economy was based on highly productive cane fields and on coffee, cacao, and other export crops. This photo was taken at Agro Exhibition mounted in 1894.

https://www.facebook.com/photo/?fbid=53 ... 1231194269

Postby adnj » April 6th, 2022, 10:50 pm

bluefete wrote:
adnj wrote:At no time in history has agriculture/forestry/fishing been a significant contributor to the TTO economy.

Patricia Bissessar
·
TRIP DOWN MEMORY LANE.
Vintage Photo

In the early 1800s, Trinidad's agricultural economy was based on highly productive cane fields and on coffee, cacao, and other export crops. This photo was taken at Agro Exhibition mounted in 1894.

TTO, not the Colony of Trinidad and Tobago.

And certainly not before the end of the Industrial Revolution.

You will see that since independence, agriculture, fisheries and forestry combined have not provided more than 7% of GDP.

With a somewhat similar arable land distribution and population density, Puerto Rico has a GDP contribution curve for agriproduct that is quite similar.

Without a very long lasting economic depression accompanied with very significant population losses, dreams of TTO food independence can be considered as highly unlikely.

Postby RedVEVO » April 7th, 2022, 2:19 am

BlueFeet just got "Will slapped" by Adj ( a.ka. Adjective not a Verb) :lol:

BlueFeet you see when you do not have education what happens ? :lol:

Park your Tiida outside your studio apartment in Blunder Ville , allow it to be stolen .

Then take the insurance money and get an education .

UTT is good and they will begin English classes in May 2022.

Postby RedVEVO » April 7th, 2022, 2:22 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote::? :?

Why peeps buy so much oil ?

Steam, bake and barbecue :oops:

Postby Rovin » April 7th, 2022, 11:28 am